Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

YbFocus wrote: »
    If anyone meets a saab estate travelling at the speed of light on the M7 that'll be pickles, he's departed here :)

Simon I've always thought a job like that would be an adventure but from what your saying it's changing my opinion rather fast!

I wouldn't like to do that, but admittedly I do have a lot of negative things to say about it all. You would think I would enjoy it - I get to see the most wonderful sights the country has to offer, a lot - I love that, but afterwards its just gutting not being able to go home to my girlfriend in the evenings. Neither of us have family in Dublin so for most of the week she is at home on her own. We are pretty new to Dublin too and a lot of her friends are at home (Derry).
    And as for the travelling bit, like OSI says, it gets a bit boring. There genuinely nothing exciting to do. It can be good craic sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Hehehe.... Limited slip differentials and roundabouts. You can feel the bastard looking for grip.

Don't mind me, just decarbonising the engine, Gard.

A whole lot of traffic and journeys around town, along with liberal use of the noisy pedal have garnered a grand total of 200km from my 40 litres of petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Dartz wrote: »
    A whole lot of traffic and journeys around town, along with liberal use of the noisy pedal have garnered a grand total of 200km from my 40 litres of petrol.

Surly that's a joke is it. I knew they would be hard on petrol but not 14 mpg hard :eek: or are you just rounding it roughly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Bpmull wrote: »
    Surly that's a joke is it. I knew they would be hard on petrol but not 14 mpg hard :eek: or are you just rounding it roughly.

Well your taking a car that's hard on petrol, real hard. Then driving it in the worst setting and then Blatantly driving it on too.
    Wouldn't be overly surprised at 14mpg

It'll do half that on a good motorway cruise.

Crawling along in traffic is just not where it's happy. Whether you're doing 5000rpm in first, or 5000rpm in 6th, your fuel burn per hour is about the same. Only in one gear you're going a lot faster.

And then when you put your foot down it sort of just throws fuel at the engine in the hopes that some of it will become power. I think there's about 6 seperate injectors to feed the two rotors at full power, and when they all open their throats every single revolution of the engine, that's a lot of fuel.

Well your taking a car that's hard on petrol, real hard. Then driving it in the worst setting and then Blatantly driving it on too.
    Wouldn't be overly surprised at 14mpg

I didn't mean the comment to come across as a downer or anything. Clearly dartz loves the car and they are a lovely car. Just 14mpg came as a bit of a shock I would have thought it would do 20 mpg even in those conditions. I suppose it does depend on how bad the traffic is.

Although then thinking about it it's not a standard piston driven engine but a rotary engine. We done a good bit on rotary engines in college and they are cool the way they work but efficiency wasn't one of their strong points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It'll do half that on a good motorway cruise.

Crawling along in traffic is just not where it's happy. Whether you're doing 5000rpm in first, or 5000rpm in 6th, your fuel burn per hour is about the same. Only in one gear you're going a lot faster.

And then when you put your foot down it sort of just throws fuel at the engine in the hopes that some of it will become power. I think there's about 6 seperate injectors to feed the two rotors at full power, and when they all open their throats every single revolution of the engine, that's a lot of fuel.

Um, it doesn't quite work like that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Ah sure as long as you're enjoying it then what harm!

It's a very good engine for producing maximum power under heavy load. Infact, the more you rip the testicles off it, the more 'efficient' it gets in terms of brake specific fuel consumption. The reason the 787B won at LeMans was because it used less fuel under full-throttle, full-load situations.

This and other factors, like the lack of internal reciprocating loads and an ability to fail gracefully - even if one rotor chamber ****s the bed completely, the others will keep producing soepower - make it a very good engine for aircraft which tend to run at constant high power settings.

And make it a very unusual and intriguing thing to drive in a car.

dgt wrote: »

Damn exponentially increasing air resistance :pac:

dgt wrote: »

Sometimes it does ****ing feel like that, although if I look at the figures the fuel consumptions probably something between 2 and 3 times higher, but it's also going 5 times faster.

I'm sort of pulling this off the top of my head out of my arse because I can't remember how fast it's actually going, so it's very ballpark. Well, Phoenix park.

I had a long day at work doing sums. Don't make me do more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

If anyone meets a saab estate travelling at the speed of light on the M7 that'll be pickles, he's departed here :)

Simon I've always thought a job like that would be an adventure but from what your saying it's changing my opinion rather fast!

And i have returned to the residence, that's a mighty fine rig you have :D Pity i can't drive sims for sh1t :pac: Thanks for showing me though :D

Bpmull wrote: »
    I didn't mean the comment to come across as a downer or anything. Clearly dartz loves the car and they are a lovely car. Just 14mpg came as a bit of a shock I would have thought it would do 20 mpg even in those conditions. I suppose it does depend on how bad the traffic is.

Although then thinking about it it's not a standard piston driven engine but a rotary engine. We done a good bit on rotary engines in college and they are cool the way they work but efficiency wasn't one of their strong points.

Yeah rotaries don't do efficiency in any way or shape, i will own a 13b car at some stage though :)

And i have returned to the residence, that's a mighty fine rig you have :D Pity i can't drive sims for sh1t :pac: Thanks for showing me though :D

Ah they take time to get used to, but as we were saying i can drive better in reality than in a rig!

I hope you can too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Sometimes it does ****ing feel like that, although if I look at the figures the fuel consumptions probably something between 2 and 3 times higher, but it's also going 5 times faster.

It uses more, when going faster at the same rpm.... That's what I just said?

I may be sauced but even this confuses me!!!

I'm sort of pulling this off the top of my head out of my arse because I can't remember how fast it's actually going, so it's very ballpark. Well, Phoenix park.

I had a long day at work doing sums. Don't make me do more.

Use a calculator instead :D

Who's to say I didn't have a long hard day too.... ;)

Ah they take time to get used to, but as we were saying i can drive better in reality than in a rig!

I hope you can too :pac:

Oh i can indeed! Unless its in an 80's f1 car :pac:

I still hope you'd do better in reality, that turbo kept catching you out :)

Ah it was a good laugh all the same :)

Without completely confusing things. The mpg or l/100 km readout for fuel consumption would be independent of speed or velocity. So if it's higher then it means your burning more fuel to do the same distance regardless of speed. Obviously if it was time to cover a set distance speed would have a big effect. Unless I'm confusing what your saying and that's what you meant just a confusing topic in general.

Exponentially increasing air resistance with increasing speed placing an increased load on the engine would be the biggest reason for increased fuel consumption at the same rpm in different gears.

Fuel consumption aside I'd imagine owning a rotary is definitely something special. They are so rare on irish roads it would be nice to say you owned one at some stage.

I bought a ps3. Never owned one before. Whats the normal age for owning your first games console, I think 25 is a bit old.

You're only 25?! :eek:

26 on Jan 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Feck the RCZ and the GT, I'm more impressed that you picked up a ps3 at 10 o clock in ballyvaughan :)

26 on Jan 1st.

I thought you were way older!

Anyways, get gta 5 and gran turismo 5 and far cry 3, that'l be you sorted for the next while

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Feck the RCZ and the GT, I'm more impressed that you picked up a ps3 at 10 o clock in ballyvaughan :)

Bought one online, collect tomorrow after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Think I need to get in on this geology malarkey.

I'm a month younger and have a commodore 64 and a 22 year old pajero :pac:

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Think I need to get in on this geology malarkey.

I'm a month younger and have a commodore 64 and a 22 year old pajero :pac:

I was just thinking that! But then again, i'll be fairly sorted when i leave college too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How did you survive till 25 without a games console though?

I don't think that's ever happened before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I was just thinking that! But then again, i'll be fairly sorted when i leave college too :D

In fairness if I stayed at being a qs instead of becoming a nomad I'd probably be doing a little better too but hey, plenty of time for that :pac:

26 on Jan 1st.

And you own that RCZ and a GT86 on the way? Boy did I pick the wrong career path :pac:

At least I'm younger! :D28 days younger