Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LovinDublin.com/Niall Harbison in a spot of bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Endure what?

This perhaps?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUxs5YW5dYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Not once in my many years of working beside the canal, not one single time, have I ever seen anyone in a fúcking wetsuit!

Saw a load of them in wetsuits on Sunday, this was up towards Inchicore. Aldi and Lidl have been selling cheap shorties wetsuits for the past couple of years. The kids should be more concerned with getting weil's disease though
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leptospirosis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Honestly, drive by the canal that runs alongside the Convention Centre and PWC on a sunny day. I'm not exaggerating when I say there are dozens of kids in wetsuits, others in just shorts and many more sitting around on the green strip hanging out.

Friend of mine lives near the canal in Drimnagh and there's tons of kids swimming there at the locks in summer, as they've done for many years. To be fair, they've never said anything to us waking by save making noise and messing about among themselves.

Think an awful lot of the press of late is because of the dynamics of gentrification. You've a lot of professional people moving into formerly so-called working class areas and regeneration of dockland areas (all good in most ways) and the result can sometimes be that people want the original residents to just cease to exist.

Like I say, I'm sure some of them act the bollocks but a lot of the time the complaint boils down to the mere fact of the kids being there because somebody has arbitrarily decide to open an office and toney bar in their backyard,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

drumswan wrote: »
    Oh ask my bollix, kids swimming is not a social problem

Of course it's not. What happens when the same kids get tired of swimming and fill plastic bottles of water and throw them at diners across the road?

Or decide that it's fair game to shout abuse at people who are minding their own business?

Then it's a social problem,primarily because some of these kids are knackers and some others, who perhaps are normally alright, act the knacker with their peers.

At worst, it's anti-social behaviour and quite frankly, it's not warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I used to read that website until I realised that every time he wrote about the Northside he felt compelled to write a load of sterotypical nonsense. Once? Sure. Every time? I just can't be bothered with it. I wouldn't even mind if it was especially funny but it's just a lame Ross O'Carroll Kelly style thing with a few f words.

i.e.:

On Avoca : "North side folk will have to continue eating their deep fried tripe batter burgers or whatever is considered all the rage over there these days. Although in a move similar to the US army putting a Mcdonalds in the Green Zone in Baghdad I see there is an Avoca in Malahide now. Presumably you have to chopper in if coming from the South side."

On Di Mimmos: "The first issue is that it is on the North Strand Road just under the shadow of Croke Park and for those of you who haven’t been here I’d advise renting one of those PSNI trucks they use in the riots and being escorted by a water cannon and police on horseback to ensure safe passage through the Amiens Street area on the way here. This is the Dublin you see in The Commitments with children on street corners sniffing glue and Nidge threatening to pour acid over hooker’s faces. I found a parking space down a side street only to be told by a rough looking fcker that I couldn’t park there. When I said in my best Ranelagh / Tyrone accent that there were “no signs indicating parking restrictions” he pulled out a parking cone (stolen I presume) and told me “this is how we do it around here”. Not wanting to be nailed to a wall by my balls I decided to back down and found another place down the road and kissed goodbye to my car."

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭BearBanjer

blackwhite wrote: »
    It says a lot about the profile of AH that most of the replies on this thread are taking offence that Harbison did some giving out about Ireland's drinking culture, and not at his other "offence" that twitter has been up in arms about.

People don't like to have to face up to the truth of their drinking. They believe they're in control but they're not. Brainwashed would be more like it.

Most people in this country have a slightly (at best) unhealthy relationship with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Saw a load of them in wetsuits on Sunday, this was up towards Inchicore. Aldi and Lidl have been selling cheap shorties wetsuits for the past couple of years. The kids should be more concerned with getting weil's disease though
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leptospirosis

Never seen it myself, although I have to say you wouldn't get me into the canal in a biohazard suit, never mind a wetsuit! Maybe in the midlands or ner the Shannon or something, but not next nor near Dublin. It's filthy!

anncoates wrote: »
    Friend of mine lives near the canal in Drimnagh and there's tons of kids swimming there at the locks in summer, as they've done for many years. To be fair, they've never said anything to us waking by save making noise and messing about among themselves.

Think an awful lot of the press of late is because of the dynamics of gentrification. You've a lot of professional people moving into formerly so-called working class areas and regeneration of dockland areas (all good in most ways) and the result can sometimes be that people want the original residents to just cease to exist.

Like I say, I'm sure some of them act the bollocks but a lot of the time the complaint boils down to the mere fact of the kids being there because somebody has arbitrarily decide to open an office and toney bar in their backyard,.

There is perhaps a strong dose of class snobbery involved for sure, but to be fair, all across the city, I have seen and experienced a huge amount of unwarranted anti-social behaviour - some examples provided above. I have plenty more.

