Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dermot & Dave on Today Fm

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

I like them.they make me laugh at least once a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭DopeTech

IUA14 wrote: »
    Its not what they were moved there to do though...the old format with a mix of chat, music and serious topics that Anton and Darcy did has been done away with in favour of this so people on here blaming them for being moved into the slot to do what they have always done is pointless...its what they were put there to do (rightly or wrongly).

I think Communicorp's point of view is if you want serious go to Newstalk, if you want music and entertainment its Today FM...not saying I agree with this at all but that seems to be the way it is.

I know they weren't moved there to do a Darcy type show or anything, they were moved there to try gain some more younger listeners for the station. I just think it's all a bit too juvenile and I'd be in the bracket they are aiming at.

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭IUA14

FrostyJim wrote: »
    I know they weren't moved there to do a Darcy type show or anything, they were moved there to try gain some more younger listeners for the station. I just think it's all a bit too juvenile and I'd be in the bracket they are aiming at.

Wouldn't disagree with you was just saying that this is clearly what management want from them and that timeslot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Interesting that people are struggling to adjust to this type of show on the 9-12 slot. I supose for a long long long time we have been used to a more serious show at that time, Gerry Ryan, Ray Darcy, Anton , Tubridy etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

More predictable Irishism topics this morning, it's not great..

"Text us if you have an Irish name that's hard to pronounce!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭johnire

I know-it's just so irritating. They had the exact same feature on yesterday morning.
    This whole Irishisim thing is just so played out at this stage. It's boring and lazy radio.
    _feedback_ wrote: »
    More predictable Irishism topics this morning, it's not great..

"Text us if you have an Irish name that's hard to pronounce!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Grainne Seoige on the phone from south Africa at the moment now on D&D so it won't be The Seoige twins anyway.

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Dermot and his big shiny forehead. His radio and tv ads are just as annoying and unfunny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Ffs, this thread is now a replica of the old Darcy thread for the last few years he was there - constant whinging and moaning.

There really should be two threads - one for the moaners, one for people who enjoy the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,642 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think D&D are feeling the pressure now of being the only half successful djs between 9 and 4:30. I think 9am is too early for their flippant sort of humours show, I liked it in the afternoon but not at 9am.

They're now handing over to Al Porter, god his voice alone would do your head in but his humour just grates on me. I thought maybe Muirren would get the slot, I thought she was settling in well.

It's ironic to have today fm running ads for people to study journalism with djs telling you what they're going to teach and their passion for journalism, and then the management appoint a half baked "celeb comedian" to such a key daytime slot, so much for professional journalism.

Does anyone know is Anton Savage likely to appear on any daytime radio station ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Synode wrote: »
    Ffs, this thread is now a replica of the old Darcy thread for the last few years he was there - constant whinging and moaning.

There really should be two threads - one for the moaners, one for people who enjoy the show

Well thats "boardies "for ya! There is far too many negative posts among all threads on here. It's rare to find positive posts nearly anywhere through out the site.

People seem to judge people from the getgo before they have done anything. I don't think boards users are representative of the whole country, just a sample. (I actually think the opposite).

With regards to Al Porter, yes he failed on 2fm and why does todayfm think it might be different with them,radio presenters shows are subjective so can't ye wait until he starts before judging.

Of course he could well be a disaster, but he hasn't started yet.

.............now I better watch myself getting down from this high horse, with my ranting over I feel better.

:-)) :-))

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

_Brian wrote:
    It's ironic to have today fm running ads for people to study journalism with djs telling you what they're going to teach and their passion for journalism, and then the management appoint a half baked "celeb comedian" to such a key daytime slot, so much for professional journalism.

I was listening in this morning but missed the bit when they announced Porter. I tuned back in then after they'd announced it and they seemed rather nonplussed about it.

As you say, it's a real kick in the stones for people who have a genuine interest in radio that, in what it a very small jobs market, and for the most part not well paid, is packed full of comedians who do it as a means of regular income.

What experience does Porter have that he gets such a valued spot? There must be someone else who has put in the hard yards to earn a go. That said I'm glad it's not Alison Curtis (she's on that station yeah?).

Having Porter in there will do wonders for the diversity pie chart in HR though.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,753 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Nonplussed means surprised and confused to the extent that you are at a loss for words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Here's a fun idea, as opposed to complaining about negative posts and adding to the negativity, how's about contributing some positivity?

Anyway, I'm worried that the show won't work this early in the morning as others have said. I listened the odd time to the old show and always enjoyed it, but I'd class it as far too high energy for that hour of the morning.

That said, I listened in for the first time today and the show seemed a bit more subdued and laid back, or maybe that was just my perception of it.

Say Stuff is always hilarious though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I'm missing the advice bits and the occasional interviews of the old format already and I'm D&D's biggest fan. I really dont think I'll be able to get into their antics this early tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Nonplussed means surprised and confused to the extent that you are at a loss for words.

To be honest I used that word entirely because I had this clip running through my mind.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,753 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

ligerdub wrote: »
    To be honest I used that word entirely because I had this clip running through my mind.

