Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanker watch: Warning signs that someone is a tosser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

kfallon wrote: »
    White socks, Nike air runners and a blue Helly Hanson/North Face jacket! :rolleyes:

I'm sad North Face has become part of the scanger uniform. I have many nice North Face jackets! Don't really wear them anymore because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

sebcity wrote: »
    I'm sad North Face has become part of the scanger uniform. I have many nice North Face jackets! Don't really wear them anymore because of it

yeah north face has been burberry'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Girls on Tinder who have a massive bio of what sort of lads they don't like/how you should talk to them.

Yeah that makes you really attractive...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Internet Ham

kupus wrote: »
    Anybody that doesnt respect conor mcgregor for what he has done, you might not like what he does, thats fine,
    but give him his dues. Hes earned it. and fully deserves it.

You say that as if his achievements are meaningful. He is a semi literate person who hits other semi literate people for a living. What respect does he merit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Someone who googles facts on their phone mid-argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Any women who posts that stupid Marilyn Monroe quote "I'm selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best.” Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Rgb.ie

Anyone who uses the word "actually" or "basically" several times a minute.

Arguementive **** of the highest order!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

A guy who works his way into our company every so often, and no matter what the discussion is about he always manages to get the words "argumentum ad" in there somewhere. And he's an atheist. Nothing against atheists, but he's one of those atheist's. You know the type. read a Dawkins book and knows ****ing everything. In the Kingdom of Tosservania, this knob wears the crown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Girls on Tinder who have a massive bio of what sort of lads they don't like/how you should talk to them.

Yeah that makes you really attractive...

So a woman with standards is unattractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Experiencing course casual prejudice.

I was down in the local pub tonight, and the crowd were discussing the problem of traveller criminality in our small country town. No it is a genuine problem indeed carried out by a certain element of their population but I don't need to hear knacker this knacker that, fcuking knackers etc.

It's just ignorant and common sounding, some of the old clowns there tonight sounded like Klansmen referring to blacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Nokotan wrote: »
    I do. Football jerseys are very comfortable.

No they're not. They're made of synthetics and attract sweat like a cr@p attracts flies. They also say I'm 15, as in I'm actually 15 or I'm stuck at 15.

Not a wanker but rather sad all the same. Bit like posting on boards at 3:21 on a Saturday morning. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭I own an applewatch

Anyone who posts on boards (apart from me).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Shifty11 wrote: »
    'Pint of Guinness in an old glass'

Give it a rest

Bull****, the "tulip" glass is better end of argument. The fact that many pubs still keep them is testament to that. The new style ones are designed to make you drink faster(all the major sellers in this country have adopted the tall narrow style in recent years)
    I like to enjoy my pint, not horse it.
    My local has never used them, they used to give lads pints in the new ones as a gag... Till people started to "accidentally" smash them.

That gag lasted exactly one week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,759 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

People who take anything on this thread seriously enough to bother contesting an assertion of wankerishness. They're definitely ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,377 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

These knobs who drive around on dark gloomy evenings with no lights on.

Line of cars with lights on then this cretin at the end in a black car almost invisible.

Turn on your lights, you spenk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Kev W wrote: »
    So a woman with standards is unattractive?

No, the poster is talking about women who have negative and aggressive sounding bio's on dating sites, You see it all the time, examples "if you are a waster who goes to the pub every weekend, get lost and do not contact me"
    "sick of idiots only looking for 1 thing" etc

There is no need to be so aggressive and negative in your bio, it puts men off contacting you, if you are that negative in your bio, what will you be like in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

pgj2015 wrote: »
    No, the poster is talking about women who have negative and aggressive sounding bio's on dating sites, You see it all the time, examples "if you are a waster who goes to the pub every weekend, get lost and do not contact me"

There is no need to be so aggressive and negative in your bio, it puts men off contacting you, if you are that negative in your bio, what will you be like in real life.

In all likelyhood as well , they'll meet the lad that doesn't go the pub every weekend , isn't only after one thing...then immediately proceed to friendzone him , tell him he's a lovely chap but she isn't attracted to him and proceed to find a fella that drinks every week and wants to smash her box in...go out with him , fight...say she loves him but he's troubled...break up and repeat the process because she's 'sick of them lads'...

Just be that lad...it's what they really want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,956 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

You say that as if his achievements are meaningful. He is a semi literate person who hits other semi literate people for a living. What respect does he merit?

To be fair, you're only showing up your own ignorance of both McGregor and his sport. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

English speaking people who say Vino instead of Wine

Nine times out of ten it's a lower class female who is on what she calls a rare night away from the kids (even though she's always out on the piss)

"On the vino tonight with the girlies!!"

Irishcrx wrote: »
    In all likelyhood as well , they'll meet the lad that doesn't go the pub every weekend , isn't only after one thing...then immediately proceed to friendzone him , tell him he's a lovely chap but she isn't attracted to him and proceed to find a fella that drinks every week and wants to smash her box in...go out with him , fight...say she loves him but he's troubled...break up and repeat the process because she's 'sick of them lads'...

Just be that lad...it's what they really want.

Silly women, thinking they know what they want when a man hasn't even told them yet.

pgj2015 wrote: »

Actually all he says is that they describe what they want and don't want. Which I think you're supposed to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'm getting paranoid, this thread seems to be bumped every time I start posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

same as if somebody said cricket or baseball is a crap game, if its so easy you go out and hit a ball at 100mph.

world champion conor mcgregor. not too many of those knocking around.
    Especially one thats irish

So when are you going to start? Im sure theres a gym beside you somewhere if you want to prove me wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Irish men who think their Conor Mcgregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

bigpink wrote: »
    Irish men who think their Conor Mcgregor
    Why would any Irish man want to be like that tosser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Really don't like this attacking of Conor McGregor. I knew sod all about him and I've never watched a UFC match but I know that he's extremely successful in a sport that has a global audience. To get that far you've got to have guts, determination and tenacity. That's admirable. What's more, so what if he is semi-literate, he's achieved a hell of a lot? Just because your grammar and syntax is perfect doesn't give you the right to piss down on him from on high. I'd wager he's got more character in his little finger than you have in your entire body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

McGregor is actually articulate in comparison to say your average Premiership footballer. It's also all an ACT so while he acts like wanker that doesn't necessarily make him one.

kupus wrote: »
    same as if somebody said cricket or baseball is a crap game, if its so easy you go out and hit a ball at 100mph.

world champion conor mcgregor. not too many of those knocking around.
    Especially one thats irish

So when are you going to start? Im sure theres a gym beside you somewhere if you want to prove me wrong.

I never claimed what he does was easy, so what point you were trying to make there, I have no idea.

I am not so easily impressed by someone who is good at fighting. Sorry. Oh he's Irish? Nope. Still nothing.

I am a bit more impressed by scientists, philosophers, philanthropists etc. You know, people actually doing something with a bit of substance to it.

The initial point of your post was that you think anyone who doesn't give him respect is a wanker. Respect is earned. As far as I am concerned he has done nothing to earn it. If your respect is so easily earned, I fear it might not be worth having.

The guy is an egotistical prat. He exudes unpleasantness. I have heard evidence from people who know him and anecdotal evidence that affirms my view that he is, indeed, a wanker.

coolbeans wrote: »
    Really don't like this attacking of Conor McGregor. I knew sod all about him and I've never watched a UFC match but I know that he's extremely successful in a sport that has a global audience. To get that far you've got to have guts, determination and tenacity. That's admirable. What's more, so what if he is semi-literate, he's achieved a hell of a lot? Just because your grammar and syntax is perfect doesn't give you the right to piss down on him from on high. I'd wager he's got more character in his little finger than you have in your entire body.

I will take that wager. What are the stakes?

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Why would any Irish man want to be like that tosser?

I wouldn't mind being worth millions and being a world champion at something.