Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Just home from town, met 3 Pottinger wagons on the road at this hour, busy lads!

Cutting Monday and Tuesday, starting to pick it up from Tuesday on :)

Are you KK area by any chance. Met an outfit last night.

Was in pub local farmers spot. By the sounds of things I wouldn't like to be a contractor as they're all mowing Monday and pitting or baling wed :):) There'll be some rows on the phone #grasstetney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

My dad mowed 8 acres of strong paddocks for bales yesterday evening. Bale up on Monday midday. Our contractor said he has a world of fellas for Tuesday and Wednesday, and if he was to do it all himself it would take him till Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My dad mowed 8 acres of strong paddocks for bales yesterday evening. Bale up on Monday midday. Our contractor said he has a world of fellas for Tuesday and Wednesday, and if he was to do it all himself it would take him till Friday.
    wonder do these guys just ring up today wanting it done there and then or do they give him a bit of notice? Rang our guy last week that i have some for this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Mowing ourselves today, goin to knock about 20 acres and maybe more tomorrow. Start baling Tuesday, Wednesday. Around what time do ye find the best? I know to wait until the dew is gone off it but any further tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Mowed the last 6 acres of first cut yesterday. Will bale Monday evening have the baler booked since Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,634 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    wonder do these guys just ring up today wanting it done there and then or do they give him a bit of notice? Rang our guy last week that i have some for this week

Well I know around here when they ring you they expect ya to be coming in the gate as they hang up

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well I know around here when they ring you they expect ya to be coming in the gate as they hang up

.......and have cheque book to hand as you leave.............not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭dzer2

.......and have cheque book to hand as you leave.............not

Never take a chegue for baling always cash before I pull in:D:D

dzer2 wrote: »

Another "casual" caller :D

Aren't you confusing baling with visiting hookers? Cash in hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I presume your'e collecting for last year's work. Could'nt consider you being too busy other wise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭dzer2

Ah yea thought there was something fuzzy about it alright
    orm0nd wrote: »
    I presume your'e collecting for last year's work. Could'nt consider you being too busy other wise :D

Wouldn't bale for anyone for hire often gave a;lad a dig out and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dodo mommy

Hello all lookin for advice usually make pit but doing round bales this year got it mowed today and gave it a shake this evening would it be OK down until Wednesday or should it be baled Tuesday what advice could ye give.

dodo mommy wrote: »
    Hello all lookin for advice usually make pit but doing round bales this year got it mowed today and gave it a shake this evening would it be OK down until Wednesday or should it be baled Tuesday what advice could ye give.

Yeah it's up to yourself really. Should last to wed but ya could bale Tuesday as it would be plenty of time

I be trying to bale tuesday if weather is as good as around here. Letting it another 24 day will really dry it out and slighty more risk of it going mouldy as well you lose more sugars,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I be trying to bale tuesday if weather is as good as around here. Letting it another 24 day will really dry it out and slighty more risk of it going mouldy as well you lose more sugars,

At what stage do u start losing sugars? Have 40 acres mowed here since yesterday, baler coming tomo, but seriously drying morning here already. Still in the swarth, but was gonna ted around noon. Should I wait til this evening to throw it out? Is there such a thing as too dry?

I think if it gets too dry you can get mould in bales

It depends when yesterday it was cut. Idealy cut late afternnon as sugars are higher in grass( mind you I cut Saturday morning as it was only time suited) If cut early yesterday with weather I be baling this evening. Sugars change to carbonated sugars in haylage idealy I like silage between 30-40%DM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

It depends when yesterday it was cut. Idealy cut late afternnon as sugars are higher in grass( mind you I cut Saturday morning as it was only time suited) If cut early yesterday with weather I be baling this evening. Sugars change to carbonated sugars in haylage idealy I like silage between 30-40%DM

I cut yesterday at 12. Good dry land here but grass Was wetish and was going to turn it back into the same rows this afternoon and bale tomorrow am I doing wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Visiting! Aren't you a gentleman :-)

I cut yesterday at 12. Good dry land here but grass Was wetish and was going to turn it back into the same rows this afternoon and bale tomorrow am I doing wrong?

Grass that was wet will take ages to dry I would do as you are doing. Where you often get very dry silage is when it is cut early and baled late (after 8pm) after down two days in very hot weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Going to cut 5 acres this afternoon & ted out, bale on weds, not overly heavy, nice bit of clover, should be decent quality, make a start anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dodo mommy

Cheers pudsey, do you know how long it would want to be left down for in this weather if a fella wanted haylage or does that stuff go mouldy as well??? I'm abit confused about this haylage some fellas tell me it's mighty stuff altogether but would be afraid of it going mouldy to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Cut on Saturday here.
    Dad started baling at 11. 90 bakes done 60 on one 4ac piece and 30 so far off headlands and a few rows on a 6 ac piece
    Massive crop on it expecting 200
    very dry too and no tedding done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Cut on Saturday here.
    Dad started baling at 11. 90 bakes done 60 on one 4ac piece and 30 so far off headlands and a few rows on a 6 ac piece

When was it stopped ? That's good going☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

ellewood wrote: »
    When was it stopped ? That's good going☺

Was grazed between last week of March and 1 st wk of april

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭Robson99

Cheers pudsey, do you know how long it would want to be left down for in this weather if a fella wanted haylage or does that stuff go mouldy as well??? I'm abit confused about this haylage some fellas tell me it's mighty stuff altogether but would be afraid of it going mouldy to.

Haylage wont go mouldy. Just put 6 layers of wrap on for security. The closer to hay when bailing the better if for horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Silage done ave 7 bales to acre happy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Cut on Saturday here.

You not reckon it's pure madness cutting massive crops like that as bales, anything over 7 bales to the acre and you are making very dear silage