Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4, Episode 8 - 'The Mountain and the Viper', HAVE NOT read the books

• 02-06-2014 1:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Wow, what an ending, never seen that coming

Rate this episode 469 votes

0% 0 votes
    32% 151 votes
    34% 164 votes
    18% 87 votes
    9% 43 votes
    2% 11 votes
    1% 7 votes
    0% 2 votes
    0% 0 votes
    0% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Funniest part by far, when Arya was told her Aunt was dead :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

Damn. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Mad, mad ending.

Ayra's last(ish, I suspect) laugh was good.

Nice to see Sansa starting to play the game more deeply.

Watch the back re the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

FFS! Why didn't you finish him off! That was one of the most gruesome deaths yet in the series. The Mountain looked in a bad way though too after as he fell down, if he dies aswell does that change things at all? Tywin was pretty quick delivering his verdict though so I doubt it. Something must happen as surely Tyrion can't die. Hard to process all that and that was only the last 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

Really annoyed at the ending since it was so avoidable. I realise he wanted the Mountain to confirm Tywin gave the order in front of everyone but he knew already. I was hoping the mountain was going to confirm in some way and Oberyn was going to launch the spear at Tywin but then possibly be killed. I should have taken the words and kiss with Ellaria and the relatively easy way he was taking care of the mountain as foreboding for a bad finish.

Overall a great episode. Real story progression. Only 5 minutes I'd have allocated elsewhere would be the Grey Worm/Missandei unless that is going to have significance later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Diarmuid1995

What an ending! Way better than joffrey's death IMO. So frustrating that he wouldn't just finish him off, but classic GoT with their 'nobility loses' theme.
    Surprised to say I was actually surprised and a little sick feeling at the end.
    Hope Tyrion's storyline is kept up in next episode, looks like it's mostly concentrating on the battle at castle black.
    Gory death, glad I was watching that on a live stream and not a hd version :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Damn didn't see that coming, once he grabbed him you knew he was in trouble, gruesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭La Mer

I'm so pissed off right now that i might go on and read the books readers posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

La Mer wrote: »
    I'm so pissed off right now that i might go on and read the books readers posts

Don't because the thread won't be all about the episode, it'll have a lot of posts soon that that will spoil things way in the future for you.

There's nothing really being discussed in it atm but later it will be a minefield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

The beetle speech was really bad, only downside for me. Didn't feel connected to anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Blay wrote: »
    Don't because the thread won't be all about the episode, it'll have a lot of posts soon that that will spoil things way in the future for you.

There's nothing really being discussed in it atm but later it will be a minefield.
    THIS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

All men must die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,268 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Another fan favourite
    slaughtered and another one to go soon enough.

George RR Martin, you're a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Can't believe the aul lad never got to ride the dragon wan. He was friendzoned for a long time but I thought he'd at least drop the hand at some stage. Absolutely devastated for him. You mad bastard George, ya mad bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Frankly my dear

That was gruesome, that was just... gruesome. But all the arseing about after he pulled out the spear, I knew it was coming unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Guffy

Ya as soon as he said your not dying till u confess at start of fight it kinda gave it away a bit.

Decent episode though. Poor ould ayria always just misses safety. Do the gate guards know about Sansa? Will they let the hound walk or would they take them in? I can't imagine how a guards man would be told ayria stark is there and not make her come in right? It just doesn't suit the character arc to be saved like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

You guys will probably get this now :p

38401892.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

Jesus Christ that ending has me shook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

I'm not right after that ending. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I wasnt expecting that ending at all. :(

• I could tell because of all the farting around he was doing and this being Game of Thrones what was going to happen. I'm assuming they're both dead yes? Definitely the Viper but I'm not sure about the Mountain! :)

From a story telling point of view it makes sense as the Viper would have been completely redundant afterwards if he had lived. Never really liked him as he was a bit of a sleaze..but what a tit for not making sure!

The that's this season's stand out episode over and done with....back to the tedium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

That was a very cool scene. Leaving aside the obvious gruesomeness of the end, the choreography of that fight is the best we've seen yet. Jon Snow's fight with the dagger fellow a few episodes back was also really well done. This seasons fight scenes have been a cut above from a technical standpoint. Kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Kilkenny14

Jorah and now Oberyan. If Tyrion actually dies next week, I'm done with this show. For real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Saw some people on Twitter talking about how gruesome the ending was (without spoiling it), but even then I didn't expect something like that. F*cking hell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Im trying to figure out what good is it for tywin sending that letter about jorah? She is still very strong without him.