Last night two guys (not kids) got on a Dublin Bus, didn't pay and proceeded to kick the windows out on the top deck. That's criminal damage obviously and a bigger issue. But it is part of a general symptomatic problem of anti-social behaviour across the city, plenty of which is carried out by kids and it is far more than just some hipster's imaginings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Uriel. wrote: »
    Of course it's not. What happens when the same kids get tired of swimming and fill plastic bottles of water and throw them at diners across the road?
    Wtf are you talking about? The kids were swimming, thats all. Keep your violence fantasies in your head with the rest of the voices

So you are saying I didn't see what I saw and just made it up? :rolleyes:

There is perhaps a strong dose of class snobbery involved for sure, but to be fair, all across the city, I have seen and experienced a huge amount of unwarranted anti-social behaviour - some examples provided above. I have plenty more.

Last night two guys (not kids) got on a Dublin Bus, didn't pay and proceeded to kick the windows out on the top deck. That's criminal damage obviously and a bigger issue. But it is part of a general symptomatic problem of anti-social behaviour across the city, plenty of which is carried out by kids and it is far more than just some hipster's imaginings.

Not arguing with that generally as Dublin has an issue for sure, more so the drinking/eating near these swim spots.

So you are saying I didn't see what I saw and just made it up? :rolleyes:
    Im sure it was terrifying for you love. Perhaps one day we can dream of a city without children swimming, but until that day Boards.ie middle class fantasist warriors will have to keep fighting the good fight on the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Robbo wrote: »
    Tis an interesting battle; one one side you have this Nathan Barley character poncing about as some kind of "self facilitating media node" and on the other you have those who toil long and hard in the Twitter outrage factories.

I propose it's solved with a jousting tournament on fixies, somewhere in the greater Ringsend/Silicon Dicks area. Pulled pork sandwiches and craft beers for all. Minimum beard density of 40 foliciles per square centimeter. Instagram have bought the sepia-drenched broadcasting rights.

Most of the people on boards are dicks but that's top notch post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

I live relatively near grand canal basin and see these wet suited kids regularly. Sometimes there are very large crowds of them especially around the waterways museum. I'm usually only there during the day and I've never seen any really trouble. Best way to describe it is as an unsupervised play ground with 8-15 year olds.

I do wonder what the parents are thinking (presumably they buy the wet suits) because there must be a fairly serious safety risk.

However Harbison's article is a joke. He's not simply complaining about the kids jumping of bridges he's showing complete contempt for them and by extension their community by describing them as 'knackers' and 'little bastards' 'having their annual wash'.

This wouldn't be so bad if his blog wasn't called 'LovinDublin' whose mission "is to make Dublin a better city and help Dubliners find the really good stuff that surrounds them on a daily basis."

Perhaps that mission should read "our mission is to make Dublin a better city for middle class Dubliners before they settle down and move to Monkstown and help middle class Dubliners find the really good stuff that surrounds them without having to deal with knackers on a daily basis."

Not arguing with that generally as Dublin has an issue for sure, more so the drinking/eating near these swim spots.

I am not sure why drinking and eating is a problem near these spots?
    It's not like they are an official swimming area?
    There's also no reason why they can't co-exist - in fact I would argue that the problems only usually arise when the groups of kids get fed up with their "normal" fun and revert to attempting to make everyone else's life a misery.

Shops, Diners, Restaurants, coffee shops etc. across the road, provides economic gain and employment to the area and shouldn't be seen as a bad thing, kids can continue to enjoy splashing about in the water, which shouldn't be seen as a bad thing. The anti-social problems, like this, are not confined to that part of the city either.

I hear swimming is a gateway crime which can lead to throwing plastic bottles and, eventually, mass murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Or decide that it's fair game to shout abuse at people who are minding their own business?

Then it's a social problem,primarily because some of these kids are knackers and some others, who perhaps are normally alright, act the knacker with their peers.

At worst, it's anti-social behaviour and quite frankly, it's not warranted.

You're dead right, there's only 1 solution. We'll have to fill in the canals and ban plastic bottles - statistically speaking, when combined they are the number 1 cause of anarchy in the western world. And before any of you pansies says it - fúck the swans, they only attract foreigners like shíte does flies. In fact while we're at it, lets ban foreigners, shíte, flies, swans and pansies too.
    Problem solved

Oh wait, what I meant to say was - are you tripping or what?

Im sure it was terrifying for you love. Perhaps one day we can dream of a city without children swimming, but until that day Boards.ie middle class fantasist warriors will have to keep fighting the good fight on the internet

As can clearly be seen in my posts, kids swimming is not the issue.

Do you think it is ok to throw bottles of water at people who are sitting down having a coffee?

It is not about being "terrifying", it's about accepting was is reasonable behaviour and that to me is not reasonable behaviour. Why do you defend it?

I am not sure why drinking and eating is a problem near these spots?
    It's not like they are an official swimming area?
    There's also no reason why they can't co-exist - in fact I would argue that the problems only usually arise when the groups of kids get fed up with their "normal" fun and revert to attempting to make everyone else's life a misery.

