Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swimming for Tri Beginners

• Registered Users Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

smashiner wrote: »
    As a newbie update, for the past 6-8 weeks I spent 3-4 days per week in the pool to try and get my breathing and technique a bit better, I also took lessons in a small group once a week, which definately helped me.

I did my first Open Water event last night, the Howth Aquathon 500 Metres and 3.7K run and it was an 'experience' to say the least! It was very choppy for the first 200 Metres and I struggled with my breathing as the waves were landing perfectly on my face as I was about to turn my head and breathe in...
    I didn't panic and kept plugging away and I managed to finish in the mid pack (around 33 mins) out of 83 people, as I did a decent run, so overall happy with how it went as a first event. Great little event, very well run and good atmosphere at it, would recommend it no problem.

Have the bug now and plan to target a 750M Sprint Tri in the coming weeks/months, probably in a lake or river mind you.

I am still struggling with 'sinking legs' when I am in the pool and would appreciate any tips people might have??

Fair play, that wasn't an easy first outing for you. I did the 1000m & nearly jacked it in half way!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭griffin100

smashiner wrote: »
    I am still struggling with 'sinking legs' when I am in the pool and would appreciate any tips people might have??
    1. 'Lean' on your chest
    2. Work on your kick
    3. Do not hold your breath but exhale when your face is in the water
    4. Do not lift your head to breath, turn your mouth to the side
    5. Do some balance drills
    http://www.swimsmooth.com/swimming-balance.html

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

Steroo wrote: »
    Good man killian Byrne

Cheers Steve 36:30 in NAC & 32:29 the following day in my local 20m pool.

Ive not posited here or on the IM thread for fear of being called names :), but Thanks Kurt for the work put in over the year. Ive learnt a lot from the drills and way the sessions are set up and look forward to continuing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

I thought more would post their TriAthy experience here but I'll go ahead and break the silence. And it's getting a bit heated on the Athy thread :)

Woke up Thursday morning with little legs' cold so dosed up on Lemsip (the one with pseudoephidrine in it. Probably performance enhancing but not so you'd notice)
    Made the decision to drive to Athy and see how I felt when I got there. Needless to say I got swept up in the crowds and bike porn and decided to go for it. At best, I might surprise myself, at worst it would be a long training day

Swim: 51 mins
    Went off in Wave 9 of the Olympic so Paddy Last.
    I have to admit the shock of the cold threw me. I've been in the sea a few times this year but always had the chance to warm up before swimming any distance. My take home from this is to practice starts without a warm up (other than dry land which I did)
    Found upstream heavy going and aimed to hug the bank where I'd been told the current would be kinder but it still took a good 400-500m before I found a rhythm, my shoulders ached from the first stroke. My guess is the cold of the water mixed with the cold I brought with me meant it was achy from the off. Found it very hard to find any power in my right side at all. Downstream was a world apart, my stroke was clean and rhythmic and I felt I glided down. Just before the bridge I hit a grate in the water. Completely threw me. My first reaction was to sit on it and climb over. Got to the exit through the reeds which didn't bother me and up the ramp. I felt grand but the lads held me for a few seconds before letting me head to T1. I wasn't last out of the water but not far from it I'd say

T1: about 2 minutes
    This is a swimming thread so I'll keep the rest short.
    Bounced out of my wetsuit and for a second thought 'what now?' . Came round and grabbed my bike and ran to the exit. Mounted after the line and feet in my shoes quite quickly. Tri shoes were a good investment

Bike: 1:31
    Really felt the cold in my chest by now so went easy enough on the bike. Passed a few of the quicker swimmers and made a point of thanking marshalls as I passed. (It's a thankless task for volunteers so they at least deserve a nod).
    Dismounted nicely before the line and into T2

T2: about 2:30
    Racked my bike, helmet off, runners on and set off. After a bit of confusion due to crowds in transition blocking the run exit, I set off on the run

Run: 46mins
    Nice run, took it easy enough but put the hammer down on the 2nd lap.

