Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

People who soak the dressing room after shower or Jacuzzi. Why can't you just dry off in wet area and keep the actual changing area dry? I hate having to play "the floor is lava" to keep my socks dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

How else are they to assert their dominance and mark their territory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

They've probably already done this in the gym by leaving their sweat all over the benches and not wiping down and/or leaving they weights they were using in the last spot they used them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

People who don't use the lockers/changing rooms and instead setup camp in various places around the gym.

Yesterday I nearly snotted myself on a handbag and jacket.

But they need something to carry their chalk around in :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

People constantly on their phones
    And a classic. Posers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

I have a new one! Ben Dunne staff approaching everyone deadlifting in their socks telling them to put their shoes back on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Ben Dunne staff talking to members and walking around! I don't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

Yeah_Right wrote: »

I know I preferred it when they just stood round looking in the mirror, now it's like school seeing who's going to get caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

Whats with the whole dropping weights after Squats.
    Seeing lads using spotter arms to unrack the bar so its like a 10 step walk out, rep out some squats then just dump the bar on the ground !!
    Its not that feckin hard to re-rack after squatting !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

will56 wrote: »
    Whats with the whole dropping weights after Squats.
    Seeing lads using spotter arms to unrack the bar so its like a 10 step walk out, rep out some squats then just dump the bar on the ground !!
    Its not that feckin hard to re-rack after squatting !!

They see weightlifters on hookgrip or AllThingsGym on Instagram do it and also because no one will no how hardcore they are until they hear 40kg worth of bumpers hit the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yeah_Right wrote: »

Mustn't be Northwood, a more sourly bunch of unmotivated gym staff I've never seen (and that's a lot of gyms over the last thirty plus years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

They see weightlifters on hookgrip or AllThingsGym on Instagram do it and also because no one will no how hardcore they are until they hear 40kg worth of bumpers hit the ground.

"If no one hears you lift the weight, did you even lift it" sort of thing :D

will56 wrote: »
    "If no one hears you lift the weight, did you even lift it" sort of thing :D

More like a "LOUD NOISES" kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Barna77 wrote: »
    People constantly on their phones
    And a classic. Posers.

I log lifts on my phone in between sets and constantly change music on it also between sets. As long as someone isn't talking away lying on a bench/ standing in the rack taking up space then I can live with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Everyone on this thread would be thankful they don't live in Barcelona. Everything is about image and recognition in the gym over here from the fashion, to the incessant grunting, to the mirror poses and shameless Instagram posting.

Tonight's one was a guy (in great shape in fairness to him) loudly (I have excellent noise cancelling headphones and could still hear him) singing along to whatever he was listening to while doing standing dumbbell curls. I thought maybe he just didn't realise how loud he was but the terrible form on the curls convinced me everything was for show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

brianblaze wrote: »
    I log lifts on my phone in between sets and constantly change music on it also between sets. As long as someone isn't talking away lying on a bench/ standing in the rack taking up space then I can live with it
    I'll give you that.
    But I keep seeing these two girls using machines / bikes / etc and glued to their phones. So they slow down whatever they are doing, while someone else may be waiting for whatever equipment they are using
    That's the kind of behaviour that annoys me.

Everyone on this thread would be thankful they don't live in Barcelona. Everything is about image and recognition in the gym over here from the fashion, to the incessant grunting, to the mirror poses and shameless Instagram posting.
    They surely are full of themselves over there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I've only started going to the gym regularly since October so I'm still a newbie myself, but since the influx of the newbie January crowd, I've noticed a big increase in people with horrible BO. I am sick to death of it at this point. Loosing weight is difficult enough without trying to distract yourself from the stink coming from the guy next to you. Deodorant is cheap and you don't need to be a plumber to work a shower or washing machine - there is no excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Sweat; that's just fat crying.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭aristotle25

cant say I noticed much bad BO in my Gym, but do notice a few lads who obviously used half a can o Lynx before they came into the GYM, I find that equally bad!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I've only started going to the gym regularly since October so I'm still a newbie myself, but since the influx of the newbie January crowd, I've noticed a big increase in people with horrible BO. I am sick to death of it at this point. Loosing weight is difficult enough without trying to distract yourself from the stink coming from the guy next to you. Deodorant is cheap and you don't need to be a plumber to work a shower or washing machine - there is no excuse!

Just ignore it. People seem to be getting obsessed with the smell of sweat these days.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,973 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Brian? wrote:
    Just ignore it. People seem to be getting obsessed with the smell of sweat these days.

Haven't used deodorants since my teens, what a scam, shamming from large corporations about natural body odours, and we fall for it!

Wanderer78 wrote:
    Haven't used deodorants since my teens, what a scam, shamming from large corporations about natural body odours, and we fall for it!

Not sure if serious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I brought that up before and I was sneared at. People shouldn't smell regardless of deo or not if they wash.

The problem is those who go to the gym that haven't washed. Some here think its ok. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,973 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Blacktie. wrote:
    Not sure if serious...

Very serious, the deodorant world was created by very clever marketers, shamming us about what is only natural, their aim, to sell a product that solves a problem of their making. It's clever stuff and works very well. If you think you have a bo problem, it maybe to do with your diet more than anything, and whatever else you consume. Wash regularly folks, you ll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I don't think you can ignore BO but I'd concede there's a difference between sweat and BO.
    I'd give someone the benefit of the doubt for a "tough day at the office" before they come to the gym but there's definitely folk who have poor hygiene.

I hate that sometimes clothes tend to "hang" onto smells too, Nike are the worst for it. You can boil the tshirts and they still get that funky smell. I bin them when the first post wash pong comes now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 MajorDon

Nothing wrong with fresh sweat.

I don't understand people who think you finish a workout, stretch and shower by inhaling two cubic metres of vaporised aluminium salts and isobutane.

Just that protein shake now, and a sensible amount of carbs. Halfway to immortality. Good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

There was a lad on this thread a while back who expected people to shower before going to the gym.

From what I've heard about gyms these days there's lads there looking like they're ready for a night out.... and girls basically ready for the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭D3V!L

That was me and I expected people that go to the gym first thing in the morning after not showering for 24 hours to shower before they go to the gym.

If you think thats ok then no amount of convincing would change your mind. :rolleyes:

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Very serious, the deodorant world was created by very clever marketers, shamming us about what is only natural, their aim, to sell a product that solves a problem of their making. It's clever stuff and works very well. If you think you have a bo problem, it maybe to do with your diet more than anything, and whatever else you consume. Wash regularly folks, you ll be grand.

People don't usually use deodorant to mask BO. They use it to enhance their scent.

People also don't things that add a nice scent in rooms in their home just to mask a smell.