Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Marmotte 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Michaelcu

Anyone looking for entry for Marmotte? Can't go and looking to offload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

Last big ride today. 175 Km with around 8000ft of climbing in 6 hours 17min total time from start to finish. Happy enough but still wanted to get rid of more weight for la marmotte. On the taper now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Red Belly

Did my 'double' weekend and went well. Cycle Ataxia yesterday, 102k, flat-just 670m climbing, pushed pretty hard for just under 3h 30m moving time, avg speed 29.3k.

Big Dragon Sportive today. 136k, 1750m climbing, 5:42 moving time for 23.9kph average. Finished feeling strong.

That's it for the hard efforts. Shortish leg looseners from now on. Really think I felt the training benefit today of MB200 and W200 on back-to-back weekends a couple of weeks ago. Really hope I feel the training benefit of this week-end two weeks from now!

Best of luck everyone!

RB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Michaelcu wrote: »

You'd probably be as well putting up an add in adverts.

Do you have accommodation, transfers etc which are transferable?

I'd love to do it but I'd make pure ****e of my gammy knee and also end up divorced

@Red Belly you'll be grand. While I've never done Marmotte, the primary battle with any hard long cycle is in your head.
    * Go steady from get go
    * Limit stopped time off bike, keep moving
    * Climb one hill at a time(or km at a time if tired), thinking of what's to come while suffering on an early climb will just weaken you
    * Don't try anything new with food, clothes, cleats, shoes, etc etc
    * Enjoy it, a day in the high mountains beats a day anywhere else. It'll be over soon enough don't wish it away

Ye shower of lucky fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Michaelcu wrote: »

Probably dreaming, and probably not enough cycling done this year for this event, but sent PM.

What insurance does everyone have for heading to france? Im not bringing a bike so don't need to worry about insuring it for this trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,124 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

There is insurance for the event itself, provided by the organisers, it was an option when signing up. I would take out separate travel insurance as well to cover non Marmotte time.

There is a sport cover you can get as normal travel insurance does not seem to cover these types of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Kyran7

Folks,

Camper is packed. We're off today, heading for Rosslare. Hitting Cherbourg tomorrow afternoon and then on the road for Bouge Chambalud, around 80km from Bourg d 'Oisans. Should be there for 28th where we're meeting bro-in-law and wife. All staying in a campsite. Looking forward to hol and cycle now.

Finishing inside time zone is my target. Best of Luck to everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Best of luck all doing this. I'm just looking into this now for 2016, so will be very interested to see how you all got on with accomodation, the race itself etc. It really does look amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭fat bloke

The primary piece of information I think I'm going to stick on my stem to remind me is "Conserve". Ride at your own pace, let those wheels go if they're even a fraction too fast. Conserve, conserve, conserve. The most common mistake seems to be to die on the alp d'huez and lose all your time there, either cos you went too hard previous to that and/or didn't eat and drink enough.

Best of luck to all. There'll be a trio of us in Irish Road Club usher kit. Do say hello. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭mp2012

I think i'll die on the Alpe anyway. I plan to conserve to beat the deadline and then get to the top of the Alpe in whatever manner I have to to finish There will be two of us in Slaney Valley CC club kit so we'll keep an eye out.

I'll be wearing an Apollo Cycling Team jersey, white and black Kask helmet and riding a Wilier. Say hello!

Also if anyone was up for trying to do Galibier the next day then let us know and could possibly meet up? It will obviously depend on how wrecked I am from La Marmotte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭dogsears

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    I'll be wearing an Apollo Cycling Team jersey, white and black Kask helmet and riding a Wilier. Say hello!

Also if anyone was up for trying to do Galibier the next day then let us know and could possibly meet up? It will obviously depend on how wrecked I am from La Marmotte!

Looks like the Galibier might be off the menu - if they won't let the Tour up there they won't let you :eek:

dogsears wrote: »
    Looks like the Galibier might be off the menu - if they won't let the Tour up there they won't let you :eek:

Was hoping to maybe get the boat across the next morning and ride the telegraph and galibier. Some are saying that the boat is only for locals and some are saying you can get across ok.

@Jim Stynes, will you have a car over there? If so you could drive across to base of Telegragh and climb them both and then descend back to the car.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    @Jim Stynes, will you have a car over there? If so you could drive across to base of Telegragh and climb them both and then descend back to the car.