Overall: about 3:12
    I did DCT last year about 20 mins slower so overall I'm happy.
    I wasn't too healthy at the start but if I iron out some swim issues by getting in the open water more my races should reflect my effort in training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Kurt_Godel

Open Water Swimming Camp

Reminder that this OW swim camp is starting Fri 12th June, might be suitable to some here. Suits or skins.
    Beginner Level should be able to swim 500m non stop, Intermediate Level should be able to swim 1000m non stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭smashiner

Hi guys,
    Following on from the Howth Aquathon, I signed up for the Sprint Tri in Blessington this Sunday as my first Triathlon. Really looking forward to it and training has gone pretty well over the past few weeks, probably focussed a bit too much on the swimming but then again this is probably normal for a newbie? I should be ok (I think) on the bike and the run as I have completed a few Duathlons in the past....famous last words....

Is anyone else doing this event?

Any tips on the course, what is the Lake like to swim in, the bike course I am told is a small bit hilly with some twists and turns. I am doing it with a few friends that have one or two Tri's under their belt so it should be a good day and for a good charity too.

Any tips are welcome.....

Did this last year, the Sprint swim was 375m out to a bouy, turn and back the same way. We were told to keep to one side going out, the other side coming back, but with the best will in the world... faster swimmers going back whacked into slower swimmers coming out. I had a couple of fairly solid collisions myself. Spoke to the marshalls after the race (it was the first running of it) and they suggested they would look at a triangular corse for next year. I would have done it again myself but just saw they have kept the 750m swim along the same straight line, so be warned its pretty dangerous for both fast and slow swimmers.

Bike is fast flat first half, lumpy gravelly second. Run is a nice route.

Kurt_Godel wrote: »
    Open Water Swimming Camp

Reminder that this OW swim camp is starting Fri 12th June, might be suitable to some here. Suits or skins.
    Beginner Level should be able to swim 500m non stop, Intermediate Level should be able to swim 1000m non stop.

Thanks again for the tip on this Kurt. Two swims down and really enjoying it. Gaining experience, learning a bit and surviving so far. I'll stick a quick report up on Monday when it's all done but so far I'd recommend to anyone thinking of next year (or maybe they'll do another later in the summer)

Fingal skerries sprint Tri in the bag for me. Tough swim but getting better every time. No fear of the 70.3 now

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭BohToffee

Folks where is best/safest to get some ow swimming done in the Dublin area? Only starting the swim training in new wetsuit and would like to know what distance I'm doing before the big day..

Quickish review but in a few words, it's well worth doing the next one. All levels are catered to so long as you can swim in the open water for at least 500 meters. I had thought the beginners part might be a bit of time spent getting wet, putting your face in the water, gentle stuff like that but, after the fact, I'm glad it wasn't.
    Distances are estimated, especially the intermediate, but should give you an idea of what to expect if they, hopefully, run it again

Friday - Beginners 800m, Intermediate 1500 - 2000m
    Seapoint - Beginners swam as a group from the middle steps out to the rocks and regrouped there. After checking everyone was ok we swam about another 150m towards the West Pier, another rest, back to the rocks, another rest and then back to the main slip. At all times we had two coaches and a couple of kayaks with us so no pressure on anyone to keep up or do anything they weren't comfortable with
    Intermediates headed along the 5 buoys

Saturday AM - Intermediate 2000 - 2500m - Beginners A 1200-1400m - Beginners B - 1200m
    Seapoint (Changed from Killiney due to e-coli) - Beginners were split according to how they handled the previous night's swim. Most of us went for the B group. Personally I was there to build confidence so wanted to take it slow and learn as much as possible. We went out from the slip to the first buoy, took a rest at the buoy. This was a new experience for me cos I have been terrified of going near these things but we wound up hanging onto each buoy to rest. Nothing to be scared of after all. We proceeded along the buoys and made the decision as a group to keep going to the 4th buoy. Tide was with us so it wasn't too taxing. Coming back though was tougher. The sea was quite choppy and getting back from the 4th to the 3rd buoy was heavy going. Once we had regrouped at the 3rd buoy we made the group decision to head back to the slip as direct as possible. Based on the tide and wind we got some good tips on sighting as swimming straight wasn't going to work out. This was a big confidence builder.
    Beginners A took much the same route but may have come back along the buoys rather than cutting in from the 3rd one
    Intermediates - I had heard did the 5 buoys and continued on past the 1st one on the way back to add about another 500m to the whole trip

