Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LovinDublin.com/Niall Harbison in a spot of bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

You'll catch nothing fishing in the sunshine.

That is true, sunny days are not good for fresh water fishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I saw it happen in Portugal and have seen pictures of it occurring all over the world.

what exactly are you googling?

Googling nothing, plenty of images in photo-books of sunny weather and people jumping into rivers and canals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

jimgoose wrote: »
    Don't mind furkan Portugal, that's exactly what I'd expect there. I mean proper, grown-up places like Berlin, London, Paris, Chicago, etc.

Berlin has lots and lots of free, safe swimming lakes and other public swimming facilities, there's no need for anyone to swim in a Weil's Disease infested canal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

So some soft boy moves to the docks and gets upset because the locals have the audacity to not hide indoors all day out of his sight?

Youths are swimming! Maybe even making noise!! And when they're not, they're stealing car stereos and making people who call themselves social media entrepreneurs feel too intimidated to use their iPad 2s to take #selfies of their #hipsterbeard and upload it to instagram.

He should move back down the country if he can't hack city life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I get the feeling this fella would prefer if Dublin city was taken over with craft beer pubs and really "hip" food stalls peddling panini's.

Smacks of elitism, that he gets miffed some "knackers" are ruining what could be such a groovy town.

Arseholes like this are the reason I've to spend €4 on a cup of coffee, or go to get some lunch lambasted with every ****e salad under the son bar a decent sambo with some meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,531 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

TheDoc wrote: »
    I get the feeling this fella would prefer if Dublin city was taken over with craft beer pubs and really "hip" food stalls peddling panini's.

Smacks of elitism, that he gets miffed some "knackers" are ruining what could be such a groovy town.

Arseholes like this are the reason I've to spend €4 on a cup of coffee, or go to get some lunch lambasted with every ****e salad under the son bar a decent sambo with some meat.

'gentrification' I believe is the word you're looking for.

Absolute hipster wankery. I was hoping that crap was going to die out but unfortunately it seems to be gathering momentum.

o1s1n wrote: »
    'gentrification' I believe is the word you're looking for.

Absolute hipster wankery. I was hoping that crap was going to die out but unfortunately it seems to be gathering momentum.

Yup. Seemingly I'm a knacker now cause I prefer to have a Carslberg, and don't want to subscribe to some trashy ****e someone is peddling in their cool crafty bar.

I've got serious beef with the way society here is developing...it's alarmingly rubbish

Yup. Seemingly I'm a knacker now cause I prefer to have a Carslberg, and don't want to subscribe to some trashy ****e someone is peddling in their cool crafty bar.

I've got serious beef with the way society here is developing...it's alarmingly rubbish

Let's not get nasty here, some of the nicest beer in the world is considered craft beer and there's nothing wrong with that. The problem is that it attracts a certain type of person who thinks themselves better than others, you see it happen with everything. Hipsters generally like something ironically, whereas most simply enjoy something because they like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...Hipsters generally like something ironically, whereas most simply enjoy something because they like it.

Aye. I'll just add, don't mix up hipsters with gentry - we consider hipsters **** as well, not to mention that Harbison fella. :cool:

Master of the Universe

It's a pain in the hoop isn't it?

All this recycled, oh wait, 'pre loved' (ie; old **** that's stupidly expensive) crap everywhere is driving me insane.

The amount of restaurant I've gone into now where the menu was handed to me on a piece of scrap paper or your drink in a glass jam jar. It's catching on like wildfire :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's a pain in the hoop isn't it?

All this recycled, oh wait, 'pre loved' (ie; old **** that's stupidly expensive) crap everywhere is driving me insane.

The amount of restaurant I've gone into now where the menu was handed to me on a piece of scrap paper or your drink in a glass jam jar. It's catching on like wildfire :(

That place on Dame Street, Crack Bird is the worst.

I couldn't even tell what the hell I was ordering the stuff was all so weird.

Master of the Universe

Ush1 wrote: »

Just had a quick look at their website - glass jars, (groan) 'tweet seats'.

Sounds like I'll be avoiding that place :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What do ye want, they should just serve Irish stew? :confused:

I was only in Crackbird once and wasn't really into it, but I like Jo Burger (same owner).

The menus, jars, etc., are grand – nobody gives a sh*t about that stuff, so I'm happy when restaurants don't waste their time on it.

Jesus, people will bitch about anything these days!

Dave! wrote: »
    What do ye want, they should just serve Irish stew? :confused:

I was only in Crackbird once and wasn't really into it, but I like Jo Burger (same owner).

The menus, jars, etc., are grand – nobody gives a sh*t about that stuff, so I'm happy when restaurants don't waste their time on it.

