Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repossession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,215 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

ronan45 wrote: »
    Vincent Brown is now on the scene :rolleyes:
    sjb25 wrote: »
    **** is about to kick of lol he's blocking the gate closing coz he wants to get in lol
    Crazy old guy turns up at Crazy old guys house!
    According to someone on the Pin, Vincent was forced to sell his nearby Dalkey home to meet his debts a couple of years back, maybe he's joining up with the LL in solidarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Thargor wrote: »
    According to someone on the Pin, Vincent was forced to sell his nearby Dalkey home to meet his debts a couple of years back, maybe he's joining up with the LL in solidarity.
    Actually the banks didn't sell the house, Browne did.

He personally "only" owed another €150k to the banks, but as far as I know he attempted to settle debts for the company as well as his own personal debts. Definitely retained more dignity than his old neighbours the O'Donnells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

conorh91 wrote: »
    Seriously patronizing article there. Although the whole thing is of course ridiculous, I don't see the point in making fun of the guy's advocacy skills, and seeming to enjoy his inexperience.

Bottom line is that the O'Donnell parents seem to be in denial, but we all know how it's going to end.

I don;t understand why anyone needs to be "outraged" or why Kathy Sheridan needs to write an article mocking a young solicitor's skills. This is a small town and to me, it seems like a pointless abuse of the paper's influence. She's enjoying it a bit too much IMO.

Perhaps its just me but I did'nt interpet it as mocking his skills it was more about trying to paint a picture of having sent a lamb to the slaughter. I actually feel sorry for the lad hes been put under immense pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/gorse-hill-o-donnells-have-until-4pm-to-vacate-killiney-mansion-1.2125575
    However, members of the Land League – a body that has been involved in frequent protests at party political events, evictions and formal events – have said the couple are now calling on the Taoiseach and the Attorney General to read the family’s dossier of files in the case.
    The group has called a press briefing for later on Wednesday. Mr Beades said he will outline a dossier of files exposing serious wrong doings against the O’Donnells.
    The Land League has told The Irish Times that the dossier will be made available to the media if the Taoiseach and Attorney General refuse to intervene in the case.

what a load of bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I don't honestly see why people have such a problem with repossession. This is the Great Famine of 1845, you don't just get evicted from your home for no good reason anymore.

If you are struggling to pay for your home fine, but you can't just refuse point blank to pay and ignore all the letters etc and/or the court instructions sent to you, and expect to be let off the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

What a ridiculous country. A cousin of mine was tossed out of her rental house a few weeks before Christmas complete with family of 4. Landlord said he was moving in but just put it up for sale.

Land league didn't turn up.

The Landlord has every right to sell if he wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Is the 4 o'clock deadline still in place?

Has there been any indication of how the eviction in to be effected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Valetta wrote: »
    Is the 4 o'clock deadline still in place?

Has there been any indication of how the eviction in to be effected?

Solicitor Brian O'Donnell and his wife Mary Patricia have until 4pm this afternoon to vacate their home on the order of the High Court.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0304/684329-odonnells/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,215 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

What will be the punishment though if they're still there at 5? Probably nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,990 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Will the Guards be involved?
    If so I feel for them, they don't join the force to do sh1t like this, and get a bad rep for carrying out orders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If they don;t vacate by 4pm I believe the bank will go back to court in the morning for trespass proceedings. Eventually the Gardaí will be involved if the couple keep ignoring the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If they don;t vacate by 4pm I believe the bank will go back to court in the morning for trespass proceedings. Eventually the Gardaí will be involved if the couple keep ignoring the court.
    That's pretty much it. Back-and-forth, back-and-forth.
    Tomorrow, trespass proceedings, another notice to vacate from the court.
    The next day a court order to vacate.
    The next day a summons to appear in court.
    The next day a warrant for their arrest.
    The next day they get dragged out by the Gardai and brought to court, while the land league morons get their five minutes in the spotlight assaulting Gardai and claiming the Gardai are like the gestapo.

