Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lane hogging

• 29-08-2015 5:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭

On M50 today not often up that part of the country the amount of cars hogging the overtaking lanes ,one in particular a young lady in a ford KA causing all sorts of problems she was going no more than 40km in the far right over taking lane.
    Got stuck behind her for about 2km no choice in end but to over take on the inside ...anyway just as I was undertaking her a traffic cop flies up behind us and pulls her over but where does she try pull over....yep pull ups on the right ..cops had to guide her over to hard shoulder ..
    Same cop car pulled over a merc driving in over talking lane further up the M50 was not causing any problems and keeping to the speed limit but got pulled I presume for being in the wrong lane.
    Good to see the cops pulling for this...is the M50 always this bad ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

In a word

YES.

(I find the N7 worse. And don't get me started on trucks in the outside lane overtaking another truck at a closing speed of 0.5 kmh)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Yes it's always bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

M50 and any at full capacity motorway is bad as far as I can make out in this country.

There are little or no problems on the M6 M7 M9 etc until you get to where they join up at the Greater Dublin Area where they are operating nearly always at full capacity.

Lack of awareness of their surroundings is I think the cause of this idiotic behaviour. Also there are some people who like to dominate proceedings and force people to drive slower than the posted speed limit so that everyone is "safer" when in fact their actions can cause more accidents than people marginally over the speed limit.

I have seen slow drivers in the outside lane move in and try to block undertaking traffic and weave out again when the following car tries to get by in the empty fast lane again........

I have seen following unmarked police cars turning on their blue lights and pulling such people over for a "small chat......"

The exception to this is when a marked police car moves into the fast lane and slows down to 50kph or so. I have seen this done on the M50 and have been told when I made enquiries as to why that swans had wandered onto the M50 and the traffic cops were trying to buy time for an animal control specialist to rescue the swans off the busy motorway and get them to safety.

Slowing down the traffic for about 10-15 minutes or so is infinitely preferable to ploughing into a swan at 120 kph.............

Make no mistake about it there are some proper little speed dictators out there on our motorways who long for the days of endless single lane roadways and solid white lines slowing everybody down.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Superwofy

doolox wrote: »
    I have seen slow drivers in the outside lane move in and try to block undertaking traffic and weave out again when the following car tries to get by in the empty fast lane again........

Kinda defeats the wole 'safety' idea then, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

doolox wrote: »
    M50 and any at full capacity motorway is bad as far as I can make out in this country.

There are little or no problems on the M6 M7 M9 etc until you get to where they join up at the Greater Dublin Area where they are operating nearly always at full capacity.

Lack of awareness of their surroundings is I think the cause of this idiotic behaviour. Also there are some people who like to dominate proceedings and force people to drive slower than the posted speed limit so that everyone is "safer" when in fact their actions can cause more accidents than people marginally over the speed limit.

I have seen following unmarked police cars turning on their blue lights and pulling such people over for a "small chat......"

The exception to this is when a marked police car moves into the fast lane and slows down to 50kph or so. I have seen this done on the M50 and have been told when I made enquiries as to why that swans had wandered onto the M50 and the traffic cops were trying to buy time for an animal control specialist to rescue the swans off the busy motorway and get them to safety.

Slowing down the traffic for about 10-15 minutes or so is infinitely preferable to ploughing into a swan at 120 kph.............

Make no mistake about it there are some proper little speed dictators out there on our motorways who long for the days of endless single lane roadways and solid white lines slowing everybody down.

Casr on the M50 drive the same way whether the traffic is heavy its 3am and there 4 cars on it. I've often traveled it in the middle of the night and if you come across 1 or 2 cars , 95% of the time they are in either lanes 2 or 3.

The worst part about the M50 is that after you've spent ages in traffic, getting annoyed at lane hoggers having to undertake them you still need to pay the toll fee :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Casr on the M50 drive the same way whether the traffic is heavy its 3am and there 4 cars on it. I've often traveled it in the middle of the night and if you come across 1 or 2 cars , 95% of the time they are in either lanes 2 or 3.

Exactly. And unfortunately those people just don't know they are doing something wrong.
    A while ago I was going through M50 at 3am and road was completely empty. Just one car in front of me, in lane 2.
    I moved from lane 1 to lane 2 behind that car. Flashed once - no effect. Flashed twice - no effect. So I moved to lane 3 and overtook. When I was overtaking, she looked at me and her face was just saying "why the hell are you flashing at me?"
    She just had no clue what I was asking her with my flash.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

No point in doing that Cinio. Just keep on driving in lane one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I've lost count of how many times I've seen 2 cars, one on the nearside lane and the other on the 3rd, off side lane overtaking a slow motion artiste in the centre lane at very high speed. Middle car doing 60-70 kph , other two doing 100-110 or more...all in an 80kph zone.

If anyone panicked or moved suddenly there would be interesting results.

I always take the inside lane on the Westbound n4 as it is often the fastest lane of them all.

Maybe just fact that other drivers ignore such behaviour and undertake or overtake on lane 3, etc makes those people thing they are not doing anything wrong.
    If everyone would flash a lights at person hogging a lane 2, then they would eventually realise something is not right.

Last winter I was driving through Germany on Autobahn. I was going through hilly area, with some patches of fog. I had both my front and rear fog lights as fog was really dense. Then on descent suddenly fog was gone, so I turned off my rear fog light, but kept front ones, as I though possibly in another kilometer or something there will be more fog. I didn't have to wait long. First car that overtook me (was going much faster) actually bothered to slow down, pull to my lane in front of me, and flash me with his rear fog (to ask me to turn off my front fogs) - I did, and he drove off fast again.
    If reaction of other drivers to someone breaking the law in Ireland was so obvious and so common here as well, everyone would drive more correctly I'd say.

Incorrect I'm afraid Cinio. They still won't have a clue after you doing what you think is educating them. You're wasting your time and possibly actually creating danger in the process. A guy on here a week ago told how he did what you did and it turned into a crazy road rage chase with Cops and all.

If people think they're doing good by attempting to inform lane hoggers etc by doing this kind of thing then they're deluded. They're more likely to cause trouble rather than reduce it

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It's only in recent years that drivers are being taught properly so it's not surprising that standards on the whole are poor.
    However, there is a small cohort of arrogant or selfish drivers who deliberately block drivers for some fecked up reason or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭9935452

Jesus. wrote: »
    Incorrect I'm afraid Cinio. They still won't have a clue after you doing what you think is educating them. You're wasting your time and possibly actually creating danger in the process. A guy on here a week ago told how he did what you did and it turned into a crazy road rage chase with Cops and all.

If people think they're doing good by attempting to inform lane hoggers etc by doing this kind of thing then they're deluded. They're more likely to cause trouble rather than reduce it

I agree here , a similar thing happened to me one day.
    I had a boy racer driving up my rear end through an urban area one night.
    So close i couldnt see his lights, i flashed the fogs a few times to see if he would back off. At traffic lights he got out and threatened to call the guards if i kept stamping on the brakes.
    I drove away laughing

9935452 wrote: »
    I agree here , a similar thing happened to me one day.
    I had a boy racer driving up my rear end through an urban area one night.
    So close i couldnt see his lights, i flashed the fogs a few times to see if he would back off. At traffic lights he got out and threatened to call the guards if i kept stamping on the brakes.
    I drove away laughing

Like someone else said - there's no point in flashing your lights / rear fog because people just don't get the message.

Any time I've tried people just think you're nuts and continue doing what they're doing. Happens everyday on the N7 with trucks overtaking each other going 1 km/h faster in the overtaking lane, old grannies sitting in the middle lane doing 80 km/h and so on...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Pointless trying to tell people anything. People who drive slow or hog lanes often do it deliberately and will get thick if flashed.
    Even people who do so accidentally or don't know their fogs or full lights are on will sometimes react badly when flashed or beeped at.
    There are a lot of mentally I'll people on the roads.
    If someone flashes or beeps you in Germany you think "what is he trying to tell me". In Ireland people will think "jaysis look at yerman acting the big lad, I'll show him!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

I agree it's a waste of time trying to educate people, in particular with lights, I normally ignore them but I do admit one night heading home I passed a guy who kepts his heads on the whole way down the road, I tried the rear fog trick to no avail so I slowed down and let him pass and then sat behind him with my heads on, after about 5km I passed him and he dipped, guess he got the message.

While I felt smug at the time I wouldn't bother now, I'd say that guy was doing the same a day later, all I was doing was pissing off some idiot who doesn't know how to operate lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Last time I was in Ireland and drove on the m50 I decided to do a test one day after noticing a pattern of drivers in lanes 2 and 3 while 1 sat near empty. I joined and merged into lane 1and drove up behind a slow car. Signalled and moved into lane 2 where I was greeted with a car barely moving faster than car in lane 1. So I signalled again and moved into lane 3. No slow moving cars in this lane but plenty of lane hoggers that wouldn't or couldn't move into lane 2 due to the cars in lane 2 that wouldn't move into lane 1 when it was clear for then to do so.

I was going northbound from J9 to J7. As I was in no rush I decided to see how long it would take me to get back over to lane 1 without undertaking, speeding excessively, slowing down to fall in behind or aggressively cutting in on another car.

I didn't manage to exit until J5. Lane 1 fairly empty most of the way but trucks, vans and clueless clowns sitting in the middle lane barely going faster than those in the driving lane. Due to their stupid driving I missed my exit by 2 junctions as I decided I wouldn't break the rules of the road.

But let's say I was going to work or needed to be somewhere. I would have been forced into doing something potentially dangerous to myself or other drivers as I risk undertaking or slowing down to fall in behind in an attempt to get over to my exit.

They really don't get how dangerous they can make driving with their lane hogging by forcing others to take risks. Completely oblivious to it.

Have it all on a dash cam recording but probably a boring watch if uploaded in that thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭mudstack

Is it considered lane-hogging if someone is driving at the speed limit or slightly over and driving faster than the majority of cars in the slow lane and waiting to pull in behind a car travelling at roughly the same speed as themselves or faster?

Should they have to pull in and slow down to allow someone driving at an excessive speed to overtake them then try to pull back into the overtaking lane?

Honest question.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

mudstack wrote: »
    Is it considered lane-hogging if someone is driving at the speed limit or slightly over and driving faster than the majority of cars in the slow lane and waiting to pull in behind a car travelling at roughly the same speed as themselves or faster?

Should they have to pull in and slow down to allow someone driving at an excessive speed to overtake them then try to pull back into the overtaking lane?

Honest question.

In that situation I'd pull into lane 1 or lane 2 depending on whatever lane I was in whenever it was safe to do so. If you're going the speed limit or just over it during the overtaking process you have no obligation to pull in dangerously because somebody is up your ass.

Overtaking is a manoeuvre where you go from one lane into another or others in order to get around an obstruction and back to the driving lane. It's not a process where you sit in the 'fast' lane on end because you're going faster than cars to your left. Poor Road use by other drivers can make it easy to just sit in the far right overtaking lane but ideally everyone should be moving back to the driving lane once clear and safe to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

mudstack wrote: »

Honest question.

If you are in lane 2 or 3 and you are overtaking somebody to your left then you are fine. IMHO anybody coming up behind you will just have to wait.

Soon as you finish your overtake then go back into lane 1 or 2 and allow the guy tailgating you in his audi to pass.

If you're passing a line of cars quite gradually and you see traffic approaching you from behind at speed then you should increase your speed a bit and move inside when you can.

If on the other hand you're passing a line of cars at a decent enough rate (say a bit over the speed limit) and someone comes barrelling up behind you at 100+mph ( and he wasn't in sight when you pulled out) you don't have to try and get up to that speed, its up to him to slow down.

Its all common sense really. I see situations every day where rule books don't/can't apply. You can't do everything in life by a set of black and white notes written by some civil servant in a Dublin office.

Tzardine wrote: »
    If you are in lane 2 or 3 and you are overtaking somebody to your left then you are fine. IMHO anybody coming up behind you will just have to wait.

That's OK, and if there is 100 vehicles on left lane all going at the same speed keeping small distances between each other, he can overtake them all.
    But what you often see, is people failing to move back left, even though there is a considerable gap between vehicles on left lane. F.e. someone driving on overtaking lane and there is a gap on left lane, to which he could move for 15 seconds before he needs to move back right again. Very often people fail to move left in such circumstances, even though person right behind them would only need 2 or 3 seconds to overtake.
    That's not right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Tzardine wrote: »

That's not commonsensical in some situations. Lets say you're on the motorway doing 60mph and you come up on a line of trucks/buses/cars doing 55 and you move out and are overtaking them very slowly. Then a number of cars approach you from behind doing, lets say slightly above the limit at 80, and you just stick at your 60. Then you've a line of cars up your arse and you become the hogger.

If you just used your head and upped your speed a bit to around 70-odd, you'd pass the traffic at a decent enough rate and then could move back in, drop back down to 60 and let the other lads on their way.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

Pov06 wrote: »
    Like someone else said - there's no point in flashing your lights / rear fog because people just don't get the message.

Any time I've tried people just think you're nuts and continue doing what they're doing. Happens everyday on the N7 with trucks overtaking each other going 1 km/h faster in the overtaking lane, old grannies sitting in the middle lane doing 80 km/h and so on...

Trucks are entitled to overtake, and what does a truck do after overtaking?? he pulls back in, so give the trucker a break, you're probably the type who accelerate's when you see a truck or bus signalling there intentions to pull out and overtake.

Trucks are entitled to overtake

On a 2 lane motorway, no, they are not!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭9935452

Patww79 wrote: »

Never stops them though

Trucks are entitled to overtake, and what does a truck do after overtaking?? he pulls back in, so give the trucker a break, you're probably the type who accelerate's when you see a truck or bus signalling there intentions to pull out and overtake.

I do indeed because I have no time to slow down to 90 kmh and sit there waiting for a truck to do a 91kmh overtake on a 100 kmh road.