Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/eamonn-sweeney-silence-of-the-cork-delegates-adds-insult-to-injury-31470710.html

Another awesome art of magnificent honesty and ruthless calling a spade a spade by sweeny this summer and thank God hes writing as not once not twice but now three times be fair he showed courage and conviction to tell truth cork gaa this year, one lead-up to kerry before the draw saying what any astute gaa cork fans knew regards management, two weeks ago give a breath taking refuting article at board in relation to their statement in which he said it was panto dames cork gaa and should be in every man palace every Xmas as ccb board just keep on giving

And now this

Sweeny must be remembered was actually on board side strikes but really shows how bad things are now as some their support before seeing really really problem now and are critical of them

You can guess what going to happen next

Lane come out token gift and sweetener in he'll offer on board behalf agreement suit the school tomorrow so then all this blow over and it will be we apologise etc

That's all well and good but serous questions must be asked how allowed by board go this far and imo few board committee should be told to leave when term up as there's been too many too many disaster this year

Senior football management decision appointment novices run elite senior football team back fired on them

Ccb statement was just unbelievable
    Cusack remarks
    Shannon piece on board members travelling on the team bus
    Problem and uncertainty with the pairc
    Few members according to moyinhan article resigning then holding off to stay on

Its been one disaster after disaster to be fair
    If this was government one official would at least be gone or even fifa and cycling with its scandals heads rolled in terms new people brought in to improve its image

Ccb needs to do the same

Kavanagh article few weeks ago saying how he's development squads need more pitches to train on and board have money to invest was another example

Normally before it be one story put onus on the ccb but this year it's been a disaster in its been like bees in the summer swarm after swarm of stories

As sweeny said unbelievable some one said Cusack first turn on he's own
    They must be oblivious to the outside world as brolly critsed derry this year
    Lohan called for independent review clare hurling scene twice in the last three weeks similar Cusack stance with cork

You would actually have to say who ever makes these claims doesn't think them true as it's laughable to say Cusack is the first to turn on he's own
    He was not the ist and won't be the last

Year's ago mullinvat in Kilkenny in a paper their when doing club notes said after poor year training and preparation wasn't what it should of been

Then they appointment declan wall and he won league and leinster title with them and went around twenty seven games unbeaten

Yes they didn't name names but in report acknowledged training etc wasn't good
    They then brought in change
    Was that kk club going against their own
    No it was not it was the kk club wanting to be the best they could be

When elaine harte handed in a letter in Macroom on behalf of the panel asking their friend but management cork step down were they going against their own

No as history showed they made a statement of intent that was the day of birth for the legacy of greatness that women ladies football in cork created and to this very day still achieve
    Again this do not critse motto despite on field performance justifying it is no good to any team in sport wanting to win at the elite elite level imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Anyone read tommy griffens interview in the examiner, outlined the way the kerry schools act as the county minor training setup, cleverest thing ever , no traipsing young fellas up and down the country, no big heads neglecting their club, constant observation and do not underestimate the value of having the young lad home for his dinner every evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Is it true that John Cleary has said no to the county board ? a problem with the ccb process ...bollix to them if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

If anyone's at the ballyhea match if u could post up a report id appreciate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Mulcahys achievement with Lismore is impressive given Ballygunmer weren't far off beating Newtown that year. They conceded three goals in the space of about three minutes in the second half the first day which killed them. At the time, Dan was past his best and Maurice was only 19. Paudie Prendergast was 17 and Ray Barry wasn't even around. Those would be their main players now, and better than a lot of what they had then.

They had talent but they always have and yet that's the only county final they've made since the turn of the century I'd say. Notoriously bad attitude down there so I'd say they were exceptionally difficult to manage. If Mulcahy wants it I think he's achieved enough to be right up there in that regard but why he wants it defeats me, I suppose he loves Cork. Whoever gets it is battling against a strong tide rest assured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ballyhea 3-11 Imokilly 2-28 FT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Horse84 wrote: »
    If anyone's at the ballyhea match if u could post up a report id appreciate it

Ballyhea totally reliant on Callaghan for scores.
    Harnedy pretty much unmarkable. Everytime he won a ball he pretty much left his marker for dead. O'Sullivan was sharpish and Billy Dunne is finally playing with the sort of potential he threatened a few yrs ago. They could rattle Sars if the club shampionship doesn't interfere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Ballyhea totally reliant on Callaghan for scores.
    Harnedy pretty much unmarkable. Everytime he won a ball he pretty much left his marker for dead. O'Sullivan was sharpish and Billy Dunne is finally playing with the sort of potential he threatened a few yrs ago. They could rattle Sars if the club shampionship doesn't interfere.

Cheers for that willie. How was Callaghan from play? Did Nial Ronan play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Horse84 wrote: »
    Cheers for that willie. How was Callaghan from play? Did Nial Ronan play?

Callaghan looked good, not Harnedy level, but definite senior promise. Neil Ronan doesn't have the legs anymore at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Eugene Carey Tournament 2015
    Mallow Saturday 29th August
    Rebel Og Academy U17s

1.Barry Kenneally Kanturk
    2.Niall Barry Murphy AGHABULLOGUE
    3.Paul Sheehan CARRAIG NA bhFEAR
    4.Darragh Guiney NETOWNSHANDRUM
    5.Jamie O’Leary CASTLELYONS
    6.Sean O’ Meara MIDLETON
    7.Jack Ryan SLIABH RUA
    8.Kieran Cashman LISGOOLD
    9.Eoghan Clifford CLOUGHDUV
    10.Killian Aherne NA PIARSAIGH
    11.Cian O’Mahony BALLINHASSIG
    12.Stephen Condon GLANWORTH
    13.Danny Gunning NA PIARSAIGH
    14.Jeremy Saich KILWORTH
    15.Keith O’Leary CASTLELYONS
    16.Conor Murphy BLARNEY
    17.Gearoid O’ Donoghue BALLINCOLLIG
    18.John O’Sullivan BLACKROCK
    19.Josh Beausang ST. COLMANS
    20.John Cooper EIRE OG
    21.Christy Coughlan KILLEAGH
    22.William Hurley VALLEY ROVERS
    23.Ronan Harrington PASSAGE
    24.James Maher CARRIGALINE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

First time seeing O'Callaghan play last night, having heard the hype before. I have to say the hype is deserved. He would walk onto the Cork team. Everything about him screams cork senior, work rate, his touch, strength, accuracy. 2-06 from play, and would've had another goal only for a good point blank save from Dalton.

http://www.the42.ie/conor-lehane-midleton-2-2293621-Aug2015/

Also jbm gave interview on tv3 while collecting an award today and he didn't confirm he's staying on
    He said he's thinking it over and imo from what I gather by it and way he said he'll do best team going forward and just words way he said it and didn't confirm he stay on i think he'll leave

If he does imo for he's humility to walk away in he's brought cork as far as anyone could and everything he's brought them deserves huge credit and owes cork nothing but it's time for a change

Id be surprised hugely if he stays
    Mulcahy statement last week I wouldn't take it as hundred percent in imo he seemed which fair enough not wanting sounds he was trying go in while jbm didn't leave as of yet and he wanted to distance himself from it but no doubt if jbm leave mulchay will be putting he's name forward if jbm goes

Mulchay doesn't do controversy so he won't go in unless jbm goes first

My fear all year was as much as tactic wise jbm had faults if he goes who comes in

If jbm was going to stay i think hes said that

I could be wrong but he said after game he's stay but now not confirming it and I think county board in process senior football management have probably know jbm will go and asked him hold off till that sorted then make announcement as such host issues cork ccb dealing with they don't need this as well

Jbm such gentle man imo he'll do that
    Once football is sorted i think he'll go
    I could of course be wrong just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

"I could be wrong but he said after game he's stay but now not confirming it"

Yes, you are completely wrong. What he did say twice, in response to that silly girl interviewer is

"I can't wait for next year"

My own interpretation was and is that he meant what he said and looks forward to getting the hell away from
    an impossible job. He almost reached the top for a second time and deserves our thanks for all his time and effort, as does Kieran Kingston who bowed out after last years campaign.

wackokid wrote: »
    "I could be wrong but he said after game he's stay but now not confirming it"

Yes, you are completely wrong. What he did say twice, in response to that silly girl interviewer is

"I can't wait for next year"

My own interpretation was and is that he meant what he said and looks forward to getting the hell away from
    an impossible job. He almost reached the top for a second time and deserves our thanks for all his time and effort, as does Kieran Kingston who bowed out after last years campaign.
    Fair enough but I think your confusion is the post Galway interview and one today

The one today today one on TV three is the one where he clearly said he's thinking things over and hasn't decided fully what he's doing doing
    Today one is the one I am referencing
    Where he said he would reflect if it's the best thing for the team etc going forward and he's decision based what's best for the team He got an hall fame award with jimmy keavnry and was interviewed after wards

And yes I'd agree totally with you regards Kingston
    Terrific coach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Point taken TTM.............I stand corrected.

I find it hard to read what you are saying sometimes.

Jimmy Barry Murphy our great great hero entered into the hall of fame ...its about time ...he should have been the first name in there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭tonto24

Anyone have any idea how much its gonna be in to Pairc ui Rinn on Sunday?

wackokid wrote: »
    Point taken TTM.............I stand corrected.

I find it hard to read what you are saying sometimes.

No problem I can't unfortunately say it wasn't my fault

My posts at times aren't exactly clear I'm sorry about that

radio coverage this weekend
    C103FM Live Match Commentary. Saturday Evening Sports Special on C103 from 6.00 to 9.00 with Rory Burke Live Coverage

Saturday August 29th Ladies Football TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship Semi-Final

Cork v Kerry at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick 6:00pm

County Senior Football Championship Rd 4 Replay

Nemo Rangers v Douglas Páirc Uí Rinn 7.45pm

Sunday August 30th Corks Sports Sunday on C103 from 2.05 to 7.00 with Rory Burke

County Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship 1/4 Final

Tracton v Newcestown at Páirc Uí Rinn 2.00pm

County Senior Hurling Championship 1/4 Final

Erins Own v Carrigtwohill at Páirc Uí Rinn 3.45pm

Usual match updates throughout the afternoon.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork 4-14 v Kerry 0-13

Delighted!!!! I felt Cork would fancy meeting Kerry again, this team don't like losing and certainly had revenge on their mind from their Munster meeting.

They really are a joy to watch. Corkery, Stack, Mulcahy and co should be names every Cork gaa fan should be well familiar with.

10 finals in 11 years, outstanding, best gaa team I've ever seen come out of Cork!

Fantastic to see Cork beat Kerry out the gate !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Now I have a problem, tickets to Ireland v Romania the same day as the AI final, and I haven't missed any of their nine appearances.

They are never beaten twice in the same year by Kerry

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Now I have a problem, tickets to Ireland v Romania the same day as the AI final, and I haven't missed any of their nine appearances.

They are never beaten twice in the same year by Kerry

That's not a problem, that's an easy decision.

Just like today's performance... 10/10

Brilliant performance for the Ladies today. Looks like our underage hurlers have put in some great displays today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭sylvanb

JBM gone...tweet from Cork GAA tonight.

STATEMENT ISSUED BY JIMMY BARRY-MURPHY CORK HURLING MANAGER 29/08/201
    Statement issued by Jimmy Barry-Murphy Cork Senior Hurling Manager
    “I have given a great deal of thought to Cork hurling since the defeat by Galway in the All-Ireland Quarter-final, and I now feel that the time is right for me to step down as manager. I want to sincerely thank the players, selectors, backroom support team and County Board for all their efforts in the last four years. I also want to thank our loyal supporters who always travelled in huge numbers in tough economic times to support us. I know that Cork will continue to challenge for major honours in the years ahead. I wish everyone the very best next year and in the years to come”.
    End
    Commenting on the announcement, County Chairman Gerard Lane said that Jimmy Barry-Murphy's contribution to Cork GAA had been immense. "As a player, Jimmy's achievements go right back to his first All-Ireland title with the Cork Senior footballers in 1973, and he became one of the greatest dual players to ever grace the game.
    During his initial stint as Cork Senior Manager, he delivered Cork's first All-Ireland Hurling title in 9 years, and on his return, he guided the County to an All-Ireland Hurling Final and to a first Munster title since 2008. He is a true legend and an iconic figure in Cork GAA, and we thank him most sincerely for all that he has done for our Association in over 40 years," said Mr. Lane. "While we are very sorry to lose him, we have to accept his decision and wish him all the very best in the future."
    County Secretary Frank Murphy said Jimmy Barry-Murphy “has been an outstanding ambassador for our games and the association and has given tremendous service to the county on and off the field. The Board acknowledges his unstinting efforts with the county teams over the past four years in his second term as manager. He has earned the utmost respect not alone in his own county but throughout Ireland and abroad as the consummate gentleman. We wish him well in his future endeavours and thank him for his loyalty and inspiring leadership”.

No surprise and I posted as such Thursday after hearing he's interview He was going to go however I was told not read much in to it here

No surprise and now the fun the real fun begins when finding he's replacement

Mulchay wants the job clearly and only back tracked as didn't want go in while he was there

He's record management is nothing to stand out with the glen or at under age

Glen under different management got two final he got to a semi

He's Lismore years ago but still won nothing and this talk he deserves chance much next man untrue when others while concerns remain have better records than him

Mulchay also stated rte belived cork shouldn't embracing sweeper v waterford and said games too much influenced by laptops and science and while may be true simple point is i fear mulchay views preparing team will be too old school

He no record as manager proven so shouldn't get it at all

Teddy McCarthy no also

Kingston if available pat mulchay Wallis would all be better imo
    Jbm deserves huge credit everything done cork and got far this team anyone could have and owes cork hurling nothing

He no under age and took cork over rock bottom and while not winning all ireland certainly no doubt made cork better he's term unlike football management where cork went from top four to top ten
    Jbm made cork top four three years in row
    Small consolation in terms winning all ireland but no under age etc huge huge achievement in itself

Fair play to ccb thank God they managed get this leaving statement right for jbm after the shambles of the last statement regarding cork football that even colm Neill in this week interview distanced himself from it saying players didn't know where ccb statement came from

Huge huge appointment for cork can ill afford get it wrong as it could see cork fall another ten years back if they do

Cork hurling faces hugely important cross roads
    Please God for sake cork hurling they choose the right road

Brilliant performance for the Ladies today. Looks like our underage hurlers have put in some great displays today too.

We won all 7 Munster and All Ireland hurling tournaments today- Rebel Óg
    The mushrooms are growing!!

Thanks JBM for all you have done for Cork GAA you leave with your head held high ....2013 was so so close ...Jimmy Barry Murphy my idol.

Anyone at the under age games today

Great wins all round
    Any reports
    I would have liked to go but decided watch ladies instead for once