Unfortunately not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 pumatrev

Best of luck everyone. Looks like it's going to be very hot with a possible thunderstorm in the afternoon, should be fun going down the Glandon. Pace ourselves we have all day to do it. Set a alarm on your Garmin etc. for every 30 min to eat and drink. Save some energy for the beer that night:)

This week has been a bit of a disaster for me, no cycling done at all. Bit of a sore throat which I can't seem to shift so ever time I plan a cycle I end up giving it a miss. Better to get rid of this sore throat than a few more hills at this stage. The hard work is done at this stage and while I was planning on a few more cycles it really won't make any difference. Will try to get a few spins in before I head off on Thursday.

Weather is totally unpredictable, certainly more than a day or two out. Lets just hope if there are storms that you reach the Alpe before they start. A downpour on the Alpe would actually be useful to cool you down!

Only thing I can say is that next Saturday is going to be both the hardest day you have ever had on the bike and also the best. Whatever form you are in, whatever time you are aiming for, Alpe D'Heuz is a killer. Loads of people say it isn't the hardest climb and they are technically correct, but as it comes at the end it becomes so much more difficult. So remember that when you are struggling up it on that everyone else is too, it's not just you. So pace yourself, forget about anybody else around you and concentrate on keeping moving forward. Remember to smile for the camera as you head towards the top and that with each pedal stroke you are getting closer to completing one of the hardest sportives there is

Heatwave forecast for next week!!

Anybody made stem notes like the ones I saw in Mike Cotty's blog?
    conquer-la-marmotte-stem-notes.jpg

Haven't done it yet but yes I will be doing something similar. I wouldn't bother with the Elevation and average, I would put my target times instead. Lap time and total time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    Heatwave forecast for next week!!
    Anybody made stem notes like the ones I saw in Mike Cotty's blog?

Ha! yep I had mine all ready to go and printed out for 'sizing' on the stem or top-tube for the day. Even had selotape on my packing list to stick it to the bike!!

It was the old course and my expected avg speed on the climbs is at the bottom so I knew which version I had. I based it initially on 10kmh avg up the climbs but was hoping for 11kmh which would bring me in about 9hrs or so.

19208101012_752ab998b3_q.jpg

Of course that all went to sh*t when I broke this stupid collarbone, and now I have to sit at home wishing I could be over there with you guys, showing you all how to climb (ha! only joking! :) )

Jeez, only a week to go lads....I've been training like a MF since last October for this - hours upon hours, solo, in the crappiest weather all through the winter months. I wish I could be over there, really I do - I hope yee all have a great time. I'm sure yee will all at the very least make the cut-off time, and wouldn't be surprised to see some Gold finish times!!! :)

Anyone hear anything about French Air Controllers going on strike next week? We might not get to France at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Red Belly

Last ride before heading to France tomorrow. 34k with 500m climbing around Forth Mountain at 21.5kph average.

Fourth of 4 very easy rides after a heavy week-end of riding last week. Definitely got the taper madness as I'm alternating wildly between feeling great and being convinced I'm about to come down with a dose. Not helped by my 12 year old having an awful tummy bug for the last two days!

Best of luck everyone!

rb

I did 100km yesterday and just under 100km today. Will spin the legs couple times this week and hopefully go into Saturday feeling good. I feel good and feel ready as I can be at this stage. All on the day now!!

Just in the middle of making my list of what to bring with me! Getting the suitcase packed today and putting the rest of the things I need throughout the week. Going to put my shoes, helmet etc in my carry on bag.

Still need to get bloody travel insurance and take my pedals off my bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭uphillonly

Very jealous of all of you. Haven't done it for a few years now.

Good luck & enjoy.

Here was my top tube in 2011 with my 2010 times to beat. Boy that hurt:

19227309185_b98c4f5c07.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭barryf42

its 31 degrees here at present and no shade! . also on the descent of the glandon at articol - be careful there is a tight right bend coming into it - that you will be hitting with speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

The Glandon descent is technical from top to bottle... Last year there was a Bull on the road! Take it handy. It's not timed anyway.

Anyone made their stem notes yet? I was attempting mine today but don't know the exact information to put on. Stick them up here if you get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Just put :

Left foot down, right foot down.
    Repeat.

Looks like they are putting in road closures. Usually the start is closed and I always through the Glandon was unoffically closed (there are so many cyclists the road is 'closed' anyway. But it looks like they have planned rolling road closures throughout the day.

restriction.gif