Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

CramCycle wrote: »
    I cycled in shorts today. My knees hate me.

Did they survive?
    Ice froze on the peak of my cap on the way home this eve. It's skinning cold. Hard to see in the hail and snow.

Traffic was MENTAL, people lose the run of themselves completely in the snow and hail. And I lost count of the number of pedestrians that launched themselves out onto the road in front of me without looking.

Hideous commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭koutoubia

RobFowl wrote: »
    You are allowed, you just prefer to stay in bed ;)

Shut up you!

I am not allowed.
    The babies start crying that they are getting dirty.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

koutoubia wrote: »
    Shut up you!

I am not allowed.
    The babies start crying that they are getting dirty.

We let you throw mud in our faces but do moan about it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Get In There

Not worthy of a thread of its own so I thought I'd throw this post up in here.

Basically due to strict HR guidelines, I can't avail of a bike priced in excess of €1000 via my employees CTW scheme so I've had to cancel my order of Canyon Endurace CF. Don't have 2k to drop on a bike in one go. Probably 1.5k at a stretch. definitely want hydraulic disc brakes. If alu frame then Ultegra is the minimum groupset, if carbon frame then 105. So I've been scouring all the deals online and have narrowed it down to two bikes.

Rose Pro SL Disc (€1,450.95 delivered - no configuration)

VS

Ribble Sportive Racing Disc 105 Hydro SE
    (€1,364.00 delivered and allowance for configuration to handlebar, stem, cranks & optional upgrade to carbon seatpost)

There probably isn't much between them but would really welcome any thoughts before I pull the trigger soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

nee wrote: »
    Traffic was MENTAL, people lose the run of themselves completely in the snow and hail. And I lost count of the number of pedestrians that launched themselves out onto the road in front of me without looking.
    I waited in work until traffic died down, I was still was going at a snails pace, I know I was slow since there was still snow on my mudguard when I got home. Fcuking joggers still out on the cycletracks, skipping and jumping all over the place, couldn't risk going on the grass to dodge them.

rubadub wrote: »
    I waited in work until traffic died down, I was still was going at a snails pace, I know I was slow since there was still snow on my mudguard when I got home. Fcuking joggers still out on the cycletracks, skipping and jumping all over the place, couldn't risk going on the grass to dodge them.

You were wise.

One of my biggest fcuk moments was going down Nassau street, Luas lines to my left, I'm between them and the footpad, and a guy hops out off the footpad in front of me :eek: I growled and he popped back up again. Sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,090 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

.... Hard to see in the hail and snow.....
    Indeed. I went out for a ride in the falling snow tonight. Between Balbriggan and Skerries the already poor visibility was reduced to almost zero by a massive blinding headlight in the distance. I had to slow right down and was effing and blinding about the inconsiderate motorist to myself until I realised it was a train. Doh! :o

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I drove into college tonight, cleared all the windows in the car but visibility was seriously poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,090 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

:eek::eek::eek::eek:
    The railway runs beside the road along that stretch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,334 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

working from home today, stuck the telly on at lunch.
    one of those ambulance chasing ads came on, the 'have you been injured in an accident and it wasn't your fault' ones. it was one featuring a cyclist being cleaned out of it by a car.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The railway runs beside the road along that stretch.
    Methinks you should head over to the Train and Rail systems forum and start a thread about inconsiderate drivers.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105825126&postcount=1333

@Enduro, who won this in record time in 2016 is currently leading again. About 70hrs on the go now with a few hours sleep on a mountain trail in winter...

Irish lady way out in front in ladies race also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

heh, it's the same along the canal for a stretch. Some evenings I consider flashing my light at the driver, but it's probably futile and possibly dangerous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Can someone please tell me if this spec list is good for about 1400euro??

Its in German but hopefully your chrome translate automatically.

https://www.morrison-bikes.de/bikes/e-bike/cree-2

Or if this is good for about 500euro?

https://siroop.ch/sport-freizeit/sale-sport/sale-bike-velo/morrison-trekkingbike-t-70-unisex-matt-black-28-03102489?rahmengroesse=xl-60-cm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

https://siroop.ch/sport-freizeit/sale-sport/sale-bike-velo/morrison-trekkingbike-t-70-unisex-matt-black-28-03102489?rahmengroesse=xl-60-cm

The first one shows up as €3149 for me. If you can get it for €1400, it's fantastic value.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    The first one shows up as €3149 for me.

Its on sale on another site here in Switzerland, but the specs are clearer on the producer site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

rubadub wrote: »
    Fcuking joggers still out on the cycletracks, skipping and jumping all over the place, couldn't risk going on the grass to dodge them.

