Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing the Numbers game: Sub 5;10;17;36;60;80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Best of luck tonight (it is tonight, isn't it :o ?). Run fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good luck BiB! have a super race :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Best of luck tonight (it is tonight, isn't it :o ?). Run fast!

Yes tonight it is :) Will do my best on the fast running bit!!

Firedance wrote: »
    Good luck BiB! have a super race :)

Will try thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

?? no name on the results??

Haven't seen any results yet so am not 100% on my time- I think it was 10:19 +/- 3 seconds as didn't stop the watch on the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Was having same issue myself when looking took me about 8 attempts to find
    Haven't seen any results yet so am not 100% on my time- I think it was 10:19 +/- 3 seconds as didn't stop the watch on the line.

According to results that would be a minus, they have you at 10.16

Was having same issue myself when looking took me about 8 attempts to find

According to results that would be a minus, they have you at 10.16

I'll take that so :)

well done!! do we get a race report :)

Firedance wrote: »
    well done!! do we get a race report :)

maybe this evening when I put the kids to bed - have a house full of sick kids at the minute but abridged version is:

Happy enough with time even though it was short of 9:59 target - it's a 23 sec PB so have to take that.

Made some embarrassingly rookie mistakes which cost me time.

First was not being aggressive enough taking my place on the line - got pushed back and stuck on the inside - definitely lost time and by the time I grew a pair and started using my elbows I had lost a fair bit of time/ position and energy. I also got stuck a few times trying to find gaps that weren't there as I moved through the field.

Second was taking my splits of the clock on the start/finish line and not realising that the 1km mark was a further 6/7 seconds away. It meant I saw 3:19 at what I thought was the 1km mark and I decided to sit at that pace and was thrilled with myself that it felt so good. Same story on lap 2 - saw 6:41 on the clock and I was thinking it's in the bag - can't believe I feel this good!!

Was still passing groups on the last km and only started hurting when I broke for the line with about 400 to go. Seen 10:00 turn over on the clock and couldn't figure out what had gone wrong with my cunning plan :o:o:o:o It wasn't until a few minutes after the race that I figured out where it had all gone wrong!!

So left with a sense of what might have been but still will take this as a good indication that a sub 10 is there for me. Oh and when I woke up this morning I couldn't swallow and am now on my second packet of lockets - honey and lemon flavour!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done J, nice running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

I'd be thrilled with a 23 second PB over 10K, let alone 3K!!

Anything since Armagh J?

tang1 wrote: »
    Anything since Armagh J?

Not a sausage B !! :mad:

The whole house has been dosed with various bugs since that day and I'm still not over mine but should be back in next few days (fingers crossed). It's frustrating but haven't had much time to think about running with the kids being sick. I haven't been on here much either so loads of catching up to do!

Took me a while to find the log, it was so long since I posted :o

Anyhow after picking up a nasty virus which was followed by an infection and a course of antibiotics and a couple of false starts, I've managed to get 3 days running done back to back and finally feel like I'm back to myself! A frustrating break in many ways but am just relieved to be back out and spring arrived while I was away :pac:

So to catch up. Finished Feb with 98.6 miles

3rd Mar: 5 mile easy @ 9:33: Had finished up a course of antibiotics the previous day so decided to head out with running buddy for this. He hadn't run since Armagh either so was happy to keep this real handy. Felt ok doing it but afterwards I felt I would be better advised to rest up for a few more days.

7th Mar: 2.25 mile @ 9:23: Another very handy one but still wasn't convinced I was back to myself afterwards so decided to be sensible for the sake of a few more days.

Fri 11th Mar: 5 mile easy @ 9:13: This was more like it and felt back to myself. Was also pleasantly surprised by how mild it was. I had to really fight the urge not to do a few more miles!

Sat 12th Mar: 9 mile LSR @ 8:36: I was spending the day at the parents house so decided to squeeze in a run in a beautiful forest park that I took for granted when I was a kid as it was on our doorstep and have only really begun to appreciate it again as my kids love spending time there. So when I got the opportunity to get out, I decided I would go exploring some of the old trails I haven't been on in many years. Weather was fantastic and the legs were feeling fresh so decided to turn this into my LSR. The one thing I didn't remember was the hills and a few times I had to run up steps that we used to run up for training as a kid. Legs felt this afterwards but I thoroughly enjoyed this and it nearly made up for all the time off from running (only nearly though :pac:).

Sun 13th Mar: 5 mile recovery: There was a fundraising 5k for the young lads school so decided to do it with him which would be a nice recovery pace for me. Forgot the garmin so have no idea of time but apart from a few bursts as the young lad got another wind going downhill, it was a nice recovery paced run and the legs thanked me for it. Young lad thoroughly enjoyed himself too (first from his class to finish!) and has told me he is planning to do training runs with me. Might set his alarm for 5:30 when he is on his school holidays to check his enthusiasm :D.

Weekly Total: 21.3 miles

Monday 14th March: 2.5 mile recovery @ 8:53 avg pace

Brought the young lad with me down to the pitch and he done a few laps with me before getting tired. I left him kicking ball and continued on, keeping the pace nice and handy. He joined me again for the last 2 and the paced picked up a wee bit as he was racing me so wanted to make him work for it!!

Tuesday 15th March: 8 mile steady @ 7:53 avg pace.

Target was 7:50 - 8:00 pace so was happy enough with this. The pace felt ok after feeling nervous about it after the lay-off. I met up with my usual running buddy and used the first mile to loosen up without pushing it too much and it was mainly uphill. The terrain eased and the pace crept up gradually as the miles went by. We were happy out just chatting away but did start to feel a wee bit tired over the last two miles.

Wednesday 16th March: 7 mile easy @ 8:31 avg pace

Set the alarm for 5:30 am for this as knew it was going to be a mental day with work. It's been a while since I got out this early and it felt it over the first few miles but between waking up fully and the sun coming out I felt much better. This reminded me why I love getting out early to run while the rest of the world is in bed :)

Miles started to tick by and the legs felt nice and fresh. The rest of the day was manic and missing lunch meant a trip to the chippers before heading to a football match and a feed of stout afterwards. So much for an early run setting me up for a good day :o

Thursday 17th March: 5 mile easy @ 8:40 avg pace

The few beers the previous night put paid to the idea of an early run and between going out to laugh at Mrs B in B and her triathlon buddies dipping their toes in the river for the first time this year and a few parades, I was pushed for time.

Got a small window after lunch so ran down to the pitch, done a few miles around the pitches and then headed for home. The combination of the unexpected warmth of the sun and the few days made this tough but expected that.

Have a local 5k tonight but am under very strict instructions not to race :pac:so will just do as a tempo run instead.

Friday 18th March: 5.5 miles incl 5km @ 18:33

The aim for this was to do it as a tempo run so I planned to hit between 18:30 and 18:40. Got a good warm-up done as I had bags of time to spare. There wasn't a huge crowd for this with less the 200 runners but knew there was a few fast runners so made my way to the second line for the start.

The race had a quick start as people tore off and took advantage of the downhill start. A glance at the watch and seeing 3:35 pace at 500metres was enough to focus my mind and I quickly reined the pace in. The race settled down after 2km and I knew I had about 15 people ahead of me so just worked my way past people as they were falling back after going out too hard. Had a nice wee group of 4 going for about a km and I was getting plenty of shelter but decided to push on at the 3km mark. One of the group went with me but fell off as we climbed a hill. I deliberately decided to push the pace on at the 4km and focused on catching the 3 people ahead of me that I could see.

I nearly got taken out by a car with some gimp texting as he drove down the main street as I went to make my move but had plenty of time for a second attempt and passed them with 100metres to go. Last km was 3:35 for a finish of 18:33 and 8th place overall. Happy enough with that and a decent workout with thrashing myself.

Splits were 3:43;3:48;3:50;3:43;3:29

Saturday 19th March: 6 miles easy @ 8:13 pace

Got out before the rugby in glorious sunshine. I was expecting the legs to be tired from the previous night but there were fresh as daisies and I had to concentrate on not upping the pace too much past easy pace.

Am heading to Belfast with the family for a few days so will get an early long run done in the morning before heading off.

Did you win?

Could be the glass of wine I had, but you lost me? :o

Did you win the 5k, going by your report yo seemed to have nobody left to pass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

8th place B. Did not see that bit? :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    8th place B. Did you. To see that bit? :)

Missed that, doh!!!

shoulda gone to specsavers :D

well done BiB, 8th in race doing a tempo run :eek:

Did you win the 5k, going by your report yo seemed to have nobody left to pass?

Ah ok with you now. In reality there was two races with the first 7 all in the low 17s or under so they were way too far ahead to register on my radar for chasing.

Sunday 20th March: 10 mile LSR @ 8:33

I knew I had to get this done early as we were heading to Belfast early and had the car to pack so texted running buddy late on Saturday to see if an early run suited. Thankfully it did as if I was heading out on my own, I may well have turned over when the alarm went off at stupid o clock. The body and legs were feeling tired and sorry for themselves over the first few miles but thankfully they woke up. Was feeling tired though after the 10 miles and was happy it was no longer. Spent most of the rest of the day driving our with my 3 year on my shoulders at the Giants Causeway so enjoyed a pint or two that night!!

Weekly total: 44.25 miles - All in all a fairly decent first week back

Monday 21st March: 4.5 mile easy @ 8:27

After a day walking around Belfast and chasing the kids I headed out in the afternoon while the rest got ready for the swimming pool.

I started out in great form and the pace was picking up but I suddenly got tired about 2.5 mile in and I think a bit of dehydration hit me and I was zonked. Stopped and took water on board and I was as right as rain again but still decided to leave it at the 4.5 which got me back to the hotel. I made sure to get lots of water on board for the rest of the day and felt better.

Tuesday 22nd March: 7 mile easy @ 8:16

The original plan was to get out early in Belfast but another disrupted nights sleep put paid to that idea. Instead I waited until I got home and headed out after a bit of lunch. I expected this to be a bit of a slog and started off nice and handy and was happy out listening to a podcast and didn't realise until after that the pace had crept up so much. Happy out with this and legs felt fresh too.

Wednesday 23rd March: 7 mile incl 12 x 200on/200off

Headed out straight after work for this but thankfully running buddy was up for this too and the company made it a lot easier to do.

Done a nice and easy untimed 2 mile warm-up followed by some stretching.

Target for the "on" bits was 43-44, with 83-84 for the recovery.

Had my usual way too quick start, but then managed to rein it in until the last few where the pace quickened again. Overall was really happy with this as the pace felt very comfortable and the form was good. Really felt like I could have done a fair few more without too much bother. Always a nice feeling!!

Splits were: 41,43,43,44,43,43,44,43,43,42,41,42

Done another 2 mile easy for a total of 7 mile.

Thursday 24th March: Rest - I had intended to get a steady run in, but it was one of those rare days where I just couldn't fit a run in so swapped around rest days.

Friday 25th March: 8 mile steady @ 7:38 avg pace.

I set the alarm for 5:30 and headed straight out the door knowing it was the only way I would fit a run in today.

I was aiming for 7:50ish pace and was pleased when I saw the first mile beep at 7:51 and was feeling strong and comfortable at that pace.

The pace quickened up considerably as I started regretting not going to the loo before I headed out.:o

Decided to grin and bear it as there are no toilets open around Cavan town at that hour of the morning. Forgot about anything only the need to get finished quick so it was not surprising that the pace picked up!! Still and all the legs felt fresh and comfortable during this (even if nothing else was!)

