Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Powerhouse wrote: »
    Fair enough, you have a point about the thread but in this case it was someone squatting an empty bar which is hardly abnormal. I’d have thought in this case the abnormal behaviour was from the person commenting!
    I was talking about the thread/abnormal gym people in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Deshi Basara

Not annoying as such, but a funny one.

Lad came up and asked had I seen the "wavy" bar.

After a bit of deliberation, I asked was he looking for the EZ curl.

He gave me a flat stare and asked was I taking the piss out of him.

He must have assumed I was saying "easy curl" or something.

Looked like he was contemplating back handing me haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

A guy was trimming his beard while leaving over a sink in front of a mirror. I have no issue with that.... provided he cleans up after himself..... which he didn't :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭aristotle25

A guy was trimming his beard while leaving over a sink in front of a mirror. I have no issue with that.... provided he cleans up after himself..... which he didn't :rolleyes:

I have a team mate who does that at his desk in a shared office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

There was a couple (I assume) hogging a certain machine (of which there's only one in the entire gym), taking turns doing sets. One gets up, does a set, gets off, the other instantly gets on, does their set, gets off, the other gets on, and so on and so on and so on.

The gym was closing in ten minutes and this machine was the last thing i needed to do so I was fairly eager to use it. But if I didn't get to, it wasn't the end of the world.

I sat close to the machine, making it obvious I was hoping to get to use it. They both just kept doing their thing, clearly ignoring the hell out of me on purpose.

After a few mins I asked them if they had many sets left. Barely acknowledging my presence, they kinda look at each other and make a half-assed attempt to answer me, counting up how many they have left and told me the answer, barely looking at me.

At this point, I hadn't yet asked I could use the machine. Surely at this point they recognise that I am hoping to use it before the gym closes, yet they can't be arsed to even pretend to give a **** that someone else might want to use the machine they've been hogging for 15 minutes.

Finally, I ask them is it okay if I work in. The just guy stares at me in the most bizarre way, saying nothing, and the girl stumbles over her words and kinda manages to get the word "yeah" out.

I stared back at the guy in the eyes until he eventually looked away. What was he hoping to achieve by staring me out of it?

What annoyed me about this was not that I may not have got to use the machine, and not that they may have needed it themselves for the last ten mins of opening time and genuinely may not have been able to let me use it - I get that. It was the sheer ignorance and arrogance of their behaviour towards someone else in the gym who was clearly hoping to use the equipment they were taking turns hogging for a good 15 minutes.

They clearly weren't right in the head because it was 60 seconds of bizarre, antisocial behaviour.

Thankfully this was actually the first time I've ever not had someone try to be helpful when they can see I would like to use the machine they're using. My gym's good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

DareGod wrote: »
    There was a couple (I assume) hogging a certain machine (of which there's only one in the entire gym), taking turns doing sets. One gets up, does a set, gets off, the other instantly gets on, does their set, gets off, the other gets on, and so on and so on and so on.

The gym was closing in ten minutes and this machine was the last thing i needed to do so I was fairly eager to use it. But if I didn't get to, it wasn't the end of the world.

I sat close to the machine, making it obvious I was hoping to get to use it. They both just kept doing their thing, clearly ignoring the hell out of me on purpose.

After a few mins I asked them if they had many sets left. Barely acknowledging my presence, they kinda look at each other and make a half-assed attempt to answer me, counting up how many they have left and told me the answer, barely looking at me.

At this point, I hadn't yet asked I could use the machine. Surely at this point they recognise that I am hoping to use it before the gym closes, yet they can't be arsed to even pretend to give a **** that someone else might want to use the machine they've been hogging for 15 minutes.

Finally, I ask them is it okay if I work in. The just guy stares at me in the most bizarre way, saying nothing, and the girl stumbles over her words and kinda manages to get the word "yeah" out.

I stared back at the guy in the eyes until he eventually looked away. What was he hoping to achieve by staring me out of it?

What annoyed me about this was not that I may not have got to use the machine, and not that they may have needed it themselves for the last ten mins of opening time and genuinely may not have been able to let me use it - I get that. It was the sheer ignorance and arrogance of their behaviour towards someone else in the gym who was clearly hoping to use the equipment they were taking turns hogging for a good 15 minutes.

They clearly weren't right in the head because it was 60 seconds of bizarre, antisocial behaviour.

Thankfully this was actually the first time I've ever not had someone try to be helpful when they can see I would like to use the machine they're using. My gym's good :)

Yeah, but was the girl hot or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Joking aside, I've seen this before, a real pain if you're waiting.

As bad as a couple are, what irritates me more is when a group 3-4 late teenage/early 20ish males come in and hog a machine x 3/x4 persons doing multiple sets AND DELAYING EVERYTHING EVEN FURTHER THROUGH SPENDING AS MUCH TIME ON THEIR PHONES AS THEY DO LIFTING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Man, sounds like there is a real passive aggressive guy in your gym!

I hope he didn't put that nice couple off their workout.

Joking aside, I've seen this before, a real pain if you're waiting.

As bad as a couple are, what irritates me more is when a group 3-4 late teenage/early 20ish males come in and hog a machine x 3/x4 persons doing multiple sets AND DELAYING EVERYTHING EVEN FURTHER THROUGH SPENDING AS MUCH TIME ON THEIR PHONES AS THEY DO LIFTING.

Same happens in my gym. Group of lads come in, set up at a machine, and they'll be there for half an hour. I can understand two friends, maybe three (at a push) taking turns on a machine, but the big group setting up camp around it guarantees nobody else can go near it for an age. They're oddly afraid to leave each others' sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Yup, if someone came up to me and asked if I had long left rather then asking could they work in, I'd take it as them being rude and passive aggressive and be more inclined to tell them to **** off. Especially if he's come over and sat near me, giving me furtive looks to make it clear that he wants to use the machine rather than, you know, using his words like a normal human being.

The way one of them "instantly gets on" after the other isn't a bad thing. They were already there and are clearly in the middle of a work out that is no less important than yours, and they're doing it as efficiently as possible.

You definitely sound like the one being the bellend here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah yeah but 15 minutes is a LONG time to be on a single machine. I’ve often seen people in groups of 2 or 3 take half an hour on key machines in the gym like bench press or squat rack which is very very unfair if they’re the only ones in the gym. I mean how long does it take to do 3, 4, 5 sets? 5 minutes is fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Ah yeah but 15 minutes is a LONG time to be on a single machine. I’ve often seen people in groups of 2 or 3 take half an hour on key machines in the gym like bench press or squat rack which is very very unfair if they’re the only ones in the gym. I mean how long does it take to do 3, 4, 5 sets? 5 minutes is fair.
    Erm there were two of them so it will take longer.

Sitting staring at someone is not how you let them know you are waiting.
    In any case, they weren't messing, they were using the machine flat out... ego cares if someone else thinks they should use it less?

The way one of them "instantly gets on" after the other isn't a bad thing. They were already there and are clearly in the middle of a work out that is no less important than yours, and they're doing it as efficiently as possible.

I don't what the issue is with a couple tag-teaming a machine like that. The fact they are a couple isn't irrelevant imo. Quick changes mean they are faster overall. :confused:

People can oblivious to others waiting to use a machine. And "how many have you left" can be passive aggressive. Case by case thing I suppose. But categorizing people are arseholes for share a machine is odd either way.

If someone is doing 5 sets on a squat rack in 5 minutes, they are lifting some very easy weights. It means low intensity, high volume, high tempo. There's nothing wrong with that, as a training format. But it's completely unreasonable to expect expect everyone to do the same.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with 15-30mins on the squat rack imo. Especially if it covers two lifts.

Your responses are standard. Clearly didn't read my post properly and were just dying for a post to disagree with. The thread had been quiet for a while I guess so it had been a while for ye.

No I wasn't being passive aggressive. No I didn't watch them do their workout. No I didn't say 15 minutes is a long time to use a machine, nor did I complain about the length of time they were using the machine for. No I didn't ask them any abnormal questions.

Anyway... as you were.

Mellor wrote: »
    I don't what the issue is with a couple tag-teaming a machine like that.

Nor me.
    People can oblivious to others waiting to use a machine.

Absolutely.
    And "how many have you left" can be passive aggressive. Case by case thing I suppose.

True. So can a lot of things. Wasn't in this case. Standard politely-asked question which many gym users ask regularly.
    But categorizing people are arseholes for share a machine is odd either way.

I assume you're talking about someone else, because this isn't something I did.

Your responses are standard. Clearly didn't read my post properly and were just dying for a post to disagree with...

See above for clarity.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Erm there were two of them so it will take longer.

Sitting staring at someone is not how you let them know you are waiting.
    In any case, they weren't messing, they were using the machine flat out... ego cares if someone else thinks they should use it less?

Who was sitting staring, or thinks they should have been using it less? Not me anyway. You referring to something else?

Yup, if someone came up to me and asked if I had long left rather then asking could they work in, I'd take it as them being rude and passive aggressive and be more inclined to tell them to **** off.

I did ask them could I work in. Did you read my post, no?
    Especially if he's come over and sat near me, giving me furtive looks to make it clear that he wants to use the machine rather than, you know, using his words like a normal human being..

I didn't give anyone any sort of looks. I didn't look at them at all actually. Except to, ye know, use my words and ask them if they had many sets left, and if I could work in. But sure don't let the actual story get in the way of your response.
    the way one of them "instantly gets on" after the other isn't a bad thing..

Oh, did someone say it was a bad thing? Who was that?
    they were already there and are clearly in the middle of a work out that is no less important than yours, and they're doing it as efficiently as possible..

Yeh you definitely didn't read my post, especially not the part where I said that I understood if they weren't able to let me work in.
    You definitely sound like the one being the bellend here.

Right so.

You certainly are an eager beaver. So eager to contradict a post that you didn't even read it properly before smashing the Reply button.

No I didn't say 15 minutes is a long time to use a machine, nor did I complain about the length of time they were using the machine for.
    Nope, you didn't say that. Hunky Monster did. Ye know, the poster I was actually replying to. I literally quoted his post.
    True. So can a lot of things. Wasn't in this case. Standard politely-asked question which many gym users ask regularly.
    Which is why I literally said it's case-by-case. I made it clear I was talking about "People" in general not "Daregod".

I wasn't there. I've no idea what way anything said. Nor do I care. But your outburst makes the "politely-asked" part seem less believable.
    I assume you're talking about someone else...
    Really? Because the opposite looks to be the case. That you've assume I was talking about you. Even though I quoted the posts I was replying to specifically.
    I suppose you "clearly didn't read my post properly" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Your responses are standard. Clearly didn't read my post properly and were just dying for a post to disagree with. The thread had been quiet for a while I guess so it had been a while for ye.

No I wasn't being passive aggressive. No I didn't watch them do their workout. No I didn't say 15 minutes is a long time to use a machine, nor did I complain about the length of time they were using the machine for. No I didn't ask them any abnormal questions.

Anyway... as you were.

It’s to be expected in here. I had to delete my last few posts with idiots jumping all over me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mod note: I had serious reservations about this thread being restarted and will happily lock it. So can we stop the petty bickering please. Tell your story, have a laugh about it and move on.

Light hearted banter, not hurt feels please.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

My gym has a policy where if you don't put back the weights you get a black card, 2 black cards in a month and you have to join Aura instead, it's amazing, everything is in place all the time! If he sees something left out of place he'll check the cctv and their name goes up on a board!

So there's no annoying behaviour in my gym, bravo gym owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 MajorDon

And the name of your gym is...?

Unapproved Training Facility in Drogheda. It also has finger scanning entry meaning it can be open without staff, 6am to 12am I think it is. How very unannoying, boom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

Pardon my ignorance, but what's Aura?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

TJ Mackie wrote: »
    Pardon my ignorance, but what's Aura?

Local gym, swimming pool etc not much weight.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

aura, energie, gym+ etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭connollys

Same happens in my gym. Group of lads come in, set up at a machine, and they'll be there for half an hour. I can understand two friends, maybe three (at a push) taking turns on a machine, but the big group setting up camp around it guarantees nobody else can go near it for an age. They're oddly afraid to leave each others' sides.

This was happening in my gym, groups of teenagers hanging around machines/equipment, hogging them and barely working at all, but in fairness to the owners, they have put a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Sounds like the couple in my gym, they started coming a few weeks ago but tonight they decided to hog a machine for 20 minutes! She kept giving me evils too and the fella was doing the slowest sets ever, same as yourself was near closing time.