Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anxiety and/or depression discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Hang in there guys

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Dr.Alucard

Im in tonight too, i honestly cant remember the last night i had out :/ I dont mind tho really, i watch loads of documentaries. If anybody is stuck for something to do check out this place documentaryheaven.com i cant post links because i havent 50 posts yet, but just copy and past it into yer browser, loads of documentaries that will take up an hour or too for ye. Theres an interesting one on depression here documentaryheaven.com/truth-about-depression/ done by the bbc and yon stephen nolan fella.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Dr.Alucard wrote: »
    Im in tonight too, i honestly cant remember the last night i had out :/ I dont mind tho really, i watch loads of documentaries. If anybody is stuck for something to do check out this place documentaryheaven.com i cant post links because i havent 50 posts yet, but just copy and past it into yer browser, loads of documentaries that will take up an hour or too for ye. Theres an interesting one on depression here documentaryheaven.com/truth-about-depression/ done by the bbc and yon stephen nolan fella.

that website looks good. im not really of a socializing man myself

Roquentin wrote: »
    im not really of a socializing man myself

Me neither. A part of me would to however the whole socialisation scene has been thoroughly ruined for me by years of anxiety.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭is mise spartacus

All my friends are out and I'm here keeping my mind busy by studying
    fun

All my friends are out and I'm here keeping my mind busy by studying
    fun

You're keeping your eyes on the prize IMS. It'll pay off in the end. :)

I feel rather hopeless about my immediate future. Am being moved into a new section in work on Monday. Essentially my employment status there is now officially expendable. I hate the place so much yet I have no other options presently.

shezer wrote: »
    There are always other options. Our anxiety monsters like I us to think that there is no hope or no other options

Have applied for a couple of other jobs. Fingers crossed one of them will get back to me.

I just hate this uncertainty.

How are you Shezer? How's the weekend treating you there?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,140 ✭✭✭✭Esel

You're keeping your eyes on the prize IMS. It'll pay off in the end. :)

I feel rather hopeless about my immediate future. Am being moved into a new section in work on Monday. Essentially my employment status there is now officially expendable. I hate the place so much yet I have no other options presently.
    Try to frame it as "I am moving into...".

Bring your skills; read into your new responsibilities; get stuck in! I hope your new workmates will be friendly and helpful. Set your new workspace up as you like it. Personalise it a bit.

Sorry if this sounds trite - I know you said you hate the place.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Sorry if this sounds trite - I know you said you hate the place.

I'm just a moaner even at the best of times! :D

How's the weekend treating you there Esel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I ordered a pizza and now I can't eat it. I don't know why I ordered it I don't need food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭handbagmad

Ive eaten my own body weight today easily, bottomless pit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I never thought of anxiety as an actual disease before these last few months. I always thought it was something you could just snap out of after some time. But that's clearly not the case. I genuinely think its one of the worst afflictions a person can have.

Yes I had similar sentiments. I always thought anxiety was something triggered by an event, and once you'd got used to it or the event was over, it'd go away. But no it doesn't, its just awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭CZ 453

cloud493 wrote: »
    I ordered a pizza and now I can't eat it. I don't know why I ordered it I don't need food.

Post it to me :pac:

Am dreading work tomorrow: new department, new people, new procedures etc. It's giving me terrible butterflies in my belly and head.

Get your uniform/clothes ready. That is your armour. Look good feel good.

I don't look good though lol :D:o

I appreciate what you are saying though Shezer. Thanks man :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,140 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I'm just a moaner even at the best of times! :D

How's the weekend treating you there Esel?
    Sorry for not replying until now. I was rushing out just after my previous post.

I'm grand, thanks. :)

Chin up tomorrow; few slow, deep breaths. You will be OK.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Sorry for not replying until now. I was rushing out just after my previous post.

I'm grand, thanks. :)

Chin up tomorrow; few slow, deep breaths. You will be OK.

Too little, too late Esel! :p:D

Thanks for the kind words :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭handbagmad

Today is just meh can't be arsed. Still in bed. Safe here

handbagmad wrote: »
    Today is just meh can't be arsed. Still in bed. Safe here

Hope you feel better soon H

Yep, anxiety is the worse.

Can anyone actually put a start day/date to their anxiety? Did something happen to you on this day?

Kinda can however in retrospect I now feel it was always there even years earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Dr.Alucard

Can anyone actually put a start day/date to their anxiety? Did something happen to you on this day?

yes, i can, it was a result of an adverse effect from a mix things, it definalty was the trigger and it just kinda snowballed after that. It was almost like a new personality was being programmed into overnight and slowly took over in the coming years. That was kinda like what it was for me anyway.

I can put it down to a time period, not a day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Feeling unreasonably anxious heading for work.. Full of nervous energy, that makes me clumsy which exacerbates the anxiety. All I ever do is go in circles.

Eye of the tiger Grem. You'll do a grand job, like always :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭Killer_banana

Had to go home early from work today. We were dead enough that someone would most likely have been sent home anyway but it worries me that my work is so affected. The people I work with are so brilliant though. Two people when I confessed my depression and anxiety were why I was doing really badly today told me about their own anxiety and what they do to treat it and another kept checking on me despite he himself having had a massive fight with his partner today. I'm just so lucky to work where I do.

As for how I feel...genuinely considered walking myself to A&E earlier. Not suicidal just so very fatigued of trying to get through life. I feel like going to hospital would be a relif, a break. Which of course is nonsense and I know realistically I'm not in need of hospitalization and it is in no way a break but having to keep struggling with all of this is making me feel lower again. I don't know if any of that even made sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

i was watching a documentary last night called camp 14, which is about the forced labor camps in north korea. The guy who escaped in it made a very interesting point at the end, when he said that rarely did people commit suicide in the camps, despite the harsh conditions.

Yet in south korea where he was now(the free world), there was someone killing themselves every day.

Although he initially thought the outside world was a paradise, he now believes that "It's all about money. It's odd, but more people are committing suicide here than in the camp. I miss the purity of my heart."

the free world is very stressful. money, bills, mortgages, relationships, worries, friendship, deadlines, failures.......

It really caught my attention what he said. Like kafka said, sometimes it is nearly better to be in chains than it is to be free

Had to go home early from work today. We were dead enough that someone would most likely have been sent home anyway but it worries me that my work is so affected. The people I work with are so brilliant though. Two people when I confessed my depression and anxiety were why I was doing really badly today told me about their own anxiety and what they do to treat it and another kept checking on me despite he himself having had a massive fight with his partner today. I'm just so lucky to work where I do.

As for how I feel...genuinely considered walking myself to A&E earlier. Not suicidal just so very fatigued of trying to get through life. I feel like going to hospital would be a relif, a break. Which of course is nonsense and I know realistically I'm not in need of hospitalization and it is in no way a break but having to keep struggling with all of this is making me feel lower again. I don't know if any of that even made sense.

Total sense.