Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

So tempted by the latest driving games. Haven't had a games console since n64 and goldeneye!
    What are best driving sims, which platform?
    Bonus marks if there is an awesome game that will run on an xbox slim.

Car back from garage, oil leak sorted with a new oring on oil cooler. Speaking of steering, twas as easy to get poly ARB bushes as oem ones, as well as getting rid of the clunks it has improved the feel of the steering.
    Twas like a new car to me again last night, cold air, turbo spooled, windy backroads, smiles per gallon :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'm intent on getting one of those simulators for my house. Three spare bedrooms, might as well try and make use of one at least :P

Definitely do Simon they are great fun, I'm dedicating a north facing room of my house as a sim room :)
    So tempted by the latest driving games. Haven't had a games console since n64 and goldeneye!
    What are best driving sims, which platform?
    Bonus marks if there is an awesome game that will run on an xbox slim

The PC is where sim racing is only ever going to be in reality.
    These games demand huge performance, we run the latest "Project cars" off of a water cooled setup. Mind you its lifelike at this stage!

On the xbox, forza is what you get and it's a decent game but doesn't support the kind of feedback you'd get from a sim and it also feels a bit detached!
    Like in Project Cars driving in the open wheel formula cars is genuinely tough, you can't just bury your toe and expect to be king, it takes a long time!

You need a good PC by right SC :)
    Car back from garage, oil leak sorted with a new oring on oil cooler. Speaking of steering, twas as easy to get poly ARB bushes as oem ones, as well as getting rid of the clunks it has improved the feel of the steering.
    Twas like a new car to me again last night, cold air, turbo spooled, windy backroads, smiles per gallon :-)

Sounds like a good drive home :)

Take a look at the Project Cars helmet cam :)
    You guys must play this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

YbFocus wrote: »

Oh and I'm 25, 26 in Feb 11th lads, there's a lot of us the same age within about a month I see!

And there's 2 of us the exact same age!

Btw I'd love a go of that rig, birthday buddy :pac:

Sounds like a good drive home :)

Yeah... Home...
    A short rattle test turned into lets have a look at that ghost estate where they burned the unoccupied houses, lets see if anyone has mad christmas lights up yet, lets get glue-wine from lidl but take the back roads...

Subaru - Let's Do That: http://youtu.be/w3T2P4fI7yE

Cheensbo wrote: »
    And there's 2 of us the exact same age!

Btw I'd love a go of that rig, birthday buddy :pac:

What are the chances of that!!
    Anytime man, not sure where you are though :)
    Yeah... Home...
    A short rattle test turned into lets have a look at that ghost estate where they burned the unoccupied houses, lets see if anyone has mad christmas lights up yet, lets get glue-wine from lidl but take the back roads...

Subaru - Let's Do That: http://youtu.be/w3T2P4fI7yE

Sounds like my kind of aimless driving around the place :)
    Thats a great ad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Saw a nasty crash yesterday at Charles town in finglas. Alfa gt on top of a traffic light. The guy was out walking about thankfully. Alfa looked bad. :(

Sounds like my kind of aimless driving around the place :)
    Thats a great ad!
    Better IRL with moar turbo and less dodgy hotspring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

If you ever looking for sim racing experience, then unfortunately the only option you got is a high end pc + decent sterling wheel. It will be a racing sim experience and not a game anymore. I could sit for 2h playing one track with same car just learning corners, gears for each corner and shaving 0.1 seconds of my best time.
    That was my setup in tue old house. I will need to pop my wheel out again in new house on some calmer weekend. Have not done it in a while.

DSC_0217_zpsm7jfrros.jpg

When it comes to consoles, there are a few decent racing "games", not sims. Nothing wrong with that though. It's just more about actual career and buying / upgrading cars that makes it fun.
    I would put forza series on top when it comes to racing games on consoles. Damn, u even bough xbox one 2 days ago just for forza series. And u already own a ps4...
    Then I would go with need for speed shift 2 ( I can already hear people bashing me for this). It's a great racing game even if it is more on arcadish side then forza, but it has a great sensation of speed and race. It can be gotten for a 5er on ps3 or 360 these days. Well worth the money.
    Gran turismo takes the last spot for me. It feels way too plastic and clean. Premium and standard cars is another bollix. On top of that Ai is just horrible and robotic.

Now a lot of people will disagree with me, but for me one of the most important things in these simish games is Ai. Ai makes a race and a challenge. Maybe that's why I am in love with forza games and specially with forza 5 as it uses Drivatar system. It records other people behavior and then makes Ai opponents for you. There is now even a version of me driving around in other people games. This makes racing against Ai a lot more realistic and fun as you race against other people skills and not perfect line bots. Race becomes way more unpredictable and you can't just fallow perfect race line and expect car in front of you brake at perfect moment like you. Gt series were always the worst when it came to Ai.

I need a tri-screen setup, it's all I'm missing :(
    I totally agree with the AI, can make or break a game.
    And as for losing hours aimlessly battling a car around a track, I've often looked and gone "****" when I realised I've just blown another Sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Haven't had a games console since n64 and goldeneye!

Best game ever. Even to this day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The closest experience I had to that was when my dad got a projector and we projected the first Need for Speed onto a wall! Some craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

iRacing is excellent too. No need to worry about AI as you are racing people online mostly. Very very realistic game and excellent driving dynamics.

Harcrid wrote: »
    iRacing is excellent too. No need to worry about AI as you are racing people online mostly. Very very realistic game and excellent driving dynamics.

It's not a game. It's a sim racer. They got very strict rules and acting bollox there will get you off racing even if you payed money.
    I know that dell get insulted when it's called a game.

Couldn't justify the cost of a super duper gaming rig at the mo, as awesome as it would be.:(
    Will have to make do with real life. GTA - Limerick Citaay. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Have you a trade. Seems high for labouring. Well for the past few years anyway. I know things have picked up a bit recently so maybe the wages have gone up.

Nope, just started early and finished late every day, it was a very busy site so the hours were racking up.
    Hardwork but it payed nice, just a basic laborer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

nd wrote: »

Try it with a vinesauce rom corruptor :D

For compound hangovers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Did anyone notice this there seems to be 2 new model passats in the whole country (one estate, one saloon) that are going from vw dealer to dealer on a truck there even on German plates. It's just I seen a few dealers having open nights for the car but they each only have it for a day and it goes somewhere else. You'd think they could have got a few over and demoed them are they in that short of a supply that Ireland can only borrow two.

From the pictures they look really nice if priced anyway right they will sell like hot buns. They have a full digital dash ie no physical odometer speedometer just a digital display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Customs checkpoint on the South Link into the City from the Kinsale Roundabout, first time seeing one, they must be dipping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Customs checkpoint on the South Link into the City from the Kinsale Roundabout, first time seeing one, they must be dipping.

Almost everytime my dad goes through one of them he gets pulled over and dipped he must just look guilty or something :D it's never happened me. Although they don't seem to be as common an occurrence in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Bpmull wrote: »
    Almost everytime my dad goes through one of them he gets pulled over and dipped he must just look guilty or something :D it's never happened me. Although they don't seem to be as common an occurrence in the last few years.

A friend of mine had a Pug 205 a good few years ago. Going through a customs checkpoint one day they wanted him to pull in to dip the tank. The 205 was petrol, it's fair to say it was a little rough :)

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Interslice wrote: »
    Madness!

Ybfocus in a years time :pac::p

bear1 wrote: »
    Ybfocus in a years time :pac::p

Go away you :)

No I don't think that kind of thing works in a room like above, too much distraction with the room flashing around you :)
    That said if you have one I'll take it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

nd wrote: »

Played it recently. GoldenEye has not aged well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

I've never had any game console. Did not play games on computer either.

And I'm proud of it. :P

I'll goldengun the both of ye now if ye're now careful :pac: :P

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I disagree with some of the views on here about needing a mad setup. A 40 quid FF steering wheel and you are grand. Sure 3 screens or a oculus helps but its not really needed. Had many a great race beating guys that have every bell and whistle. That said my G27 steering wheel has just arrived and is waiting at reception :)

Its not really about mad setups. Sure you can do it cheap with one monitor, but how much of sim it's going to be then?
    it's not about efficency, but about sensation and experience of driving a sim. If I would like to be efficient I would play with controller as I am way better at it with controller then G27 lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    It was never that good in all fairness, it was light years behind the stuff we were playing on the PC.

PC master race.

I remember when Metro 2033 came out it had to be completely redesigned for the console. Developers were effectively limited by aging hardware.

Consoles always going to be behind the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So the time is nearing to replace my radiator as there's a small leak coming from the current one, and im getting low coolant level warnings nearly every week I have a radiator but a few of the fins are damaged, around the sides it'l be ok to install it though wont it?