Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dermot & Dave on Today Fm

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Dermot is the glue that holds the duo together and the secret to their success. His quick comic brain is their strength as a broadcasting team. Dave is the straight man who reacts to Dermots comedy. What is interesting is how they were allowed take the show and literally all its features from 98fm to Today Fm.

Even now they even use old audio clips from their days at 98fm, and I'm sure the one where Dermot pretended to be a Polish builder was a few years old. They can be fun to listen to but, DnD followed by Porter and then D'Arcy is a little over the top on energy and personality for me. What's wrong with just playin a few tunes and keeping chat to a minimum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

A FFS lads, prematurely going to the second layer of the biscuit tin.
    That's Ferghal Darcy level radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

reg114 wrote: »
    Dermot is the glue that holds the duo together and the secret to their success. His quick comic brain is their strength as a broadcasting team. Dave is the straight man who reacts to Dermots comedy. What is interesting is how they were allowed take the show and literally all its features from 98fm to Today Fm.

Even now they even use old audio clips from their days at 98fm, and I'm sure the one where Dermot pretended to be a Polish builder was a few years old. They can be fun to listen to but, DnD followed by Porter and then D'Arcy is a little over the top on energy and personality for me. What's wrong with just playin a few tunes and keeping chat to a minimum?
    Iirc, they have to have a certain minimum level of chat to comply with their broadcasting licence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

The 2:30 - 4:30 should be just a music show, like Tony Fenton's old show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,603 ✭✭✭✭siblers

A FFS lads, prematurely going to the second layer of the biscuit tin.
    That's Ferghal Darcy level radio.

I think the idea of the content is grand, if Ray Foley was talking about such matters, he'd make it funny, same with Dermot and Dave but Fergal isn't capable of this. I don't really mind the idea of him using such "topics" as they are so Irish but he doesn't have the ability to make it entertaining

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Muireann deserves the lunch time slot

She doesn't take herself too seriously and plays some good tunes

Granted She is probably miles ahead of Al Porter when it come to radio but she's not near as entertaining as the two she has replaced, I know Dermot and Dave are big shoes to fill but I feel they could do alot better, Louise Duffy was more entertaining when she was on during the day than Muireann is now imo.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Muireann deserves the lunch time slot

She doesn't take herself too seriously and plays some good tunes

Granted She is probably miles ahead of Al Porter when it come to radio but she's not near as entertaining as the two she has replaced, I know Dermot and Dave are big shoes to fill but I feel they could do alot better, Louise Duffy was more entertaining when she was on during the day than Muireann is now imo.
    No this is just absolute horse ****e.
    Louise Duffy was abysmal and Muireann is far more entertaining, talented, likeable and relatable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Louise Duffy was abysmal and Muireann is far more entertaining, talented, likeable and relatable.

Well I did Include imo at the end, your response is completely ott, being entertaining, talented, likeable and relatable are all subjective?

I'm not sure how relatable she can be to you tho given Muireann comes across a very down to earth sound person. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Zechariah Small Hairdressing

Agreed on LD in her day shifts - her bits/games came off as half arsed and something yanked off joe/her.ie and her interviews were her talking over the interviewee - fairness she's improved at 7pm show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

Muireann actually does the same kind of radio as Fergal D'arcy imo. Can't understand the love she seems to get on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Zechariah Small Hairdressing

Muireann actually does the same kind of radio as Fergal D'arcy imo. Can't understand the love she seems to get on this forum.

She's not as loud/annoying as D'arcy is imho

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Never knew Dave is married to Velcro girl! Lucky so and so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Playing another piece recorded months ago about pillows and reflex pillow inventor. Are they really stuck for content?

Mc Love wrote: »
    Playing another piece recorded months ago about pillows and reflex pillow inventor. Are they really stuck for content?
    I think they are really stuck for content, they bring up some inane topic every morning, this morning was the 6 week old news about deleting WhatsApp messages (https://www.google.ie/amp/www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-4054926/amp/You-edit-DELETE-WhatsApp-messages-haven-t-read-yet.html?client=ms-android-samsung) in the hope it will take off and they can fill the first hour with texts and tweets on said topic,
    from the sounds of the people they are bringing on air it seems they will have absolutely anyone on and they try to drag every call out so long it starts getting awkward and turning into dead air.
    I really don't know what they were doing for the three weeks they were off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

That 'Say Stuff' was gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

The story of Greece :D

Mc Love wrote: »

It appears I was wrong but they did talk about pillows before after it was an Ah sure Look it answer.

The reflex pillow guy was on the Last Word with Matt Cooper in November, pretty much sounded like the same interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

I wonder if Al Porter turns out to be decent could they start moving the times to shorten their slot?

Mr Tickle wrote: »
    I wonder if Al Porter turns out to be decent could they start moving the times to shorten their slot?

Only if Hell freezes over :D

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭lilywhitearmy

It would be a massive help if the station updated their bloody playlist. Any time I have Today FM on I seem to be guaranteed to Macklemore, Justin Timberlake or Zara Larsson.

agreed, although theres a significant improvement from 7pm onwards

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Playing Dizzy Rascal now, the songs they are playing a hell of a lot like the stuff on 98fm these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

BPKS wrote: »
    I heard a bit of the show today.

I cant see how they can sustain a 3 hour show in the long run.

Surely theres only so many funny stories they can re-hash or chat about funny videos on youtube.

Or maybe there will be more and more snapchat interaction from listeners to fill the void.

I think it won't be too long before Today FM move to the 7-10am breakfast show route of most stations these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 DelGato

The co-worker in our office who loved Dermot and Dave in the afternoons and left it on all week for them said this morning that it was time to move the station. And I'd say that radio hasn't changed since 2005!

I was criticised last week for judging them on their first day but I think it's fair to say at this stage that it is not working and is just lazy rubbish. Even if they played a bit more music than Anton or Ray did but they spend ages asking people to text in about whatever inane topic they read on the internet that morning and they're not as funny as they think they are. As someone else here said they are supposed to be the best of the best but this the best Today FM could come up with? If I was Al Porter I would be worried following on from this pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

That "interview" this morning with the sugarbaby was woeful - all I could think of was ...Oh what would Anton have been like interviewing.
    Then I thought, it sounds so fake, that she was possibly someone else relaying the story of a "real" sugarbaby, like an actress as she kind of sounded vague at times. And I don't think that Anton would entertain that kind of interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 wherearemykeys

I was just so used to listening to a magazine type radio programme that its very hard getting used to anything else. Gerry Ryan was always on in our kitchen when we were growing up. Then i was listening to Darcy and then Anton. Those programmes are easy listening and rarely boring as they move from topic to interview to music to interview etc

D&D, as someone else said, its lazy radio and hard to listen too. Dave thinks hes some major great radio jock, but in reality he spends his time trying to be as funny as Dermot whos actually not that funny at all.

I'm enjoying Tubs at the moment, its only a pity his show isnt a bit longer or else I think now would be a great time to move Darcy to that morning slot and give him a two hour show. We all wondered why Darcy jumped ship when he did. Maybe he saw this coming before anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Lyric FM more music less sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

seanin4711 wrote: »
    Lyric FM more music less sh1te

Just wait until they start going for the younger demographic :D

Anyone else have any good guesses for "L is S in the M"?

No, wrecking my head!

It might be something is soft in the middle, or stuck in the middle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,626 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think the lads have settled into the timeslot reasonably well, they still grind a bit till 9:30 but it's ok.

They need to be careful of the interviews, a few have been rightly cringeworthy like the sugarbabe one.

I'm really enjoying Muirren coming on after them and it's a pity she won't be staying.

The Baz interview this morning was quite good!

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    No, wrecking my head!

It might be something is soft in the middle, or stuck in the middle?

Think it might be a variation of one of the guesses that were mentioned already.
    http://www.todayfm.com/Ah-Sure-Look-It-WHAT-THE-HELL-IS-IT

WTF
    The Lasagne is Spinning in the Microwave!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

WTF
    The Lasagne is Spinning in the Microwave!!

Seriously like.... How are we supposed to know what is spinning in the microwave??? :confused:

I reckon like a lot of these quizzes there are multiple "right answers" but they choose the day and the caller and the amount they want to give away and go with whatever variation that was text in that day.
    There is no way the one and only correct answer was "the lasagne is spinning in the microwave"

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Alicano

I tuned in for the first time this morning... Turned after 10/15mins. I know that they are very popular but the style is totally lost on me. Poor music and really unfunny too.. but that's all subjective I suppose. And I'm only 36 :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Triponin69

Not as good as expected

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭IUA14

Right...so I was reluctant to judge the show immediately but I have listened to it the last few weeks...when the lads first came to the station I didn't like the show...they grew into the lunchtime slot and the last year or so I was really enjoying it. The new show, definitely not enjoying it as much. I think the new focus on everyday pointless bullish*t interviews is really bloody annoying...the parts of the show I like and enjoy are the parts they were doing before, I think the interviews just kill the flow of the show and are needless.

I am already dreading the handovers next week with Al Porter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

The extra half hour and not having an extra long lunch time news slot to kill a bit of time is hurting the show. The filler interviews aren't great. They should just play more music instead of that nonsense and turning people off the show!

There's also a bit more reliance on the listener for content, like the ketchup in the fridge today. It just drags on too much. Preferred them just messing around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

This "friends husband on twitter" thing is actually ridiculous. It doesn't suit their style at all. The "interview" with some woman about it stinks of an Adrian Kennedy / Chris Barry style phone in show where the lads go out out of their way to play devils advocate while clearly not caring.

The reason I use inverted commas on the word interview is because it all sounds so false and made up..

Was thinking the same - is this Dublin Talks?
    Not a fan of that segment, hopefully it's a once off

Paul (zero charisma) Galvin! Jesus wept.

That was a tough tough interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

While I have no issue with Galvin, it seems the media in Ireland is all who you know.....

Really enjoyed today's show. Laughed a lot

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

Really enjoyed today's show. Laughed a lot

love tony cascarino followed by a great tune :D

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    love tony cascarino followed by a great tune :D

And as former a former Temple Theatre jock, it brought back memories of Wen nights there !!