The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,240 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

SameOleJay wrote: »
    A really amazing stat on the Saints' D from another board.

I remember Ryan’s first year and what looked an elite group with Jordan, Vaccaro, Galette all looking like studs to build around. Shows how quick things change.

That's a fairly damning indictment, no surprise Ryan was giving marching orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,790 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Billy86 wrote: »
    Think I mentioned this earlier, but in week six I stumbled on the following for teams to go 16-0 (so regular season only):

Pats: 20/1
    Packers: 28/1
    Broncos: 35/1
    Bengals: 80/1
    Panthers: 325/1 !!!!

Slightly rough numbers there but I just remember being gobsmacked that the Panthers were so much further out than the Bengals (whereas I could understand the top 3 odds, big name QB = money being put on them). I sent a WhatsApp to a friend, who was eager to lump on the Pats and Packers which I told him was not a good idea - maybe a tenner each or something, but not worth putting on more than 20. I also told him over and over to get his loose change together and put a small bet on the Panthers, maybe 50c up to a fiver tops. It looked like it was probably gonna be throwing the money away, but it would also give him a second team to shout for during the season (he's a Rams fan, and it was clear they weren't going to go too far even that early).

I went to do the same myself, but my PP account was empty since I had cleared it a few months back. I'm also in Toronto this year, and my Canadian card wouldn't work on the website. Contacted tech support, and they told me they had to freeze my account since you can't gamble online from Canada - didn't know that applied here too, thought it was only the US. Sickener!

Anyway, found out the other day that he never put the spare change bet on for the Panthers, and I'm still raging on his behalf :pac: . The price of a pack of crisps and small bottle of Coke would be returning him about a grand to pick up Jan 4th to kick the New Year and beat post-Christmas brokeness with... and he could have covered this week and next at maybe 100 Euro each (Falcons are 12/5 to win, Bucs will be much longer odds next week if Panthers win).

I just can't believe that he didn't put the bet on, and that I couldn't! :(:o

Panthers been discounted all year, the next step in the evolution is "They are the worst team to ever go 16-0 / Regular Unbeaten"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Inquitus wrote: »
    Panthers been discounted all year, the next step in the evolution is "They are the worst team to ever go 16-0 / Regular Unbeaten"
    Funny though isn't it? Love that type of statement - yeah it's probably accurate, but it's kind of like saying Johan Cruyff is the worst player regularly featured in GOAT shortlists. :pac:

Though it might be the classic "weak year in the league".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 929 ✭✭✭JCTO

I can't understand how so many are making excuses as to why the Panthers are flawless right now. Whether its social media or pundits there are so many excuses. Panthers are by far the strongest team in the NFL right now and the balance they have is the perfect recipe to go 19-0. Solid Defense and a very good offense that work together nicely and get the job done. They have what the Pats failed to have before them. The Panthers can hang with physical teams this year the Pats proved in 07 they couldn't and choked when it mattered.

Really strong chance the Panthers go 19-0 and fair play to them if they do.

JCTO wrote: »
    I can't understand how so many are making excuses as to why the Panthers are flawless right now. Whether its social media or pundits there are so many excuses. Panthers are by far the strongest team in the NFL right now and the balance they have is the perfect recipe to go 19-0. Solid Defense and a very good offense that work together nicely and get the job done. They have what the Pats failed to have before them. The Panthers can hang with physical teams this year the Pats proved in 07 they couldn't and choked when it mattered.

Really strong chance the Panthers go 19-0 and fair play to them if they do.

i really dont think they are the strongest team tough they've played amazing and they deserve to be undefeated (and i hope they go 16-0) but i still wouldn't have them as my playoff faves and i dont even think they have that good a balance to be honest the offence is probably below average even at this stage if you take out cam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 929 ✭✭✭JCTO

i really dont think they are the strongest team tough they've played amazing and they deserve to be undefeated (and i hope they go 16-0) but i still wouldn't have them as my playoff faves and i dont even think they have that good a balance to be honest the offence is probably below average even at this stage if you take out cam

That saying Defenses win Championships is the reason why I say they are the strongest team. Statistically there is only 2 better defenses in the league right now but I would put Carolina's defense as the top defense. When the Patriots steamrolled in their close to perfect season it took a solid physical defense to put a stop to it and one thing Carolina has is that physical defense.

Offensively of the teams with the best records is there really any offense better than Carolina's right now? Denver struggling with a backup QB, Seattle are strong but it is debatable if they are playing the strength of their schedule this late on. Tom Brady is on fire but that Pats offense has its issues. Arizona have a solid offense but both sides of the ball are hit and miss at times.

For me that put Carolina with the best team in the league because they have that balance right now and all sections of their team is firing on all cylinders. If they can keep that up and not choke in the playoffs or avoid injury it will stay the best in my eyes.

One thing about yourself and others saying the offense is average that might be true on paper but look at what they have done. Cam Newton, Rivera and Shula are finding ways to get it done and honestly when you can get the job done with a so called average offense you deserve the shout out. Statistically they are up their with the Pats, Seattle and Arizona and ahead of Denver and Green Bay etc etc.

Well, yeah. That's the case with the majority of teams with a proper franchise QB. Meanwhile they are 8th in offensive yards, 3rd in rushing yards (only ~70yds off first) and have scored the most points in the entire league.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Well, yeah. That's the case with the majority of teams with a proper franchise QB. Meanwhile they are 8th in offensive yards, 3rd in rushing yards (only ~70yds off first) and have scored the most points in the entire league.

Ok il put it another way that offense is possibly the worst on the league of you take cam out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Here is something funny that happened post game last Monday

https://twitter.com/BradGalli/status/679179400047407104

Ok il put it another way that offense is possibly the worst on the league of you take cam out
    Uh, no. Not unless you put Jimmy Clausen in his place. Just look at some of the teams at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Now Chris Mortensen (who is a reliable source I'd day) tweeted

https://twitter.com/morteport/status/679779743479234560

A reliable source? That depend son the team he's covering. This is the same clown that released all the wrong information that started off all the PSI-gate nonsense. And not only that, but he kept spewing lies and hadn't the cop on to keep his mouth shut. Anything Pats related coming from him, I tend to file under The Works Of Fiction category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Why would you take out cam?

because a good qb in a bad offence is not a balanced team

But they're not a bad offense. Cam is playing great but it's not a one man show, and his stats are not those of a one man show either. They've been the most entertaining team of the year and it's not all down to cam. He's an important cog in the wheel but not exceptionally so for a qb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Morrison J

HMFfYac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

Ive moved the Manning HGH posts to this thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Brent grimes wife has made a few more comments on social media, this time about tannehill

http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/14449812/miko-grimes-wife-miami-dolphins-cb-brent-grimes-criticizes-qb-ryan-tannehill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

She may very well have a point. I'd like to see the back of him but with his massive new contract I'd say the chances are slim. Hopefully get a decent back room team in place during the off season and i think we're currently no 5 or 6 in the draft standings. Tannehill gets at least one more season but I think it's time to look elsewhere.

Brent grimes wife has made a few more comments on social media, this time about tannehill

http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/14449812/miko-grimes-wife-miami-dolphins-cb-brent-grimes-criticizes-qb-ryan-tannehill

She seems...feisty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,326 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Eagles have fired Chip Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

he had to go terrible reign overall

The moves he made this off season were both the most baffling and arrogant I have ever seen. Maybe I'm wrong but I reckon it'll take the Eagles a long time to recover from the damage done there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

he had to go terrible reign overall

What?? He inherited a team drafting no.4. Two 10-6 seasons since, and one below average one. Sounds fairly good in a league that aims for parity, and no QB to begin with

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    What?? He inherited a team drafting no.4. Two 10-6 seasons since, and one below average one. Sounds fairly good in a league that aims for parity, and no QB to begin with

Presume he means since he took over all the major responsibilities himself, and seems to have gambled the franchise on some crazy notions to prove himself to be football Jesus. That failure had to cost him because he's staked his claim on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Last offseason was the killer for him, for sure. That said, I do think its a little bit of a trigger finger move from the Eagles, considering the previous two years he gave them.

Very interesting to see what they do this offseason.

Wonder how Philly fans feel about Andy Reid doing so well in Kansas since his firing. He probably needed a change either way, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭Guffy

Curious too see what happens with chip now. Will anotherteam take a chance on him or is he damaged goods. He obviously will have no problem getting a college team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Shedite27

gufc21 wrote: »
    Curious too see what happens with chip now. Will anotherteam take a chance on him or is he damaged goods. He obviously will have no problem getting a college team.

Tennessee seems the obvious match.

Team needs rebuilding with a QB that Kelly obviously likes. Hopefully can ditch the number one spot for a bunch of lower picks and rebuild that roster

Hulk Hands wrote: »

In fairness although that team had a lot of talent despite picking no.4 overall they where close to a 10 win team anyway talent wise

Knex. wrote: »
    Last offseason was the killer for him, for sure. That said, I do think its a little bit of a trigger finger move from the Eagles, considering the previous two years he gave them.

Very interesting to see what they do this offseason.

Wonder how Philly fans feel about Andy Reid doing so well in Kansas since his firing. He probably needed a change either way, however.

I'm disappointed he's gone to be honest bit quick for my liking but the offence was brutal this year.

With regards big red I was always a fan but he had to go the organisation has stagnated with him unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

once he got rid of foles and shady the pressure was immediately on, then still having read option with bradford as the qb?? did anyone ever believe that?? then murray being demoted down to third string....