Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eir rural FTTH thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

jd wrote: »
    Had a look around the map, also

Only so many you can check! My eyes need a rest..

Athboy seems to be the only exchange in Meath with a definite launch date. Then there is the point that Gonzo made. They could be stating an area will be live with an indeterminate number of premises passed. I wonder has the whole of the Athboy blue line map been cabled?

marno21 wrote: »
    Also, eir need to rethink the map. It's very easy to see where build has commenced with regards to exchanges that never got VDSL, however exchanges that have got VDSL are just marked as Live.

Yes it has been mentioned before. It is not really suitable for the FTTH rollout.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Athboy seems to be the only exchange in Meath with a definite launch date. Then there is the point that Gonzo made. They could be stating an area will be live with an indeterminate number of premises passed. I wonder has the whole of the Athboy blue line map been cabled?
    Athboy has 560 homes as part of it's FTTH rollout announced.

Lets see how many are enabled come the 28th, it will be a good indicator for the rest of the rolllut.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

the exchange in Wexford which is going live on Sept 28th is a very indication of how the rollout will go.

Only a tiny part of that exchange area is live, just 200 or 300 meters up the road there is another similar estate blue lined and it's not live, meaning that they don't upgrade an entire exchange of blue lines in one go before going live.

One thing I noticed in my exchange is that the road between my house and the cabinet has had the preparation work carried out, but I haven't seen this preparation work going on in any of the other blue lines radiating out from Dunshaughlin. My road could be wired up first and then the others follow similar to the place in Wexford?

Back when work started 1st April, I was really excited and thought the whole place would be wired during the summer. As August progressed with no signs of anyone, I became increasingly concerned that Autumn 2016 was not gonna happen and no chance in hell of the first 100,000 premises completed by March 2017. Yesterday 1st September still no sign of any work at my exchange or many of the other exchanges that are also penciled in first.

Looks like I'm now down for Winter 2016, even that date im not fully confident, it could easily slip into Spring 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭ACLFC7

marno21 wrote: »
    Athboy has 560 homes as part of it's FTTH rollout announced.

Where do you get 560 homes from?

Gonzo wrote: »
    the exchange in Wexford which is going live on Sept 28th is a very indication of how the rollout will go.

Only a tiny part of that exchange area is live, just 200 or 300 meters up the road there is another similar estate blue lined and it's not live, meaning that they don't upgrade an entire exchange of blue lines in one go before going live.

One thing I noticed in my exchange is that the road between my house and the cabinet has had the preparation work carried out, but I haven't seen this preparation work going on in any of the other blue lines radiating out from Dunshaughlin. My road could be wired up first and then the others follow similar to the place in Wexford?

Back when work started 1st April, I was really excited and thought the whole place would be wired during the summer. As August progressed with no signs of anyone, I became increasingly concerned that Autumn 2016 was not gonna happen and no chance in hell of the first 100,000 premises completed by March 2017. Yesterday 1st September still no sign of any work at my exchange or many of the other exchanges that are also penciled in first.

Looks like I'm now down for Winter 2016, even that date im not fully confident, it could easily slip into Spring 2016.

I suspect that is what they are doing. Pass a few premises then declare an exchange "live".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Map updated. More slippage in deadlines. Tara in Meath is now Spring 2017 only,

Ahh feck. Well at least it's a little more definite?

Dr. Nick wrote: »
    Ahh feck. Well at least it's a little more definite?

You would hope so but there is nothing stopping them from pushing it further back at a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,784 ✭✭✭jd

I suspect that is what they are doing. Pass a few premises then declare an exchange "live".

I guess we need to wait for the weekly updates by openeir. This rural roll will probably snake past quite a few one offs.

jd wrote: »
    I guess we need to wait for the weekly updates by openeir. This rural roll will probably snake past quite a few one offs.

True. It will be the only way of knowing for sure how many premises have been passed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

could be same as FTTC rollout, it only needed 40% of the project activated per exchange for the area to be declared as 'live'. Also many exchanges had not just 1 slippage, but many slippage dates. I think Dunshaughlin's FTTC live slipped by about 6-8 months. Still at the end of the day they got most of the FTTC rollout completed during 2016.

With my area now down as Winter 2016, that means anything from December 2016 to end of February 2017, doubt i'll have it by christmas now.

could be same as FTTC rollout, it only needed 40% of the project activated per exchange for the area to be declared as 'live'. Also many exchanges had not just 1 slippage, but many slippage dates. I think Dunshaughlin's FTTC live slipped by about 6-8 months. Still at the end of the day they got most of the FTTC rollout completed during 2016.

With my area now down as Winter 2016, that means anything from December 2016 to end of February 2017, doubt i'll have it by christmas now.

If we take the 40% figure then for Killinick it would mean 168 premises and for Athboy it would mean 224 premises. It will be interesting to see the updates to see if they coincide with these numbers.

Today may seem like a setback, but I think we all knew March 2017 just wasn't possible especially with the amount of work to be done vs the amount of work carried out so far.

But it's better knowing of delays than waiting every day for the lads to show up.

This is just a sign of things to come, especially with the NBP, I can see that still being worked on well past 2025 with delays, planning issues and so on. Also look at Siro's rollout, their rollout is going slower than slow!

Phase 1 of Eir's blue line project is now looking more like Sept 2016-December 2017. Certain routes may be completed much faster than others within the same exchange.

- Approximate dates have also been set on some exchanges which were previously marked 2017-2020.

In county Meath this is what its currently looking like:

Almost Live:
    Athboy - 28th September

Winter - Could be live before Christmas
    Ratoath - Winter 2016
    Dunshaughlin - Winter 2016
    Batterstown - Winter 2016
    Kells - Winter 2016
    Julianstown - Winter 2016

Most likely live first half of 2017
    Enfield - Winter/Spring 2017
    Summerhill - Winter/Spring 2017
    Trim - Winter/Spring 2017
    Tara - Spring 2017
    Kilbride - Winter/Spring 2017
    Ashbourne - Winter/Spring 2017
    Wilkinstown - Winter/Spring 2017
    Kilkarn - Winter/Spring 2017
    Dunderry - Winter/Spring 2017
    Dunderry Winter/Spring 2017

Late 2017
    Dunboyne - Second half 2017
    Kilcock - 2017
    Drogheda (Meath part) - Second Half 2017
    Balrath - Second Half 2017
    Navan - Second Half 2017
    Robinstown - Second Half 2017

Put On the Long Finger
    Hill Of The Downs
    Castlejordan
    Ballivor
    Kildalkey
    Fordstown
    Oldcastle
    Duleek
    Slane
    Lobinstown
    Drumconrath
    Carlanstown
    Carnaross
    BeauParc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Packet

Does anybody have any information or speculation on the design of the network? I am particularly interested in the location of the splitters. I was wondering if they will use a multi level split as in the diagram.

The second level splitters in this scenario would most likely be pole mounted. I suppose they could be connectorised but if they had to be spliced it would add delay to the rollout.

Any theories?

For the rural FTTH it is two stages of splitters, first and second can be pole mounted. A second stage splitter could be sharing the same pole if the premises is close. Each drop has a connector put on it and isn't done until the customer orders service.

Packet wrote: »
    For the rural FTTH it is two stages of splitters, first and second can be pole mounted. A second stage splitter could be sharing the same pole if the premises is close. Each drop has a connector put on it and isn't done until the customer orders service.

Thanks Packet, great information. Would the splitter connections all have to be spliced then? Can you confirm the split ratio being used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Packet

Would the splitter connections all have to be spliced then? Can you confirm the split ratio being used?

The splitters are fusion spliced facing back to the OLT. The urban FTTH and rural FTTH both have the same overall split ratio of 1:32. If somewhere within the rural footprint had more urban density a single stage splitter would be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭garroff

S.I. No. 391 of 2016
    EUROPEAN UNION (REDUCTION OF COST OF DEPLOYING HIGHSPEED
    PUBLIC COMMUNICATIONS NETWORKS) REGULATIONS

To those who are interested. This is the SI to allow operators access to other operators/infrastructure, ie Open Eir to ESB Network and vice versa

just looking at the dates again, there are 3 or 4 lucky places with September 28th as their live FTTH date. Then there are the Winter 2016 dates followed by Winter/Spring 207 and so on.

There are no autumn 2016 dates listed anywhere. October and November are still Autumn, perhaps some Winter 2016 dates could happen in October or November, worth keeping an eye on, the Openeir map is updated every 2 weeks and the next update should happen by Friday 16th September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

just looking at the dates again, there are 3 or 4 lucky places with September 28th as their live FTTH date. Then there are the Winter 2016 dates followed by Winter/Spring 207 and so on.

