Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super XV 2015 General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

5/5 it seems so far, come on Lions and Sharks!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

ah that was poor by the rebels in the end. Blew there chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Could be worse, Luckygent, we could be Blues' fans... :pac:

F**k you Swiwi!!! Too soon :mad:

3 games in and the season is over! I think I'll stick to watching cricket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    F**k you Swiwi!!! Too soon :mad:

3 games in and the season is over! I think I'll stick to watching cricket.

It was defeat snatched from jaws of victory there yesterday. Your next run of games will kill your season I reckon

Lions (H)
    Canes (A)
    Waratahs (A)
    Chiefs (A)
    Brumbies (H)
    Highlanders (A)
    Crusaders (A)

Could easily come away with just a victory over the Lions to show for it.
    Thought Faumuina, Tuipolotou, Kaino, and Piutau were great yesterday, I really rate Charles Piutau, and he looked right at home at 13.

Kirwan has to go though, dunno know why he was appointed TBH, his record with Italy and Japan were mediocre. Imagine Schmidt or Cotter in charge of the Blues :eek:

Swiwi, you have now made me even more depressed.

JK was appointed because he is still worshipped in Auckland and the old boys network at the ARU made the decision. The Blues have a pretty poor record when comes to coaches. Maybe they can get Sir Ted to come back again.

Mad game between the Bulls and Sharks!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Incredible stuff, thought the tmo call at the end was incorrect. Reinach really made a game changing play he's a bit of a specialist at that but Sharks couldn't hold on.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,379 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Amazing that the same game can serve us a 9 - 9 result in Swansea while in south Africa we can get a 43 - 53 scoreline !

What a crazy score line. Would have expected a forwards dominated game decided by kicking.
    Massive win for the Bulls and with the try bonus it puts the back in the SA conference picture.

Looks like the Sharks are the team to cost me the clean sweep of games the way the a Lions have started.

Edit: back as expected

Cracking last ten minutes in this lions stormers match.

Did I see Robbie Freuan is out for the season with a broken arm?

Leaderboard after round 3

1 Luckygent88 23.83
    2 Swiwi 19.00
    3 Bridge93 18.33
    4 Kiwi_knock 18.33
    5 Pudsy33 16.50
    6 sydthebeat 15.00
    7 Yeah_Right 13.00

Well that didn't last long - Waisake Naholo off to Clermont at the end of the season. Hopefully for you syd he goes out with a bang from the Highlanders.

Feck!

He looks a very tasty player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

I see he's played 7s for NZ could he still play for Fiji in the WC? By taking a contract in France he's obviously giving all hope of playing for the 15s ABs.

I think he is ineligible, no?

And Tom Taylor off to Bayonne. Ace goal-kicker, just not enough dynamism on attack. He still made a more than decent fist of his start at 10 for the ABs.

I'm telling ye lads, France and to a lesser extent England is where it seems to be for Kiwi signings. Japan seems to have dried up, and the Pro 12 sides seem to have less pulling power.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Eligibility laws need to be changed asap or France and England in 5 years are going to be even more full of of kiwis, Boks and Pacific Islanders

Rene Ranger is heading home :D

Early release from his French club. Has signed with North Harbour :D for the ITM and the Blues for Super rugby (just wish he would return now!)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Rene Ranger is heading home :D

Early release from his French club. Has signed with North Harbour :D for the ITM and the Blues for Super rugby (just wish he would return now!)

He makes me think of this which ain't a bad thing at all!

Very important news coming from Australia that the National Rugby Championship that was set up last year will run till at least 2020.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/rugby/new-broadcasting-deal-ensures-future-of-national-rugby-championship-until-at-least-2020/story-fni2fxyf-1227248256811

Great news as this is tier three level rugby in OZ which didn't really exist before in a semi-professional way. The competition will probably still have to change a bit to engage the public a bit more. It's meant to sit along side the ITM & Currie Cup but obviously nowhere near that level at the moment given its a new competition.

A total of eleven players have earned Super Rugby debuts based on their NRC form: Marco Kotze, Duncan’ Paia’aua, Sef Faagase, Campbell Magnay and Sam Talakai (Reds); James Dargaville, Rory Arnold, Sean Doyle and Lausii Taliauli (Brumbies); Sefa Naivalu (Rebels) and Kane Koteka (Force).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Where do the Australian super xv sides usually recruit players from?

NZ!

Swiwi - you are right but they do actually have quite wide and diverse talent pool to choose from.
    They don't just target Kiwis, they also recruit from South Africa, the Pacific Islands and rugby league.

Traditionally their players come from the Sydney club scene I believe.

In general Australia have a small player pool, most are from rugby playing private schools in Sydney?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Jacovs

I flew into Johannesburg on sunday morning and then on to Cape Town and happened to be on the same flight as the Stormers (minus their SA players who stayed in johannesburg for the SA training camp), and since I was on a plane for all of saturday I hadnt seen the game. Managed to have a chat to Allister Coetzee himself and got the score off the man himself. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The club leagues across the country have a huge variety of talent between the divisions. There's a much larger discrepancy there than in the AIL for example. Its tough for Irish players going over to work out what level they should be playing at.