Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Reservoir Dog 20-Sept – a Late-season Climbing Challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 24,967 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

terrydel wrote: »
    Any chance you could provide the route in a readable, non strava format? Just written directions really.
    Cheers.
    terrydel - is this any good for you? (Taken from the website).

http://thereservoirdogsportive.ie/route.html
    The Reservoir Dog Route leaves the from the front of Russborough House, joins the N81 and heads north for five flat kilometres as far as Blessington. From the Main Street in Blessington the route turns right onto the Kilbride Road. Don’t cross the bridge. Head straight along the mostly flat road past Three Castles to Kilbride Village at the 11 km mark then turn right onto the R759 Sallygap Road. At a crossroads a further 1km along wave bye, bye to the flat roads - the route takes a sharp left for the first climb of the day, the steep Dowrey Climb. Luckily the top is reached after only 1km of climbing. After a short dip and drag over Ballyfolan Hill the route goes right towards Kilbride Army Camp. Enjoy the views and the sense of remoteness despite being so close to Dublin City. The surface is a bit bumpy here but you won’t be going too fast on this stretch. At the T- junction go left past the Army Camp for the next climb onto the shoulder of Seehan Mountain on a narrow but well surfaced road that crosses into County Dublin. The road tops out at 490 metres above sea level. This is the highest public road in County Dublin and is at a higher elevation than the Wicklow Gap. The expanse of Dublin City sprawls below. On a good day you can see the Mourn Mountains from here. Keep your wits about you on the descent to the Stone Cross / Ballinascorney Road junction. The route then goes right on the R114 steep downhill towards Ballinascorney golf course for 800 metres. Keep your speed in check on this section as there is a hard right turn mid way down the descent. After the turn and a short rise at Allagour, the route dips into the stunning Glenasmole Valley along narrow roads with the Glenasmole Reservoirs below on the left. Over the bridge of the Dodder headwaters, the route takes you along to the end of the Glenasmole Valley. After two left turns the road swings right up the super tough Cunard to Glassamucky climb. Gear down early here to keep your legs spinning! The steepest section is lower on the climb with the gradient pitching above 20% in places. Go too deep here and you will pay for it later on! Go right along Glassamucky Road where the gradient eases briefly before the last steep pull onto the R115 Old Military Road and back into County Wicklow. The hardest climbing section on the route is now behind you!

Section 2. 31km-64km (386m climbing) Glasamucky/Old Military Road to Laragh
    Enjoy the descent to the head of the Glencree Valley. Straight on and it is not long before the road pitches up again this time past Lough Bray. Though steep in the middle section this is a short(ish) climb. Once at the crest there is a water stop at the Kippure Gates car park. Then it’s on over the Liffey Head Bridge and onward to Sally Gap across wide open upland. If you’re lucky you’ll get a spectacular view on the right down the wild valley of the young River Liffey. On reaching Sally Gap the route takes a left turn onto the R759. Rest the legs on this nice downhill before the next pull to Lugalla. On the way slow down for the narrow bridge with a tricky off-camber surface. The pull over Lugalla is thankfully brief and is the last proper climbing before the food stop. On your way up enjoy the stunning vista of Lough Tay deep in the valley on your right. Next, the steep descent to Roundwood should be taken with caution. Continue straight until you reach the main road and go right onto the R755 towards Roundwood with the Varty Reservoir on your left. Follow the main road through Roundwood Village, Annamoe and onto Laragh for the food and refreshment stop. Resist the temptation to push too hard on this section as there is plenty of climbing to do after the food stop.

Section 3. 64km-94km (510m Climbing) Laragh to Ciaran Jones Bridge
    Refuelled and refreshed the route now takes you up the Glenmacnass Valley on the R115, at first on a gently rising road that will get the blood flowing in your legs after the stop. This then gives way to a steep climb alongside the beautiful waterfall on your left. There are great views to be had back down the Valley towards Laragh. Once above the waterfall the gradient eases until cresting at Druminn. The swooshing downhill through the Oasis is short lived before the climbing resumes for Sally Gap. Emerging from the trees the road snakes across the open mountain side keeping the top out of view until the very last moment. May the wind be at your back on this section! At last, Sally Gap is gained 20km after leaving Laragh. Take a left turn onto the R759 back down the Liffey Valley on a technical descent that could catch the unwary out. The road is undulating and a final drop brings you to the left turn to cross the Ciaran Jones Bridge over the River Liffey.