Ha! That's hilarious because in North America, nonplussed has "unperturbed" as an accepted meaning. It's wrong of course but so is "aluminum!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭seanin4711

the end of today fm is nigh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I must admit I did laugh out loud in the car this morning at the prank Dermot pulled on Dave RE his garden wall... it was apparently another repeat but still... at least it wasn't from the morning before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

What was the answer to the previous Ah Sure Look It - "J is S" ?

Jam is sticky.

First thing I thought of too. Hopefully the current one runs a bit longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

_Brian wrote:
    Does anyone know is Anton Savage likely to appear on any daytime radio station ??

I don't think he will, he has his communications company to manage and I think when he was offered the 9-12 show it suited him as he could do serious interviews, have a laugh and play some music. I'd say radio especially commicorp has left a sour taste in his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Had a first proper listen to the show this morning. I was apprehensive about how their brand of presenting would work at this time of the morning, considering following antons and darcys successful show for the last 20 years (yes, it's been going since 1997!) I was pleasantly surprised though, found their show uplifting and entertaining. I think it will work well for this time of the morning. I did catch some of the talcom powder conversation the other day and found it really drawn out and stupid. Hopefully they learn to calm that stuff down

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Massive fan of Dermot and Dave, so just happy they stayed on the national airways, was never a fan of the previous 2 occupiers of the 9 to 12 slot anyways.

What the story with Dermot and Dave's replacement or is the one that's on now between 12 and half 2 going to be permanent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Massive fan of Dermot and Dave, so just happy they stayed on the national airways, was never a fan of the previous 2 occupiers of the 9 to 12 slot anyways.

What the story with Dermot and Dave's replacement or is the one that's on now between 12 and half 2 going to be permanent?

Al Porter, starts February 13.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Al Porter, starts February 13.

I really hope this is a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭prunudo

Have listened most of the week and I think today was the best so far in the 9-12 slot, they sounded as comfortable as they used to on their old show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I really hope this is a joke?

No there a few other threads somehow that's what the nation will get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Flange/Flanders

Hey was Tonys club classics on today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yes at about 11:45.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Underworld-Born Slippy was the track

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Tony used to set me up for the weekend at 12:45 on a Friday

cannot listen to the radio earlier than 12:40....

Booooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,086 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Paula McSweeney on now talking about herself getting engaged at the weekend. A new low for radio ? Cringe worthy stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

2smiggy wrote: »
    Paula McSweeney on now talking about herself getting engaged at the weekend. A new low for radio ? Cringe worthy stuff

i just put that in the today fm thread there. exactly like why have we to listen to this. keep it private get a life. she was on ian dempsey 2 hours ago talking about it aswell. :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭prunudo

Tbh I found them trying to do a serious piece about trumps immigration and wall policy more cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Yeah I think they may have been told to bring in some serious parts! Doesn't sound right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    i just put that in the today fm thread there. exactly like why have we to listen to this. keep it private get a life. she was on ian dempsey 2 hours ago talking about it aswell. :mad::mad::mad:
    should see her snapchat, she puts everything she does on it
    Everything???? can't find my perv emoji!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I heard Paula, and was immediately reminded of this forum :P Can we expect her on The Last Word later too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Zechariah Small Hairdressing

Trebor176 wrote: »
    I heard Paula, and was immediately reminded of this forum :P Can we expect her on The Last Word later too?

Matt is dedicating one hour to analysis on the engagement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Matt is dedicating one hour to analysis on the engagement
    Eamon Ryan and Marylou McDonald will surely be the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Poor lad she bagged , did any of his friends not take him aside before this happened to him ?

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭IUA14

Ah FFS lads...really? Moan about they spending time on their show talking to one of their colleagues about the engagement but the pathetic shots at her are ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,394 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I heard a bit of the show today.

I cant see how they can sustain a 3 hour show in the long run.

Surely theres only so many funny stories they can re-hash or chat about funny videos on youtube.

Or maybe there will be more and more snapchat interaction from listeners to fill the void.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Probably the two wittiest presenters on the radio in Ireland, which says a lot. But I like them. As in they are likable. And quite witty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,086 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Ah FFS lads...really? Moan about they spending time on their show talking to one of their colleagues about the engagement but the pathetic shots at her are ridiculous!

true, should not take shots at her, she does seem a nice girl, and easy on the eye. but she does seem to put everything she does on snap chat , and going on a few different shows today about her engagement is a bit much !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Agree with this, not a fan of her on the radio but no need to get personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

BPKS wrote: »
    I heard a bit of the show today.

I cant see how they can sustain a 3 hour show in the long run.

Surely theres only so many funny stories they can re-hash or chat about funny videos on youtube.

Or maybe there will be more and more snapchat interaction from listeners to fill the void.

They do play a lot of recorded stuff. which is irksome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Muireann deserves the lunch time slot

She doesn't take herself too seriously and plays some good tunes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Muireann deserves the lunch time slot

She doesn't take herself too seriously and plays some good tunes

It would make more sense, wouldn't it? She's there for another couple of weeks, and is doing a great job. She should have been left there. She's been here and there on the station over recent times as if she was being prepped for her own show. But, it doesn't look like that's going to happen any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Zechariah Small Hairdressing

Eamon Ryan and Marylou McDonald will surely be the panel.

Theyre getting on tomorrow,Cal Thomas and Mary to get the American reaction