Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E08 - Hardhome - Have NOT read The Books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Their motivation is a mystery to me. What's motivating them to move South and attack?

These White Walker bros don't seem to be the type of bros that are interested in politics, Thrones and some gold bling. Especially since they can only go south when it's winter so if they take over they have to leave as soon as Winter is over.

I'd understand if it was survival, if the White Walkers don't eat do they die? But why would they zombie-ize the people they just killed and not feast on them. Also they seemed to survive North of the wall for thousands of years.

It's hardly mindless evil and violence either as they seem somewhat intelligent as they have leaders and have combat strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Episode 9 tends to be the big episode. Would be hard to imagine them beating that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

What a fecking episode.

And not a cracking pair of Dornish tits in sight

I knew I gave it 9/10 for a reason

I apologise if this is breaking thread rules so maybe a mod can delete or answer? I know that the series is not sticking to the books but did the battle of hardhome take place in the books?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

What a fecking episode.

And not a cracking pair of Dornish tits in sight

10/10 wildling beure though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Rega

Who's the príck who voted this episode a 5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

DeadHand wrote: »
    The battle at Hardhome was the most compelling scene of the series since the Red Wedding.

Stunning.

I barely breathed for those 15 mins.
    Compelling action & terror all at one.

Loved seeing Borgen's excellent & beautiful Birgitte Hjort Sørensen appear.

556bfd82378caf0d670e5041_GOT508_111414_HS__DSC0452%5B1%5D.jpg

Birgitte.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Rega wrote: »
    Who's the príck who voted this episode a 5?

And now a 3? Was somebody's mouse wonky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

The 4 Whitewalkers on undead horses on the hill - the four horsemen of the Apocalypse?

Reminds me of the end-of-credits scene in (non-game of thrones spoiler but I'll spoiler it anyway in case you haven't seen the movie by now)
    x-men: days of future past, foreshadowing the next movie in the series, apocalypse
    . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

So if Dany wants to rule Westeros all she has to do is save them all from the army of the dead in their hour of need, simple. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

GavRedKing wrote: »
    So if Dany wants to rule Westeros all she has to do is save them all from the army of the dead in their hour of need, simple. :pac:

dunno if that simple
    At the moment her dragons aren't under her control
    Even if they were, the dragons fire will kill the zombie things but not necessarily the White Walkers (I dunno, just speculating)
    The Dragonglass works, most them lost in the hut but Stannis said Dragonstone has some
    The other thing that works we saw is Valarian steel
    Who has Valarian steel?
    Brienne has Oathkeeper (Made from Ice, Ned's sword)
    Joffery had his one, Widow maker or something childish - dunno if was buried with him or given to Tommen (Also made from Ice)
    Jon has Mormonts Sword
    To make Valarian Steel, from what I gather takes dragon fire and "magic" - we have seen magic from Red Witch, Magae (yer wan that cursed Dany to not have any children), The Children and the Warlocks - take your pic which it'll be that needs to make it

it is all shaping up nicely gotta say :):)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great episode, it was good to see the budget saving in previous episodes pay off in a big way. Tyrion and Danys scenes were interesting, he will be the much needed level head in her camp. Wonder what he will make of Dario and vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Episode 9 tends to be the big episode. Would be hard to imagine them beating that though.

I think that was this season's big battle. Plus Ramsey said all he needed was "20 good men" that leads me to believe there'll a subdued outcome at Winterfell instead of the big battle we were anticipating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Hazys wrote: »
    It's hardly mindless evil and violence either as they seem somewhat intelligent as they have leaders and have combat strategy.

Yeah, like toss wave after wave after wave after wave after wave of zombies at the enemy :p

Coolest bad-guys ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

catallus wrote: »
    Yeah, like toss wave after wave after wave after wave after wave of zombies at the enemy :p

Coolest bad-guys ever!

I meant when they attacked from jumping off the hill. They are not completely brain dead. (Although jumping off a cliff like that maybe the definition of brain dead lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

J. Marston wrote: »
    I think that was this season's big battle. Plus Ramsey said all he needed was "20 good men" that leads me to believe there'll a subdued outcome at Winterfell instead of the big battle we were anticipating.

Probably, I'm just used to episode 9 = **** goes down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

Great episode, 10/10. Be hard to match that in the final two, but hopefully it can be done.

Delighted the Ayra story line is moving on, hopefully something interesting will happen.

Found this elsewhere..
    http://gfycat.com/EmbellishedHandyBalloonfish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Does anyone else think the kid at castle black is going to do something and end up getting people killed or killed himself? They seem to be devoting a lot of time to him complaining about Jons plan and how much he hates the wildlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Does anyone else think the kid at castle black is going to do something and end up getting people killed or killed himself? They seem to be devoting a lot of time to him complaining about Jons plan and how much he hates the wildlings.

Possibly.

On thronecast, the trailer for EP 9 indicates
    the acting lord commander may not allow Jon & the wildlings through the tunnel anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

ceadaoin. wrote: »

Yep.

He's gonna male a 'difficult decision' that 'others won't understand' which will screw over the nights watch somehow.

I can't see him opening the gates of castle black to the villiagers in the area who go on a throat slitting rampage. There aren't really any other options for him. He's hardly gonna side with the white walkers

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Great episode last night, edge of the seat stuff at the end, thought Jon Snow was a goner but he may not be out of the woods just yet knowing GOT.

Now I will get stick for this but I'm not yet convinced by the white walkers, hand on heart I'm not even a fan of fantasy. I only started watching GOT on Christmas eve last year because I had nothing else to do and stayed watching because of all the great characters and storylines. My fear is that everything that has happened and is going to happen becomes trivial once the white walkers arrive. I mean does it really matter who's on the iron throne or who wins at Winterfell or whether Cersei or Margaery is released etc etc if basically everybody must unite to defeat a common enemy and a lot of those people are likely to die anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,758 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Possibly.

On thronecast, the trailer for EP 9 indicates <SNIP>

Spoiler that please :( Some of us don't even look ahead at the trailers for the next episode.

Cracking episode anyway. It was all great before the big battle but that moment when the dogs started barking... I was like "hmmmm what's this now..." and then the snow storm started... and then the gates closed and silence... fuuuuuuuu*k. Unreal action & drama for 15 minutes. An army of undead full on against the Wildlings. The madness at the docks. The giant stomping on zombies! The fight with the White Walker and the moment where Jon (and the Walker) realise his sword's power. All capped off with that creepy as fcuk moment when the king raises the fallen. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

It was just the perfect storm yesterday (literally), fire was blazing, wind and rain was battering the window outside and a truly epic episode to enjoy.

I think the best thing about the episode was the fact we’re all looking at the Stannis / Bolton showdown then right out of nowhere we great treated to the army of the dead and it’s worth pointing out that the CGI was terrific.

This bloody show would half kill you with the excitement. Jon V the White Walker was seriously well done, I mean, there is part of you (well me anyway) that thinks there’s a slight chance Jon might be killed as nobody is safe. Obviously twas a hell of a lot more epic then that.

Still no Gendry…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,499 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Lads are the white walkers and the undead masses one and the same? Like can the zombies be only killed by dragon glass too or is it just the main fellas with the blue eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Lads are the white walkers and the undead masses one and the same? Like can the zombies be only killed by dragon glass too or is it just the main fellas with the blue eyes

In the battle,the zombies were killed but the white walkers can only be killed with dragon glass.Jon Snow's sword was forged with dragon fire.Thronecast on Sky Atlantic explained how he could kill the walker.

zerks wrote: »
    In the battle,the zombies were killed but the white walkers can only be killed with dragon glass.Jon Snow's sword was forged with dragon fire.Thronecast on Sky Atlantic explained how he could kill the walker.

Yes and I think White Walkers can only be created in some ceremonial way (e.g. taking the babies from Crasters Keep)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,758 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Now I will get stick for this but I'm not yet convinced by the white walkers
    My fear is that everything that has happened and is going to happen becomes trivial once the white walkers arrive. I mean does it really matter who's on the iron throne or who wins at Winterfell or whether Cersei or Margaery is released etc etc if basically everybody must unite to defeat a common enemy and a lot of those people are likely to die anyway.

It really depends on how it all plays out. My feeling is that the battle with the White Walkers will never reach the capital but the effects of it will. All the stuff going on in the capital will have a huge impact on how able Westeros is to fight off the invasion.

It all matters anyway. We've already seen that Stannis's path to the throne has had a direct impact on the war in the north. Yes, there are bigger cogs on the wheel that are slowing turning as the little cogs frantically move around but they are all relevant and part of this world. The point has been made at various points in the show that there is a bigger battle ahead (whether it is with Dany or the White Walkers) and all that is happening in the south is a prelude to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Bacchus wrote: »
    It really depends on how it all plays out. My feeling is that the battle with the White Walkers will never reach the capital but the effects of it will. All the stuff going on in the capital will have a huge impact on how able Westeros is to fight off the invasion.

It all matters anyway. We've already seen that Stannis's path to the throne has had a direct impact on the war in the north. Yes, there are bigger cogs on the wheel that are slowing turning as the little cogs frantically move around but they are all relevant and part of this world. The point has been made at various points in the show that there is a bigger battle ahead (whether it is with Dany or the White Walkers) and all that is happening in the south is a prelude to that.

I suppose that's it, I'm still very much interested to see how things pan out in Kings Landing and at Winterfell regardless of the White Walkers and I'm planning on just sitting back and embracing the whole thing because it's been a great series so far.

Again just generally speaking I'm not a fan of fantasy, that's why I didn't give GOT a chance for so long but I know the show isn't catering specifically for people like me and I can have no complaints anyway. The very first sequence in episode 1 has white walkers in it plus the novel series is called A Song of Ice and Fire, big clue there as to who the main belligerents are going to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

wp_rathead wrote: »
    The only downside to this episode was it really highlighted how SH!TE the fight scene in the Dorne Garden actually was

tumblr_npa18bh0db1tehq45o1_400.gif

vs

tumblr_nolgfuEOqD1sq0qieo4_500.gif

tumblr_nolgfuEOqD1sq0qieo2_500.gif

tumblr_npa18bh0db1tehq45o1_400.gif

This is fecking epic beyond words.

Cant wait to watch on Blu-ray.