Section 4. 94km – 125km (409m climbing) Ciaran Jones Bridge to Russborough FINISH
    Once over the bridge gear down for the climb over Ballysmutten. You can dream of the Alpe D’Huez as you wind your way up the switch backs early on the climb. At the top there will be a chance to refill your water bottles one last time. A twisty descent then brings the route to Oldcourt. Brake early for the T-Junction. A left turn brings an unusual flat section of road past Blessington Bridge and onto Lake Drive. This section is a test for tired legs. The road swoops up and down over this well worn training route through the pretty mountain villages of Lacken and Ballyknocken. At least the wonderful scenery formed by the Poulaphuca Reservoir and surrounding mountains of West Wicklow might be a distraction from the effort. Once you crest the hill at Ballyknocken you have cracked it! A right through Valleymount and a left on the far side of the bridge brings the route on a drag over Humphrey’stown. Nothing steep here! A descent to the right turn onto the N81 then gives way to the last rise of the day. This short pull may seem to go on for ever but once on the flat road above it is only two km to the finish at Russborough and a well deserved rest. Congratulations – you have just ‘Done the Dog’!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭omri

Anyone knows if the 50km will be marked in any way?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Corker1

omri wrote: »
    Anyone knows if the 50km will be marked in any way?

Both the 50km route and the 125km route will have signs and road markings at turns. There will also be marshals at key junctions and at locations where there are notable hazards such as tricky bridges on descents etc. As with all sportive it is worthwhile for riders to familiarise themselves with the route beforehand. We will also have large scale maps of the routes to view before the start at Russborough.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

Signed up, haven't done more than 80k in a long long time. Genuinely got knee pain reading the above description

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

I've added an FAQ to the website, also note that online entry is still open - will close at lunchtime tomorrow.

The forecast is looking promising - dry and bright conditions predicted for the morning with the possibility of light rain in the afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭g0g

If anyone wants my entry (assuming transferable) please let me know. You're welcome to it for free if you promise to use it!

(a) I'm not fit enough, (b) it'll take too long between the drive there and back and (c) there's a Bray Wheelers event on Sun I'd like to try.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,531 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I'll take it off you. If you are giving it away for free how's about this. I'll donate the €25 euro to a charity instead. Orwell are using their first winter spin as a fundraiser for a member that unfortunately has been hit hard by cancer. I wasn't going to do this event on Sunday as I can't afford both.

If you can't do it I can do both knowing that both are getting the funds.

Obviously if someone else can actually add to either charity then let them have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭g0g

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I'll take it off you. If you are giving it away for free how's about this. I'll donate the €25 euro to a charity instead. Orwell are using their first winter spin as a fundraiser for a member that unfortunately has been hit hard by cancer. I wasn't going to do this event on Sunday as I can't afford both.

If you can't do it I can do both knowing that both are getting the funds.

Obviously if someone else can actually add to either charity then let them have it.
    Sounds good to me and glad to hear more money will go to a good cause! Will PM you info in case you need it. Good luck with the climbing! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Still unsure if I can make this, is it possible to just register on the day?

Koobcam wrote: »
    Still unsure if I can make this, is it possible to just register on the day?

Yes registration will be open on Sunday morning from 7.30am. Obviously the more that register online the better as it gives us a good idea of food requirements etc. and makes sign-on run quicker for everyone.

Corker1 wrote: »
    There is a detailed route description of the 125km route with turn by turn directions on the Reservoir Dog Sportive website. Just go to the event website (sorry, I cant add URLs or links as a 'new user') and click on the routes tab. If you scroll down past the maps you will come to the detailed route description for the 125km route. The 50km detailed description does need to be added though!

Corker1's 50km route description now is up on the website also. A job in Lonely Planet beckons ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I know I'm going to die a death somewhere between Glenmacnass and the Sally Gap. I've done over 2000m climbing in a day and I've done over 125km in a day but I've not combined the distance with elevation. Any idea what pace the broom wagon will be travelling at? I'd hate to get dropped by it and have to make my own way home.

Joking aside, anyone here looking at getting around this at a leisurely pace? I'll be on a black Wilier moving quite well on the downhill but fairly slowly uphill so say hello.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

g0g wrote: »
    If anyone wants my entry (assuming transferable) please let me know. You're welcome to it for free if you promise to use it!

(a) I'm not fit enough, (b) it'll take too long between the drive there and back and (c) there's a Bray Wheelers event on Sun I'd like to try.

You're scaring me now. This dosent seem like fun anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Waiting for permission to sign up as Mrs RS is away on business next week.

