Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LovinDublin.com/Niall Harbison in a spot of bother

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭tawnyowl

I live relatively near grand canal basin and see these wet suited kids regularly. Sometimes there are very large crowds of them especially around the waterways museum. I'm usually only there during the day and I've never seen any really trouble. Best way to describe it is as an unsupervised play ground with 8-15 year olds.

I do wonder what the parents are thinking (presumably they buy the wet suits) because there must be a fairly serious safety risk.
    I think there was nasty bacteria found in the waters. Not sure how to prevent infections by it, though.
    However Harbison's article is a joke. He's not simply complaining about the kids jumping of bridges he's showing complete contempt for them and by extension their community by describing them as 'knackers' and 'little bastards' 'having their annual wash'.
    Yep, he's pouring his contempt on those less well off than him. He's called himself "President of Fun" too. It's like someone crossed Ross O'Carroll Kelly with David Brent.
    This wouldn't be so bad if his blog wasn't called 'LovinDublin' whose mission "is to make Dublin a better city and help Dubliners find the really good stuff that surrounds them on a daily basis."

Perhaps that mission should read "our mission is to make Dublin a better city for middle class Dubliners before they settle down and move to Monkstown and help middle class Dubliners find the really good stuff that surrounds them without having to deal with knackers on a daily basis."
    Here's another of his missives:
    http://lovindublin.com/dublin/dublin-cool-tool/
    He:
    • Claims to love Ireland
    • Claims to love Dublin (presumably not including inner-city and Northside people)
    • Claims he could have gone to Silicon Valley to start a successful company
    • Namedrops like there's no tomorrow.

Because he probably only regrets writing it because of the faux outrage he recieved. He probably still feels the way he did when he wrote the piece.
    Faux outrage? How did you determine it wasn't genuine?
    I am sick of seeing people being bullied into apologising. The media and the left wing leave the likes of Jeremy Clarkson alone when he says something controversal because they know he wont apologise. When they sense they have found somebody they can bully, they will hound them.
    Ah now, you're just taking the pi55!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

tawnyowl wrote: »
    • Claims he could have gone to Silicon Valley to start a successful company
    Yeah, they'd definitely have him. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The 'I could have been a billionaire but sacrificed it all to stay in Dublin' stuff is just sad.

If he really had an internet based idea that could make a billion he could have done it from here in Dublin. If he created a viable competitor to Facebook or Google or whatever then the venture capitalists would have no problems flying to Dublin to invest. It's a bullsh1t claim by Harbison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,277 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The 'I could have been a billionaire but sacrificed it all to stay in Dublin' stuff is just sad.

'One of the biggest driving forces behind Ireland's recovery' is worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

All the drama helping raise awareness of his book.

'One of the biggest driving forces behind Ireland's recovery' is worse!
    Even as a joke it's unbearable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

The thing is, I knew what restaurant he was talking about the minute I read the OP. The guy is right...

I looked through his blog there but he must have removed the paragraph in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

gandalf wrote: »

Smiling at a small child for getting badly sick while going for a swim? Classy one you are.