Saturday PM - Intermediate 2000m ish - Beginners A - 1000m ish - Beginners B - 600m ish
    Scotsman's Bay - Was billed as the 40ft but we didn't actually go into the actual bathing area but stuck to the bay.
    This the the location for Dublin IM 70.3
    We swam out to the far buoy and did drills between that and the next one. We learned more about lengthening our stroke to improve rotation and breathing. Fluttered on our side with head skywards again for more demonstration of how easy it can be to breathe. Pressing down on our chest to improve leg elevation, a new pull technique that meant you pulled down your body instead of to your side and then some full swims to incorporate these drills. The sea got pretty wavy and very cold so we were called in as it was getting dark too. Using the drills I was more comfortable and felt quicker.
    The other groups headed out to the harbour wall at the east pier so not sure what they were up to

Sunday AM - All levels swam a loop
    Bray - 3 buoys were set out in a triangle at the north end of the beach and the idea was to swim around these as often as you were comfortable with. We got some tips on what to expect as once you went past the rocks the wind caught you side on. Anyone breathing only to the left had to compensate going to the first turn. We also got some tips on sighting and turning round buoys. Thankfully for hardcore swimmers the coaches didn't see a problem with stopping to sight if it meant you weren't going off course. No point in doing 'crocodile eyes' if it means you're going in the wrong direction. Down to the 2nd buoy meant you were facing with the waves but seeing the buoy was difficult so sighting on a landmark was encouraged. Turning for the 3rd buoy was a bit easier to see where you were going so using a more streamlined sight was the drill here. I was tired and sore from the previous swims so didn't do too many laps

Sunday PM - Intermediate - 1500m ish - Beginners A - 1000m - Beginners B - 800m
    Greystones - We all swam the length of the beach at various distances. This was the final swim so a good chance to incorporate all the lessons learned. The tide and current were very generous so we all bombed down the length of the beach.

Overall this was well worth the money and effort. The coaches are serious swimmers but there was no pressure to do anything you weren't comfortable with. You were constantly told to stay in your comfort zone. They were very approachable and happy to answer any question. Tea, coffee and ever improving biscuits after each swim.
    The levels doing the swims were very spread out so you were never feeling paddy last.
    The main thing I wanted to get out of it was the confidence to swim in a group and I got that but came out of it a stronger open water swim.
    I'm looking forward to the next one :D

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭smashiner

Blessington Sprint Tri done yesterday, struggled a bit on the swim on the way out, but felt a bit better on the way back in as I was more relaxed for some reason. A lot of people from Tri Clubs were there and they said that the swim was a tough one, so I felt a bit better after hearing that!
    The rest of the event Bike & Run went well enough bar a slight problem with a crampy stomach during the run. Learned lots from yesterday and still have a long way to go to be considered a 'decent swimmer'.
    Howth 500 'Race 2' at the end of the month is next up!!

Thanks for the tips on the course Kurt, it helped me on the day to know what was coming next.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Doeshedare

BohToffee wrote: »
    Folks where is best/safest to get some ow swimming done in the Dublin area? Only starting the swim training in new wetsuit and would like to know what distance I'm doing before the big day..

I think these are probably the busiest:
    40ft
    Seapoint
    Bull Wall (~3 hrs either side of high tide)
    High or Low Rock Portmarnock

There are others such as Howth (Balscadden), Skerries, Killiney and more but if you are new to OW swimming then do it with someone else and where there are experienced swimmers, hence the mention of the busiest spots.

Quickish review but in a few words, it's well worth doing the next one. All levels are catered to so long as you can swim in the open water for at least 500 meters. I had thought the beginners part might be a bit of time spent getting wet, putting your face in the water, gentle stuff like that but, after the fact, I'm glad it wasn't.
    Distances are estimated, especially the intermediate, but should give you an idea of what to expect if they, hopefully, run it again

Sounds good, especially for southsiders - Did yis practice drafting or mass starts?

Doeshedare wrote: »
    Sounds good, especially for southsiders - Did yis practice drafting or mass starts?

A bit of talk of drafting but if you wanted to practice you could (and I tried) on any of the swims. No mass starts but it's the first running of this camp so I'd be surprised if they didn't include it if there was a call for it. We did start as a group for every swim though but nothing like a full on race start.
    I got kicked in the face twice on the first night and found my hands in places they shouldn't be while swimming over people so got over my issues with groups pretty quick

Did the Lough Key Castle loop yesterday (1500m) in just under 40 minutes. Not devastatingly quick by anyone's standards but a nice progression. Nice to start in a flailing pack and not at the back for once

Finding the transition to ow from the pool difficult, just can't get into a comfortable rhythm. It's a little disheartening to be able to comfortably swim 2000m in a pool & struggle for 500 in the sea.

It's a huge difference. What events have you done so far?
    How often are you getting to the OW?
    Try get there at least once a week for a few weeks.
    I find the first 200-300m difficult but then it gets easier.
    Try swimming on the beach where you're not out of your depth if that makes you feel more secure.

It's a different world but nothing you aren't capable of. The lack of walls and a line to follow can be disconcerting but practice is the key.
    I've found that hopping in and hanging around till I warm up doesn't work for me.
    I jump in, get my head under and swim. The shock of cold/salt/waves goes pretty quickly and it's closer to race conditions where you will not always get a chance to warm up in the water.
    Starting out I would swim for 20 breaths, 40 breaths, 60 breaths and once I got fed up counting I just kept going.
    Are you building up to a race? Just extending from point to point might help. Forget the Garmin and swim to the next buoy next time and then build on that. Next week swim to the buoy after that. Getting out and surprising yourself with the distance the Garmin is reporting is a confidence builder too

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sea swimming is much harder than swimming in a lake or downstream in a river too, you've got the waves to fight and stronger currents.

Thanks for the input. You're all correct in that it'll be practise & time in the water that will improve things, but it feels as if I'm starting to learn to swim all over again which given the different conditions I suppose that's exactly what's happening.

I did a sprint on holidays yesterday and while I saw decent improvements in both the run & bike, I found the swim difficult. Conditions weren't exactly ideal with an Atlantic swell combined with 25kmph wind but I thought I would have performed better.

Head down & keep working!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Anyone recommend a good swimming training plan for sprint distance?

I'm relativity fast cyclist and runner but a newbie to triathlons and so swimming is my weakest. Can do 750m in about 18mins, swim about 3 times a week and about 1500m during each swim. I had massive gains in cycling and running when following a plan so looking for same for swimming. Any guidance much appreciated. Thx

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

viperlogic wrote: »

I'm relativity fast cyclist and runner but a newbie to triathlons and so swimming is my weakest. Can do 750m in about 18mins, swim about 3 times a week and about 1500m during each swim. I had massive gains in cycling and running when following a plan so looking for same for swimming. Any guidance much appreciated. Thx

The approach isn't going to work here. You need technique work not a plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

This thread is probably as good as you'll anything you'll find from where you are.

Have you read it :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭viperlogic

This thread is probably as good as you'll anything you'll find from where you are.

Yes and have compiled all the weekly posts into a doc now. Starting week 1 this eve

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭TopOfTheHill

Yes and have compiled all the weekly posts into a doc now. Starting week 1 this eve

Was thinking of doing the same for September onwards as I swim in a 20m pool and don't like ending a session on an odd number :)

Best of luck to those racing the HIM who followed the plan here. The preparation from some of ye has been very impressive- especially those who struggled to swim back in November- so allow yourselves a brief smile in T1;) before ploughing on with the race.

It's your race, you will have prepared for it and will know what you are capable of... the only advice I'm going to give is similar to the first advice on the thread. Breathing is key to swimming. Keep your breathing under control and your swim will be under control. Expect to get knocked at the start, expect scrums around bouys, expect gobfuls of water; so slow down and regroup if you start to hyperventilate. Cruise pace and a comfortable exit is better than threshold pace and gasping in T1...

Go get it! :)

Thanks for all your work on this Kurt, this thread has been the most meaningful thing on boards to a lot of us

Yeah well done Kurt, I didnt follow your plan coz I am not quite a beginner but I followed the thread. There has been a fair bit of cynicism around this race on the forum so it is great to see something as positive as this too. There should be a few fewer DNF's as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,587 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Just to echo that - this thread has been a real highlight and has been great to hear comments back in the real world from people that progressed from outright fear of open water to lining up with confidence in weekly aquathons based on the program developed here.

Chapeau P, you've brought on swimming for a sizeable group of people, many of whom I'm sure you've never met but still helped.