Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LovinDublin.com/Niall Harbison in a spot of bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Some serious amount of classism going on in here.

Niall wasn't moaning about (a) junkies or (b) crime/antisocial behaviour.

His gripe is that working class children are swimming in the canal. Please don't make the silly assumption that these kids are criminals or drug addicts. While junkies roaming the city is a big problem, implying that all inner city Dubs are junkies is a bit silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Dave! wrote: »
    I mentioned them in a previous post, and I outlined the general response to the issues raised (dismissed as middle-class Southside whinging, you should toughen up, etc.). No, I don't have links. He's not the best messenger, but raises issues that I know my own peer group also have problems with.

Do you really consider Tallaght as the Southside he's referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

I think he's an ar5ehole. I think people wheeling out stories about the very real issue of anti-social behaviour around Grand Canal Dock as some sort of defence are ar5eholes. "Look we might be prejudiced against inner-city dubs, but some of them are loike, criminals, y'know?"

That's one thing. And it's nothing new.

The thing that annoys me here, is that this is someone trying to apply their own brand of Top Gear style "edgy humour" to marketing materials for their company. This isn't a freely held opinion, but an advertising ploy. Now if you ask me, the controversy is intentional. The apology was because they realised they overshot the mark by a good mile. They underestimated how many people don't like seeing a thirty-something millionaire calling working-class kids "dirty knackers".

In theory, they've lost my business, but in practice, I don't think I ever would have subscribed to their "lunchboxes for pricks foodies" service anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

In theory, they've lost my business, but in practice, I don't think I ever would have subscribed to their "lunchboxes for pricks" service anyway.

Fair enough, it seemed like a straight knock off of Killer sandwiches to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I think Online Moral Outrage peaked around 12PM yesterday regarding this issue. The blogosphere, the twittersphere, forums, message boards and comments section were filled with participants beavering away on their keyboards in an effort to outdo each other in displaying how shocked, appalled and unsurprised they were about all this.

I’m sure the Independent, The Daily Mail or some other organ disliked by the erudite posters of AH will soon post an article to stoke back up the flames of Online Moral Outrage. Hold your horses posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,486 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I think he's an ar5ehole. I think people wheeling out stories about the very real issue of anti-social behaviour around Grand Canal Dock as some sort of defence are ar5eholes. "Look we might be prejudiced against inner-city dubs, but some of them are loike, criminals, y'know?"

That's one thing. And it's nothing new.

The thing that annoys me here, is that this is someone trying to apply their own brand of Top Gear style "edgy humour" to marketing materials for their company. This isn't a freely held opinion, but an advertising ploy. Now if you ask me, the controversy is intentional. The apology was because they realised they overshot the mark by a good mile. They underestimated how many people don't like seeing a thirty-something millionaire calling working-class kids "dirty knackers".

In theory, they've lost my business, but in practice, I don't think I ever would have subscribed to their "lunchboxes for pricks" service anyway.

Amazing how many of the people complaining about stereotypes being applied to inner-city Dubs are quite happy to apply broad-stroke stereotypes themselves.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Amazing how many of the people complaining about stereotypes being applied to inner-city Dubs are quite happy to apply broad-stroke stereotypes themselves.
    You must use a different definition of stereotyping than me.

"Everyone who does [x thing] is an arsehole" is not stereotyping. It's a judgement on behaviour, not an otherwise discernible group of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Can't see why anyone would have a problem with people enjoying a pint in the sun. When I saw what a nice day we had yesterday I headed in for a pint as I had nothing on in the afternoon. Had a single pint while sat in the beer garden and then headed home. Absolutely nothing wrong with it and tossers like the one quoted in the op should mind their own business. long as no one gets hurt who cares if kids are jumping into canals, it's something that happens every summer and is generally trouble free. Let them be and enjoy the quiet city streets

That's a bit 1990s for the hipster/Apple/overgrown beard/Costa coffee/"work in IT" crowd.

Drinking over priced bad coffee while smoking a rollie is way to go these days. Bonus points for slim/skinny jeans, rolled up of course, and no socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,486 ✭✭✭blackwhite

You must use a different definition of stereotyping than me.

"Everyone who does [x thing] is an arsehole" is not stereotyping. It's a judgement on behaviour, not an otherwise discernible group of people.

Throwing out the D4 stereotypes is though... and you don't even seem to realise when doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Dave! wrote: »
    I fear we're getting off point now.

I don't care about lads jumping in the canal, and think it was pretty OTT from Harbison. I love the canal, walk along it all the time from the Kavanagh statue up to around Harold's Cross. Never swam in it, but would very much like to!

I do however share some of Harbison's concerns in other posts, which are inevitably dismissed as middle-class whinging, trying to water down the "character" of Dublin, etc. Specifically stuff like junkies/zombies plaguing the O'Connell Street area and boardwalk; beggars hassling people non-stop outside pubs; huge groups of teenagers drinking and wrecking coastal areas whenever the sun comes out... etc.

I know, this is part of the "charm" of Dublin, and pampered middle-class Southsiders like me should just toughen up. But it also makes our capital city look like sh*t, and can ruin an experience for normal people who just want to enjoy themselves in peace. I was in San Francisco (uh-oh!! hipster), and my first comment when people asked about it was always that there were huge numbers of homeless people on every corner. It's only in the last few months that I noticed that Dublin has as bad a problem—or at least as visible.