Shops, Diners, Restaurants, coffee shops etc. across the road, provides economic gain and employment to the area and shouldn't be seen as a bad thing, kids can continue to enjoy splashing about in the water, which shouldn't be seen as a bad thing. The anti-social problems, like this, are not confined to that part of the city either.

Because you're conflating city-wide violent anti-social acts with the specific area(s) that the blog is talking about.

Nobody really has priority use of public space in the city unless the kids are actually committing crime.

I like the fact that somebody is doing something with the docklands and providing employment and places to go but I don't mind kids being near there unless they're specifically hassling me.

You're dead right, there's only 1 solution. We'll have to fill in the canals and ban plastic bottles - statistically speaking, when combined they are the number 1 cause of anarchy in the western world. And before any of you pansies says it - fúck the swans, they only attract foreigners like shíte does flies. In fact while we're at it, lets ban foreigners, shíte, flies, swans and pansies too.
    Problem solved

Oh wait, what I meant to say was - are you tripping or what?

I am glad you can be so blase about it. I get what you are saying... Anti-social behaviour is not problem and we should ignore it, because it doesn't exist. Interesting view. Presumably you feel it is ok to break shop windows and the like as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

People don't like to have to face up to the truth of their drinking. They believe they're in control but they're not. Brainwashed would be more like it.

Most people in this country have a slightly (at best) unhealthy relationship with alcohol.

Some people have an unhealthy relationship, not most, probably more than the EU average but there are also a lot of people who drink responsibly.

I think the 18-30 year olds tend to think they are in control when they aren't, but then most people grow out of it. I look back at what I used to drink and think I had a bit of a problem but nowadays, on the rare occasions that I drink, I know when to stop and don't bother with getting skulled. Back in my 20's I thought I was just an average bloke, and I probably was but with hindsight, being average or not, I was definitely drinking far too much.

Itsdacraic wrote: »

Robbo has a wonderful turn of phrase for a tortured liberal neckbeard being terrorized in his innocent pursuit of the perfect macchiato.

Because you're conflating city-wide violent anti-social acts with the specific area(s) that the blog is talking about.

Nobody really has priority use of public space in the city unless the kids are actually committing crime.

I like the fact that somebody is doing something with the docklands and providing employment and places to go but I don't mind kids being near there unless they're specifically hassling me.

I don't mind kids being anywhere. I have never said anything of the sort either. You're right nobody has priority use of public areas, but that doesn't excuse some of the behaviour that goes on. I really can't understand why anyone could think it is acceptable for professionals, tourists, families, couples, no matter what class they are etc. being subjected to abuse for no reason. It's a weird attitude.

And you are right, it's not an issue specific to this area, it is a cross city problem. But the focus of the blog was this specific area and I have highlighted some of the things I have seen there. But apparently I imagined it.

I am glad you can be so blase about it. I get what you are saying... Anti-social behaviour is not problem and we should ignore it, because it doesn't exist. Interesting view. Presumably you feel it is ok to break shop windows and the like as well?
    I feel sorry for you. Maybe try to enjoy the sunshine instead of spending your days moaning on the internet about self-pitying inconsequential fantasist rubbish. I'd recommend spending some time by the Grand Canal, it can be very soothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Yeah I've no issue with them being there (save for when they nonchalantly walk across the road when I've a green light), I was just highlighting that these wetsuit wearing inner city kids do in fact exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Honestly, drive by the canal that runs alongside the Convention Centre and PWC on a sunny day. I'm not exaggerating when I say there are dozens of kids in wetsuits, others in just shorts and many more sitting around on the green strip hanging out.

The dirty bastards...how dare they

I don't mind kids being anywhere. I have never said anything of the sort either. You're right nobody has priority use of public areas, but that doesn't excuse some of the behaviour that goes on. I really can't understand why anyone could think it is acceptable for professionals, tourists, families, couples, no matter what class they are etc. being subjected to abuse for no reason. It's a weird attitude. .

I'm not.

I've said in nearly every post that if kids are hassling people, it's not on.

The question here - with the blog and some personal accounts very much in mind - is how much of it is actual anti-social beahviour and how much is just the presence of the kids in a gentrified space that irritates people.

I feel sorry for you. Maybe try to enjoy the sunshine instead of spending your days moaning on the internet about self-pitying inconsequential fantasist rubbish. I'd recommend spending some time by the Grand Canal, it can be very soothing.

Don't feel sorry for me.

I'll leave you at, considering you have nothing coherent to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Aw. Show us on the doll where the bad man touched you.
    Oh ask my bollix, kids swimming is not a social problem
    No, ask my bollix, in fact. I have no requirement to be looking at their malnourished, reddened carcasses or listening to their nasal yelping while I enjoy a rib-eye with a rather decent Claret. Are there not places for those people, like Finglas and such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Collie D wrote: »
    The dirty bastards...how dare they

See my post above yours.