Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open 2015 at Royal County Down

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Better tee shot for Rory on 18 there - it will be devastating for the organisers if he isn't around for the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭AdpRo

thewobbler wrote: »
    Are you sure you're a local?

There's dual carriageway for 5 of 30 miles on the coast road. The rest of it will see you struggling to overtake a tractor.

Tyrella would involve actually leaving Newcastle and driving past RCD, then heading out of town for 15 mins.

The big problem with the coast road is that it will deposit you on the wrong side of town and against the one way system, which means sitting in traffic for God knows how long.

Go via Hilltown and park at Northfields.

Re other earlier advice there is absolutely no way anyone coming from the South should go via Rathfriland or Banbridge. The roads aren't better and it adds 10 miles to the trip.

Thanks for this. Spent the last 15 mins looking at google maps, irish open website, etc trying to figure out the best route. I'll be coming from Dublin on Sunday and will be fairly late, don't expect to get to Newry untill 11ish.

Just to confirm you think getting off the A1 at Newry, onto Hilltown, into Bryansford and park in Northfields?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭Panrich

vienne86 wrote: »
    Better tee shot for Rory on 18 there - it will be devastating for the organisers if he isn't around for the weekend.

He looks badly out of sorts so far. Depends on what the wind does later how damaging this round will be. If it dies a little, he will be in big danger of missing the cut. If it gets up a bit more, he could be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

+5

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭krahsrekop

Playing himself out of the tournament already it looks like.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I know he's got 27 holes to play but he's struggling. He has hit some really poor long iron shots and he's going to have to knuckle down and dig deep!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,877 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Amazing how cold it looks for near june.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭DamienOB

Damien. STOP BUYING TICKETS FOR THE WEEKEND TO SEE RORY....

Learn your Lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,127 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Keano wrote: »
    I know he's got 27 holes to play but he's struggling. He has hit some really poor long iron shots and he's going to have to knuckle down and dig deep!

His lag putting has been shocking too.
    Plenty of holes left, but needs to get a couple of shots back on the back (front).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Anyone else having issues with the sound sync on rte player? Its miles out. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Was that during the add break? Stopped on me for a bit.

No don't think so. Just saying No Programme Available on the RTE2 section. Weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭slingerz

Rory is having a nightmare.

As big a test of character as of his golf now. He can't let his head drop even though things are going against him with the putter.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Speak Now

vienne86 wrote: »

Not sure it'll be devastating, sure they'll be disappointed alright.

He looks - a) Actully a little ill
    b) He got bad news - or sick being back with the parents already :D

For him not to Bird that first hole is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Westwood has the yips. Absolutely shocking stroke

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭MikeSD

Westwood has the yips. Absolutely shocking stroke

He's always struggled with his putting. I believe he could have won a few majors if it had been half decent.

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

These mega star groups seem to backfire a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

yeah, never liked the idea of handpicking players to put together.
    bar having one or two specific players tee off at a set time for tv purposes, it should be a completely random draw.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

yeah, never liked the idea of handpicking players to put together.
    bar having a few specific players tee off at a set time for tv purposes, it should be a completely random draw.

Not selling the product very well if Rory is with 1 or 2 random players though. 4 sold out days, sky sports coverage at 8am, the signs are they have done a pretty good job.

Fowler judging the iron shots well, he's a good links player.

Was just thinking how hard greens and course are playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,127 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Showing a great display of shot making... thank f one of them is playing a bit of golf.

We might be dusting down the GMac flags come Sat

Was just thinking how hard greens and course are playing.

Yeah, they are very hard, imagine after a dry summer :eek:

Rain tomorrow morning might help scoring.

Nice to see John Kelly level so far.

Looking forward to see how Moynihan goes.

Great achievement for them to be in a big event like this.

Anyone play here? Anyone make a par? lol

I've played it - a couple of lads on here have had rounds in 70s.

But the tees here are a bit different. (very)

It is exactly how we are seeing and greens are very very hard - very hard to hold even with great shots.

I don't think you get a sense of the dunes on tv here - also the bunkers and surrounds are a sure double at best

See Mcdowell there from below green using putter - that is the sort of stuff to be at.

Was just thinking the same myself. It looks like a monster in these conditions.

Lee - is playing well - was thinking before he would - but jaysus , the two putts he missed so far.

Event should suit him.

I know we are bored of it.

But Jimenez is a class act and golfer - the lifestyle stuff is a distraction that undermines him as a player.

He deserved Ryder Cup job.