Never was as happy to get in the door after a run. :p

Splits were: 7:51;7:36;7:42;7:31;7:32;7:35;7:44;7:38

Saturday 26th March: 2 easy, 3 x 8min @ 6:40-6:50 pace w/ 3 min rest, 2 easy

I didn't fancy heading out early this morning when the alarm went off to the sound of the wind howling and rain driving against the window so got out in the afternoon after getting home from a days shopping in Dublin. In other words I was wrecked before I started. :pac:

There was some haymakers of showers on the way home but decided to toughen up and get out the door when we got home. Drove into town and had to sit in the car waiting for a hail shower to pass. :eek:
    Decided there and then to wear the rain jacket, knowing I would probably sweat buckets in it.

First two miles easy and I felt great but was already feeling like I was overheating. 8:14;8:04

I hit the target pace fairly quick on the first rep and was very pleased with this as it was very consistent and managed to maintain a consistent pace even over the long slight drag in it. 1.19m @ 6:44 I still was glad of the 3 minute rest.

The first 2-3 minutes of the next set felt comfortable too but then I turned the corner into the wind and it was tougher to keep the right pace and this was not as smooth or consistent. 1.21m @ 6:39

The last rep was mainly into the wind so was tough and I was being boiled alive in the jacket so pleasantly surprised to see that I was just within the target pace. 1.17m @ 6:50

Typically had the wind at my back for the 2 cool down miles! I spent most of the cool down miles keeping an eye on a huge black cloud that was following me. This probably explains the relatively quick pace for a cool down but made it back to the car before the heavens opened again! :D8:04; 8:01

Have to say that I really enjoyed this and felt nice and strong.

Sunday 27th March: 12 mile LSR @ 8:22 avg pace

Was definitely not feeling the love for this heading out. Weather was absolutely manky between the wind, rain and hailstones. I was pressed for time too which meant running the by-pass around town which is not the best route in the world but on the plus side I did have company so at least that would take my mind of the weather.

In the end we didn't get the worst of the weather until the last few miles when the wind started playing a part and tiredness kicked in so the pace slowed considerably. It was one of those runs where in the end it was just a battle to get the miles done. Could also tell that the runners were at the end of their life as the ankles were sore which is a sure sign for me that it's time to change them. Done a quick tot this evening to see that I have put 520 odd miles on them so time for a new pair!!

While I missed the worst of the weather out running, the weather gods got their revenge on me when i went to the Cavan match where I good soaked to the skin and got the head battered of me with hailstones - we did win again though so it was nearly worth it :D.

Splits were as follows (and shows the drop off in the pace: 8:35;8:17;8:16;8:15;8:08;8:08;8:09;8:30;8:22;8:35;8:20;8:38

Weekly total: 46.1 miles

Monday 28th March: 3 miles recovery @ 8:31 avg pace

This was probably a little quicker than my normal recovery run but it felt like a recovery paced run.

Tuesday 29th March: 8 mile easy @ 8:34 avg pace

Went out in the evening in the running jacket knowing that it would be sweltering but didn't fancy a soaking with some of the showers that we had during the day. This was not long after the dinner so kept the pace real handy. My right shin was sore at the end of this run so the new runners can't come soon enough.

Wednesday 30th March: 2 mile easy, 12x400 @ 5k pace w/ 1min rec, 2 easy:

Headed down to the track after a crazy day at work and spent the 2 mile warm up trying to work out my target for the 400s my head was so melted from the day at work!! Eventually came up with 86 seconds which I think is right :o.

Done a good stretch after the warm-up and wore an old but less knackered pair of runners from the back of the press but was still on the look out for any aches or niggles.

Done my usual way too fast 1st rep and then took a few more to hit the pace. Missed the target on the 9th and 10th but didn't feel like they were a struggle so nice to get it back on the last 2! Enjoyed this as was never in too much discomfort and the legs felt good with not a issue with the shin.

Followed this up with a nice and easy 2 mile cool-down and plenty more stretching.

Splits for 400s: 82;84;85;86;86;85;86;85;87;87;85;85

Total: 8 miles