Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Event] Challenge Galway 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Full distance in June 2016 announced. Entries open in less than 2 weeks.

http://challenge-galway.eu/

Could potentially be a great race

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

But the bike course is in Clare :)

www.challenge-Galway.eu

West is best.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭topcat77

Time to get the training plan loaded :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Extra large popcorn please

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭boysinblack

How much will I need to ask the credit union manager for on Saturday lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Kander

This is awesome news :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

BTH wrote: »
    But the bike course is in Clare :)

www.challenge-Galway.eu

West is best.

Fair play BTH - you were scoping the course out already with me - forewarned is forearmed!

Oranmore swim - Jesus there must be smoke coming off AKW's laptop from all the social media typing! We might be lucky and get another interview with the great man himself although hes lost to triathlon now

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

So a year out they have a course, a map and a website.

fvck it..........

Split Transitions, bike and run routes announced, full distance race (and a kids aquathon) on the Sunday with try-a-tri, sprint and olympic on the Saturday.

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭topcat77

I'm going to guess €480.

tunney wrote: »

fvck it..........

Dublin had none of those but were happy to take your money

Not your money obviously.

Dublin had none of those but were happy to take your money

Not your money obviously.

You may have picked me up wrong..........

catweazle wrote: »
    Fair play BTH - you were scoping the course out already with me - forewarned is forearmed!

Oranmore swim - Jesus there must be smoke coming off AKW's laptop from all the social media typing! We might be lucky and get another interview with the great man himself although hes lost to triathlon now

Sean has already ordered the challenge branded gear and applied to the council for permission to put up permanent advertising boards along the bike and run route. :)

You may have picked me up wrong..........

Making a comeback??

26/06/15

Folks at Limerick Tri and HOTW wont be happy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

26/06/15

Folks at Limerick Tri and HOTW wont be happy

don't think they'll be bothered, different market

sorry, only saw the other race distances bit now, you're right

FYI if you have entered Dublin 70.30 and you've not quite got around to starting the training - then you won't get around to starting the training for this either.

Should I just put this in bold letters and large font on the opening post??

and you were talking about dropping distances next year..:)

Should I just put this in bold letters and large font on the opening post??

Not a bad idea.

Although I am considering it and given my track record I should probably heed my own advice.

fvck it..........

website appears to be down at the moment

so...

this race will never happen.

you;re a clown if you think it's going ahead,

why on earth would anyone give them their money

:) (was only down for a minute or two, i'm joking)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

mossym wrote: »
    and you were talking about dropping distances next year..:)

I was.......and still am!

Come back to me at xmas when the pain and misery of the long bike will be forgotten about and I have three stone to lose

(my wife who every long training weekend has cursed this Ironman and made me swear to never do another one........just comes in and says......ohhh it would be lovely for the kids to get to see you this time :D

I was.......and still am!

Come back to me at xmas when the pain and misery of the long bike will be forgotten about and I have three stone to lose

(my wife who every long training weekend has cursed this Ironman and made me swear to never do another one........just comes in and says......ohhh it would be lovely for the kids to get to see you this time :D

I told my wife about this as "look proper irondistance in Ireland".
    Response : "Do it"

That was unexpected

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

West of Ireland. In June...

West of Ireland...

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

There are so many reasons for me not to consider this but i think ill make sure theres money on the credit card at the end of june....

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

A chance to race against tunney. Lads, whats not to like?

Oryx wrote: »
    A chance to race against tunney. Lads, whats not to like?

Ah to be honest. Three small kids, work being the way it is, not swam in a year, not ridden my bike much at all in years, very little running. I think I'll stick to my five year plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭Shedite27

The run will be in Phoenix Park

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

Anyone any idea how much the entry will be for the full distance race