Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing the Numbers game: Sub 5;10;17;36;60;80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Wednesday 6th Jan: Rest

I had a progression run in the plan and had hoped to do it early but footpaths were very icy so thought better of doing that. Then planned to do it with 2 of the lads from the club after circuits class but the heavens opened and it was fairly wild and windy so when the 2 other lads bailed out, I decided to do likewise :o:o. Still got circuits done so all was not lost and Friday was down as a rest day so will just swop it to Wednesday.

Thursday 7th Jan: 7 mile progression run

Plan had me down for 3 easy, 2 @ steady, 2 @7:20.

Went out this evening with my usual running buddy. It was freezing hard and footpaths were a bit slippy in places but dead calm and didn't feel too cold. I enjoyed this and felt I hit the effort levels pretty much bang on. 2nd last mile had a long 400mtr drag that made it look slower than it was. Body felt ok as well - a wee bit of residual tiredness in the legs from the cross country but nothing major.

Actual paces were - 9:13;8:57;8:14;7:38;7:45;7:29;7:07 - not bang on the money pace wise but not exactly TbLesque in terms of missing the pace completely either tongue.png

Also managed to complete day 6 of 30 day S&C challenge too so not a bad day's work :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Also managed to complete day 6 of 30 day S&C challenge too so not a bad day's work :).

where you get this?? (I can recall asking a similar question last year :rolleyes:)

It's an app for windows phone I use - it's the free version so loads of ads but other than that I like it.

Link here: (hopefully it works) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.davor.thirtydayfit

Friday 8th Jan: 6 mile easy @ 9:16 pace

A crazy day and taking the young lad to swimming meant that it was late getting out for this and the icy footpaths. Headed out with my usual running buddy and we had to keep the pace down as the paths were very slippy in places. It was bitter cold so was glad of the hat and gloves. Miles flew by with the chat and company.

Saturday 9th January: 2 easy, 4 @ 6:45 to 6:55, 2 easy

I managed to get out early in the afternoon for this and it was still bitter cold but dry and calm. Was a bit tired heading into this after a broken nights sleep. Because of this I was a bit nervous about whether I could hit the right paces.

The first two miles were all about getting properly into the frame of mind to do this and was happy that the pace was decent and felt ok. I did struggle to hit the target pace and the watch was showing 7:02 after quarter of a mile but knowing that this was the toughest bit of the route and the wind was picking up a bit and was into my face, I didn't force the issue. So I wasn't too bothered when I saw the first mile was 6:57. Done a turn back for home after the next mile and it felt a lot easier then with the wind at my back and it was net downhill.

I was struggling for energy a wee bit on the last easy mile but putting that down to the lack of sleep and the pace was a wee bit hotter than it should have been for easy miles. Overall happy out with this run. It would have been easy to avoid doing it but am glad I got it done.

Splits were: 8:00;7:50;6:57;6:49;6:47;6:44;7:53;7:52

Sunday 10th Jan: 10 mile LSR @ 9:28 avg pace :eek: with 4x30sec strides:

Looking back doing a fairly tough 30 minute core workout straight before this mighn't have been my brightest idea ever.

I headed out straight afterwards with my usual running buddy who seems to take perverse pleasure in finding the hilliest routes possible for LSR's. Today he excelled himself and picked a particularly lumpy one in a forest park. The going was also very tough on some of the trails, where it was quite boggy and we always seemed to be going up a hill.

Still in all, I enjoyed the run and although it was bitter cold, the weather was good. We met loads of people out running and walking the trails. I was surprised that the legs didn't protest more during the strides but they seemed to relish the change in pace. Still glad to get this done and back to a warm shower!

Weekly total: 37.1 miles

Monday 11th January: 2.9 mile @ 8:53 avg

Plan had me down for 20 minutes recovery so headed out straight after work with "Hunky Dory" on the iPod. Just ran from home until the streetlights ended and doubled back to the other end of town until I ran out of streetlights again. Enjoyed this and just kept the pace nice and handy. Followed up with a fair bit of stretching and Day 9 of the S&C challenge.