There are no autumn 2016 dates listed anywhere. October and November are still Autumn, perhaps some Winter 2016 dates could happen in October or November, worth keeping an eye on, the Openeir map is updated every 2 weeks and the next update should happen by Friday 16th September.

Is there a listing of those locations with specific dates? ..... I mean other than going through the map and hovering over the indicators?

It might be helpful to have such a listing if it does not exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

Is there a listing of those locations with specific dates? ..... I mean other than going through the map and hovering over the indicators?

It might be helpful to have such a listing if it does not exist.
    I am nearly sure Marno21 is working on a ftth list, now that fttc is nearly wrapped up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

pegasus1 wrote: »
    I am nearly sure Marno21 is working on a ftth list, now that fttc is nearly wrapped up..

It would be useful to be able to track promised dates against live dates, so that some indication of progress could be made.

It would clarify things if one could go to a list and see such as

Sept 28th 2016 ...... list of areas due to go live

Winter 2016 ..... list

Winter/Spring 16/17 ...... list

1st half 2017 ....... list

2nd Half 2017 ..... list

and have that updated on an ongoing basis as time passes.

It would involve much work, but be very useful IMO.

It would be useful to be able to track promised dates against live dates, so that some indication of progress could be made.

It would clarify things if one could go to a list and see such as

Sept 28th 2016 ...... list of areas due to go live

Winter 2016 ..... list

Winter/Spring 16/17 ...... list

1st half 2017 ....... list

2nd Half 2017 ..... list

and have that updated on an ongoing basis as time passes.

It would involve much work, but be very useful IMO.

I can do it for my County of Meath, but even that is a good bit of searching on that map.

The original http://fibrerollout.ie/where-and-when/ page listed Fiber by County had the right idea, in that it would list upcoming changes to exchanges and townlands but sadly it was never updated and all counties pages were replaced by a generic page placeholder saying number of homes by 2020 which is really no help to anyone.

The easiest way to check exchanges is to turn them all off and click only the work progressed ones, check those, uncheck them and then check the planned ones, uncheck them and then check the live ones. Unfortunately the live exchanges marked for FTTC also have the FTTH information in the same textbox making it very difficult to check progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭garroff

I am on Blue Line. The nearest cabinet on the line is maped as "Fibre cabinet is live".

What does this mean in respect to getting fibre to my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭long_b

What about using something like to this to track latest status and work done ?

Anyone with link should be able to edit.
    I've put in Gonzo's Meath data

FTTH Tracker

garroff wrote: »
    I am on Blue Line. The nearest cabinet on the line is maped as "Fibre cabinet is live".

What does this mean in respect to getting fibre to my house.

The cabinet dots mean very little for FTTH.

blue line means you should get FTTH at some stage over the next 3 to 4 years. Check the openeir map to see how soon it's planned. If it says 2017-2020, its a fairly safe bet nothing will happen till 2018. Phase 1, originally planned to finish March 2017, is now going to run into the second half of 2017.

They claim that the map is updated every two weeks. In reality it is once a month usually around the first of the month if the last few updates are anything to go by.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

There is no pattern to how the map is updated, it's just completely random.

It also gives 4 weeks in advance whenever it's updated (cabinets/areas go live on Wednesdays so if it's updated on a Friday it shows 3 weeks in advance).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭chewed

Jaysus, just noticed the update for my area has moved again. H2 2017!!! I assume H2 means the 2nd half of 2017? That's the 3 time it's been pushed out. Not happy.

chewed wrote: »
    Jaysus, just noticed the update for my area has moved again. H2 2017!!! I assume H2 means the 2nd half of 2017? That's the 3 time it's been pushed out. Not happy.

That's unfortunate, with a rollout as big as this it's bound to happen. Openeir have concentrated on the FTTC rollout up to now and even in the next few months there is still some FTTC work to be carried out.

The phase 1 to be completed by March 2017, was never gonna happen, widespread work would have needed to start months ago if that date was to be fulfilled. Even the new estimations will probably be delayed in quite a few areas. I can see this first phase still running into 2018. It happened during the FTTC rollout, some places were delayed by over a year, some places are still not completed despite work in progress for 2 years. Much patience will be required for the rollout. Back in April I thought I was well on my way, but work has stalled for months now, Im down for Winter 2016, but that could easily run into February/March of next year.