Some of these problems are serious social issues that need to be addressed by government. Particularly the homeless issue, which I have huge sympathies for people in that position. It's something I do feel strongly about, and am trying to find a good way to get involved in improving it. IIRC Harbison did make some (granted, maybe not great) suggestions for improving it, rather than just moaning about the sight ruining his craft beer. Other problems are law and order ones—how can junkies be able to so openly deal and use heroin on the main street in our capital city? It's horrific. I'm sure the Gardaí will say they don't have the money for it due to cuts, but it would probably take no more than 8 Gardaí patrolling full-time around Jervis Street, O'Connell Street, Abbey Street, Mary Street, etc., to cut out a lot of this. It's a small area.

Anyways—commence the paddling.

you were doing ok up to the highlighted part - normal people ?? what a knob of a post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Incidentally, on the homeless issue:

Focus Ireland has enough accommodation to provide a bed for every homeless person in Ireland. However, they operate a strict no drink/drugs policy. Most of the people living rough have substance abuse problems

They also operate an open needle exchange for homeless people, with the understanding that since junkies are going to be shooting up, they might as well try to reduce the impact on health as much as possible, and to stop them discarding needles on the street

blackwhite wrote: »
    Throwing out the D4 stereotypes is though... and you don't even seem to realise when doing it.
    I was actually referencing someone I know, who started talking like that the week they got the train up from Cork to start in UCD. And thinks like that.

Apparently I'm part of the systematic oppression of people from a post-code where I have friends though. Live and learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Some serious amount of classism going on in here.

Niall wasn't moaning about (a) junkies or (b) crime/antisocial behaviour.

His gripe is that working class children are swimming in the canal. Please don't make the silly assumption that these kids are criminals or drug addicts. While junkies roaming the city is a big problem, implying that all inner city Dubs are junkies is a bit silly.
    The problem is that that's exactly the connection that Harbison himself made. Witness the comment that "It really is amazing how... the local crime rates plunge when they are all busy having their annual wash". Hence the criticism of such snobbish nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I agree that this Harbison bloke definitely used inflammatory language.

However the gangs of teenagers gathered at locks on the canal are very intimidating. I've had to change the route I walk my dogs because they take over the footpath and won't move out of the way.

ETA: They also leave the place in some state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

kylith wrote: »
    I agree that this Harbison bloke definitely used inflammatory language.

However the gangs of teenagers gathered at locks on the canal are very intimidating. I've had to change the route I walk my dogs because they take over the footpath and won't move out of the way.

You need bigger/better dogs.

jimgoose wrote: »
    You need bigger/better dogs.

They need to have some consideration for other people.

I agree, but that's rather unlikely.

That goes some way toward proving this Harbison guys point, doesn't it? Intimidating people with no consideration for others who make taking a walk a stressful experience is kinda the definition of a scumbag, isn't it?

I'm not arguing with you! I think he has a point as well, this time, but he's still a knob! :D

He seems to be alright.

I just got upset at you impugning my doggies. They'll bite your ankles off, but they're not a match for 6' of Dutch Gold fuelled Dublin scummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Shorty wetsuits coming soon to ALDI....just sayin'

Let's all go lock-diving in the canal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Aw. Show us on the doll where the bad man touched you.

No, ask my bollix, in fact. I have no requirement to be looking at their malnourished, reddened carcasses or listening to their nasal yelping while I enjoy a rib-eye with a rather decent Claret. Are there not places for those people, like Finglas and such?

Wow you're just a snobby as the blogger who started all this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

No its the definition of a teenager. Give me strength.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Man speaks truth shocker...

Is it true that the crime rate decreases? Does he have actual stats on this.

Anyway, I've lived near Grand Canal Dock for a while. The wetsuited teenagers were slightly annoying, as they would intentionally splash people with manky canal water, but they were harmless enough.

Yer man comes across as a judgmental knobend, about the wetsuited ones and Ireland's drink culture. TBH, I don't automatically hit for the pub in hot weather and many people I know don't either. I'd be much more likely to head to the beach or Glendalough or somewhere. Or have a BBQ, where yes, drink is consumed, but often not much, and just as an accompaniment to food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,277 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Are they intimidating by virtue of the fact that they're teenagers and in a group, or have they actually and outwardly intimidated you?

I've walked past such groups a number of times and they've never said a word to me nor tried to intimidate me. They've been
    rumbustious and loud within their own group but that's not exactly a sign that they're scumbags.

I'm not even from Dublin, but I can't understand how anyone that gets stressed out at the sight of kids having a laugh can even manage to live in a city in the first place.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Wow you're just a snobby as the blogger who started all this

I'm the bawss-maun, I awm. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

I'm not even from Dublin, but I can't understand how anyone that gets stressed out at the sight of kids having a laugh can even manage to live in a city in the first place.
    Its because they are *****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

drumswan wrote: »
    Its because they are *****
    Lovely? Witty? Young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I'm the bawss-maun, I awm. :cool:

You're a snob, only a snob would say what you said

drumswan wrote: »
    No its the definition of a teenager. Give me strength.
    Plenty of teenagers do not behave like that.
    Are they intimidating by virtue of the fact that they're teenagers and in a group, or have they actually and outwardly intimidated you?
    They have intimidated me by getting in my face when I have asked them politely to move so I can get past, they've yelled in my face and kicked at my dogs.