Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy radio show thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Bookseller pal of Tubridy on now, plugging his new business.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Im actually going to unfollow this thread....i cant do it anymore...

Im sorry...im just so sick of the sanctimonious Father Tubridy preaching....im in such bad mental health after his opening segment.....

I dont want to waste anymore thought or energy pointing out Tubridys flaws to the excellent people of this thread...

Fresh start for 2021....no more Tubridy...

Would you not take Ryan's advice and write him a letter about your feelings?! It will make you feel better, according to him :D

(Just keep in mind that your letter will only be read out on air if your story involves depression and/or death)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

PieOhMy wrote: »
    "Soal foai glas" he has just been told by someone else.

When I searched for Hunting Ghislaine, it only comes up with the discredited John Sweeney Podcast - him of Panorama and the attempted Tommy Robinson stitchup.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Im actually going to unfollow this thread....i cant do it anymore...

Im sorry...im just so sick of the sanctimonious Father Tubridy preaching....im in such bad mental health after his opening segment.....

I dont want to waste anymore thought or energy pointing out Tubridys flaws to the excellent people of this thread...

Fresh start for 2021....no more Tubridy...

I think I'll do the same. I dropped out for a while there coz it's too much at this time of the morning but the thread was entertaining to dip in to, esp the freebie tracker.

The show isnt even funny like liveline can be at times, theres no payoff. It's just an ignorant hypocrite rambling on about nothing. I dont believe the host reads as much as he makes out, I dont believe he consumes as much art as he makes out and I dont believe he follows American politics as much as he makes out.

First text about crying your eyes out of the new year as I write this post.

PieOhMy wrote: »
    I think I'll do the same. I dropped out for a while there coz it's too much at this time of the morning but the thread was entertaining to dip in to, esp the freebie tracker.

The show isnt even funny like liveline can be at times, theres no payoff. It's just an ignorant hypocrite rambling on about nothing. I dont believe the host reads as much as he makes out, I dont believe he consumes as much art as he makes out and I dont believe he follows American politics as much as he makes out.

First text about crying your eyes out of the new year as I write this post.

His spoofing was beautifully exposed by Stephen Fry before Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Government buildings

You're right. It's funny for a while, then it just gets boring. I'm off for today, back to Kenny.

Back to the freebies:

Schools during COVID magazine
    Calendar

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

He's pure partridge! It's brilliant listening!

Courtney Love distancing herself from coogan is the funniest thing i've heard in ages!
    She went on a week long sex\coke bender with him and didn't know he was Alan Partridge and then jammed with a band of Alan fanatics who kept shouting "back of the net " all through the rehearsals :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

What a vicious Doctor on Philip Boucher now, giving out about her patients, if she was my doctor I would be furious.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Bit of a misandrist as well.

Waffle along the lines that women are affected hardest by the pandemic as well as a throwaway comment that a report "could have only be written by a man".

And she sits on NPHET.

What a poisonous viper she is.

Continuing PieOhMy's sterling service:

Freebies list since 23 September 2020

Freebie Request List:

Trip to Iceland
    Quiet Coffee Maker
    Knife sharpener
    Turntable Mat (received amongst other record player accessories)
    Original Copy (and artwork) of Band Aid - Do They Know It's Christmas single (received in return for Arnotts Gift Card)
    World’s Biggest Selection Box (as seen in a child’s hands)

Freebie Received List:

Free Unknown volume of books
    Free Bespoke jewellery x 2
    Free Essential oils for mask
    Free Buns from Bewleys
    Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship
    Free 8 Glasses cases
    Free Accessories for vinyl record player
    Free Flowers
    Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult
    Free Holland and Barrett supply
    Free Calm App
    Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents
    Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)
    Free Watercolour
    Free Candles
    Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68
    Free Waterford Famine Buke
    Free Pints
    Free Sweets from Shandons
    Free Loose leaf tea
    Free Bread knives
    Free Candles possibly wickless candles
    Free Teapot
    Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)
    Free Tea brack
    Free Cards
    Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)
    Free Halloween masks
    Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)
    Free Fudge
    Free Southern Star newspaper
    Free Opinion magazine
    Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)
    Free Crisps and Earplugs
    Free Greetings cards
    Free Beatles book
    Free Bottle with fairy lights
    Free Hot Chocolate Bomb
    Free Personalised Christmas Stocking
    Free Novelty Mug
    Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)
    Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards
    Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)
    Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)
    Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)
    Free Face mask from Chester Beatty
    Free Books
    Free Paul McCartney poster
    Free Aerial photography coffee table book
    Free Christmas jumper
    Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)
    Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)
    Free Santa Beard Face Mask
    Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)
    Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)
    Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)
    Free Shandon Sweets, again
    Free invite to chess convention
    Free Lighthouse Book
    Free chess lessons
    Free Book (Elf Isolation)
    Free crate of Club Orange
    Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)
    Free Ireland's Own Annual
    Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).
    Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.
    Free Box of Turf
    Free Puffin Christmas Decorations
    Free Puffin Christmas Cards
    Free Puffin T Shirt
    Free Meal in Kilmore Quay
    Free Motivational Quote Cards
    Free Book (Dauntless Courage)
    Free CD
    Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.
    Free Hand crafted Gin
    Free Crystal Glasses set
    Free Cocktails
    Free Craft Beer Selection
    Free Visit to brewery
    Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)
    Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)
    Free Personalised Water bottle
    Free White Vinyl Christmas record
    Free Handmade Cards
    Free Magazine about schools during Covid
    Free Donegal Calendar

A big TYFYS to those who flag the freebies, and the requests.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Looks like I missed a classic................

Sad to see StevenToast go. TYFYS Steven!

What a vicious Doctor on Philip Boucher now, giving out about her patients, if she was my doctor I would be furious.

Waffle along the lines that women are affected hardest by the pandemic as well as a throwaway comment that a report "could have only be written by a man".

And she sits on NPHET.

Actually thought you were referring to Ciara Kelly (the misandrist label was a big clue) until you said "she sits on NPHET". And yet, strangely, her supporters seem to think she knows more than anyone else on the subject.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭cml387

When I searched for Hunting Ghislaine, it only comes up with the discredited John Sweeney Podcast - him of Panorama and the attempted Tommy Robinson stitchup.

"discredited John Sweeney podacst"

By who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

cml387 wrote: »
    "discredited John Sweeney podacst" By who?

The reference was to the man himself not the podcast.

Not exactly a fan of Tommy Robinson, but he certainly brought to light the questionable practices and opinions of John Sweeney.
    On 23 February 2019, about 4,000 protested outside BBC offices in Manchester against one of Sweeney's planned Panorama episodes on activist Tommy Robinson, who also led the protest. During the rally, undercover filming of Sweeney, obtained from a supporter of Robinson, was shown on a large screen. In the film, Sweeney is heard making a number of remarks which were described by the activist as being racist, homophobic and anti-working class. Sweeney also called former IRA leader Martin McGuinness "one of [his] political heroes". Sweeney later apologised for the remarks. The BBC stated that "any programme we broadcast will adhere to the BBC's strict editorial guidelines", and that work on the Panorama programme would continue. The NUJ condemned what they described as the intimidation of BBC staff and journalists.[40]

Panorama issued a statement apologising on Sweeney's behalf for his "offensive and inappropriate" comments. The Panorama episode on Robinson was never shown on the BBC. On 1 October 2019, Sweeney announced via Twitter that he would be leaving the BBC after 17 years, calling founder of the EDL Tommy Robinson a "complete c**t" after supposedly being fired because of Tommy Robinson's documentary Panodrama and the protests outside BBC Manchester.[8][41]

And she sits on NPHET.

I couldn't believe what I was hearing, must listen back now.

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/html5/#/radio1/21890622

Edit... I see through her Twitter feed that another GP wishes his coughing patients would stay "fcuking home" when he phoned them and catches them out shopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I couldn't believe what I was hearing, must listen back now.

I'll be honest Cat, I was only half listening myself as WFH and between calls, but those two phrases jumped out at me, and then the other poster chimed in...

I should probably have tacked it on to the CB thread, sorry for that.

Surprised she wasn't pulled on it actually.

Tubs should be in rare form later scolding the American miscreants and ne’er do wells for their “attack on democracy”; whilst offering his thoughts on why this wouldn’t have happened if Hilary has been voted in as President, doing a Jimmy Stewart impression, before hinting that he’d like a FREE copy of some book or other.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Did Tubs mention the John Sweeney G Maxwell podcast. I must of missed that.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Tubs should be in rare form later scolding the American miscreants and ne’er do wells for their “attack on democracy”; whilst offering his thoughts on why this wouldn’t have happened if Hilary has been voted in as President, doing a Jimmy Stewart impression, before hinting that he’d like a FREE copy of some book or other.

To be frank if Hilary was president it wouldn't of happened. Hard to disagree with him potentially coming out with something like that.

I know that, but that wasn’t the point I was making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Nothing will stop his daily sermon on covid, it seems.
    I fear the rest of the first half hour will be devoted to his absolute favourite 'land of the free' and 'greatest democracy in the world' shtick.

But Bryan, you said everything was going to be fine, why is it not?

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Nothing will stop his daily sermon on covid, it seems.
    I fear the rest of the first half hour will be devoted to his absolute favourite 'land of the free' and 'greatest democracy in the world' shtick.

No, he’s “going local” now.

Peculiar!

Have a cup of tea and some toast and everything will be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

being condescending to people living alone his morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

No, he’s “going local” now.

Freebie time!

“I had to buy something” he says with audible shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Government buildings

The daily lecture is gas.