Have now, after consultation with coach, decided on Armagh 3k as next goal race on the 18th February.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Monday 11th January: 2.9 mile @ 8:53 avg

Plan had me down for 20 minutes recovery so headed out straight after work with "Hunky Dory" on the iPod. Just ran from home until the streetlights ended and doubled back to the other end of town until I ran out of streetlights again. Enjoyed this and just kept the pace nice and handy. Followed up with a fair bit of stretching and Day 9 of the S&C challenge.

Have now, after consultation with coach, decided on Armagh 3k as next goal race on the 18th February.

That the same night the 5k is ran up there, they get some field for that every year.

tang1 wrote: »
    That the same night the 5k is ran up there, they get some field for that every year.

It is indeed. Unfortunately I don't have the qualifying time for the 5k ;) but bonus will be to see that race. 3k also gets a high quality field so hopefully might drag me around.

Tuesday 12th Jan: 7 mile easy at 9:17 avg pace

A really handy paced run with my usual running buddy along the usual route through town. Footpaths were slippy and it was fairly raw so the pace was nice and pedestrian. Had no time to do core work.

Wednesday 13th Jan: 2 mile easy, 6x 800 w/2:30 rec, 2 mile easy

Headed out late this evening, down to the local gaa pitch track, with my usual running buddy and my head torch! It was bitterly cold but I felt better after a nice and gentle warm up of 2 miles.I didn't have the garmin with me so it was untimed. We made an executive decision to try not to hammer the reps and aim for consistent effort which we definitely achieved. The pace was really consistent throughout and the effort felt good. Really felt that I could have done 3/4 more at that pace. Having company also helped and it made this fly by. It started sleeting neat the end so we were happy to finish this off.

Splits were: 3:07;3:06;3:02;3:06;3:06;3:08

Thursday 14th Jan: Rest

Had a 7 mile easy run in the plan but was in west west Cavan driving over a mountain road when the snow hit so ended up taking a lot longer than planned getting home. Got a fair whack of snow so decided to push this to Friday (which was a rest day on the plan).

Friday 15th Jan: 6 mile @ 8:25 avg pace
    Original plan was to get out early but more snow on the ground ruled this out and had to head off to work as rest of family had a snow day with schools closed! The expected thaw never arrived so the only choice was to head down to the pitch track after work with the head torch. Had a narrow window as was taking the young lad to swimming lessons so set an alarm on the watch and starting doing laps in the snow. Alarm went off after 25 laps so I managed to get 6 mile done so fairly happy with that. Although I could still hear the sound of my runners crunching on the snow a few hours later!!

Saturday 16th: 2 easy, 10x200 w 75 sec rec, 2 easy

Arranged to meet my usual running buddy at midday for this expecting there to be a major thaw but again that never materialised. Unperturbed we headed down to the pitch only to be met with locked gates. We soon came up with a Plan B which was to head to another pitch with a track which we knew we could get into. Only problem was it was on high ground so we knew we would have plenty of snow to contend with.

Got to the track and it had about an inch of snow on it which was slowly starting to thaw. We done our warm-up at an easy pace and used it to check how slippy the track was and found it was dodgy on all the corners. 2 mile warm-up was done in 8:34 & 8:36.

Done a few stretches before getting stuck in and marked out a 200mtrs which only meant one 90 degree corner. Target was 38-40 secs.

First one was cautious and I found it difficult to take the corner so was very wide and had to slow a wee bit. Recovery was 75 seconds so we just jogged back to the start again which wasn't much of a recovery. The cornering got a bit better but the legs were feeling the effort of digging in and running in the snow so was really feeling this with 3 or 4 to go. Managed to dig in and get the 10 done and was delighted with that. Also happy with the consistency as all came in between 39 and 41.

Done another 2 mile cool down run before heading home to warm-up again!

