Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Bpmull wrote: »
    Plus even when the coolant is upto temperature the oil isn't and takes longer. It's one thing I try to always do is drive the car very easy when it's cold I think it really does do the engine and turbo a favour in the long term.

It can take 15kms sometimes for mine to heat up, heat starts coming into the cabin after about 30 seconds - wonder if it has one of the small electrical heaters in it that some older Golf's have, not a webasto, just a small element.

I consider my engine really quiet for a diesel but these cold mornings there's no escaping the bag of spanners when you turn the key at 430:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It can take 15kms sometimes for mine to heat up, heat starts coming into the cabin after about 30 seconds - wonder if it has one of the small electrical heaters in it that some older Golf's have, not a webasto, just a small element.

I consider my engine really quiet for a diesel but these cold mornings there's no escaping the bag of spanners when you turn the key at 430:(

I never heard of them electrical heaters before I must try my one I don't have the heater on that much really unless it's freezing or something as unless it's really cold I'm fine.

I was in my uncles new vrs 184bhp same engine as yours and for a diesel they are very good in terms of not being to noisy specially when driving I suppose your always going to get a louder idle with a diesel. My dad had a rental golf in Italy a few months ago it was a mk7 golf with the 1.4tsi I think 122 bhp engine he was very impressed it seems like a good engine specially in 140 bhp odd guise. Although the prices are basically the same as the diesel for here I think it's a pity because it means it will never take off here in terms of sales. They will do around 40mpg too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

My van had 9 litres if coolant and 6 of oil. Used to take about 10k to warm up. Normally about 20 minutes. It had a 5 cyl. 2.5 tdi. Used to see lads in vans back in 2010 putting carpet over there rads and ic. I probably would of put a block heater in if i kept it. The 2.0 td in the primera warms up as quick as small petrol almost. No ic and a bit of a fuelling issue must be speeding thing up. 5l of oil and 6 of coolant in it. Gearboxs seem to take about an hour to warm up.

Plus even when the coolant is upto temperature the oil isn't and takes longer. It's one thing I try to always do is drive the car very easy when it's cold I think it really does do the engine and turbo a favour in the long term.

Always thought the oil would warm up quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Interslice wrote: »

No no not at all, when your coolant is up to temperature your oil is roughly around 50°c, that's what I've always seen gauges before.
    Can take 20-30 mins before the oil reaches operating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I've an oil temp gauge as well as a coolant temp one in the car - very handy to have. By warmed up I go by that and it takes surprisingly long to reach optimum.

You might think that but it is actually the other way around. In my mothers octavia it has coolant temp gauge and when that first gets to 90 degree the digital readout of oil temp would only be at 50-60 degree c. When fully heated up the oil temp would sit at around 100 degree c. I suppose a good way to gauge it is once the coolant reaches operating temperature then wait 5-10 minutes and your oil would be roughly up to operating temperature.

I suppose it works both ways too though. Oil holds it's heat better so It won't cool down as quickly as the coolant which is good for the engine ie no sudden temperature changes inside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I may get some gauges put into my thing, oil temp/pressure, boost, coolant temp, that sorta thing No idea how to go about it though :o

A good obd reader, the torque app and a decent Android phone is all you need.
    Should have shown you actually, it transmits the data via bluetooth and shows it as gauges on the phone, epic little thing.

YbFocus wrote: »
    A good obd reader, the torque app and a decent Android phone is all you need.
    Should have shown you actually, it transmits the data via bluetooth and shows it as gauges on the phone, epic little thing.

Oh i have all that so i do :) i'm old skool though haha

Ah right, no I'd rather not having gauges everywhere. There's never anywhere to put them out of the way.

Up along the pillar would do me fine, I'd hate them all over the dash or some place like that though

Have you ever seen the ones in the heater vents? They don't stand out too much.

I think the pillar ones are too much :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Does anyone else with a turbo have an oil/water heat exchanger?
    Does the oil lag behind the coolant much if you do?

cooler6.jpg

I found the boost pressure with torque/obd was a little off. I'd say it just uses a hardcoded value for atmospheric pressure in the free version. Fractions of a psi rather than whole psi off, no big deal really.

Have you ever seen the ones in the heater vents? They don't stand out too much.

I think the pillar ones are too much :)

I have :) dgt had one in his 406, sure we'l see when the times comes i guess!