There'll be media fodder in this until next Wednesday at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Wonder if Blake, Blaise, Bluce and Blalexandra are still holed up there. Checking the hidden stashes of cash probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Gorse hill - the vale of tears...Didn't Pat Kenny and his neighbours have a bit of a spat over another section of "gorse".

Seems more like Orse Hill.

Pat's little patch was also called 'Gorse
    Hill', iirc. He must be experiencing a
    sense of déjà vu these days. Cost him
    €2m to sort out his spat with his neighbour. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Has Coppinger rocked up yet, windbagging about everyone having a right to a family home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

For the love of God, leave with a bit of dignity.

I'm sure it won't be a cardboard box they're going to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The Landlord has every right to sell if he wishes.

Yeh, and so do the bank in this case. Its easier to kick the little people out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

It sounds like a Ross O'Carroll play. I wonder did the media get an interview with the dog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Grayson wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/gorse-hill-o-donnells-have-until-4pm-to-vacate-killiney-mansion-1.2125575
    However, members of the Land League – a body that has been involved in frequent protests at party political events, evictions and formal events – have said the couple are now calling on the Taoiseach and the Attorney General to read the family’s dossier of files in the case.
    The group has called a press briefing for later on Wednesday. Mr Beades said he will outline a dossier of files exposing serious wrong doings against the O’Donnells.
    The Land League has told The Irish Times that the dossier will be made available to the media if the Taoiseach and Attorney General refuse to intervene in the case.

what a load of bull.

Talk about Delusional, Prey tell what the Government can do with a Civil matter between the banks and this lot ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

NO CONTRACT NO CONSENT.

NOW I WILL GO BACK IN MY CAGE TO MAKE LOVE WITH MY UNAESTHETICALLY PLEASING WIFE AND GO TO SIGN A CONTRACT TO COLLECT MY DOLE.

AHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH NO IRONY WHAT SO EVER MUHHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

I really can't fathom what the O'Donnells think they are going to achieve here. Why wouldn't they just leave quietly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Why wouldn't they just leave quietly?

Government has put the upper class on such a pedestal that they have a sense of entitlement. They feel that they are 100% in the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I don't honestly see why people have such a problem with repossession.

because some of the banks expected us to bail them out, and won't play ball with those willing to pay. fact is the bank will get pittence for this house at this stage and they deserve it.
    This is the Great Famine of 1845, you don't just get evicted from your home for no good reason anymore.

oh yes you do. you think the banks are totally innocent in this? some of them refuse to play ball no matter how much the debter tries. we've all heard the stories, they can't all be lying.
    If you are struggling to pay for your home fine, but you can't just refuse point blank to pay and ignore all the letters etc and/or the court instructions sent to you, and expect to be let off the hook.

how do you know he did all of those? just because he was once wealthy doesn't make him guilty of any of that stuff. i've seen nothing to suggest he hasn't being making an effort to do a deal to pay. if anyone is to take the house it should be the state themselves with the bank left out in the cold. let off the hook he will be as the bank isn't getting most of that money back, ever.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

vienne86 wrote: »
    I really can't fathom what the O'Donnells think they are going to achieve here. Why wouldn't they just leave quietly?
    why would they. drag it out for as long as they can, get taken off by the gards, bank squirming in fear of their reputation being damaged a tad.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

why would they. drag it out for as long as they can, get taken off by the gards, bank squirming in fear of their reputation being damaged a tad.

Dunno. I don't think there is much sympathy out there for the O'Donnells. I think there would be a certain amount of glee if they were taken off in a paddy wagon.

vienne86 wrote: »
    Dunno. I don't think there is much sympathy out there for the O'Donnells. I think there would be a certain amount of glee if they were taken off in a paddy wagon.
    oh certainly. the same people though would be outraged if it was someone in a council house though. couldn't make it up. its pure and simple begrudgery if i'm honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,261 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Looks like Vincient Browne just strolled in to the O'Donnells mansion.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,891 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

anyone homeless tonight in Dublin , should head up to the Vico road and form a squat , free swimming pool and all - any citizen of Ireland has as much right to be in that house as the O'Donnells themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Good auld Vinnie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas