Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LovinDublin.com/Niall Harbison in a spot of bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Cheap publicity stunt as he knows there's no risk of being sued by these kids ,of course if he took the piss out of the morons in various yacht clubs on Dublin bay getting drunk and needing expensive rescue by helicopter or the naval service it might be a different story .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

anncoates wrote: »
    I'm not.

I've said in nearly every post that if kids are hassling people, it's not on.

The question here - with the blog and some personal accounts very much in mind - is how much of it is actual anti-social beahviour and how much is just the presence of the kids in a gentrified space that irritates people.

Well I can't speak for the blog writer. I can only speak for myself. The only issues I have highlighted are the examples I provided. Do you think those examples represent anti-social behaviour?

annually wash really got me lol

Can't see why anyone would have a problem with people enjoying a pint in the sun. When I saw what a nice day we had yesterday I headed in for a pint as I had nothing on in the afternoon. Had a single pint while sat in the beer garden and then headed home. Absolutely nothing wrong with it and tossers like the one quoted in the op should mind their own business. long as no one gets hurt who cares if kids are jumping into canals, it's something that happens every summer and is generally trouble free. Let them be and enjoy the quiet city streets

jimgoose wrote: »
    Aw. Show us on the doll where the bad man touched you.

No, ask my bollix, in fact. I have no requirement to be looking at their malnourished, reddened carcasses or listening to their nasal yelping while I enjoy a rib-eye with a rather decent Claret. Are there not places for those people, like Finglas and such?

I'm hoping that this is "satire" or sarcastic. Otherwise..... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm hoping that this is "satire" or sarcastic. Otherwise..... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Otherwise what? I don't care much for the sight of a load of feral brats (and adults) pretending they're on a beach somewhere within sight of a pub or restaurant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Uriel. wrote: »
    Do you think those examples represent anti-social behaviour?

Of course not but I and other people have experienced otherwise too so we should steer clear of blanket denunciations although that's par for the course in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Aw. Show us on the doll where the bad man touched you.

No, ask my bollix, in fact. I have no requirement to be looking at their malnourished, reddened carcasses or listening to their nasal yelping while I enjoy a rib-eye with a rather decent Claret. Are there not places for those people, like Finglas and such?

AH's fear of all things working class personified. They live there. Why don't you enjoy your claret in your own neck of the woods

Collie D wrote: »
    AH's fear of all things working class personified. They live there. Why don't you enjoy your claret in your own neck of the woods

My fear of the working class, if I had one, would be as naught compared to my fear of people who automatically equate the notion of "working class" with the sort of people I'm talking about.

Otherwise what? I don't care much for the sight of a load of feral brats (and adults) pretending they're on a beach somewhere within sight of a pub or restaurant.

So they should all go to Finglas? Highly disrespectful to people from "such" areas. But sure don't worry. Enjoy your rather decent claret and ribeye. The people from finglas can't afford such luxurious items and will be drinking Dutch Gold and eating Meanies. If indeed, it was a joke (and I hope for humanity's sake that he is) then he goes alongside Dave McSavage as an incredibly unfunny twa.. erm... person

anncoates wrote: »
    Of course not but I and other people have experienced otherwise too so we should steer clear of blanket denunciations although that's par for the course in here.

You don't think it's anti-social behaviour?

Most of the time, the area is fine. Like, a lot of the time the City is fine.

So they should all go to Finglas? Highly disrespectful to people from "such" areas. But sure don't worry. Enjoy your rather decent claret and ribeye. The people from finglas can't afford such luxurious items and will be drinking Dutch Gold and eating Meanies. If indeed, it was a joke (and I hope for humanity's sake that he is) then he goes alongside Dave McSavage as an incredibly unfunny twa.. erm... person

Be that as it may. I've been all over the world, and the only city where I've ever encountered a load of civilians stripping off and diving into the river or canal in a lively bar/restaurant area has been in, guess where?

I saw it happen in Portugal and have seen pictures of it occurring all over the world.

Don't mind furkan Portugal, that's exactly what I'd expect there. I mean proper, grown-up places like Berlin, London, Paris, Chicago, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

No you havent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Don't go to Havana, you'll lose your life.

Don't mind furkan Portugal, that's exactly what I'd expect there. I mean proper, grown-up places like Berlin, London, Paris, Chicago, etc.

Theres a man-made beach on the Seine in the summer, with plenty of restaraunts nearby. Troll harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

drumswan wrote: »
    Theres a man-made beach on the Seine in the summer, with plenty of restaraunts nearby. Troll harder.

Was just about to post the same...

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2012/08/paris-blog-beaches-paris-plages.html

No you havent
    Yes, I have. :pac:
    FTA69 wrote: »
    Don't go to Havana, you'll lose your life.
    Haven't a notion of it.
    My good man, if you think that's an appropriate and productive use of the canal in the Ranelagh area, then more power to you. After all, it isn't me that has to put up with it. :D

I live on the canal in the Ranelagh area chief. Im thinking of orchestrating a campaign of rounding the likes of you and your mate Uriel there and holding yous under the canal until the bubbles stop. Call it 'de-gentrification'

A-ha! Now we see the violence inherent in the system! Did ye all see him repressing me?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

I believe the correct usage is "Ask me bollix"

Looking at the Lovin' Dublin blog I now wonder if part of the issue is that the bridge diving is a non commercial activity that hasn't been monetarised and presented as a lifestyle activity and as such can't be view as part of Dublin's bounce back.

The Kids should get together with one of the restaurants and and organise 'Docklands Dive and Dine' for 40 euros enjoy 45 minutes urban swimming and diving coached by a certified inner city urchin followed a feast of - Carlingford oysters, gambas, Alaskan king crab, lobster, crab claws, mussels, clams*. Wet suits must be worn**

* Drinks not included
    **Wet suit hire 35 euros

A-ha! Now we see the violence inherent in the system! Did ye all see him repressing me?? :D

Im going to wear some garishly coloured sportswear while im doing it. And perhaps get a tattoo of a swallow on my left hand

Im going to wear some garishly coloured sportswear while im doing it. And perhaps get a tatoo of a swallow on my left hand

Good man. I'll have a waxed jacket and a tweed cap. Feel free to key my Jaguar outside the Barge first - that'll get me nice and mad! :D

I am not his mate. He merely follows me around with his wolfhound. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,486 ✭✭✭blackwhite

nm wrote: »
    Oh right so he did, who cares though, nothing offensive in that for me apart from him saying we go for a drink to "feel the need to play up to our national stereotypes" rather than just wanting to go for a drink in the sun.

He sounds like a ****ing prick anyway.

I fully agree. He generally comes across as quite the knob. Pity too, because other than his style of blogging it's a website that has quite a bit of decent stuff on it.

I just found it funny that the initial furore was over the kn*cker comments, yet the good folks of AH seemed more upset about the drink jibe.

Uriel. wrote: »

I am not his mate. He merely follows me around with his wolfhound. ;)

It's a Great Dane. Pay attention! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

It's that time of year again. There was this thread last year about the goings-on in the GCD area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

He's not keen on Dublin 3 either http://lovindublin.com/reviews/italian/dublins-incredible-hidden-restaurant-italian-gem-da-mimmo/

There was a bit of outrage about this article so he knows exactly the type of response this current one will get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

He is a disgrace for apologising.

Now now Richard, we've all done a lot worse!

Remember the last heatwave and you decided to take the car for a swim? :pac: