Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

People giving me the look like I have 7 heads when I (politely!) refuse sweets. I eat them if I feel like it, but I'm not going to take them if I don't want to, there's no need to force me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,048 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

jimgoose wrote: »
    My normally genial attitude to Monday mornings was upscuttled somewhat earlier by my giving myself a little nick with the razor while shaving. What of it, you say. Quite so. Except that about five minutes before I planned on leaving the house to trundle up to the office it decides to start bleeding as if I'd been shot in the head with an old cap-and-ball Colt.

Very annoying - i recommend a styptic pencil for your wash kit

I recommended one to a friend, several months later he told me 'them styptic pencils are great yokes I haven't cut myself since I bought one'

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

People showing pictures of their kids as if they are the most beautiful children ever created. No they are not, i have no interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

clothes labels are scratching my skin :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I hate all these new ways of saying "I'm annoyed" such as "Grinds my gears"/"boils my p1ss" etc but this one really gets me:

I just overheard a b1nt on a phone saying, "she's in her snots" - :eek: What an absolute hideous violation of the English language... It sounds like some kind of weird euphenism for menstruation. But "snots" though - maybe it's a euphenism for an ogre's menstruation. Yes that's it. Only an ogre's menstruation could be so defined. Fiona turns to Shrek and says, "not tonight dear, I'm in my snots". Mother of God :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

BeerWolf wrote: »
    People using black text against a friggin dark grey background! :mad:

LINK
    That's your fault for selecting that background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I hate all these new ways of saying "I'm annoyed" such as "Grinds my gears"/"boils my p1ss" etc but this one really gets me:

I just overheard a b1nt on a phone saying, "she's in her snots" - :eek: What an absolute hideous violation of the English language... It sounds like some kind of weird euphenism for menstruation. But "snots" though - maybe it's a euphenism for an ogre's menstruation. Yes that's it. Only an ogre's menstruation could be so defined. Fiona turns to Shrek and says, "not tonight dear, I'm in my snots". Mother of God :mad:

I've never heard that exactly but you do hear people saying to 'get into a snot' about something. Been known to get into one myself from time to time!

I think 'she's in her snots' is someone getting it arséways. Sounds bad alright but shur jaysus no need to get into a snot about it!

gramar wrote: »
    I've never heard that exactly but you do hear people saying to 'get into a snot' about something. Been known to get into one myself from time to time!

I think 'she's in her snots' is someone getting it arséways. Sounds bad alright but shur jaysus no need to get into a snot about it!

Yeah you're right, I'm sorry.

...I'm just really sensitive today because I'm in my snots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Dramatik

When you're on facebook and you watch a video, then you exit said video, facebook brings you back to the start of your newsfeed and you have to scroll for ages to try find where you were previously in your newsfeed. The same **** happens on my youtube subscriptions as well, scroll... click load more, scroll... click load more. It's ****ing annoying, why can't you bring me back to where I was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I literally jumped out of my own skin when I read that...............

My advice is stay away from suede:D

deise08 wrote: »
    When you put your socks on in the morning and half way through the day, the stitch by the little toe starts to hurt you.

Socks that squeeze your calves. When you take them of you have a big indentation ring around your leg. Very hard to find socks that stay up and don't cut the blood flow to your feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I had a breakfast with a friend in a cafe yesterday. We sat outside. There was a woman minding her two grandchildren (I think the parents were queuing for coffee etc.), who found it perfectly ok for the smaller child, which was less than 2 years old, to be playing at the entrance door. He was running in an out (well "ran", he was quite wobbly). Outside of this entrance is the outdoor seating area so people carrying hot beverages and plates with food need to pass through this door. So does the staff with a big trolley. I almost tripped as I spotted him the last minute. I could have scalded him with a hot coffee. I was absolutely raging. I stopped for a second and said it loudly that it was very dangerous to let the kid play in the doorway. She just gave me a smile looking at the boy "oh look how cute is he". I don't fcuking care, remove the child, he's in everybody's way! You think a woman her age would cop on after few people passing by mentioned the same thing. Nope, she didn't. And she wasn't deaf either. After few minutes of watching this I wanted to go over and shout at her but I restrained myself, thankfully nothing happened.