No I don't like stew at all, perhaps chips or fries would be a start?

You're saying you didn't like it yet annoyed that other people dislike it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Are you bitching about somebody bitching about something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Everyone keeps banging on about O'Haras beers. I think they're manky, but then (some) people think you're a lower class pov for not creaming yourself over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

God be with the days when you could walk down Moore Street, have a chat while buying a bag of spuds and a couple of sausages, wander in for a couple of pints of stout, then head home and have the missus cook you up a grand auld bowl of coddle. Then a bit of wafer ice cream for afters.

Ara jaysus, it was lovely. Now it's all good coffee and a choice of foods. Terrible.

No I don't like stew at all, perhaps chips or fries would be a start?

You're saying you didn't like it yet annoyed that other people dislike it?

So some places don't do your favourite food. Many people are happy to eat the alternative sides that they do cook. They're being creative and letting their chefs set an interesting menu. There are no shortages of places that will do you a basic burger and chips. It's good that you also have places that push the envelope a bit. Makes the city a bit more interesting having that variation. It would be a pretty boring place if everywhere did the same foods.

Bunsen burger is another good place. Their menu consists of four (well, two really) burgers. I'm not going to go there and then moan afterwards that they don't serve XL bacon double cheese burgers.

So some places don't do your favourite food. Many people are happy to eat the alternative sides that they do cook. They're being creative and letting their chefs set an interesting menu. There are no shortages of places that will do you a basic burger and chips. It's good that you also have places that push the envelope a bit. Makes the city a bit more interesting having that variation. It would be a pretty boring place if everywhere did the same foods.

Bunsen burger is another good place. Their menu consists of four (well, two really) burgers. I'm not going to go there and then moan afterwards that they don't serve XL bacon double cheese burgers.

Great, well that's why there is review sites and my review of Crackbird would be a negative one. You say it's different, I say not a broad enough menu.

These guys did the chicken thing a lot better:
    http://www.wingit.ie/

Great, well that's why there is review sites and my review of Crackbird would be a negative one. You say it's different, I say not a broad enough menu.

These guys did the chicken thing a lot better:
    http://www.wingit.ie/

Grand. Your review would probably also say "all your food is so weird."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,277 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just had a quick look at their website - glass jars, (groan) 'tweet seats'.

Sounds like I'll be avoiding that place :pac:
    cash, laser, visa & mastercards excepted

no spilt bills

try our lemonades you cant bring in you're own

ugh.. their attention to detail isn't great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Its fried chicken, hardly weird. Where are you from that you havent heard of chicken before?

Grand. Your review would probably also say "all your food is so weird."

Of course. An yours would say "all your food is soooooo different".

This is great craic altogether.

drumswan wrote: »
    Its fried chicken, hardly weird. Where are you from that you havent heard of chicken before?

Jesus you're right, I should've just asked for a snackbox, same as my local Italian chipper. Problem solved.

Thats exactly what they sell.................

tbh you woulda probably saved yourself a lot of trouble to just go to your local chipper.

Ush, Id avoid Nandos if I were you, it would totally freak you out

God be with the days when you could walk down Moore Street, have a chat while buying a bag of spuds and a couple of sausages, wander in for a couple of pints of stout, then head home and have the missus cook you up a grand auld bowl of coddle. Then a bit of wafer ice cream for afters.

Ara jaysus, it was lovely. Now it's all good coffee and a choice of foods. Terrible.

Its cool when people are giving more options, but when it takes over, it's outragous.

Nevermind this ice cream van lark ,where modern parents are seemingly incapable of saying no if they don't want their child to have one, or seemingly its a problem when parents want to give their kid a treat.

Shockingly the senator involved, I'm not gawking out the window all day to check if the ice cream van is driving by the house, it's actually PURPOSEFUL for the chime.

Imagine the disgust at legging it around the corner to find you've asked for a 99 from a lad taking out his carpentry gear from his hiace. And I say this not as a parent, but as a grown adult fond of a screwball on a nice evening. Although baby on the way, and I somehow don't fear an ice cream van coming around and how its going to result in a massive row with my child. FFS.

As a seperate example, my workplace has brought in a "selection of healthy salads and sandwich range". Oh how nice, providing people with a healthy choice.

But wait, instead of giving a choice, we are going to remove ALL the existing tasty stuff, that has a bit of meat, and replace it with cuttings from the garden between two pieces of cardboard, cause its good for you.

You can shove your Couscous up your hole.

Lads im all for a bit of hipster bashing but if you are slagging people who like ale and chicken maybe you should have an aul think