With the mirage I'm going to see if I get get any bluetooth tech to work when it's all wired up again. Not optimistic:p. Been looking at yolks called a sandwich plate too. It has two fittings and sits between the oil filter and the housing to plumb in an oil temp and oil pressure gauge. Seems the handiest way to do it. I think the brassy coloured adapters extend the threaded part of your oil filter housing to fit it on.

?u=http%3A%2F%2Fecx.images-amazon.com%2Fimages%2FI%2F4195OWmGumL.jpg&f=1

That does seem handy alright! although the though of having oil in the cabin kinda unnerves me, i know you can get it with a differnt fluid in it once it reached the inside of the car, but i dunno what its called :o

Don't think the oil go all the way to the guage, does it? I suppose it could be dodgy but you do have a heater matrix full of boiling water in there too. Decent quality parts should be grand. The other option is to go tapping into stuff, take the sump off and tap into it :p. I think for the boost guage you normally have to drill into the intake manifold and weld in a fitting. Some cars you can just use the EGR blanking plate but still a lot of effort. Would of thought yours has a boost guage on the dash. I was thinking OBD/bluetooth would be handier if it works and you've somewhere neat to mount an old smartphone.

The aeros have a boost gauge built inbut mine doesnt, i think ill just invest in a smartphone and try get it that way although i dont really want a huge tablet sitting in my dash yknow? I'll look into it though, if i could get a smaller obd then the one i have it'd be grand cause the one i have no gets in the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Got the tape converter gizmo today thanks Mr Goodman:-)
    Merry Xmas to you too

!

davycc wrote: »
    Got the tape converter gizmo today thanks Mr Goodman:-)
    Merry Xmas to you too

!

Sure arent we all festive feckers now :P

I've been drawing a map of upper abbey street all day, how they do this up in the osi I have no idea

Sure arent we all festive feckers now :P

I've been drawing a map of upper abbey street all day, how they do this up in the osi I have no idea

You do maps too. You use ARCGIS at all?

Nah we use revit, have to get the actual printout of the map and then rescale it and trace it :o is it any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

And pickles about your boost gauge, I'd recommend getting a high quality brand for accuracy sake, I had a Saab factory OEM in my cluster with speedo,tacho, on my old full pressure turbos 900& 9000 and I upgraded them to a blitz mechanical boost gauge.

Much better to know precisely what boost your running even when you car is stock like yours and essential when you go upping the powers down the road

Just seen 3 guys pushing an avensis very quick trying to start it they were probably running behind it but the car seemed to be in neutral the whole time so I don't know how it was going to start. Anyway it was going well for them until they reached probably one of the steepest hills in kilkenny there's nothing funnier than people 3 men vs car :pac: the car won btw :D

davycc wrote: »
    And pickles about your boost gauge, I'd recommend getting a high quality brand for accuracy sake, I had a Saab factory OEM in my cluster with speedo,tacho, on my old full pressure turbos 900& 9000 and I upgraded them to a blitz mechanical boost gauge.

Much better to know precisely what boost your running even when you car is stock like yours and essential when you go upping the powers down the road

I might invest in one of those so :D

Nah we use revit, have to get the actual printout of the map and then rescale it and trace it :o is it any good?

It's good but very hard to use. I thought myself creo from scratch last year and it would be similar effort I reckon. GIS is sort of a trade in itself to be really good at it. If i was doing a map of abbey street on arcGIS I'd get a georeferenced image so each pixel basically has a GPS coordinate. You can then trace layers on top of roads, building, parking, sewage pipes etc. and associate any amount of information with that road like the number of RTA's or whatever. You can query that data afterwards. If I wanted I could send you a layer and it would sit onto any base map you have because it is all georeferenced. You could then add onto the map in another layer all the GPS points where RTA's have occured to give you visual clusters of accident locations. Maybe overkill for what your at, I think the georeference bit is probably the big difference between that and the modeling software. The RSA should be using it to help position their safety vans. Not sure if they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Not bad for 10 year old scooby...

DSC_0156_zpsqvkcgwyx.jpg

I did got nct only for one year though! Bastards!

Not bad for 10 year old scooby...

I did got nct only for one year though! Bastards!

Going by that it's a seriously well minded tight car. I recon the testers don't see pass sheets that good to often. Even the emissions are so low as they should be. Looks as if it will sail through the next few Nct's anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Going by that it's a seriously well minded tight car. I recon the testers don't see pass sheets that good to often. Even the emissions are so low as they should be. Looks as if it will through the next few Nct's anyway :)

All I did for this nct is 2 new tyres. Other then that it got only oil changes, filters and break pads since I bought it.
    And they say scoobies are unreliable cars! :pac: