Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Donal O Grady should be asked to do the job again....hes the only one in the county I would have faith in ....no chance I know more chance off having white black birds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Donal O Grady should be asked to do the job again....hes the only one in the county I would have faith in ....no chance I know more chance off having white black birds.

The only 2 I would like to get it wont. O Grady or Liam sheedy can progress us. I hope mulcahy doesn't especially if teddy mc is involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »

O grady doesn't have any interest ingoing back to management again unfortunately

Pat mulchay while yes record isn't stand out would be good with Wallis and some line Peter cody from ucc etc

You see problem is list of candidates is slim and that's why I was hesitate to be too harsh jbm before as I said list option poor when best man job now with Dublin

Jbm think out grew cork and correctly he goes however poor options available and I dreads to think few could get it

Last think cork need is seanie mcgrath stay on as while wonderful player no doubt imo I don't rate him as a selector

Mulchay and himself i hope not as no voice to challenge each other there

Landers hasn't any real record this level but maybe if proven management to stay on

Cork don't have players play direct style won't have for few years at earliest so only way cork have forwards for now is playing to a system

That means cork need a tactical manager to play possion game

Pat Ryan will be mentioned however winning cork county Sarsfields but poor munster not really stand out

Fraggie Murphy as part back room possible as with clare this year and lit worked guys like jimmy brown Cyril farell and davy lit and has worked top players and coaching

Yes still unproven but job now is find best available and Fraggie has with mulchay and Wallace record better than others

Interesting who on sub committee pick management
    Sub committee have no real power imo just for show

Pos087 wrote: »
    The only 2 I would like to get it wont. O Grady or Liam sheedy can progress us. I hope mulcahy doesn't especially if teddy mc is involved

Outside manager will never happen in cork and now white elephant is being built not chance

Yes pr will say it's open etc but no way will cork go outside

Sheedy helping offaly pick manager anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Very sad ending for a great man.

Also it's worth remembering that jbm said Thursday hasn't thought much since Galway game but tonight said he thought a lot since then so hardly thought lot one day my point being he was never stay on and probably knew this last few weeks but due board statement football cuthbhertt leaving the school controversy doubts regards pairc Cusack statement id say board asked him hold off bit and he did but jbm knew hype building so he done right thing calling it day now

Unfortunately timing is huge pressure ccb as football and senior management now vacant and it's one controversy after another this summer

Point is surely they realise they can ease pressure themselves by making good choice management
    It's actually simple
    No need sub committee etc
    Look at management record and judge from there
    Make a short list then yes have a committee if needs be
    It's not rocket science appointment a manager
    You look at they're history and you ask top ex managers etc advise
    All it takes is research
    When you buy a car you check it's history etc
    Same concept really in sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Fair play to ccb thank God they managed get this leaving statement right for jbm after the shambles of the last statement regarding cork football that even colm Neill in this week interview distanced himself from it saying players didn't know where ccb statement came from

Huge huge appointment for cork can ill afford get it wrong as it could see cork fall another ten years back if they do

Cork hurling faces hugely important cross roads
    Please God for sake cork hurling they choose the right road

I'm afraid they couldn't even manage this statement right. They stated that he led us to first munster title since 2008 but it was the first since 2006.

I just want to add my thanks to jbm. He will always be a hero to me and he embodies all that is good about cork gaa and sport in general. People would do well to remember the doldrums that cork hurling was in prior to 2012 and his first match back in charge against Waterford in the league in pairc ui rinn will live long in my memory for the hope and pride it restored in the jersey.

One can only be in awe of the ladies again today. Consistently brilliant is all I can say.

Lastly huge congrats to the underage hurlers today. The players and mentors deserve a lot of praise. Cork hurling needed a shot in the arm from somewhere and it got it today.

Horse84 wrote: »
    I'm afraid they couldn't even manage this statement right. They stated that he led us to first munster title since 2008 but it was the first since 2006.

I just want to add my thanks to jbm. He will always be a hero to me and he embodies all that is good about cork gaa and sport in general. People would do well to remember the doldrums that cork hurling was in prior to 2012 and his first match back in charge against Waterford in the league in pairc ui rinn will live long in my memory for the hope and pride it restored in the jersey.

One can only be in awe of the ladies again today. Consistently brilliant is all I can say.

Lastly huge congrats to the underage hurlers today. The players and mentors deserve a lot of praise. Cork hurling needed a shot in the arm from somewhere and it got it today.
    Christ above I just saw it your right
    There unbelievable didn't even get the dates right
    I agree everything you said
    Who would you like as manager hurling

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/kingston-opts-cork-role/282116/

Spoke here how he's unfinished business cork

If available should get it as players rates him
    Yes remains seen tactics if he's man it but deserves chance and hopefully would bring in Wallace or mulchay etc to come in
    Would be best option at present but give two years term not three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Best of luck JBM, a gentleman in every sense of the word.

All the best for the future,

Waterford fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Horse84 wrote:

Re JBM , no surprise and I flagged his resignation here having seen his interview immediately following the Galway defeat.
    Shocking that CCB couldn't even issue an accurate appreciation of his tenure.
    The speculation regarding a successor will obviously include Tomas Mul, Pat Mul etc. Seanie McGrath was not going to continue as a selector anyway so he is out of the equation. Landers unpopular with the players so rule him out. And Kieran Kingston will not be allowing his name go forward.
    Not too many stand out candidates -this could be really interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

I suggest that Ben and Gerry would make a great job of being joint managers!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 leaf123

Was anyone at the Douglas and nemo game ? Heard Barry O Driscoll and Sean Powter were best on show ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Very sad ending for a great man.

It was, but inevitable. I called for his head 2 years ago after losing to Clare. Many here went apoplectic. But the writing was on the wall. If you lose to a Davy Fitz team in an AI, you ain't going to win one.

I'd like to see og Cusack get the job, he talks the talk, let's see if he is up to it. And no strikes this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Rightwing wrote: »
    It was, but inevitable. I called for his head 2 years ago after losing to Clare. Many here went apoplectic. But the writing was on the wall. If you lose to a Davy Fitz team in an AI, you ain't going to win one.

I'd like to see og Cusack get the job, he talks the talk, let's see if he is up to it. And no strikes this time.

Pissing intowind unfortuntely

Re JBM , no surprise and I flagged his resignation here having seen his interview immediately following the Galway defeat.
    Shocking that CCB couldn't even issue an accurate appreciation of his tenure.
    The speculation regarding a successor will obviously include Tomas Mul, Pat Mul etc. Seanie McGrath was not going to continue as a selector anyway so he is out of the equation. Landers unpopular with the players so rule him out. And Kieran Kingston will not be allowing his name go forward.
    Not too many stand out candidates -this could be really interesting.
    I don't know where your getting landers unpopular with the players but it's nonense with respect

Lehaner many others spoke good of him many times
    He should not be manager though yet
    Mcgrath I wouldn't rule out staying on with mulcahy if got it
    I hope he's not there

Kingston work commitments is problem however nothing set stone as Ronan McCarthy etc example others often left set up came back

leaf123 wrote: »
    Was anyone at the Douglas and nemo game ? Heard Barry O Driscoll and Sean Powter were best on show ?

Wasn't at it but heard o Driscoll was played as forward thankfully not a defender
    Powtee fine player
    Nothing against Douglas but I'm delighted they lost with leen in charge and fair play Stephen o brien nemo

Clearly Douglas got nemo cold the ist day

Pissing intowind unfortuntely

Cusack doing fine job colmans there four times week and play charville in final few weeks
    He's earnings he's coaching but I'm huge fan but no way would I like him involved senior management on he's own in he's no record yet

He need to prove himself and as part set up yes would be fine but we learned anything from shambles football time it's you don't put inexperienced lads management top level

This is elite elite level we're talking about
    He needs manage senior club next on he's own and while done so Cloyne past coach management next step at club

Huge potential but not management yet
    Would be ideal as part of a experience set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

no idea how much will be shown but TG4 advertising showing footage of some of the underage hurling tournaments on their highlights programme tomorrow night

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/lehane-work-rate-and-goals-are-key/461029/

Interesting point regards landers below

He's tough and apparently ruthless and was with minors one year but minor huge respect him and sorry see him leave after year one
    I don't think lehane had any problems with landers and like he said was tough but you don't like it shouldn't be involved

If there's few players as suggested by other poster don't like landers maybes it's cause he's too tough attuide and if so maybes few those players need questions their attuide

Landers there to win and Cork must have that not this soft minded soft approach so this talk few players unhappy landers well wonder how many would do under cody

Landers if any current set up stays should be only one none of rest as landers is new

That's up new management who they want but if it's good i wouldn't mind landers staying but certainly no record stands out as main senior man just yet
    Next management in cork have to be ruthless absoultey ruthless in pursuit victory as your up against cody etc

Munster next year could actually be awful in tippeary new manager i think shouldn't be there as selector eight years no success really
    Limerick if get Kinnerk could be good but if not won't do much
    Waterford done good but not as great as they were talked to be and time will tell if they change the system that is very beatable

Clare if get Kinnerk back would seem to be in good place
    Lot uncertainty in three counties management wise and unless these counties get it right munster could be close but huge difference play kk as any one munster beat each other but kk still be miles ahead

It's looking like kk dominance again
    Galway hopefully win next week would take the monkey off there back and give hope they can compete kk next few years as looking chasing pack there's no standout candidate there

Win or loose kk will be back next year
    Galway loose it means new management and again another period of transition

All this talk that hurling was closing the gap amongst its own
    Lot uncertainty for the future

Imo rather than talk the talk and support club draws and talks about rules changes croke park has real interest in hurling well should take active interest in coaching other counties and has be mandatory no coach unproven record gets senior job any county and there should be committed like sheedy griffin etc loughanne who while own counties can pick own management this committee should imo veto appointment in any one like Denis Walsh in the past tj Ryan etc no proven record given top jobs they have power to question appointment

This would stamp out ccb politics in every county running the day

Also it means likes Fitzgerald wouldn't have automatic renewal term clare each year just cause father top man there

I rate Fitzgerald but don't agree with the total control clare etc
    Croke park cry about hurling needs be competitive well cork should be vested interested as Cork hurling needs cork
    Board should tell cork no appointment any one no record in cork and it's simple really if cork dont then you cut funding for the stadium

That's simple really
    Boys want a stadium fair enough but then you appointment good manager to help save game in cork
    The next appointment is crucial in cork hurling as minors and under twenty one have few good young players coming up but poor management won't develop these guys
    Now is the time for croke park to act
    Even don't have to do it public eye but make it clear unless cork appointment good football hurling coach then funding is cut
    Guaranteed cork ccb would get it right as much as there there own men when it comes to the money they need it for the pairc so once croke park says jump well they have no choice but to say how high

Kk dominance hurling next few years isn't good hurling but you can't blame kk or begrudge them
    It's not there fault
    Up to others to chase and close the gap

no idea how much will be shown but TG4 advertising showing footage of some of the underage hurling tournaments on their highlights programme tomorrow night

Under sixteen is only one being shown I think

GAA 2015
    Monday, August 31 @ 20:30

Súil siar ar na cluichí CLG na deireadh seachtaine. Peil na mBan: Liatroin-Port Láirge agus Ciarraí-Corcaigh. Peil: Cill Dara-Tiobraid Árann agus Áth Cliath-Maigh Eo. Cluiche Ceannais Tony Forristal agus Tipperary Supporters' Club.

Tipp Supporters Club is the u-16s I think, Tony Forristal u-14s

GAA 2015

Súil siar ar na cluichí CLG na deireadh seachtaine. Peil na mBan: Liatroin-Port Láirge agus Ciarraí-Corcaigh. Peil: Cill Dara-Tiobraid Árann agus Áth Cliath-Maigh Eo. Cluiche Ceannais Tony Forristal agus Tipperary Supporters' Club.

I have huge fear Tompkins who hasn't ruled himself out football recently interview and mulchay could get football given this celebrate of double
    Both said interest in job

Course some local media would applaud this and usual passion commitment captain etc be lauded with out actually questions their managerial record
    Sweeny in independent would probably question it even though Tompkins is haven as knows Tompkins record is

GAA 2015

Yeah and Sony Walsh under fourteen b
    Ted Hanley fifteen and eugene Carey is seventeen competition

Fair play to tipp getting football final and hurling in minor and less resources football showed no excuse cork under performance last two years and tipp second final football four years show good coaching going on

Cork have as much if not more football talents available minor and next year with kissane will finally have good coaching and will have huge chance doing well
    Cork no excuse with resources and talent available not be as successful tipp minor both codes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

JBM did the correct thing. As I reported here 4 or 5 weeks ago the players didn't expect him to stay on. He deserves great praise for his involvement in Cork's sporting history for the past 40+ years. Lets hope the ccb get the right man or men to bring us forward. Wallis Pat Mul Peter Coady could be an interest combination. They all could bring something to the table. The players would respect each of them unlike the Tomas Mul Teddy mc duo.

youngbob wrote: »
    JBM did the correct thing. As I reported here 4 or 5 weeks ago the players didn't expect him to stay on. He deserves great praise for his involvement in Cork's sporting history for the past 40+ years. Lets hope the ccb get the right man or men to bring us forward. Wallis Pat Mul Peter Coady could be an interest combination. They all could bring something to the table. The players would respect each of them unlike the Tomas Mul Teddy mc duo.
    Outstanding post and totally agree with your candidates
    Outstanding post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

If that trio didn't click I think any true Rebel wouldn't crib about the ccb because it would show they put thought into the selection unlike nominating former players just because they are former players. we'd have a manager with Fitz experience a coach with county winning experience and a great trainer who has both. Modern coaches who know what it takes to drive their players on. It would bring a buzz to a stale set up. I can always dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

lads ffs it will be tomas mul for the hurlers and larry for the football.............sad but true, too men with zero success in manageemtn but frank approves of both and local media will follow the spin of leaders on the pitch, the double etc etc