Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

megaten wrote: »
    Suikoden V was good and had some nice designs, though I think IV is the only one thats actually bad.

Suikoden V is a lot of fun even if it tries desperately to capture the magic of Suikoden 2. Suikoden 4 is pants though.

As far as RPGs on the system go Shin Megami Tensei is the way to go. SMT 3, Persona 3 and 4 are the three best on the system. I'd just try and avoid the PAL releases as they are 50 Hz.

As mentioned about the PS2 I'd be going for the weird stuff, there's such a wealth of titles that it's a disservice to just stick to the popular best selling titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Any recommendations for underrated ps2 games? my buddy dropped his ps2 up to me to put some games on the hard drive but i havent a clue about games for it as I kinda sat that Gen out, as i discovered girls around that time:o
    Was too lazy to reply lol :pac:
    Are you still looking for games? Horror always my choice, throw on some Fatal Frame, Haunting Ground or Silent Hill 2 if they haven't played it.
    Killer7 and Siren 2 I love myself but I don't think they suit everyone.
    Also recommend Persona if they like JRPGs but P3 can be awkward since only the Portable version let's you control your party afaik, Nocturne and stuff too.
    You can look on my backloggery for more ideas.
    http://backloggery.com/games.php?user=Fuzzy_FuraFura&search=&console=PS2&rating=&status=&unplayed=&own=&region=&wish=&alpha=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Be sure to get the Fatal Frame with the best box artwork though:

tSR3WPD.jpg

DinoRex wrote: »
    Be sure to get the Fatal Frame with the best box artwork though:

tSR3WPD.jpg
    The Xbox one was awful, must be the same guy that thought the Suikoden ps1 cover was a good idea lol
    http://www.mobygames.com/images/covers/l/50757-fatal-frame-xbox-front-cover.jpg

Thankfully the PAL one wasn't bad
    latest?cb=20100227054443

Thanks again for all of the suggestions guys. Hard drive is filled and he's after taking it away there. Happy out with it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Obviously all legitimately owned games that are simply being transferred from the collection to the harddrive for safe keeping, ahem

Obviously
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Finally I've put in a forum request

And believe it or not it wasn't boulder dash related :D

Lads, if I can pick your collective brains for a moment... Do ye remember PS1 demo discs and how sometimes when you selected a game you'd get a message onscreen telling you to reset the console after playing your game of choice.
    What was the story with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

I'm guessing that the demos and indie games they'd collected for the disks didn't always have an option to return to the main menu. Some Japanese lad on Yaroze isn't going to know where the root directory on a UK demo disk should be.

You could always press select to return to the main menu as far as I remember. I'm talking about the discs that came with the UK official ps mag.

Lads, just saw new Bubsy is due out in Halloween, I'm a bit scared
    http://www.siliconera.com/2017/08/22/prepare-fur-bubsy-woolies-strike-backs-october-31-2017-debut/
    Sparks43 wrote: »

victor-meldrew-meme-1443798651-custom-0.png

Anyone going for the 40 euro collectors edition?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Ah, at last, the fabled Repton forum comes to pass...
    A time worthy of song and epic poem, to be told through the ages!

"Lads, let us sing of the superior tunneling game, Repton"

"First, more mead!!!"

Of what?

Bubsy, baby :)

Kill it, kill it with fire!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=53388204

#neverforget

Maybe ... if sacrificing it stops further Bubsy games, it'll be great fun, make a beers out of it

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Ah, at last, the fabled Repton forum comes to pass...
    A time worthy of song and epic poem, to be told through the ages!

"Lads, let us sing of the superior tunneling game, Repton"

"First, more mead!!!"

Well if the forum comes to pass I'll educate all homeless people in the ways of the mighty boulder dash :)

And before its said I know they have suffered enough already :p

o1s1n wrote: »

Ah yes the good aul Sega forum.

The place to chat about..........

Feck all tbh :P

Only joking it's a shame it's gone :(

#worstforumever

Isn't there a rule about using hashtags? #nohashtags

Check out BGOllie playing Monster Boy and see the great man/otter himself at 19:40-ish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BGOllie

:o aawh shtop...

20914393_10155650037943276_7726184539104005711_n.jpg?oh=a3f0963322b3a913a9146235221b1928&oe=5A1E4BBF

BGOllie wrote: »
    :o aawh shtop...

20914393_10155650037943276_7726184539104005711_n.jpg?oh=a3f0963322b3a913a9146235221b1928&oe=5A1E4BBF
    I was so happy for you when I saw it on FB! You're such a fan of it. I was waiting for you to put the photo on your public page to share it but I've it shared now, I'll forget it otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Brought our baby daughter home from the hospital yesterday. In between the craziness of parenthood i want to do some gaming so thought I would leave the consoles for the moment and go back to the handhelds.

I've a GBC, GBA, DSi, PSP and Vita. Not sure if it qualifies for retro yet but decided to go back and play GTA Chinatown Wars on the DS. For shame I never finished it, the saves date back to around the release in 2009. Decided to start a new game but remember it being great fun and did get addicted to their rip off of Drug Wars.

Was tempted to get into Persona 4 Golden on the Vita but GTA is shorter and more brainless so ideal for the moment.

I'm surprised you even have the time to think of videogames!
    When Cidonalad came along my entire universe consisted of nappy changes, vomit and poop, not to mention getting wind up, night feeds and walking the hallway to get him back to sleep at 3am.
    The PS2, Xbox and GC had to wait a few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

The Japanese banks were making it very hard to buy stuff online till recently. Steam wasn't very Japanese dev friendly either unless they had good English. Things are gathering momentum though there's going to be a lot more in the pipeline.

I used be a doujin snob but the western indies are regularly putting out really sharply tuned and artistically polished retro Japanese style games these days Shovel Knight is just one of many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I'm surprised you even have the time to think of videogames!
    When Cidonalad came along my entire universe consisted of nappy changes, vomit and poop, not to mention getting wind up, night feeds and walking the hallway to get him back to sleep at 3am.
    The PS2, Xbox and GC had to wait a few weeks!

Yeah, I don't think I'll get much time being honest, nice to have something to focus on though, particularly during the day when she is sleeping between the nappy changes, winding and feeding. GTA is much better than Ireland AM or Jeremy Kyle! :-)

Brought our baby daughter home from the hospital yesterday.
    Was tempted to get into Persona 4 Golden on the Vita but GTA is shorter and more brainless so ideal for the moment.
    Congratulations to you both!
    I wouldn't play Golden, you need think a lot about how you use your time in game. Go with something easy to pick up and play