If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Your face as the edge of your door hits a wall in slow motion
    [/QUOTE

is the car ok?

Yea was just the edge of the door against a naplocked wall not very hard but edge may need a touch up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Yeah, I am looking them all up now.

Suzuki cappuccino for something totally cool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Suzuki cappuccino for something totally cool?

Thats part of the problem, I want to get something newer than the Chaser for to insure as a daily so I can get classic insurance on the Chaser. I think to keep the insurance companies happy I should look for something less than 10 years old. The problem is that all the good looking K cars came from the 90s. Its unbelievable how bad some of the more modern ones are. Example below.

Some of the best.
    348327.jpg

and some of the worse
    348328.jpg

Honda vamos looks class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Honda vamos looks class!

I think I agree, none in Ireland if the VRT calculator is anything to go by.
    Vamos1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Honda vamos looks class!

I think you might be ill, better take some paracetamol.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I think they all look a bit mank

Now starting to look forward to getting my car

Nothing worse to test a relationship than having to share a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Import Daihatsu Tanto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The country needs more people importing the likes of this stuff. That ol' Alto looks grim, mind

It looks class for what it is! Don't worry, I still wouldn't drive one. A Nissan cube looks class too but I wouldn't take one if it was free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Any Life Dunks? Or too old?
    p327.jpg

In other news....MANY NEW PARTS (and club business cards)

11205503_1389035838092427_6505082385404835789_n.jpg?oh=33bad2ae3b748d5133266390f5bbdbbd&oe=55D55DAA

11206963_1389035828092428_8568410418631871328_n.jpg?oh=b2219a660ee158136c571e4d1f75f08a&oe=55C33C26&__gda__=1443504557_5cd7736810b2c7dbb0158e74de221d2f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

The colour of the business cards doesn't match your signature. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's just a production glitch and will be ironed out in the new model.

Ah yeah, I have a new sig coming sometime in the near future, the current sig is a prototype on trial but blue works better overall for the likes of this stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I am able to get my hands on a 2005 Ford Focus 1.6tdci from a local garage which has had a lot of work done to it recently. Only problem is that it has very high miles.

Ive done approx 20k - 25k km over the last 12 months, and I reckon I'll be doing more over the next 12 months.

I personally wouldn't touch a focus 1.6tdci regardless of mileage specially with your budget. For what it's worth I had a 2007 one for 13 months with 106k km on it and it cost me as near as makes no difference 2k euro just to keep it on the road and that was getting the work done very right and doing some myself. Between oil leaks, coolant leaks, fuel problems no never again. I will never forget the night it left me stranded on the m8 for 5 hours broken down on the hard shoulder. It also broke down on 2 roundabouts in clonmel and I had to drive it off them on the starter motor :eek: broke down once on my dad too.

Anyway you'd probably never get one that bad but then it was the cleanest one I could findo and the guy that bought it got a head ford main dealer mechanic to check it over and I told him all the issues and he said it was the best one he'd seen in ages :eek:

Anyway if I was buying a diesel in the morning for 3.5k euro Id be thinking 1.9tdi golf or octavia both very reliable, astra h 1.7 cdti Corolla 1.4 d4d if you could get one, a diesel 406 of some sort buy one for 1500 or so and put a bit aside incase.

Stheno wrote: »
    I think they all look a bit mank

Now starting to look forward to getting my car

Nothing worse to test a relationship than having to share a car

The sharing thing gets old fairly quick alright. Last summer as I had a job within walking distance and my dad was working in Italy for most of the year he was only in Ireland working for 2 months over the summer so we were sharing the golf and it was hardship couldn't deal with it longterm and I didn't even need a car at that time but just not having it was annoying. It's grand now though he has his golf.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »
    The sharing thing gets old fairly quick alright. Last summer as I had a job within walking distance and my dad was working in Italy for most of the year he was only in Ireland working for 2 months over the summer so we were sharing the golf and it was hardship couldn't deal with it longterm and I didn't even need a car at that time but just not having it was annoying. It's grand now though he has his golf.

Yeah we've been doing it most of this year, never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

GvidoR wrote: »
    Import Daihatsu Tanto!

Agree it's by far the coolest of the cars in that pic imo.

Also I wanted to wait a few days before saying it just to be sure but I am now sure that these kingstar tyres are the biggest piece of sh!t of a tyre I've ever experience on any car. Just about ok in the dry but anyway wet they are full on lethal every slight puddle you hit even at lower speeds no control and Aqua plaining. No traction under any kind of acceleration just spinning the wheels and the event tyres on the back are not the best either.

I can genuinely say I don't know why anyone would put themselves through it longterm just to save a few bob on tyres it really is not even slightly worth it. Anyway I just take it very handy in the rain but they just make the car feel unstable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

They say you can't buy taste.....this yoke disproves that in my mind...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-polo/9367435

OYxFeo.jpg

Don't all come rushing at once....:pac:

166man wrote: »
    They say you can't buy taste.....this yoke disproves that in my mind...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-polo/9367435

Don't all come rushing at once....:pac:

If only it had had 99k miles but 100,200 miles no I'm out sure im suprised it hasn't already blown up :pac:

Ah no very tidy looking car best of luck with the sale :)

I get the splitter, the sticker bombed petrol cap, the white grille. I even think the roof is kinda funky, but what the fook are the CCTV signs etc doing on the boot!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I'm quite sketchy with the whole declaring off the road thing, so I'll explain the scenario.
    Car tax is out since the end of March, car was damaged around then and just parked up since, won't be returning to the road. Will the owner be liable for Aprils tax if he declares it off the road now, or what is the best procedure?

I know that this area/plastic is notorious for breaking, but this is a nasty looking solution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

If it's never going to be returned to the road, then don't bother - you're only costing yourself money by SORN'ing it. It also can't be done while the tax is out.
    Q3. Can I do it after tax has expired?
    A3. No, it must be done in advance. If arrears in motor tax are due, these must be paid in full and motor tax paid for a minimum of 3 months before a declaration of non-use may be made.

If it's never going to be returned to the road, then don't bother - you're only costing yourself money by SORN'ing it. It also can't be done while the tax is out.

So just do nothing? Okey dokey. Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Brought my 1999 Yaris for an NCT last night (a month early) and it passed without any issues, delighted. That car has been proper cheap motoring :D

Lads anyway of checking if a car has been taxed or not or do you need PIN numbers and all that to check on the motortax website ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    Lads anyway of checking if a car has been taxed or not or do you need PIN numbers and all that to check on the motortax website ?

You can put the car's registration into CarsIreland Advertising section here http://www.carsireland.ie/add.php

"Look Up Reg" will tell you.