Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Felix 'PewDiePie' Kjellberg has become the 1st YouTube user to exceed 10billion views

CliCliW wrote: »
    I watch gamers on YouTube, they're great for background noise while you're doing something. I used to watch Pewds for a while but I kinda grew out of him, that said, his video editing has come on AMAZINGLY since the 5 or 6 years since I watched him.

I can remember the people absolutely outraged about pewdie making $4Mil last year. I don't think people realise it's a job he's doing. He's an entertainer, and he has an audience that like him. Editing can take hours of work, so recording an hour of gameplay and cutting it down to 20- 30 minutes video time is no easy feat. Think of all the

There was a video of Jacksepticeye talking about his YouTube life and most of all I got the impression it makes him incredibly lonely. It wouldn't surprise me if many YouTubers are the same. Record the videos and sound needed, edit them together, sync face cam with game footage, render and post video, do pr on social media... it's tough.

I believe another one, called Total Biscuit, came out to talk about depression and how much this can affect his life. These are largely normal run of the mill people that wouldn't have received the same training that other personalities would have. He was saying how comments on videos were bringing him deeper and deeper, because some of them were extremely mean and dark.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

mdwexford wrote: »
    Cop on to yourself.

You cop on to yourself even more.

Pft. Do you watch people playing poker? How is that different?

I'm a fan of most Achievement Hunter broadcasts. It's a bit like how a soap opera gets under your skin and you click back each week to see what new antics they got up to.

Can't say I've ever watched pewpewoie (or whatever name the OP was talking about) but I can understand how channels like this can attract so many hits.

Now, about my minecraft/final fantasy crossover channel...

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Plus the Achievement Hunt guys are among the most skillful players. Sometimes they come across as bumbling, but if you look at some of the stuff they've managed to do, then it's pretty crazy.

I think that's the biggest reason I don't watch other Let's Play channels, because the video games isn't why I watch them, its because of who they are and how much fun they are to be around.

Admittedly it's somewhat lessened since Ray left and Jeremy and Matt aren't as interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭orubiru

strelok wrote: »
    how is it any different from watching other people playing sports?

Wait, haven't you paid 350 Euros for tickets to see UFC in October? What, you can't just go out on the street and get into a fight yourself?

It is almost exactly the same as watching other people play sports!

OK, maybe it's more like watching the guys on Top Gear driving expensive cars.

Either way it is entertaining for folks to watch other people doing things that we would not otherwise be able to do.

I can't go on a round the world tour so I might watch a travel documentary or buy a Bill Bryson book.

I can't play guitar or sing but maybe I will buy a few albums from Amazon to listen to while I work.

Kids who can't afford all the games consoles or all the games or kids who just want to decide which games they should spend their limited resources on might wanna watch a guy playing games to get an idea of whats good and whats not so good, no?

It's just entertainment. Folks like to be entertained and will seek out sources of entertainment where they can.

Maybe you need to cop on?

Considering that the average age of gamers is now 35, I'd be very surprised if it's just kids watching those videos.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I believe another one, called Total Biscuit, came out to talk about depression and how much this can affect his life. These are largely normal run of the mill people that wouldn't have received the same training that other personalities would have. He was saying how comments on videos were bringing him deeper and deeper, because some of them were extremely mean and dark.

It is good to see that honesty though, tackling depression and obesity, which can be an issue that runs alongside it. You see users like Barnacules Nerdgasm (youtube: 82VBiz0Vt3o) posting a quite direct and raw video that make your ears prickle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

this from the man waiting a year to watch dwarves ride horses?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

People watch other people playing video games? Seriously wtf is that all about.

Not much different than people listening to a DJ playing music on the radio or at a night club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Getting paid millions to play video games all day or work the mundane 9 to 5 grind like the majority of rest of us. I know what I'd rather be doing. There is a huge market for this especially in Asia. Fair play to the lad, he is obviously working the system. How anyone can call him stupid is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,629 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Last week, my 12 year old nephew said he wants to be a YouTuber when he grows up. Just like PewDiePie :(
    When I was 12 I wanted to be a racecar driver, it's sh1t like this that's destroying the world a little bit more every day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

skipper_G wrote: »
    Last week, my 12 year old nephew said he wants to be a YouTuber when he grows up. Just like PewDiePie :(
    When I was 12 I wanted to be a racecar driver, it's sh1t like this that's destroying the world a little bit more every day

don't worry, he'll fail at achieving his dreams just like you did

• Registered Users Posts: 14,629 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

don't worry, he'll fail at achieving his dreams just like you did

Who said I failed ? How do you know I'm not a racecar driver ? My point was about how the generational divide is getting bigger and how the internet is imo negatively impacting children's outlook on life and ambitions.
    If you have nothing to add, then jog on.

Who said I failed ? How do you know I'm not a racecar driver ? My point was about how the generational divide is getting bigger and how the internet is imo negatively impacting children's outlook on life and ambitions.

How is it a reflection on children's outlook on life? How is it any different than anyone saying they want to be a children's TV host, an author, a movie star?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Yeah, I like Total Biscuit quite a lot, but his fanbase has quite an amount of thoroughly nasty people. He's probably one of the YouTube personalities I'd watch the most, because his videos are less about him and more about the games. Contrast that with Jim Sterling who's videos are much more about him and his sense of humour, and as much as I like Jim a lot of the time, he's been doing way too much low hanging fruit lately. Oh, another shifty game on Steam greenlight? You can bet Jim will be all over that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

Yeah because wanting to earn $4m a year and have your work viewed 10 billion times clearly shows a lack of ambition.

I wouldn't be a fan of PewDiePie but I've nothing against youtube gamers. People that haven't watched much of it would be surprised at the creativity and comedic value that can be found. Like a lot of things in the entertainment industry, whatever is most popular does not necessarily represent the genre as a whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭Corvo

Yeah because wanting to earn $4m a year and have your work viewed 10 billion times clearly shows a lack of ambition.

I wouldn't be a fan of PewDiePie but I've nothing against youtube gamers. People that haven't watched much of it would be surprised at the creativity and comedic value that can be found. Like a lot of things in the entertainment industry, whatever is most popular does not necessarily represent the genre as a whole.

Agreed. Plus the amount of hours they have to put in gaming (I'm speaking more for those that play with friends or online) just to get say, 30 mins of humorous clips is unreal. To do that consistently takes a lot of work.

Don't follow PewDiePie myself, prefer the likes of GoldGlove but the stats (and his bank account) speak for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Oh my good God.

I do hope mdwexford is a horse racing fan, otherwise that's an outrageous accusation to level at a man.

This is amazing accurate

http://i.imgur.com/QL5um1j.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,885 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Never watched any of his videos but I've certainly heard of him. I used to think KSI (surprised he hasn't got a mention) was fairly funny but I wouldn't watch him anymore. He's a multi millionaire just like Pew. Makes his living off Youtube and even bought a new house for his parents and sells his own merchandise.

He also gets to meet loads of footballers and go to important matches as perks of his success ie he has played fifa with footballers like Ferdinand, Gibbs etc.

My view is absolutely fair play and slightly jealous of all the money. These guys are multi millionaires at barely 20 years old for Gods sake. They are obviously very good at what they do, what are they going to say? Ahhh this stuff is childish I think I'll give it up and work in an office?

Edit: Also if I am getting a game I usually get up some Youtubers and watch tem play the career/story etc to make up my mind which I think is really helpful. They are usually pretty good at the game too so I can get some tips off them :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭5star02707

until dawn is by far my favorite game he played. ahaha his decision makings tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Oh my good God.

I do hope mdwexford is a horse racing fan, otherwise that's an outrageous accusation to level at a man.
    Ahhh ya fecker, I'm almost tempted to pornsearch for that now.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

As far as I can see, watching PewDiePie is less like watching a top rated pro sports person, instead its watching a talented amateur play while talking gibberish.
    I wouldn't watch "e-sports" for fun but I do have a certain respect for those crazy asians that are just fantastically good at complex games like Starcraft, they are carrying out so many different actions with a cohesive plan if you can carry out 400 separate actions per minute via a computer thats a serious skill. Doing stuff like PewDiePie requires a certain talent but I would guess its mainly in identifying a certain meme, style, and demographic to appeal to whereas the rest is just luck and the snowball effect (I mean I knew who he was and I have no interest in ever watching another of his videos).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

So you're just going to start watching a bunch of kids playing football in the school playground and laugh/get excited along with them?

Think your argument is for people saying there's something wrong with watching competitive gaming.

And I'm not talking about games there's a reason to be watching, I'm talking about random games and someone screaming like pewdiepie.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

He's an internet celebrity. Celebrities are rich. What's the problem?
    He's got the personality people like and he's a very talented man at what he does. He started off doing it as a hobby. People forget the editing that goes into each video takes hours..so he doesn't just sit and shout at s video game.

There are some amount of bitter people here it's unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

yea, Watched a few clips in this thread, still no idea who the fcuk he is.

That said my kids love watching YT videos of kids and adults and stuff opening toys. And this family that open plastic eggs with toys inside, and all sorts of dumb crap. They fcuking love it.

My Neice watches YT videos of some minecraft tosspot constantly. Again, no idea why but hes also got a bajillion subscribers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

At a surface level, it's easy to draw pictures or paint, easy to learn an instrument, easy to sing or learn to act. Also it's easy to pick up a camera and take photos or record something. Or write an opinion piece.

But very few people make it in those careers and for most its a hobby. It's a question of the time put in and often dumb luck that makes careers out of hobbies. I can't even do most of those things but they come effortlessly to some people.

While it's a huge stretch to compare the average Youtuber to those creative pursuits, Youtuber's rely on personality which is an innate thing, something that's difficult to quantify or evaluate it's worth.

But if enough people are watching, and advertisers/sponsers feel it's worth paying these people to promote their product -- then that's what these personalities are worth. There's a smorgasbord of people who are living vicariously through their pocket celebrities.

It's a phenomenon that I don't understand but most people who try it out don't make it. Even those who are more talented than those at the top -- just like the rest of the world.

Some youtuber's have gotten work on radio (BBC radio1) or presenting shows on TV. Granted they weren't gamers but it'd be no harm to get your son a video camera to mess around with or some editing software.

When I was 12 I wanted to be a cartoonist. When I was 15 I wanted to a games 'journalist' for the magazines I used to read. I just wanted to play games all day. Now I'm studying Digital Media learning both animation and writing for digital media as well as programming, Web & App development, video making, Editing ect...

I have no interest in games anymore but I'm already starting my own website covering movie/comic/popculture news, reviews etc.. (just for experience). And I'm doing a website for a charity... and a photoshoot for a local band....

Your son will be ok.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Really don't like the over excited, hipster, "random" persona PewDiePie adopts. Not for me at all.

I quite like NerdCubed. He's a smart English bloke and his commentary can be funny. Loves video games and actually planned to have a YT channel. Puts out an insane amount of content, works long hours editing etc... managing his community and opening up revenue streams. Often just goes off on political rants too. Loved his PermaDeath Far Cry 4 series.

Same goes for GamingLemon. English bloke too. Kind of adopts this daft, whimsical persona with nice editing in his videos.

Would never truly buy into the celebrity status of some YouTubers. They all fall from grace eventually. For the most part they're putting on an act.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Would love to see people's reactions on here to the huge gaming tournaments with million dollar prizes for LoL and Starcraft

• Registered Users Posts: 11,275 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

OldGoat wrote: »
    Pft. Do you watch people playing poker? How is that different?

I'm a fan of most Achievement Hunter broadcasts. It's a bit like how a soap opera gets under your skin and you click back each week to see what new antics they got up to.

Can't say I've ever watched pewpewoie (or whatever name the OP was talking about) but I can understand how channels like this can attract so many hits.

Now, about my minecraft/final fantasy crossover channel...

Used to alright, that was certainly an acquired taste and now it would bore the pants off me.

Watching people play computer games is beyond rubbish and I say that as someone who has a PS4 and plays it regularly.
    orubiru wrote: »
    Wait, haven't you paid 350 Euros for tickets to see UFC in October? What, you can't just go out on the street and get into a fight yourself?

It is almost exactly the same as watching other people play sports!

OK, maybe it's more like watching the guys on Top Gear driving expensive cars.

Either way it is entertaining for folks to watch other people doing things that we would not otherwise be able to do.

I can't go on a round the world tour so I might watch a travel documentary or buy a Bill Bryson book.

I can't play guitar or sing but maybe I will buy a few albums from Amazon to listen to while I work.

Kids who can't afford all the games consoles or all the games or kids who just want to decide which games they should spend their limited resources on might wanna watch a guy playing games to get an idea of whats good and whats not so good, no?

It's just entertainment. Folks like to be entertained and will seek out sources of entertainment where they can.

Maybe you need to cop on?

Nope I spent less than that but nice stalking. That those are some of the worst analogies I have ever read.

Yeah because that's the same thing as watching some muppet play a computer game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Your son will be ok.:)

What an almost incredulously ridiculous way to end your post. You know nothing about his son.