Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repossession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I couldn't believe my ears this morning when I heard one of these so called Land League guys on the radio describe the O'Donnells house as 'very basic'. Who dafuq do these people think they are kidding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

I couldn't believe my ears this morning when I heard one of these so called Land League guys on the radio describe the O'Donnells house as 'very basic'. Who dafuq do these people think they are kidding?
    He also said it was a BOG STANDARD house really think these fellas are living in a fairy land or somting yes these people need a house but buy them an actual bog standard house then and let the bank take the mansion new land league me hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

sjb25 wrote: »
    He also said it was a BOG STANDARD house really think these fellas are living in a fairy land or somting yes these people need a house but buy them an actual bog standard house then and let the bank take the mansion new land league me hole

The bolloxollogy of ranting on about how their kids are entitled to live in the house really annoys me as well. They are adults. They complied with the court order to leave. Most of us move out of our parents homes when we grow up. I certainly would never consider myself as having a legal right to live in my parents house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,414 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

mzungu wrote: »
    Are the Je Suis Brian T shirts available yet?
    Je suis Brian et ma femme aussi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

Palz wrote: »
    I am fiscally secure since you raised it. They didn't do better than me from what I can tell thank you very much.
    Only EOTR would think that a man who owes 70 million more than he actually has is doing well.

God help us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

sjb25 wrote: »

Where did these land league guys come from? Given what the original land league actually did, these guys have a neck using that name. Obviously their main aim is to get publicity for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

vienne86 wrote: »
    Where did these land league guys come from? Given what the original land league actually did, these guys have a neck using that name. Obviously their main aim is to get publicity for themselves.

One of them has something to do with Bertie ahern i think, advisor or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,161 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Article about Jerry Beades, one of the main players in this farce.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/profile-beades-the-builder-in-a-league-of-his-own-31039115.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

So a fianna fail cronie, enough said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

At one Ard Fheis in 2009, he stood for re-election, ordering 30 life-size cardboard cutouts of US President Barack Obama with the slogan: "Obama says Vote Jerry Beades." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

bjork wrote: »
    At one Ard Fheis in 2009, he stood for re-election, ordering 30 life-size cardboard cutouts of US President Barack Obama with the slogan: "Obama says Vote Jerry Beades." :pac:

It's bizarre to think that one of the FF inner circle, the people who brought this country to it's knees and profited from it's rise (and for some the fall too) would be behind a group that draws it's name from what can only be described as a socialist organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

What system? Back to Soviet Communism?

That went well.

Why is the choice always between fractional reserve banking and communism? It's as if it's literally impossible to design a system that hasn't been tried before. :rolleyes:

Tell me what it is so it can be discussed.

Otherwise, I might as well say 'sure why do we need to breathe air? I blame the system', without offering any other alternative.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

That explains it, was thinking there was more to the guy that meets the eye. He seems to have quite the brass neck, and is a bit deluded and detached from reality. Which I suppose are all the hallmarks of the Drumcondra mafia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

they are all buy to let landlords and property investors

they support the O'Donnells in the hope they win and set a precedent, if they can do this they can all benefit when the banks come after them

right now a large % of the buy to let landlords have stopped paying mortgages, they just pocket the rent and the banks are doing very little to stop them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Banks were in such debt because of the likes of this chap who borrowed recklessly and can't pay it back.

Kind of ironic.

Now the banks are tryin to recoup money to pay the bailout back and people are on their case.

Just can't win.
    banks were in debt because the banks were stupid enough to give huge amounts of money which they should have known better not to give out. they should never have been bailed out in the first place. frankly i have such contempt for these banks that i would have been willing to suffer to see these reckless banks go to the wall. the banks don't deserve the chance to pay the money back. anything the banks own that money is owed on should be taken by the state who in turn should sell ensuring we get the money back

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

anything the banks own that money is owed on should be taken by the state who in turn should sell ensuring we get the money back
    Or we could just let the banks we own do what you suggest, instead of setting up a whole new agency to do it that would cost billions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

banks were in debt because the banks were stupid enough to give huge amounts of money which they should have known better not to give out. they should never have been bailed out in the first place. frankly i have such contempt for these banks that i would have been willing to suffer to see these reckless banks go to the wall. the banks don't deserve the chance to pay the money back. anything the banks own that money is owed on should be taken by the state who in turn should sell ensuring we get the money back

so the banks should be allowed to go to the wall and the people who took loans from them should have their loans wiped clean? so you are suggesting that we punish the people who didnt borrow recklessly i.e. those with deposits in the bank that would disappear when the bank goes bust and reward those who did borrow recklessly by clearing their loans for them? what a genius plan. I cant see any flaws with that at all. you must owe the bank a lot of money.

