Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repossession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,326 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

oh certainly. the same people though would be outraged if it was someone in a council house though. couldn't make it up. its pure and simple begrudgery if i'm honest

Yeah right, O Donnell was a property speculator who got too greedy, comparing him to ordinary people is ridiculous, somehow I doubt he will be stuck for a place to live.

Those 2 fools from the New Land League are just making themselves look more stupid everytime they talk to the media.

Davitt must be doing cartwheels in his coffin the way they highjacked the name of the organisation he set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The whole thing is farcical and they should be evicted. But of course they're going to string it out, they've got no shame and are probably only doing it to increase the legal fees the bank has to pay to fight them in court. The legal fees must be in the millions at this point. Not that it matters to the O'Donnells, I doubt they'll be paying their own fees when they lose. I bet they've millions tucked away in offshore accounts and in their kids names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Yeah right, O Donnell was a property speculator who got too greedy, comparing him to ordinary people is ridiculous

so what if he got a bit greedy. many people did. they at the time had the money and were deluded that the boom would last forever. its not illegal. the banks were willing to give out the money, they should have known better and been more careful, seeing as they are the ones who lent the money, and seeing as their actions can bring down economies. comparing him to ordinary people isn't ridiculous as some of them got a bit greedy themselves.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Does the Land League goon refer to VB as 'Philcent' @ 2:00?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

RoboRat wrote: »
    Government has put the upper class on such a pedestal that they have a sense of entitlement. They feel that they are 100% in the right.

It's not just upper class, Irish people in general have a huge sense of entitlement, in my opinion.

The whole thing is farcical and they should be evicted. But of course they're going to string it out, they've got no shame and are probably only doing it to increase the legal fees the bank has to pay to fight them in court. The legal fees must be in the millions at this point. Not that it matters to the O'Donnells, I doubt they'll be paying their own fees when they lose. I bet they've millions tucked away in offshore accounts and in their kids names.
    well, the bank deserve the higher fees. the banks got away with to much and we'l get pittence back of our bailout no matter what

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Fair play to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

so what if he got a bit greedy. many people did. they at the time had the money and were deluded that the boom would last forever. its not illegal. the banks were willing to give out the money, they should have known better and been more careful, seeing as they are the ones who lent the money, and seeing as their actions can bring down economies. comparing him to ordinary people isn't ridiculous as some of them got a bit greedy themselves.

800 odd million in loans Hardly joe soap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,314 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The irony in this whole thing is hilarious really. O'Donnell was a legal adviser for NAMA at one stage, when NAMA were seizing ownership of a load of homes that people had been evicted from. And he has the cheek to call on the 'Land League' to come and save them from the evil banks! The same Land League which is supposed to be 100% opposed to the notion of a Landlord class, which O'Donnell himself is part of =/

Absolute cretin of a man. I wonder if he'd be so quick to go out and help blockade the home of a family in Raheny who were facing eviction? He would in his hole would be my guess.

800 odd million in loans Hardly joe soap.
    no but when the same people berating him are the ones going ape when someone lower down gets sympathy its hard not to point out the fact that some things are the same in many ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

no but when the same people berating him are the ones going ape when someone lower down gets sympathy its hard not to point out the fact that some things are the same in many ways

You try as average Joe to stay in your house once the bank forecloses. bank calls, you say I'm not leaving. Gards called you dragged out. not what's happening in this case as the guy has access to legal proceeding normal people don't have the money for.

And on a side point they tried to say the House in the UK was the Family home recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Are they entitled to free legal aid??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Are they entitled to free legal aid??

I wondered if the O'Donnells were entitled to Legal Aid, it wouldn't surprise me either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

This Thread has a cooler title!

If it was some poor sod with a wife and kids being repo'd out of his 3 bedroom semi in Longford or Mullingar there'd be no sign of those "Land League" goons or VB either for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

The lad that left the cable in the van ruined his big moment

Are you a lobster of the court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,420 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ha they have 3 sons called Blaise, Blake and Bruce. Tongue-twisters.
    Try saying that fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Are this shower like the "freeman" lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Disgraceful, he should remember that trespass is illegal....

Have they struck oil under Glasnevin yet? because the whole lot of them are spinning in the graves above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ha they have 3 sons called Blaise, Blake and Bruce. Tongue-twisters.
    Try saying that fast.

Katie Hopkins have a field day on This Morning with those kids names.

This Thread has a cooler title!

If it was some poor sod with a wife and kids being repo'd out of his 3 bedroom semi in Longford or Mullingar there'd be no sign of those "Land League" goons or VB either for that matter.
    actually they do go to evictions of all types of people in similar situations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

Nodin wrote: »
    Are this shower like the "freeman" lot?

much the same, property investors and buy to let land lords

the scum of the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,862 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

actually they do go to evictions of all types of people in similar situations

I've never seen Beades or Tom Darcy or the rest of the head honchos make anything more than a perfunctory 5 minute appearance at the eviction of Mr&Mrs Terraced House - a few malleable goons usually do their donkey work.
    Beades does seem to manage to get himself to the forefront when its a 'big one' in Castleknock or Killiney, with an amount in keeping with his own 7 figure debt.

Genuinely surprised that someone like yourself who I consider of leftwing/socialist/communist bent is hitching their sails to this particular boat - the SWP (Boyd-Barretts core group) have even cautioned their people to avoid 'poisonous' Jerry Beades in their newsletters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

These are part of the elite group who for years before the crash and during it, hid their bogus dealings so they wouldn't have to pay it back, now they have been caught, tough.

I've never seen Beades or Tom Darcy or the rest of the head honchos make anything more than a perfunctory 5 minute appearance at the eviction of Mr&Mrs Terraced House - a few malleable goons usually do their donkey work.
    Beades does seem to manage to get himself to the forefront when its a 'big one' in Castleknock or Killiney, with an amount in keeping with his own 7 figure debt.

Genuinely surprised that someone like yourself who I consider of leftwing/socialist/communist bent is hitching their sails to this particular boat - the SWP (Boyd-Barretts core group) have even cautioned their people to avoid 'poisonous' Jerry Beades in their newsletters.

i'm not hitching my sails to any boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Jerry Beades and the Lol League are there, but the whereabouts of Ben Gilroy™ are unknown at this time.

Beades concrete? If so i had a run in with them and funny enough that was in Killiney as well . They had a feck you attitude then as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

well, the bank deserve the higher fees. the banks got away with to much and we'l get pittence back of our bailout no matter what

You willing to stand by that statement. Will you just claim any figures released are lies by the government or banks if they don't fall in to the category of "pittance"?

What's your definition of pittance , just so we know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Disgraceful, he should remember that trespass is illegal....

Indeed, him and his wife need to get out of the banks house asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

While I sympathise with their situation (it must be awful for any family to loose their home to repossession), one must take some personal responsibility for the situation they find themselves in.

Yes we know the bank over lent but that does not make the borrower blameless.

The highest court in this land has ruled in favour of the bank, this case has gone "all the way" bar going to the European courts* which it seems they are now set to do.

What's the bets that if the Europe court rules in favour of the bank, the O'Donnells will continue to put up a fight?

You can't continue to stamp your feet when all* legal avenues have been exhausted and expect a U-turn