Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repossession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

get over it. we'd all try the same if we were in the same situation. what would he be "giving himself up" for. many of the ordinary joe soap went beyond their means as well, why the sympathy for them and not him? its because he was once wealthy

I don't know about anyone else but his wealth and status is completely irrelevant to me. It could be the queen hypothetically in the same situation and my viewpoint would still be the exact same - his actions are ridiculous and he has taken the courts and the banks for fools. I certainly would not try the same because it's just not worth it, as hard as it would obviously be.

Barricading himself and his family into the house is pointless and in the end, will prove fruitless. I would 100% not try the same because if god forbid I was ever in such an unfortunate farce of a situation that O'Donnell has found himself in, I would like to think that I would leave my property with dignity. Any people I've talked to feel he is being completely unreasonable and embarrassing himself. It's all going to be ultimately pointless because they'll all eventually probably be either dragged out or arrested - maybe both at this stage!

Like I said, he's a profilic name so he should not have let this mess go as far as it has done. Staging a lock in (which if persistent will require Garda intervention, which will waste police time) is going to make things x1000 worse for himself and as a result this whole case has turned into a media circus which could have been easily avoided if he had acted like an "Ordinary Joe".

And yes, I'm sure there are normal, average people who have gone beyond their means, but I doubt any have gone this far and I'm sure they'd have been intercepted before long, unlike the O'Donnells who are still staying past the deadline. The difference is he was a respected (and very rich, to boot. The house was worth €30 million in the boom times!) solicitor who have taken the banks for a ride - that's why this is attracting so much coverage and why peole are getting so up in arms about the whole debacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    "Come on in lads, this is bank property! Wimps!" Haha! :p What a legend :D:D
    my property. my tax bailed out that bank

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

uch wrote: »
    No,, Greedy
    no, once wealthy and thought he could pay it all back, the bank being even more stupid to give it. a number of ordinary people did the exact same yet they get loads of sympathy

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

get over it. we'd all try the same if we were in the same situation. what would he be "giving himself up" for. many of the ordinary joe soap went beyond their means as well, why the sympathy for them and not him? its because he was once wealthy

Nope they had some wealth to start with a modest amount ended up with nearly 800 mill in loans. So GREEDY. Just like so many in this Country from our so called Elites. GREED is what causes the whole lot to go bang. Loans on loans mortgages on mortgages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Under normal circumstances I wouldn't relish the ides of someone being forcibly removed from their home.

I'm willing to make a concession on this one.

Same here 100%, these clowns seem to think they're above the law.

Under normal circumstances I wouldn't relish the ides of someone being forcibly removed from their home.

I'm willing to make a concession on this one.
    exactly, your one of the sort who will pore your heart out for the ordinary but when someone on a higher income does something wrong you relish in them having whatever happen to them. why should the ordinary get all the sympathy when some of them borrowed beyond their means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Ah, end of the road, always supporting the lost causes. At least your consistent.

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    I don't know about anyone else but his wealth and status is completely irrelevant to me. It could be the queen hypothetically in the same situation and my viewpoint would still be the exact same - his actions are ridiculous and frankly desperate. I certainly would not try the same.

Barricading himself and his family into the house is pointless and in the end, will prove fruitless. I would 100% not try the same because if god forbid I was ever in such an unfortunate farce of a situation that O'Donnell has found himself in, I would like to think that I would leave my property with dignity. Any people I've talked to feel he is being completely unreasonable and embarrassing himself.

Like I said, he's a profilic name so he should not have let this mess go as far as it has done. Staging a lock in (which if persistent will require Garda intervention, which will waste police time) is going to make things x1000 worse for himself and as a result this whole case has turned into a media circle which could have been easily avoided if he had acted like an "Ordinary Joe".

And yes, I'm sure there are normal, average people who have gone beyond their means, but I doubt any have gone this far and I'm sure they'd have been intercepted before long, unlike the O'Donnell who are still staying past the deadline. The difference is he was a respected (and very rich, to boot. The house was worth €30 million in the boom times!) solicitor who have taken the banks for a ride - that's why this is attracting so much coverage and why peole are getting so up in arms about the whole debacle
    the bank deserves to be taken for a ride for being so reckless they had to be bailed out

Don't get me wrong and Started on the Banks. But it only takes like 30-40 people like him running up nearly a billion in debt to bring the whole thing down. It's not the general borrower that busts the banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

But if the banks are taken for fools, then aren't we too? Indirectly because of all the taxes we pay, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

And who's paying for the bailout? No disrespect but I can't tell if you're serious or trolling with a comment like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I think you'll find that "that bank" has repaid all their bail-out money, so no- it's not your property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

Valetta wrote: »
    I think you'll find that "that bank" has repaid all their bail-out money, so no- it's not your property.
    You are wasting your time with non-populist 'facts'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

And who's paying for the bailout? No disrespect but I can't tell if you're serious or trolling with a comment like that.
    All of his posts are like that. They read like the spoutings of an idiot troll, but he's so persistent you start to wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,922 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ha they have 3 sons called Blaise, Blake and Bruce. Tongue-twisters.
    Try saying that fast.

They should have been fucked out of the gaff for that alone.

Sure...

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/government-aib-boss-vow-claw-5280309

sorry thought that was THE banks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

exactly, your one of the sort who will pore your heart out for the ordinary but when someone on a higher income does something wrong you relish in them having whatever happen to them. why should the ordinary get all the sympathy when some of them borrowed beyond their means?

It's not a question of borrowing beyond means here-it's his belief that he his above the law.

That's what I find despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sure...
    irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/government-aib-boss-vow-claw-5280309

But at least it is back making money so we should see some of the money back. Giving free passes to people who owe 70M is not going to help however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Sure you did. :rolleyes:

What bank is it btw ? BOI ?

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Banks were in such debt because of the likes of this chap who borrowed recklessly and can't pay it back.

That's only part of the story.

That certainly doesn't mean anybody should be letting the banking sector off the hook for their unbelievable reckless lending, or government for their hand in it with their laissez faire approach to regulation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Palz

Given that one individual appears to have steered this topic into a bank bashing fest with a curious interpretation of the law for good twist, I for one would be pleased to see discussion get back on track.

yipeeeee wrote: »
    So a fianna fail cronie, enough said.

For once, you and I agree on something.

Don't get me wrong and Started on the Banks. But it only takes like 30-40 people like him running up nearly a billion in debt to bring the whole thing down. It's not the general borrower that busts the banks.
    and it wouldn't have been people like him if the banks weren't so reckless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Tony EH wrote: »
    For once, you and I agree on something.

The universe acts in mysterious ways:)

But seriously, absolutely no time for FF.

Would rather see Paul Murphy as taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What's 1 4.5 millionth of the value of the house? Ill buy out your share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Can we all agree to stop feeding that troll please?
    If he's goes hungry he'll leave.
    Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭titan18

If he gets away with it, I think I might head into a bank and take out a loan I never intend repaying. Free money would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mr Justice Brian McGovern, sitting in the Commercial Court, has reserved his judgment in proceedings taken by Bank of Ireland to have the O'Donnells vacate Gorse Hill.

reserved his judgment:confused: in layman terms what does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

fryup wrote: »
    reserved his judgment:confused: in layman terms what does that mean?

It means he will think over the facts of the case before making a decision.