Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Fair play.

I'd say the seas were rough.

https://youtu.be/TxR-D913Ktc

All local sea swimmers, the age of swimmers shown is pretty representative.
    A lot of them in 365 days of the year once seas not too rough.

One way of reducing faff of putting on winter gear!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

ford2600 wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/TxR-D913Ktc

All local sea swimmers, the age of swimmers shown is pretty representative.
    A lot of them in 365 days of the year once seas not too rough.

One way of reducing faff of putting on winter gear!

My older daughter(17) swims all year round including a regular dawn swim from Greystones. Haven't been for a Winter swim for years myself but have said if she's going out Paddy's day I'll join her. If I run up the beach afterwards and then cycle home, am I at risk of getting labelled a triathlete? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

smacl wrote: »
    My older daughter(17) swims all year round including a regular dawn swim from Greystones. Haven't been for a Winter swim for years myself but have said if she's going out Paddy's day I'll join her. If I run up the beach afterwards and then cycle home, am I at risk of getting labelled a triathlete? :)

There are some younger women doing it to but not that many; mainly people north of 55/60.

The strongest swimmer there is in her 30's channel swimmer/multiple ice mile swims etc etc. One of sports where women outperform men, I think from memory it kicks in around the 10km mark.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a friend of mine has taken up sea swimming at greystones. cruciate ligament injury means his exercise options are limited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Gardaí are offering free engraving of bikes this morning at Castleknock Station (in conjunction with Iarnród Éireann so I assume this is train station) from 7am to 10am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Fian

More news on mechanical doping.

This time it is marathon running, not cycling

O.o

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/mar/07/iaaf-investigation-concerns-springs-running-shoes-marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's always one problem in the 'they didn't get this one!' approach is that they by definition can't tell you if any got past them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

411189.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

Love this photo:

56%20SPORT%20AFP_ML6Z6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

For once I agree with Kimmage at weekend disgraceful lack of coverage of both Irish successes in France this week, while more than happy to cover any and every doping angle.

Football meanwhile has its doping issues pushed aside.

How annoying that a media mostly unwilling to cover actual cycling are more than happy to jump on a scandal however, suppose the fact lance armstrong stories get hits/listens doesnt help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

manafana wrote: »
    For once I agree with Kimmage at weekend disgraceful lack of coverage of both Irish successes in France this week, while more than happy to cover any and every doping angle.

Football meanwhile has its doping issues pushed aside.

How annoying that a media mostly unwilling to cover actual cycling are more than happy to jump on a scandal however, suppose the fact lance armstrong stories get hits/listens doesnt help.

He's currently on the Rugby bandwagon looking for holes in that sport, badly I might add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Hungrycol wrote: »
    He's currently on the Rugby bandwagon looking for holes in that sport, badly I might add.

In fairness to him he's been at it a long time, he's finding a similar omerta there when it comes to players, ex or current, who want to speak out. Himself and Heaslip had a falling out some time ago over it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ThisRegard wrote: »
    In fairness to him he's been at it a long time, he's finding a similar omerta there when it comes to players, ex or current, who want to speak out. Himself and Heaslip had a falling out some time ago over it.

There was an article from some sports pundit recently (will google it) where they commented on Heaslips incredible ability to replenish red blood cells. I think the quote was from the Irish rugby medical staff. It was an odd statement to make. Kimmage fell out with BOD, something about the direction of his biography, not sure if it was because BOD would not go into the dark places or because Kimmage wanted there to be dark places, never made clear.

CramCycle wrote: »
    There was an article from some sports pundit recently (will google it) where they commented on Heaslips incredible ability to replenish red blood cells. I think the quote was from the Irish rugby medical staff. It was an odd statement to make. Kimmage fell out with BOD, something about the direction of his biography, not sure if it was because BOD would not go into the dark places or because Kimmage wanted there to be dark places, never made clear.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/matt-oconnor-and-jamie-heaslip-insist-drugs-not-an-issue-in-rugby-30800554.html

" failed a test in 2006, but was later cleared because he has unusually high, naturally occurring testosterone levels"

I'm trying to recall if this was ever used as a defense in other sports?

ronoc wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/matt-oconnor-and-jamie-heaslip-insist-drugs-not-an-issue-in-rugby-30800554.html

" failed a test in 2006, but was later cleared because he has unusually high, naturally occurring testosterone levels"

I'm trying to recall if this was ever used as a defense in other sports?

It has been attempted a few times in cycling AFAIK, the blood passport makes it harder to get away with and I am unaware if it was successful of not.

I had a muscle biopsy yesterday. The procedure itself was relatively painless but boy did it feel like I had run a marathon later that evening, feels very much like cramps/severe dehydration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

Joined up thinking...

http://www.dublincity.ie/getting-smarter-cycling-capital
    €100k of Innovation procurement funding announced by Dublin City Council and Enterprise Ireland to help scale up cycling in the city.

http://irishcycle.com/2017/03/13/council-does-u-turn-on-college-green-plaza-cycle-path-commitment/
    Dublin City Council has confirmed that it has pulled back from a clear commitment on providing a segregated cycle path across the planned College Green Plaza ...the council has switched from calling it a “pedestrian and cyclist plaza” to a “‪pedestrian priority” plaza with “limited” access for motorists.

Edit: I read this as 'cycling tech is sexy, utility cycling is not'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Ahh, "Footpad" in the 3:30 Cheltenham race today. You just gotta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

4th at 14/1, not bad! More tips please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,278 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I lost money on that donkey a couple of months back at Leopardstown. Couldn't resist either!

image.jpg

Am in Budapest. Lots of old road bikes, loads of bianchis and the like with old campy groupsets. Barely a sniff of anything new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

Horse and cyclists we should all get along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Remember a mad fecker who was revving and close passing cyclists, motorcyclists and the like around Wicklow Gap last year?

Unfortunately it seems he's back, driving a silver Hyundai i30 this time:

http://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=237083

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Alek wrote: »

Oh dear
    The gap is finished as a decent road for a spin at the weekend. The spandex brigade have seen to that cycling 3 abreast with a half mile line of traffic behind them.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The standard of hyperbole is slipping. It used to be "five abreast with two miles of traffic behind them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,663 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Interesting, as I avoid the Wicklow Gap at the weekend because of all the idiots on motorbikes... I'd love to see a few speed camera's Roundwood to Laragh on a Sunday morning too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Oh dear

Quote. The gap is finished as a decent road for a spin at the weekend. The spandex brigade have seen to that cycling 3 abreast with a half mile line of traffic behind them.

I think it's a case of our Biker friends not being able to see the wood for the trees here: I mean, remove cars from his equation and what are ye left with? Just the odd group of cyclists here and there. No line of cars :cool:

The problem is cars. Cars, cars and more fuppin cars! Far too many faffing around :).

Now it's only maybe the OW Randonnee and the Mick Byrne that'd have me in Wicklow, but I couldn't get over how many cars there were on the roads. They'd ruin a perfectly lovey day out in the hills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

documentry on the history of Raleigh bicycles on bbc 4 now

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Weepsie wrote: »
    Ah missed most of this. Did they mention the Dublin factory?

nope didnt hear anything about that, great documentry, always wanted an ilkeston one.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F