Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car insurance - tell us your quotes/renewals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

You should probably be enjoying the cheapest insurance at your age. What value have you the car insured for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,613 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Your last bit? Car's in mammys name, named driver to mammy, it puts a disc on the window...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

€9k. Might drop it to €8k and see, but they're still going between €7-12k. And I'll have to wait until the 1st to get quotes again anyway because of the 30 day thingy. Plus AnPost has my reg as the model up, a E250, for some reason. Even manually selecting the car it doesn't give me an E220 coupe option. But yeah, I was hoping I would be paying the cheapest around now.

Was with 123.ie a few years back for a 13 year old Ford Focus which I had valued at €2K truth was it wasn't worth €500. Went online and started putting in various valuations. The cheapest quote I got was with a €5K valuation which was the bones of €100 cheaper than the renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I suppose; funny thing is when I went to add my own daughter on my modest old car I was quized and reminded about the perils of "fronting"- which I am most definitely not doing. Anyway, out of frustration rang Aviva to complain, got no joy but I did speak to a lovely woman, thanks Theresa, it is nice to speak to a real person!

These lads don't take any notice, everything's grand until something goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Similar situation here with FBD, 6 months left on policy and reduced premium by I think around 150 for the second half of the year after she passed her test.

There is a certain logic to it if you think about it. She is now covered to drive alone for the first time, whereas she needed to be accompanied before this so if anything the risk hasn't reduced much if at all over all.

Was thinking of picking up an old banger and letting her insure it herself for the summer and letting her off, but cost prohibitive I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Car type and engine: Dacia Sandero 100TCe

Years driving: 20

NCB: 9+

Any claims: 0 and 0 points

Price and provider: 3000 123.ie

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

What have they been drinking?!? Or, was the op's a getaway car in a bank robbery?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Must have added a extra 0 by mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

3000 would be a lot but 300 would be very cheap, has anyone paid that little recently?

Wake me up when it's all over.

I'm going to be a bit pedantic 328 still isn't 300 ;-) Yours is the cheapest I've heard of but another 28 euro less seems too cheap but I hope I'm wrong.

It was €300.99 the past two years I had the car it was less than 300.

The lowest I ever paid was circa €275 iirc in 2020 third party fire and theft which may have been after a COVID rebate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

I was getting quotes for my own and my wifes insurance and did an online quote with AA. My own car is a 2010 Hyundai I30 and hers is a 161 1.2 Golf. My price came in at 340 and hers at 345. When doing the quotes and before the purchase screen I got a pop up saying if I rang the call centre with the quote reference I could get it cheaper again. Both quotes were for comp, full NCD protection and all the other fringe benefits. The only thing that wasnt included was breakdown assist but in all my years driving Ive never had to use it and my car gets feck all use anyway. Might be worth a call for those with newer cars that arent concerned about breakdown cover.

Hmmm wonder why AA insurance don't offer breakdown assist with their policies ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,915 ✭✭✭masterboy123

Car type and engine: Hyundai Tucson 1.6L petrol hybrid

Years driving: 11

NCB: 11

Any claims: 0 and 0 points

Price and provider: € 390 with aviva. Got full protected NCB and ability to drive others cars. Had to haggle with them on the phone. Happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Age 57

Car 1.6 Diesel Honda civic

Claim free

Points free

Driving 30+ years

Last year €295 Zurich

This year €396

First and only try so far

An Post with better cover €325

Will see if I break the €300 barrier if not happy to go with that

As someone mentioned above I also would never contact existing insurer to haggle. I've changed providers every year for the past 7 years

Try Zurich as a new customer you could break that elusive 300 barrier ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

So closer to renewal, quick recap; 40, Full Irish 15+, no claims (ever)/points, living in county Limerick, 2010 E220 coupe, not even used for commuting (but WFH is not an option yet).

AnPost winning at around €620, but they have my reg down as a E250 so will need to change that.

FBD can't find my car even though the AnPost one is via FBD :/

AA coming in second at €660.

Next closest are AIG and Liberty at €750, RSA (via Chill) at €755 and Ivernai (via Chill) at €765.

Then the insults:

GetSetGo €885 (or €690 if I allow myself to be tracked...)

AIG: €850

AIB: €1123

Gave up trying at that stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Got €315 from Zurich with full no claims protection. Not getting better than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Pekarirska

47 years old with abundance of no claim bonuses and other modern conveniences... Driving 2006 Toyota Corolla Verso.

AIG Deluxe renewal offer at €370 fully comprehensive including driving other cars, breakdown assist etc...

Have been with them for the last few years and they were between one and three tenners cheaper has to be said. Got a cracked windscreen replaced this year at no cost.

Zurich with the promo mentioned before returned €800. Won't try others as failed to beat any AIG renewal previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭freddyuk

Renewal quote received for my wife and me as named driver. Insurer AXA. Fully comp. Clean everything. Country address with garage. 2018 car.

Age late 60's.

Expiring €410 Renewal € 498.