Cycling through the blizzard on the way home yesterday evening in Clontarf, I came up behind some hardy females jogging 3-abreast on the cycle path. I slowed down, politely called out 'Excuse me, coming up on your left' and, as I passed at a sedate pace, one of them screamed at me 'This isn't a cycle path you know'................as they jogged over the painted white bicycle signs on the tarmac........... :rolleyes:

I just chuckled to myself and kept going. Figured I'd be pissing into the wind trying to reason that one out with her!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

One is an eMTB and the other is a regular commuting/trekking bike. They are not comparable in any way as far as I can tell. If you want an ebike, the MTB is the only one. If you want a non ebike, that tourer is well specced but shocks seem an unnecessary weight and pain in the ass but the rest of it looks grand and isn't bad if you can get it for 500euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Not worthy of a thread of its own so I thought I'd throw this post up in here.

Basically due to strict HR guidelines, I can't avail of a bike priced in excess of €1000 via my employees CTW scheme so I've had to cancel my order of Canyon Endurace CF. Don't have 2k to drop on a bike in one go. Probably 1.5k at a stretch. definitely want hydraulic disc brakes. If alu frame then Ultegra is the minimum groupset, if carbon frame then 105. So I've been scouring all the deals online and have narrowed it down to two bikes.

Rose Pro SL Disc (€1,450.95 delivered - no configuration)

VS

Ribble Sportive Racing Disc 105 Hydro SE
    (€1,364.00 delivered and allowance for configuration to handlebar, stem, cranks & optional upgrade to carbon seatpost)

There probably isn't much between them but would really welcome any thoughts before I pull the trigger soon!

could you buy a 1K bike through the CTW scheme and then use the money you're saving to upgrade the components yourself - seems mad not to use it at all especially if you're paying top rate tax.

CramCycle wrote: »
    One is an eMTB and the other is a regular commuting/trekking bike. They are not comparable in any way as far as I can tell. If you want an ebike, the MTB is the only one. If you want a non ebike, that tourer is well specced but shocks seem an unnecessary weight and pain in the ass but the rest of it looks grand and isn't bad if you can get it for 500euro.

I dont need either but would buy if it was as good of a deal as I thought it might. It would serve as a secondary to my road bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I have a similar style of E MTB and love it. I do not MTBing just commuting, it is a cross country one and I swopped tyres for large road ones. My wheels are 27.5", traditional MTBs you see have 26", in your link you can pick 27.5 or 29. I really wanted more of a hybrid but none were available with the most powerful bosch motor. Your linked one has the powerful bosch.

I am up & down kerbs and stick to the horrible cycletracks. After I got it I was glad it was a MTB, as it will hopefully last longer with strong components etc. It has suspension which is nice at high speed and the inefficiency does not bother me -since the motor takes care of that. I would get a E MTB again, just with front suspension not the rear ones. It eats up any road, I see lads on road bikes in front of me darting about avoiding obstacles while I just glide over. Commuting on a normal MTB is a nightmare, on an E MTB its a joy. Anybody who I gave a go of it to has come off it grinning like a lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

ford2600 wrote: »
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105825126&postcount=1333

@Enduro, who won this in record time in 2016 is currently leading again. About 70hrs on the go now with a few hours sleep on a mountain trail in winter...

Irish lady way out in front in ladies race also

What happened? He seemed to lead the race, now is shown as "retired" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Alek wrote: »
    What happened? He seemed to lead the race, now is shown as "retired" ?

Retired himself from what I could gather so as not to cause a safety issue. Conditions are supposed to be dreadful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

buffalo wrote: »
    heh, it's the same along the canal for a stretch. Some evenings I consider flashing my light at the driver, but it's probably futile and possibly dangerous...

I was accosted on a railway platform in Birmingham by a staffer telling me to turn off my rear light. They were afraid it would be mistaken for a signal by the train drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

There was a chap who posted regularly on here back in the day (5+ years ago maybe?) who went on a big cycle, round Europe maybe? He rode with Orwell, loved really long rides and had a Litespeed Icon among other bikes, wore glasses and hap a mop of black curly hair. Anyone know who I'm talking about, was it Blorg?, and know where he is on his travels now?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

el tel wrote: »
    There was a chap who posted regularly on here back in the day (5+ years ago maybe?) who went on a big cycle, round Europe maybe? He rode with Orwell, loved really long rides and had a Litespeed Icon among other bikes, wore glasses and hap a mop of black curly hair. Anyone know who I'm talking about, was it Blorg?, and know where he is on his travels now?

It was Blorg, no idea where he has gone. My last memory was that great shot where he was in the middle east, and as he smiled with some locals, it looked like someone was throwing a petrol bomb or some such in the background.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055943820

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭cunavalos

el tel wrote: »

Funny you should mention him as i joined the Boards club on Strava and noticed Blorg has only recently started logging his rides again. Think he is somewhere in SE Asia (Possibly Thailand).

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭site_owner

Quite windy in the Netherlands today

https://gfycat.com/ForkedUnfinishedAmethystinepython