Happy with that days works and have managed to keep up the S&C work over the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Cavan is starting to sound like the Arctic!! Fair play to you for braving those conditions.

annapr wrote: »
    Cavan is starting to sound like the Arctic!! Fair play to you for braving those conditions.

Ha it feels like it. We got plenty of snow here and its lingering on. Snowman is looking a bit sad by now though.

Sunday 17th Jan: 12 mile LSR @ 9:07

Was out for dinner and pints last night with Mrs B in B and a few friends so it was a late night. Running buddy could only do an early run so decided to just suck it up and get out. It seemed like a good plan until the alarm went off after only 5 hours sleep (and not great sleep either). Had the porridge and plenty of water before heading off. Was dog tired starting out and the pace was very handy. Thankfully the weather was perfect for running and the last of the ice was gone. Miles flew by and was happy just chatting away with the pace nice and handy.

Legs started to feel tired on the last few miles which wasn't a surprise all considered - running in snow is worse on the legs than cross-country.

All in all happy to get this done and it brought the weekly mileage to 41.4 miles.

Monday 18th Jan: 4 miles @ 9:45 avg pace

My annual trip down to the club training so they know what I look like.Had to go tonight to pay my subs for the year so done a warm-up and stretch and then headed off for a recovery run with 2 of the lads and was back for the cool-down.

Tuesday 19th Jan: 7 miles @ 8:31 avg pace
    I set out on my own after work and met two of the track specialists from the club and done 4 mile with them before finishing off on my own. Made this fly by and enjoyed the company and the slagging. Legs and body feeling nice and fresh too.

Wednesday 20th Jan: Rest

Had to go to Sligo for work but was chuffed when I finished early which meant I could get a session done in the bright. Unfortunately my car had other ideas and died in a blaze of glory (well lots of smoke and burning oil). Had to wait in one of the most god forsaken hell holes the midlands has to offer for 3:30 hours while some clowns on a helpline in the UK tried to locate a tow truck to rescue me. Ate in the only "restaurant" in town and I'm still recovering!!

Thursday 21st Jan: 2 easy, 3 sets of (4x300 w/45 sec rec), 2 easy

I headed out late with usual my running buddy and was delighted to have the company - made this a lot easier. The first set felt ok but last one was tough and short recoveries were taking their toll. Was glad of the 3 mins recovery between sets. The second set was ok but again got tough on the last one. 3rd set was not too bad but was delighted to get this done.

Splits for the fast bits were: (60;59;60;60) (59;59;60;60)(60;59;60;58)

A tougher session than it looked to me on paper but happy out with it and especially the consistency I managed.

Friday 22nd Jan: 5 miles @ 8:30

Had to sit in this evening waiting for another tow truck to take my car to someone to diagnose how much engine damage is done to the car! :mad:
    Had a very narrow window and had planned 7 miles but just about squeezed the 5 in but i can't complain as I done well to get out at all.

Sorry to hear about the car J, if it's the one you were driving few years back in Athboy hope it's not serious. As a midlands man I have to ask where the hell hole was?

Thanks - unfortunately it's the same one so some serious open wallet surgery! Oh not sure if I should name it - I will probably offend someone - it's definitely not in Westmeath though. :pac:

Ah it's Longford so, probably Granard or Edgeworthstown!!

You picked the right career B! :pac: :D

Oh jaysis, that's all I'll say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Getting flashbacks to my trips down to Sligo to visit the relations. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I dunno what's wrong with you guys, we were always delighted* to see Edgeworthstown on the way to Leitrim, lovely little spot

*cause it meant we were nearly there :D

Getting flashbacks to my trips down to Sligo to visit the relations. :(

Two towns definitely worth keeping the eyes closed till you got through them.

Saturday 23rd Jan: 2 easy, 2 tempo, 8*200mtrs @ 40 w/70s rec, 2 easy

Had a busy day planned and had to travel over to the folks place to get the loan of a car for a few weeks so had to get out early for this. It suited running buddy's plans too so he picked me up and we headed for town. We parked up at Breffni Park and decided to do the easy and tempo miles on the roads and head back to the track for the intervals. The plan worked out well apart from the fact that it meant that most of the second tempo mile would be up a long drag which really sucked the life out of the legs.