I advised them this must be an error and await the correct quote for a very clean, low risk renewal..... in meantime I will start the usual round of unneccessary trawling for a decent renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭gaiscioch

I usually find Bank of Ireland Motor Insurance (RSA) to be the cheapest. This year, however, I was quoted €540 on the BofI Motor Insurance quote webpage: https://personalbanking.bankofireland.com/campaigns/car-insurance-quote/

The sent me a letter in early May quoting me €488,71 for the precise same motor insurance policy as I had last year, which cost €428 then.

I rang them up and, getting a quote for a car with a value 7 times greater than last year's insured value, they gave me a quote of €332.28 for the exact same car insurance cover as I had last year. (all comprehensive insurance quotes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭dasa29

Age 47

Car 2012 Toyota Yaris

Claim free 5 years

Points free

Last year €381.54 AXA

This year €419.70 (includes protected NCD at 49.97) AXA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

HTF do their algorithms work. Makes absolutely zero.

Anyway, last year, €482.

50s, FULL NCB, no accidents / points. BMW 520D value circa 11K.

BOI Renewal exactly 40% increase, literally to the cent. They can feckin whistle for it. A quick call to them reduced the increase from 40% to 25% (€603)

As another poster said recently, off now for the usual round of timewasting calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Make it make sense...

31, 14y NCB, clean license and history

Last year 2007 LS460 €530 with 123.ie, swapped to my 14 IS300h in January and got €57 back.

Renewal came in last week at €660, on the phone down to €605 while new business same company online came in at €560?

QuoteDevil cheapest at €505, every other company (and I mean every other) came in OVER €800

I've never ever received a price from Quote Devil, sorry we can't quite you at this time, leave your number and we'll call you... I didn't hold my breath.

I am going through the whole list of known insurers. Acorn called us chasing for a sale and I asked her to remind me what their quote was. "Sorry I don't know the quote"..... what a waste of time discussing anything then . She would simply knock 5% off and hope we wpuld buy it. It has nothing to do with risk so where are all the underwriters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Comprehensive policy Honda Crv, AXA 430, Aviva 800 , AXA through Chill 759, full van no claims, 3 years car in my own name no claims, and full named driver, no claims .

OK today I revivied our cheapest quote from a massive list which was the AA (Aviva) which I could not confirm at the time because it was more then 30days prior. The quote was €430 which is by far the cheapest so far. I recalled the quote even though it had expired and all the info was still pre loaded except claims questions.Nothing had changed but the quote was now €360!! I can get 10% off that if I buy AA breakdown cover at €96 so would be actually €60. In addition you get cheaper fuel at CircleK, other car cover and other benefits.

Someone above suggested Zurich which I tried but the direct quote was €730 and the indirect was €483 (Chill) so the whole insurance scam is alive and well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭rachaelf750

45 years old

161 bmw 5 series

2 year no claim bonus(~55% discount)

Renewal quote €780

Last year €640

Phoned chill they can reduce quote to €680

Tried other insurers-most won't provide a quote.

So much for the overhaul of the insurance industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭JackieChang

222 Reg Dacia Sandero.

Last year fully comp: 367. This year: 537. A 46% increase. Absolutely **** them, found a quote from Liberty that will bring me back down to 360. Bye bye zurich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

And that's the way the free market should (does) work

Except when you got a old car that nobody else will quote you so you're stuck where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

If you have owned and insured an older car for a number of years, you will find alternative quotes. It's when someone has just purchased an older car, insurers have concerns.

Had it 17 years, I must be the exception to the rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭gussieg

SO been with 123.ie, offered renewAL AT 376 for a 02 wagon r, went on the website to get quote , and it came to 309, with 2000 as car value as opposed to 1000 for previous iteration. even though i gave same email and details , their system didnt recognise me as same customer, and is asking for all paperwork again. anyway, im glad i bothered to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭Nothing surprises me now

I was thinking of trying for new quote with 123 (am currently with them) but do you think they'll say something when they see paperwork? Thanks.

I did that with Zurich, nothing untoward happened.

No that is a common thing to do as they usually give cheaper rates to new customers and hope you just go ahead with the renewal.

What sort of company just lets good clean business walk out of the door because their Alogorithm says it is suddenely worth a 20% increase.? It makes no sense. I ended up with a big decrease whereas the expiring carrier could have kept my clean busienss with a very small increase. Mostly these days we deal with Agents who go round all the carriers and "get the best quote available" which is clearly untrue as we can do a far better job. I complained to First Ireland about a ridiculous increase and they didn't respond. I had to ask twice for my NCB declaration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Jaymacc

1.6 Golf

Clean record.

Opted for full bonus protection.

July 2021 was €310 with Aviva

July 2022 was €310 with Aviva

July 2023 was €350 with Aviva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Got renewal off Zurich today - €678 compared to €668 last year.

Called them up and they dropped it to €560. Guess it pays to give them a ring sometimes!

I did the same a few years back. Like yourself had car valued at €1K. I tried a few different values and got the best quote with a value of €5k.