I wouldn't last a day working in a restaurant/cafe, I admire my friends, who do. They are very frustrated though. As they say - most of the time it's not the children that are the problem it's the stupid people minding them be it their parents or other relatives, letting them do whatever they want. If you don't give a sh1t about other people at least have your own offspring's safety in mind :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Being in a rush so go to park and go to the bank only to see a girl I usually try avoid, given her extreme fondness for calling me "pet". She saw me before I could duck out, and was giving it socks with the whole "pet" thing for about 20 mins talking scour.

I'm nobody's "pet". I'm like a ferocious pitbull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Being in a rush so go to park and go to the bank only to see a girl I usually try avoid, given her extreme fondness for calling me "pet". She saw me before I could duck out, and was giving it socks with the whole "pet" thing for about 20 mins talking scour.

I'm nobody's "pet". I'm like a ferocious pitbull

like the pitbulls people keep as pets. pet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

like the pitbulls people keep as pets. pet?

*scary growl*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Five day work weeks. I garauntee everyone in this office could get their weeks work done in 4 (or 3 in some cases) days and yet, we're all in here for 5 days regardless. Case in point: I'm sitting on boards and Facebook and it's only Monday! :pac:

haha...that's brilliant. I'll use that. talking scour...haha

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Five day work weeks. I garauntee everyone in this office could get their weeks work done in 4 (or 3 in some cases) days and yet, we're all in here for 5 days regardless. Case in point: I'm sitting on boards and Facebook and it's only Monday! :pac:

ssshhhh....say nothing...you'll ruin it for the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

btw yes, it really annoys me to be pushed or pulled :D
    for example by people who do not have the feeling for "personal space", also in queues, when they stick to my back as if they'd be quicker that way :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Very annoying - i recommend a styptic pencil for your wash kit

I recommended one to a friend, several months later he told me 'them styptic pencils are great yokes I haven't cut myself since I bought one'

Egad. I had never heard of such a thing. Congratulations - you have made it to the Goose's Christmas Card list. :cool:

This woman wrecking my head about how she just wants some peace and quiet...well you're not doing much to help your own cause, are you bítch? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

This woman wrecking my head about how she just wants some peace and quiet...well you're not doing much to help your own cause, are you bítch? :pac:

Glad to see you're back with a vengeance. :pac:

What would we do without your Monday morning rants? I hope I never bump into you of a Monday. :p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I just overheard a b1nt on a phone saying, "she's in her snots" - :eek: What an absolute hideous violation of the English language...

That is absolutely bloody awful. It has the grace and joie de vivre of a Russian freight train. I always quite liked "she had a humour on her like a cut cat" myself! :D

Some dick at work is talking scour (thanks lexie) about his smart watch. It reminds me of those calulator watches from 25 years ago. It looks fcuking stupid.
    Fcuk off you fat turd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

gramar wrote: »
    Some dick at work is talking scour (thanks lexie) about his smart watch. It reminds me of those calulator watches from 25 years ago. It looks fcuking stupid.
    Fcuk off you fat turd.

Ridiculous looking things! "I've got a smart watch" have you yeah... did you get your virginity back as a bonus mate? jog on...

I actually put these on my list along with people who talk on bluetooth headsets instead of just answering the phone... dickheads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The fact that the youtube phone app dosnt have youtube's full content.

WHY!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Smart watches piss me off too, they give you access to some (but not all) of the features of some (but not all) of the apps on your phone, just so you don't have to go to the arduous task of looking at your phone. Oh, and as a bonus they make you look like a Michael Knight wannabe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Attractive girl I'm passing on the street says hello to me.
    I smile and say hello back.
    She looks at me like I'm a weirdo and I realise she's actually talking to someone else on a bluetooth headset.

I feel like a spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I remember the days when people spoke about those with mobile phones in a similar way to how you guys are now talking about people with smart watches. (No I do not own a smart watch, they don't seem very useful yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Paint:mad: We changed our minds about the colour we were going to paint our bedroom. Looking at a tester patch on the wall, I realised I'd have to get rid of all of our duvet covers as they'd clash with the new colour.

So I went and got a tester of the other colour we like, of course once it's on the wall it is NOTHING like the colour in the brochure, it's not a dark colour, it's fricking silver:mad: