Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Clare Daly TD

15678911»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Journal reporting that a Garda twitter account mocked Clare Daly in the aftermath of her arrest
    A GARDA DETECTIVE sent Clare Daly tweets mocking her immediately after she was arrested in 2013.
    The TD was pulled over by gardaí after taking a wrong turn and arrested after a breathalyser failed to register a reading in January 2013.
    Information about Daly being mocked online by a Twitter account linked to a detective garda has been included in a GSOC report into how information about the incident was leaked to the media.

As part of Daly’s complaint she alleged that gardaí had told the media that she requested that TD Mick Wallace be told about her arrest.
    She said that she received contact from an Irish Daily Mail journalist asking why she had contacted Wallace – something Daly’s legal representation said was designed to embarrass her.

It has emerged in the report that the journalist who sent the text messages to Daly was in contact with a number registered to a detective garda.
    The report found that a Twitter account linked to this garda was used to mock Clare Daly following her arrest.

The tweets
    At 7pm on 29 January 2013 – the night that she was arrested – Daly received a tweet that said:
    @ClareDalyTD Are you DRIVING to the meeting ???
    After this around 10 minutes later she received another tweet that said:
    @ClareDalyTD How big was the hot whiskey ? Boiling a bottle of Jameson & swallowing it doesn’t count as 1.
    These two tweets followed an appearance by Deputy Daly on RTÉ’s Six One news, during which she confirmed that she had been arrested in an area of south Dublin she was not familiar with.
    She also questioned how details of her arrest had become available to the media so quickly.
    The following day further tweets were sent to the Dublin TD from the Twitter account connected to the detective garda which said:
    @ClareDalyTD Hilarious – a media hungry attention seeking savage complaining about information being given to the media hilarious
    @ClareDalyTD Probably a bit too late night or in the night to expect certain TD’s to be sober at this late hour

Very unprofessional behaviour by a detective Garda, I suppose he is claiming his phone was 'hacked' :rolleyes:

This follows from the Higgins report just a week ago where a judge saw no corruption in Gardai making changes to their Pulse system entries to cover their arses. You really couldn't make it up, they must think the public are stupid or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Satriale wrote: »
    Fine. I, of course, concede that it could be The Cleaners, but on the balance of probablility I still think it's more likely a Garda leak.

So obviously you haven't read the report or lack a degree of common sense that would tell you that the office of a "civilian administrator" does not equal cleaner. Although GSOC did list a number of people who would have known about the incident but their word was good enough to say they probably didn't do it. Yet at the same time they went through phone records and social media of Gardaí and couldn't link them to the leak but decided they probably did it. If only all crimes could be solved so easy.
    And, of course leaking information that Daly was a drunk driver discredits her in the eyes of the public, and who did that benefit? Certainly not her.

Really? She seems to have been the only one who benefited from the publicity.
    You may be right about her failing the breath test, i see conflicting reports about whether it was machine failure or herself. I note from a quick look at the report that the Gardai were short straws and had to get a second squad out to finish the test. Nice to know that the crime epidemic in Dublin has been successfully stemmed in this time of station closures under-manning and under-equipping
    (And your question, no i had only read the press release, but after a quick look at the full report I'm less than impressed with the Gardai)

Yes, under-equipping, like the lack of disposable tubes for breath machines. The Gardaí were doing her a favour by getting someone else out to do the test. Otherwise she would have just been arrested. But they apparently gave her the benefit of the doubt and tried to avoid the arrest. Apparently though, you think that when the smallest thing goes wrong Gardaí should just give up what they are doing. No paper in the printer? Can't charge anyone. Better let them out of the cells and hope they learnt their lesson. perish the though of sending someone to get a few pages from the stores. There's crime out there to fight.
    And handcuffing? I've seen strapping lads carted off from fights outside Clubs and put in the back of the squad without handcuffs (i'm sure if she was kicking and fighting it would have made the morning paper with all the rest).

No you haven't. You might have seen them thrown in a van with no cuffs but not a car.
    I've great respect for the majority of Gardaí, a lot more than i have for Daly, but i wont apologise for wanting the rotten elements and grossly unprofessional members rooted out. It's too important a job to have them there.

Maybe, but you seem to be determined to find a rotten apple even where there is none.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Journal reporting that a Garda twitter account mocked Clare Daly in the aftermath of her arrest

Very unprofessional behaviour by a detective Garda, I suppose he is claiming his phone was 'hacked' :rolleyes:

This follows from the Higgins report just a week ago where a judge saw no corruption in Gardai making changes to their Pulse system entries to cover their arses. You really couldn't make it up, they must think the public are stupid or something

How does the actions of one Garda on Twitter equate to organisational corruption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

How does the actions of one Garda on Twitter equate to organisational corruption?

Where did I say it does? Besides I think we already had enough evidence of corruption in the Gardai between the penalty points saga where even the Commissioner himself was getting his points wiped as well as Gardai doing it for their favoured journalists too.

We also had Gardai aiding and abetting a known heroin dealer Kieran Boylan in his activities to import herion with Gardai even recommending the Dept of Transport furnish him with an international haulage license. Do you not see this as corruption in the Gardai or something? How about Gardai changing Pulse records after the event to correct their mistakes? Is that not corruption? Why didn't they just own up to their blunders instead of taking the dishonest path and trying to amend them?

It would be a very naieve person to claim that there isn't corruption in the Gardai, we have seen enough evidence to know it exists. We've also had Gardai stealing money from their own stations, unless you think this was the cleaner too who had the keys to the evidence room? As Judge Morris said many moons ago the problem with the Gardai as an organisation is that they value loyalty over honesty. Thats not the way any police force should be run, you only need to look across the water to the Hillsborough tragedy to see many of the same characteristics at play in the police force there and how the police lies made the suffering and grief of those familes last for almost three decades when it should have been dealt with far sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

S

Maybe, but you seem to be determined to find a rotten apple even where there is none.

Someone has to keep an eye for them, i reckon they've quite enough fanbois who can see no wrong. :D