Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

If you are of the Android persuasion Google "showbox apk" and install localcast as the media player:D

Don't forget mobdro and livesportsHD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Thats hilarious like DGT I presumed you were in your fifties then again dont you say you drive a golf tdi thats not really a fifty year olds car imo anyway lol I would guess he was serious it's funny the way ya just come up with random ages for posters in your head and theyre often comically way off !

I still can't work out if your both being sarcastic or you actually thought I was a lot older. You could be joking because I over estimated simoniz by 10 years a few days ago I only remembered that now. Oh it's sad I can't tell the difference it's going to be a long 3 weeks of exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Bpmull wrote: »
    I still can't work out if your both being sarcastic or you actually thought I was a lot older. You could be joking because I over estimated simoniz by 10 years a few days ago I only remembered that now. Oh it's sad I can't tell the difference it's going to be a long 3 weeks of exams.

Mull even I thought you were in your fifties honestly because you seem so sensible and grounded

davycc wrote: »
    Mull even I thought you were in your fifties honestly because you seem so sensible and grounded

Well if your all being honest it's lucky I didn't go to the last meet. Everyone there I walk up "hi I'm Bpmull" everyone else wdf :pac:

I'm actually not even 20 and 1/2 yet only turned 20 during the summer :pac: sure I'm only in third year in college well I suppose you can go to college as a mature student but 50 come on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i think the majority of boards motorists are <30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Cherry wood cars and coffee is this Sunday morning if anyone is heading? I'm going in my winter hack, supposed to be a lot of Alfa Ireland members going along with the usual super car crowd..

Supposed to be sunny and dry so no excuse for chickening out and should be great weather for taking some arty winter pics

I've my work Christmas party the night before but I think it'd be rude not too.
    I hear the crew from aroc ireland will be there as well. I wasn't plannjng on it but I think I will now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

My work Christmas party is on a night that I'm working :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

50 my parents aren't even that never mind me :). I'm not sure if your joking or what tbh :pac: my brain is gone a bit slow after so much study.

Ah no I genuinely thought you were of that age group, a very down to earth bread and butter person is what you come across to me as!

Sorry if thats offended you, didn't realise you were that young! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I've my work Christmas party the night before but I think it'd be rude not too.
    I hear the crew from aroc ireland will be there as well. I wasn't plannjng on it but I think I will now.

Nice one has to be done...
    I'm planning on taking my mr2 and abandoning it in the middle of the alfisti and pray nobody notices the Toyota badge lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Nice one has to be done...
    I'm planning on taking my mr2 and abandoning it in the middle of the alfisti and pray nobody notices the Toyota badge lol

That has meme written all over it.

"Day 3 and they still haven't realized I'm not an alfa"

dgt wrote: »
    Ah no I genuinely thought you were of that age group, a very down to earth bread and butter person is what you come across to me as!

Sorry if thats offended you, didn't realise you were that young! :o

Ah no not offended just surprised is all. When I first joined boards I thought you were a good bit older than you actually are it can be hard to judge infairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Ah no not offended just surprised is all. When I first joined boards I thought you were a good bit older than you actually are it can be hard to judge infairness.

In fairness he can come across as being a bit older it's the wealth of car knowledge of every random car and also on the other hand some ramblings of posts/rants that give the impression of much more age than has been acquired I think he would concur eh DGT? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

pred racer wrote: »
    My work Christmas party is on a night that I'm working :(

Mine is on the very evening I get back to Dublin with my new car :P

In other words, this LA noire - €9 well spent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Mine is on the very evening I get back to Dublin with my new car :P

In other words, this LA noire - €9 well spent!

It's a fantastic game, always seriously tempted to buy it on PC when it comes on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Great game with a good long story to it :)
    Get far cry 3 or 4 I'd your willing to spend more!
    Amazing games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    Amazing games!

Far Cry 4. RIDING ELEPHANTS. FOR. DAYS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Is £800 too much for motorsport driveshafts ?

Sick of replacing knackered ones at this stage ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

It's a fantastic game, always seriously tempted to buy it on PC when it comes on sale.
    Amazing games!

I picked it up on a whim - got a bit bored of grand theft auto, I've got all three characters unlocked already. I might look into Far Cry one of the weeks.
    Far Cry 4. RIDING ELEPHANTS. FOR. DAYS.

acb.jpg

Was on christmas light duty today in mammy Goodman's house. Only fell of the ladder once.

Also, brought her fiesta down for petrol earlier. As I'm coming out of the station I see an ERU garda looking around the car. All suited and booted and his garda XC70 parked across the forecourt. Conversation went something like this:

Me: Everything alright Garda?

Garda: Is this your car?

Me: No, its the mother's. I drive a Volvo (had to slip that in)

Garda: Where did she get the car?

Me: From an Opel dealer in Castleisland earlier this year.

He walks to the back, points at the tow bar and says "that's the one". I haven't a clue whats going on at this stage.

Me: What? (In a really confused tone)

Garda: That's my fathers old car. He traded it in earlier this year. I recognise the towbar. Not too many towbars on small fiestas around.

The dealer told us the previous owner owned greyhounds, hence the towbar.

Me: Does he own greyhounds? The dealer told me the previous owner did.

Garda: He does. Great to see the car still in good nick. Your mother looks after her well. Fair play to her. Good luck now.

Me: Am...ok. Thanks. Bye bye nice strange scary garda man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Amazing games!

Have I ever told you, the definition of insanity?? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Have I ever told you, the definition of insanity?? :cool:

is it wearing a wooly hat :pac:

pred racer wrote: »
    is it wearing a wooly hat :pac:

:pac: And driving an over engineered opel?

Of course :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Far Cry 3 annoyed me.
    It was the attempting to sneak up on somebody then next thing a freaking tiger is biting your head off!!

On a motors front, is there a current trend of stealing rear tow-eye covers i'm seeing a lot of cars missing them as is mine, fu*kers have caused a small mark too.
    Hidden by all the dirt but its there.

I got stuck on a part where you has to basically ruin a canyon and steal a jeep, rpgs arent very quiet :pac:

anyways, i've a wee plan for my car soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

dpJQ4Ww.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Talking to the aul fella this evening. He bought a set of Firestone tz3000a for the C5 and the front set are almost down to the wear indicator. They were only fitted in August about 8000 miles ago. Seems a bit much?

One problem with having a 3 litre diesel is the lenght of time taken for the bastard to warm up :)

Plus even when the coolant is upto temperature the oil isn't and takes longer. It's one thing I try to always do is drive the car very easy when it's cold I think it really does do the engine and turbo a favour in the long term.

It will do it the world of Good later in life. Mine always gets about 2 minutes after start and then I'll head off. But won't drive it on until at least 20 mins in.
    After that I'll do what i want :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

New model passat on fire on the M3 this morning heading towards Navan just outside clonee. Few fire trucks putting it out as I drove by.

I wonder if it was a fault causing the fire or it was stolen and set alight?