Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I was at the dogs last night.

€10 entry with a burger and a Corona if you pre-book. Very cheap! There wasn't a big crowd, I thought there would be more given the good weather. The better grade races seem to be on Saturday which might be a factor.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I was at the dogs last night

€10 entry with a burger and a Corona if you pre-book. Very cheap! There wasn't a big crowd, I thought there would be more given the good weather. The better grade races seem to be on Saturday which might be a factor.

Are Coppers doing burgers now? :D

Zzippy wrote: »
    Are Coppers doing burgers now? :D
    And here's me trying to be positive and you feckin' mods can't resist being sarcastic and cynical...

• Administrators Posts: 53,398 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Buer wrote: »
    Reddit is packed with internet warriors. If they did that, there would be wholesale departure on a permanent basis and the site would be in massive trouble within a short space of time.

Think about how we'd react if the mods on Boards were all sacked and overruled by the admins (aside from .ak, I mean).

You'd be crying yourself to sleep, right?

RIGHT?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

If all the mods were sacked I'd be starting ROG v Sexton debates all over the place!!

CatFromHue wrote: »
    If all the mods were sacked I'd be starting ROG v Sexton debates all over the place!!

We wouldn't care, sure we'd not be the ones having to deal with it any more. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,180 ✭✭✭✭Buer

awec wrote: »
    You'd be crying yourself to sleep, right?

RIGHT?

Now where did I put that Borat gif....

We wouldn't care, sure we'd not be the ones having to deal with it any more. :D

Regardless, I'd be off to absolutely sh*te all over the engineering forum for the craic....

Do ye get much trolling over in engineering Catty?

Thinly veiled threat... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

How the hell do you troll an engineer?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

We don't get much anything over there!

I want to build a bridge. How do I do it?

so you've finally accepted Payne deserved that red against Saracens then :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I actually loled there. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

PotY

Touché.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

.ak wrote: »
    As much as I am a geek I've never used reedit. The be honest I just don't understand how it works...

I was the same a couple of years back. But it slowly starts sucking you in until you're hooked. One of the best websites out there imo

Brendan_Venter1.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've never used reedit. The be honest I just don't understand how it works...

I think it looks awful and that puts me off using it. The Oh uses it all the time

Speaking of which, anyone know a dry cleaner that can get caviar stains out?
    b.gud wrote: »
    Dry cleaning won't work for that. You need the tears of poor people to properly get those stains out

lol

Who or what is an Avicii?

Tonnes of knackbags outside my building on the quays blowing whistles, queuing up for buses and drinking cans.

Apparently they're on the way to Marley Park to see this fella and getting bus from outside our office.

I hope they all choke on their whistles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

:pac: I'd say the security at Marley will be nuts. Hopefully cavity searches for all

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Has the boards.ie UI gotten a slight facelift or is it just me?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

Reddit's always been a pretty awful site tbh. The layout is beyond stupid and they were always very slow to close subreddits that never should have existed. They only closed the subreddits where child porn was being regularly posted after news stations started to report it.

Swan Curry wrote: »
    Reddit's always been a pretty awful site tbh. The layout is beyond stupid and they were always very slow to close subreddits that never should have existed. They only closed the subreddits where child porn was being regularly posted after news stations started to report it.

That's akin to saying the internet is stupid, to my mind. While the Reddit tag line of "The front page of the internet" is self-serving, it's also somewhat true. The information there is generally ahead of anywhere else and more in depth and accessible with all links gathered in one place.

It's absolutely vast. There are literally thousands of sub-reddits so they're not going to shut them down unless they're brought to their attention. You never have to view content or comment on anything but topics that you find interesting, if you don't wish to. A lot of people see the default subreddits that appear on the front page and think it's moronic (and a lot of those things are).

The only people who viewed those subreddits you mention (I assume you're referring to the jailbait subreddit from a few years ago) would be those who actively sought them out.

There's great information and discussion around niche topics that people would find useful or interesting with comment from people who are genuinely informed on topics as opposed to guessing. For example, the Europe subreddit has provided a lot of interesting debate on the Greek situation from people who are at the protests in Athens that it's unlikely to see otherwise.

People recoil at the layout initially (I did myself) but a couple of hours of using it and it's pretty simple; if the layout was beyond stupid, it never would have become one of the biggest websites on the internet. It's never going to be pretty but it's incredibly useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

I only looked at Reddit around the time of the Fappening..... The only thing I took from it was that Cat Deely has the mankiest tits I've ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

To be fair it takes a lot more than just bringing a subreddit to their attention to get it banned. It takes some form of public pressure, those admins are well aware of what's there. There's over 9000 (heh) subreddits, but there's also a very talented team of ops and devs behind it who could very easilly give you a list of the ones that are potentially harmful in about 5 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

through its own browser and then the rest is just steps done in kodi

Absolutely impossible! The remote allows you limited access to the web browser, can't scroll down the page, impossible to click on the install button, even tried a Bluetooth keyboard, may try a Bluetooth mouse, buy think I'll hand it back to the guy and get him to sort it, told me he had Genesis etc installed, all I find is Canal and Rai..their kind of online players, and the channels ...I may just use it as a fckin Frisbee yet! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Buer wrote: »
    Who or what is an Avicii?

Tonnes of knackbags outside my building on the quays blowing whistles, queuing up for buses and drinking cans.

Apparently they're on the way to Marley Park to see this fella and getting bus from outside our office.

I hope they all choke on their whistles.

I wondered why there were buses on the hard shoulder of the N2 today with lads p*ssing all over the shop. One lad at Finglas was being held up by his mates while he happily was slashing off the footpath towards the road...happy Friday.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've finished my exile to Newry, not even the town proper but a massive industrial estate

Next up the arse end of Belfast and even worse Craig Avon, with a trip to Cavan in between