Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Crap on Adams, Mod Warning in OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Some interesting points raised in this blog, particularly those around the 'alleged' absence of remarks Maria Cahill attributed to Gerry Adams in her interviews with Suzanne Breen in the Sunday Tribune in 2010.
    There are anomalies in her story that 'partisan' journalists need to question her about.
    http://linkis.com/blogspot.co.uk/dDXhQ

I think that blog kind of loses all credibility when it suggests that Mairia Cahill should have used SF's internal grievance process with her allegations. Like seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

raymon wrote: »
    Silly me, Gerry was never in the IRA ...... Never ever .

What a silly mistake for me to make.

Maybe ask Maria Cahill why she separates Gerry Adams from the IRA in her substantive allegations and then later claims in another interview that she knows Gerry Adams was in the IRA and who recruited him?

Why does she say that? Why make a distinction between SF and the IRA if she 'knew' Gerry was the IRA?
    Curious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Please please don't deflect, you must see how it looks, don't make it worse. I didn't say she was. She is only saying she was raped and abused and Sinn Fein appear to want to discredit that
    Bare faced lie. Adams and everyone asked in SF agreed with her that she was raped.
    Pathetic stuff.

I don't think even she is saying that.

Gerry Adams quite clearly said it

"The IRA on occasion shot alleged sex offenders or expelled them."

Peadar Toibin confirmed on Newstalk this morning, in the last hour, that sex abusers had been sent down South.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Eamondomc

Maria Cahill herself, makes two allegations, one about what the IRA did and one about what SF and Gerry Adams did.

SF didn't expel or try anybody.

HaHaHa get real. I myself have voted for sinn fein in past elections. Even Martin Hurson who was on hunger strike got a vote from me. I have a fair idea about sinn fein and IRA connections in the past so quit trying to pull political wool over everyones eyes Happyman. Do you and Dansolo think everyone is stupid. jaysus

Esel wrote: »
    No, the court did not hear her testimony. The accused were acquitted.

The court heard no evidence.

The court did not hear her accusations.

The case collapsed because she decided not to give evidence. The defendants were then acquitted. Not the same as a Not Guilty verdict.

As a judge is reputed to have said to an accused in a Limerick court during British rule:

"You have been found not guilty by a jury of your peers, and you may leave this court with no other slur on your character."

They are decent people you know, particularly the Wilson character.

That can't be right, even one of his biggest supporters on here has said he was ;)
    Thanks for the deliberate distortion. I was asking someone who said she wanted no dealings with the IRA why she would call Gerry Adams, who people like you are insisting was in the IRA.
    A contradiction that still stands.
    You could also quote where I said almost exactly the same line saying he wasn't in the IRA, but of course you refuse to do that.

Godge wrote: »
    I think that blog kind of loses all credibility when it suggests that Mairia Cahill should have used SF's internal grievance process with her allegations. Like seriously?

Does her very core allegation about what Gerry said about 'victims enjoying it' not lose a bit of credibility when she failed to mention it in a major exposé of her story in 2010?
    Does that not raise any red flags for you, does it warrant a question to her from any of our 'partisan, independent journalists'?

Does her very core allegation about what Gerry said about 'victims enjoying it' not lose a bit of credibility when she failed to mention it in a major exposé of her story in 2010?
    Does that not raise any red flags for you, does it warrant a question to her from any of our 'partisan, independent journalists'?

That good sinn fein tactic. discredit the victim and then everything ok

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Thanks for the deliberate distortion. I was asking someone who said she wanted no dealings with the IRA why she would call Gerry Adams, who people like you are insisting was in the IRA.
    A contradiction that still stands.
    You could also quote where I said almost exactly the same line saying he wasn't in the IRA, but of course you refuse to do that.

She herself 'knew' that Gerry was in the IRA. But for the purposes of her substantive complaint...he is in SF.
    Glaring anomaly there that I can't explain. Anybody want a go?

Unfortunately the fact the IRA were quite draconian on sex abuse doesn't fit the narrative of them covering it up, so you won't be seeing your quote there reproduced by any of the smear campaigners.

They were as draconian on sexual abuse as the Catholic Church, if they were not members, they applied the full force of their law, if they were members (priests) they just moved them to the next parish (jurisdiction).

Peadar Tobin this morning couldn't answer the question as to whether there were 40 moved down south.

porsche959 wrote: »
    Vigilantism is not something to be encouraged, but, again it needs to seen in context of the Troubles. Which some posters prefer to pretend never happened, or alternatively their analysis of the Troubles is informed and influenced by the likes of Eoghan Harris and similar.

I am tired of the excuse that the British made me do it.

Mairia Cahill's case was in 2000. The other one in the Independent yesterday was 2002, this was post-GFA. This is why it is such a problem for Gerry and the lads. At that time, they were pretending to be normal politicians. If they were still going around having kangaroo courts, what else are they lying about?

No, the core of her story has remained constant through the years.

Gerry's hasn't even lasted a week without changing several times.

Eamondomc wrote: »
    That good sinn fein tactic. discredit the victim and then everything ok

You still have your ordinary human rights if you are accused of a crime. You only lose some of them when you are convicted.
    I know it is handy for some to ignore that. She has made allegations over and above the one that she was raped.
    If you are also making the ridiculous point that 'everything somebody who was raped says is automatically correct' then you are wholly wrong. It isn't so, neither in law or in life.

They were as draconian on sexual abuse as the Catholic Church, if they were not members, they applied the full force of their law, if they were members (priests) they just moved them to the next parish (jurisdiction).
    So you are calling Cahill a liar now? She said the IRA offered to shoot, or let her shoot, the rapist.
    Blaming the victim again Godge?

That is what I don't get, the IRA intimidated her,ordered her not to go to the police, SF covered it all up and facilitated his flight. And the freaking rapist and 4 interrogators end up in court??

Pretty freaking incompetent intimidation and cover-up wasn't it? :D

Actually, the opposite, possibly one of the most successful intimidations and cover-up. The witness gets as far as the door of the court and is intimidated into withdrawing evidence.

That means the perpetrators can claim they have been found innocent of all charges. Brilliant strategy. They can even get a TD to say in the Dail that they are decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭nicedryturf

Peadar Tobin this morning couldn't answer the question as to whether there were 40 moved down south.

Peadar Tobin couldn't answer anything this morning. Newstalk's Chris O'Donoghue, of all people, had him on the ropes. I don't know why they send them on air when they can't provide any information or even express an opinion.

You still have your ordinary human rights if you are accused of a crime. You only lose some of them when you are convicted.
    I know it is handy for some to ignore that. She has made allegations over and above the one that she was raped.
    If you are also making the ridiculous point that 'everything somebody who was raped says is automatically correct' then you are wholly wrong. It isn't so, neither in law or in life.
    Unfortunately somebody in the SF smear brigade heard the phrase "blame the victim" once without a notion of what it meant and now just drops it any time anything is said they can't answer.
    I had a packet of Taytos stolen of my when I was in primary school. Therefore if you complain about me punching someone in the face you are blaming the victim...

I never said what you say there. I can talk for myself and there is no need for you to attribute your opinion and say it as if i said it, you idiot cop yourself on.

So you are calling Cahill a liar now? She said the IRA offered to shoot, or let her shoot, the rapist.
    Blaming the victim again Godge?

That wasn't Cahill, that was the second case in the Indo yesterday where the three choices were offered in 2002 (yes, just 12 years ago). Barbaric is the only word for the vigilante kangaroo courts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Gerry Adams quite clearly said it

"The IRA on occasion shot alleged sex offenders or expelled them."

Peadar Toibin confirmed on Newstalk this morning, in the last hour, that sex abusers had been sent down South.

Peadar Toibin confirmed that on Newstalk? what when they were off air? because not during the interview. I would answer that with consideration for the truth

Actually, the opposite, possibly one of the most successful intimidations and cover-up. The witness gets as far as the door of the court and is intimidated into withdrawing evidence.
    When did she say she was intimidated into not giving evidence at the rape trial?
    Be specific now (not your thing I know, but humour me just this once).

That means the perpetrators can claim they have been found innocent of all charges. Brilliant strategy. They can even get a TD to say in the Dail that they are decent people.

You can show us proof of this? Or are you just making that up as well?

Peadar Tobin couldn't answer anything this morning. Newstalk's Chris O'Donoghue, of all people, had him on the ropes. I don't know why they send them on air when they can't provide any information or even express an opinion.

What was most interesting is that Peadar Tobin said this morning that Gerry Adams, from the start, has said that it is likely that Mairia Cahill was subject to an IRA investigation. Must say, it was the first time I heard that.

This was a significant change, but if you look back on this thread in the last 24 hours, the Dear Leader's acolytes quietly dropped the accusation that Mairia Cahill was lying about having been subject to an IRA investigation while they were quite vocal about that a few days ago. Seems the word went out to change the record.

You can show us proof of this? Or are you just making that up as well?

No, just listen to the Dail, where he says they are decent people.

When did she say she was intimidated into not giving evidence at the rape trial?
    Be specific now (not your thing I know, but humour me just this once).

Where did she say she wasn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

He has full trust in Adams, a man who has integrity 'in his DNA'. Adams says that he wasn't in the IRA and Peadar Tobin has no doubt whatsoever that this is the truth.

Peadar Toibin confirmed that on Newstalk? what when they were off air? because not during the interview. I would answer that with consideration for the truth

He said that has been confirmed already. The conversation moved on to discuss whether he knew how many, which he said he didn't. But the fact of them being sent South was accepted by him. Possible he strayed from his brief I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Red Pepper wrote: »
    If it is true that Sinn Fein sent abusers and rapists to the Republic after they were convicted by the Sinn Fein courts, it will sicken me to the core.

It will be interesting to see if any of the abusers that Gerry and Co moved down here re-offended again after they were located here.

If this can be demonstrated than Gerry and SF in general are dead in the water and the Irish people will finally be free of these odious individuals.

It will be interesting to see if any of the abusers that Gerry and Co moved down here re-offended again after they were located here.

If this can be demonstrated than Gerry and SF in general are dead in the water and the Irish people will finally be free of these odious individuals.
    LOL, yeah that's going to happen!
    Do you think the golden circle parties and AGS wouldn't have done this by now if they could?