The judge's role is to impart justice for all.
    That includes you and I. ergo society.

well, as he wouldn't be representing me if he jailed this couple, he wouldn't be imparting justice for all. he would be doing it for some, or most, or whatever. same as the judge who sent the water 5 to jail, and who implemented injunctions against water protesters. no imparting justice for me and others by doing that.
    There is no such thing as a 'real criminal'. Simply criminal will suffice. The law does not discriminate the status of this.

no, real criminal. someone involved in murder rape abuse and other victim crimes. banks are not victims.
    paying tax is not a job. it is an obligation in law.

it is your job and an obligation.
    Jail space and money arguments are irrelevant

they aren't. we have to cut costs. we have little jail space, we need to keep it for the dangerous in our society such as rapists murderers child abusers and so on.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Or we could just let the banks we own do what you suggest, instead of setting up a whole new agency to do it that would cost billions.
    we have an agency. nama. the banks don't deserve this money for almost bringing irelands economy down with them, enslaving us for future generations via a bailout and having to bail them out. feck them

so the banks should be allowed to go to the wall and the people who took loans from them should have their loans wiped clean? so you are suggesting that we punish the people who didnt borrow recklessly i.e. those with deposits in the bank that would disappear when the bank goes bust and reward those who did borrow recklessly by clearing their loans for them? what a genius plan. I cant see any flaws with that at all. you must owe the bank a lot of money.
    i owe them nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

i owe them nothing.

so why do you think that people that owe money to a bank should be given a free pass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

He has told several judges previously that his family home is located in England so suddenly decided that it's not when it suits him it ridiculous, also this new land league are a disgrace to the group of the same name that used to exist and just come across as a bunch of freeman eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Please tell me he isn't actually going to get away with this..the whole thing just infuriates me. If he was a "normal" person who was in debt, he'd be turfed out of that house by the bank months ago. IMO it's only because he's a profilic name that they've let him carry on living in the house and didn't throw him out as expected at 4 o clock yesterday.

He is a solicitor so one would think that he'd be relatively well informed and clued up..why not sell his house, that would go to paying off a minority of the debt that he's in! I suppose the family are too stubborn to do that though, only reason why they've barricaded themselves in I'm sure!

All the taxes people pay have gone to him in the past so I hope they do chuck him out. I don't have sympathy. I would if they had given themselves up immediately but carrying on like this is just ridiculous - I mean, it's not like they have no where else to go, wouldn't be surprised if O'Donnell has a secret pile of cash somewhere (you would imagine that he would've anticipated this). Anyways, I'm very interested in this story and will be watching the news closely to see how it all ends. Btw, what was the story with Vincent Browne going in to see him? I know he too thinks what O'Donnell is doing is selfish so why does he think he could talk some sense into him? Maybe I've got it wrong? I just saw a snippet of VB entering the property and assumed that the O'Donnells had allowed him acccess

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Please tell me he isn't actually going to get away with this..the whole thing just infuriates me. If he was a "normal" person who was in debt, he'd be turfed out of that house by the bank months ago. IMO it's only because he's a profilic name that they've let him carry on living in the house and didn't throw him out as expected at 4 o clock yesterday.

He is a solicitor so one would think that he'd be relatively well informed and clued up..why not sell his house, that would go to paying off a minority of the debt that he's in! I suppose the family are too stubborn to do that though, only reason why they've barricaded themselves in I'm sure!

All the taxes people pay have gone to him in the past so I hope they do chuck him out. I don't have sympathy. I would if they had given themselves up immediately but carrying on like this is just ridiculous - I mean, it's not like they have no where else to go, wouldn't be surprised if O'Donnell has a secret pile of cash somewhere (you would imagine that he would've anticipated this). Anyways, I'm very interested in this story and will be watching the news closely to see how it all ends. Btw, what was the story with Vincent Browne going in to see him? I know he too thinks what O'Donnell is doing is selfish so why does he think he could talk some sense into him? Maybe I've got it wrong? I just saw a snippet of VB entering the property and assumed that the O'Donnells had allowed him acccess
    get over it. we'd all try the same if we were in the same situation. what would he be "giving himself up" for. many of the ordinary joe soap went beyond their means as well, why the sympathy for them and not him? its because he was once wealthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Looks like Vincient Browne just strolled in to the O'Donnells mansion.:o

"Come on in lads, this is bank property! Wimps!" Haha! :p What a legend :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

get over it. we'd all try the same if we were in the same situation. what would he be "giving himself up" for. many of the ordinary joe soap went beyond their means as well, why the sympathy for them and not him? its because he was once wealthy

No,, Greedy

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

in Ireland for many, debt = wealth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

I can't wait to see him getting pulled out of the house, have the popcorn ready and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I can't wait to see him getting pulled out of the house, have the popcorn ready and all.

Under normal circumstances I wouldn't relish the ides of someone being forcibly removed from their home.

I'm willing to make a concession on this one.