If I am doing it this should be a reasonable guide to my pacing for anyone looking to be obesity buddies.

Check out my 126.8 km Ride on Strava: http://www.strava.com/activities/310134522

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I know I'm going to die a death somewhere between Glenmacnass and the Sally Gap. I've done over 2000m climbing in a day and I've done over 125km in a day but I've not combined the distance with elevation. Any idea what pace the broom wagon will be travelling at? I'd hate to get dropped by it and have to make my own way home.

Joking aside, anyone here looking at getting around this at a leisurely pace? I'll be on a black Wilier moving quite well on the downhill but fairly slowly uphill so say hello.

The broomwagon will be moving at the pace of the slowest rider. The trick to completing this route well is to pace yourself early on as the toughest climbing is before Sally Gap (1st pass). After that there are no killer climbs just a succession of manageble hills. We ran this route as a Reservoir Cogs club spin a couple of weeks back and most of the group completed the full course in good shape in a reasonable time and many of us are far from 'Slim Jims'!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭man_no_plan

I can't decide if I should cycle to Blessington 30k do the 50 and come home or drive over and do the big one. I'm not considering the third option before anyone suggests it...

I have done the 50k route both ways a couple of times, how tough is yhe climbing?

Right. I'm signed up. Will probably be in a boards jersey with Castelli or Endura bibs.

Have to decide whether to unslam my stem - might test it out as far as my folks place in Wicklow and then revert to my normal height before the start.

Looking to be doing about 160 tomorrow, so it will be both my longest (by a hair) and equal to my climbiest spin...good times.

Is N81 ok to cycle on ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭man_no_plan

Is N81 ok to cycle on ?

Yes.

Is N81 ok to cycle on ?

The route is only on the N81 for a total of six km and for four of those km at the start the riders will benefit from a Garda escort, Safety car and motorbike marshals. So I'd say yes!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭nilhg

Looking forward to this now, I'll be with the Headstrong crew, black Felt, should be a good day out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Thud

Same here, have done all but the first two climbs before but those look light the toughest ones.
    See ye in the morning

Corker1 wrote: »
    The route is only on the N81 for a total of six km and for four of those km at the start the riders will benefit from a Garda escort, Safety car and motorbike marshals. So I'd say yes!

I'll be coming from Dun Laoghaire - so it's a 42km cycle before I get to start and from what Ive seen its around 15km uphill on the N81...
    N81 is pretty flat, the only bit of climbing is around Crooksling after Tallaght. Fair dues adding 84km to the spin!

20150920_074025.jpg

And that's the end of my Reservoir dog.

Tried every other seatpost clamp in the house. Pliers has yet to succeed in extracting the sheared bolt.

FML.

Good luck to everyone else today. Should be epic

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

And that's the end of my Reservoir dog.

Tried every other seatpost clamp in the house. Pliers has yet to succeed in extracting the sheared bolt.

FML.

Good luck to everyone else today. Should be epic

Bummer :(

My last minute plan to head over this morning went slightly askew too. In fairness, I think I dodged a bullet (for me)

Currently contemplating going up to the top of the Cunard climb to take photos of the cycle or possibly a lot of the "walking"

Did 135km today in 5h50m. Pup was only 50, the rest was commute from and back home. Next time ill drive. Crashed in Dublin on my way back, luckily on grass so just some mud on the bike and dent in pride. Good but very tough day. Few great climbs and nice descents will do it again. Grats to all that finished the 50 and 125k.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

That course would make baby Jesus cry. I thought I could handle hills but this was the slowest 125k I ever did. But great food and organisation. Special mention of the crazy looper marshal at the finish, dancing with happiness in the middle of the road. Made my day :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Great day. Fückin torture around the lake at the end but we were well warned!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Well done everyone.

I had a man card to do the spin but due to a lack of sleep last night and running on 50% I decided not to do it as it was no easy spin IMO.

I ended up being the fella with the Camera at the top of the featherbeds when yis were coming up the Cunard climb. I also caught a fair few people coming up the Ballyknockan climb too.
    I'd have got more on that climb bar I decided to pop to a local shop for a coffee while waiting there.

That "local" shop turned out to be in Blessington. By the time I got back I had missed a fair few, including Mr Ash

Got most of the cyclists going up the Cunard climb bar about 7 when my camera had a hissy fit :/

Ended up having a great day out, I had savage craic with a lot of the people doing the cycle. Would've prefered to have been suffering on the bike though :/

That aside what was the story with the fella in the N. Roche gear? Anyone?