Splits were: 8:15;8:13;6:42;7:00

Took every second of the recovery before into the intervals. The first few felt good and the form was good but found the last 4 tough so was pleased to get them on target.

By the last 100metres of the last interval the legs were like jelly and I was glad to be done. Took a 3 min standing recovery before another 2 mile easy.

Splits for 200s were 39,38,39,38,39,40,39.39

Toughest session in a long while but happy out with it.

Total: 7 miles

Sunday 25th: 12.3 mile LSR @ 8:42 avg pace

I knew I had another busy day in store for me so I set the alarm for 6am for the porridge and then out the door. Running buddy picked me up and we parked in town. As it was still very dark out we were confined to running around town. We done a small loop first followed by a bigger loop as it was getting bright so we could get away from the footpaths.

We started out slow and both of us were feeling yesterday's session in the legs but we picked up the pace after a few miles and settled into a nice rhytmn. We couldn't have picked a nicer morning for running and we ditched the hats and gloves after a few miles. Nice too to be running as it was getting bright. All done and finished by 9am too which was an added bonus. :)

Weekly total of 42.30 miles (a really sh1te week in TbL's world :D)

Ah sure you may hang the runners up only running that in a week, at nothing according to Haile GebrtheLemon sure!!

Monday 25th January: 2.5 miles recovery @ 8:49

After a crazy day at work I headed out the minute I got home and just went from the house on the footpaths from one end of town to the other. Kept the pace nice and handy. Legs felt the better for this.

Got day 17 of 30 day challenge done after.

Tuesday 26th January: 6 miles easy @ 8:46

Monsoon season meant it was evening before I got out and was under pressure for time so headed out straight after having my dinner which was a big mistake. I never felt comfortable and felt like my dinner was just sitting in my stomach. Pace was slow and this turned into a real slog. Turned around a wee bit early as was starting to struggle badly. Plan had me down for 7 miles but just happy to get a run in.

Day 18 of 30 day challenge done too.

Wednesday 27th January: 7 mile easy @ 8:29 avg pace

Another mental day and missed opportunities to get out meant I had an hour window to run when I got home from work as Mrs B in B had triathlon training. Knew I wouldn't get the speed work done in an hour and didn't want to compromise the session so swopped days around and will do speed-work tomorrow. Headed from home again down to the pitch for 20 laps. Pace felt nice and handy.

Thursday 28th January: 2 easy, 4x800@2:40-2:42 w 3min rec, 5min rest, 4x150 @ 27-29 w 3min rec, 2 easy.

Had to write this one down on my arm to remember what to do!! :o

Had hoped to do this at lunchtime but never really was likely after another manic morning at work. So instead finished a wee bit early and headed down to the track in the bright for a change.

Done a nice and easy 2 mile easy and a good stretch before getting stuck in. I knew on the warm-up that this would be tough as the wind gusts would take your breathe away and one of the corners of the track was badly flooded. I picked the natural line on the first warm-up lap thinking the water couldn't be that deep. It covered the tops of my runners as I went through so knew I would have to slow for the corner and pick a better path through it.

Between this and the gusts, I knew it would impact on the pace and this proved to be the case.

Splits for the 800s were: 2:45;2:44;2:45;2:44

I enjoyed the 5 minute break before the 150s and used the opportunity to stretch the legs and try and get some life back in them.

Took the wrong call on the 150s by doing them on the drier part of the track which meant that I was running into the wind. Effort was good and consistent and the splits were good: 29:28;29;29

Done another nice and easy 2 mile cool down before legging it to pick up the kids from créche and afterschool.

Done day 20 of the 30 day challenge this evening.

Total: 8 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

really strong session there J, rough enough trying to pace it in that wind