Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Knocking paddocks and second cut Italian later today if weather holds up,great drying now but lot of rain last night and yesterday .bale Thursday afternoon ,ted twice

Ya mad bastard ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Knocking paddocks and second cut Italian later today if weather holds up,great drying now but lot of rain last night and yesterday .bale Thursday afternoon ,ted twice

Would wait until the grass is dry to cut. It will dry quicker standing than in swards. I am thinking of cutting last of the first cut myself but I am reluctant to cut until the grass has dried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Would wait until the grass is dry to cut. It will dry quicker standing than in swards. I am thinking of cutting last of the first cut myself but I am reluctant to cut until the grass has dried

Yep doing nothing for a few hours yet in case showers pass over me but think I'll get away with it.try and avoid cutting grass wet here as even with redding it drys quicker standing unless lodged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Got our first cut done here last week . Savage amount of rain here all weekend . Ground conditions poor water lying in fields everywhere. Alot of neighbours waiting to cut but ground needs alot of drying at the minute .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Next two days seem reasonable to cut and bale might be only chance for next fortnight weather is to ****ty to chance leaving for another while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

cutting about 40 acres off the milking block tomorrow evening , hope to bale it Thursday evening, will toss it out once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Knocked silage ground Friday and picked up Saturday. 300 bales in the bank. Allot of rain fell after we finished. I'd say it would be well lodged if we held out any longer. As bad and all as the year was I don't think We'v ever grew as much grass. Good grass year so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Knocked silage ground Friday and picked up Saturday. 300 bales in the bank. Allot of rain fell after we finished. I'd say it would be well lodged if we held out any longer. As bad and all as the year was I don't think We'v ever grew as much grass. Good grass year so far.

Jeez mad4. Not too many people saying they find this year a good grass growing year. Are u under stocked ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

sea12 wrote: »
    Jeez mad4. Not too many people saying they find this year a good grass growing year. Are u under stocked ?

If it stays this way most the summer I'll be happy, no drought :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,634 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Plenty of grass around here aswell thank god. Topper had to come out today :o

Ya under stocked this year won't be next year. It's still an unbleavible grass year here tbh. Most fields reseeded in last 10 years, and got fert out early. Sold silage standing over the weekend as we have to much for this year. It's been a cold few weeks but grass growing like mad. I put in a few AC of Italian 10 days ago and it's hopping out of the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Lads knock all the grass ye have ready.... Leaving cert starts today. Guarunteed two weeks of good weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cracking morning here,sunny and warm.putting out some fertiliser first,then let bull off with heifers then start knocking paddocks and second cut off Italian .baling tomorrow evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Super yr in west cork for grass as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Super yr in west cork for grass as well

Would agree with you on being a good year for grass so far. If the temp was 4 or 5 deg higher the last few weeks, we have to buy our own baler as the contractor would have been sick of the sight of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Just saw a Volvo L110 (F I think) with a big folding pike/fork. You'd need to be fairly sure of your pit walls with the weight of that yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Just saw a Volvo L110 (F I think) with a big folding pike/fork. You'd need to be fairly sure of your pit walls with the weight of that yoke

Saw some lad on twitter with an ex160 on top of the pit.

Friend bought a Spanky new 436 jcb for the pit this year. She's sum size girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Saw some lad on twitter with an ex160 on top of the pit.

I know a lad that uses a ex220 for the last few years and not a bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Reggie. wrote: »

What has pointing pencils got to do with anything?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,979 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mowing now

Reggie. wrote: »
    ours came out today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

whelan2 wrote:
    mowing now

Bales or pit? What part of the country are you in? Deliberately to knock a bit myself now as well!!

raypallas wrote: »
    Bales or pit? What part of the country are you in? Deliberately to knock a bit myself now as well!!

Louth this is for pit. 20 acres for bales next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

knocked another 8 acres last night. shuck out by 3.30 this afternoon bale around 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

20% of farm mowed today
    40% mown so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Heaps of silage around so thinking of cutting some light second 5 bale to the acre type but pitting with wholecrop instead of baling it for the milking cows up to christmas.would it preserve as well as it would in bales though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

keep going wrote: »
    Heaps of silage around so thinking of cutting some light second 5 bale to the acre type but pitting with wholecrop instead of baling it for the milking cows up to christmas.would it preserve as well as it would in bales though

Should preserve fine once it gets a nice bit of wilting, surplus grass can be v lush. Was gonna mow another shot of it here this evening, glad now I didn't, it's lashing mad outside tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Should preserve fine once it gets a nice bit of wilting, surplus grass can be v lush. Was gonna mow another shot of it here this evening, glad now I didn't, it's lashing mad outside tonight

got 30 bales in off surplus on grazing block this evening, should be good stuff, rain welcome here now to soak in the slurry out on the first cut ground, not lashing here tho just a nice fall. looks like the first few days of next week should be good so will bale a bit more then id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭GreaseGunner

An improvement promised for early next week so things should kick off around here. The mower is ready and waiting for a start, same as myself at this stage!