They really like the gruesome headshots this season dont they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭blankblank

Just finished..................Jesus :O:O:O:O:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Smartly Dressed

Yet again, an interesting and entertaining fan favourite is killed and we're left to endure the likes of Sansa. **** this show.

All the injustice is getting wearisome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Absolutely ******* delighted!

Mountain is a beast and I'm glad he squashed Oberyn's head into bits. Elia was a whore and deserved to die.

#Justice4Joff

BpG8w2NIQAAbD2j.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

Poor Oberyrn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

"Size does not matter when you're flat on your back"
    Eh, are you sure Oberyn?

I could never see him pulling it off, but I still feel it's a MASSIVE injustice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

what an ending, best episode of the season so far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Oberyn Martell was probably the best character this season and he was being an absolute legend in that fight, not just the fighting skills but also his verbals before and during the battle. Good was triumphing over evil for once. Then he died. FFS this show never fails to surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Loved it again,

Delighted to see Sansa play the game as her lack of progression really bothered me.

Arya laughing was actually the stand out scene for me.

I'm gutted with the ending of the fight but I said in an earlier thread that it would be a little weak writing to have Tyrion saved by a trial by combat again. It was an amazing fight and he was a great character but Merrick Rapid Furnace has it right Oberyon wouldn't really be needed after the fight.

I don't think Tyrion is done for yet though. I can see Jamie saving the day somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

My poor roommate got a fright when I threw my headphones across the room yelling "**** this show!!!". Hope I didn't spoil it for him.

I didn't see it coming right up (though I did feel uneasy throughout the whole fight) until the point where Oberyn commented on the fact that the Mountain was still alive and that he "couldn't die yet".That was the point where I got suspicious and then that happened...

My poor roommate got a fright when I threw my headphones across the room yelling "**** this show!!!". Hope I didn't spoil it for him.

I didn't see it coming right up (though I did feel uneasy throughout the whole fight) until the point where Oberyn commented on the fact that the Mountain was still alive and that he "couldn't die yet".That was the point where I got suspicious and then that happened...

I got up at 7 a.m. on a bank holiday monday to watch it. I have problems! Then I went up to parents house and my brother was there and he had just started watching it. He was delighted when he thought Oberyn won, I had a little laugh inside. He was shocked then. Its interesting watching someones reaction. By the way Misandre has a great body, she is beautiful

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

That was awesome and it wasn't even episode 9! No idea what's in store for next week, it's going to be epic I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I think we've all got to the stage where we knew if we love a character they will be killed,
    but dear god poor Oberyn got it bad. Hopefully his brother comes to kings landing looking for vengeance, but then again I wouldn't be surprised if the Mountain dies too, he got cut to bits.
    And jaysus I'm feeling awful bad for Theon

Spoiler requested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

lzt9PEZ.gif

OBERYN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Apologies link changed
    119790_story__chain.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

I hate this show, but I love this show. It's like an abusive relationship. Why do I keep watching this when it hurts me so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

I actually don't want the mountain to die. In a twisted GoT sort of way he kinda deserves to live after that. Plus, I want him to die a horrible death when his time does come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Ompala

I think Oberyn's scream is going to haunt me for a while... but hoping Arya's laugh will counteract it somewhow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

No way the Mountain could survive that, that spear went straight through his vital organs.
    Can't wait to see the rest of this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭thedarksh1te

Tyrion's face at the end was priceless - oh f¥€k!
    Did Petyr lob it in Sansa too? She looked anything but innocent walking down them stairs!

I may be shook because of the bank holiday but jesus oberyns screams are still haunting me

I just watched the battle scene again. The viper just says over and over again "you raped her, you murdered her, you killed her children" starting off camly but getting louder and angrier each time he says it. He was the coolest character in the show, great actor too. Ned Starks beheading, red wedding, Joffreys poisoning have all paled in comparison to the shock that last scene gave me. Very powerful scene, really well done. I'm nearly up to date with the books, still behind the tv series, Joffrey has died where I am and I was trying to read on to see who won that fight because I couldnt wait 2 weeks. I'm glad I didnt catch up though, I dont know if the book or the tv show are the ones I dont want to spoil. Best tv show ever in my opinion, I'm trying to get the few I know not watching to start watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

From a story telling point of view it makes sense as the Viper would have been completely redundant afterwards if he had lived. Never really liked him as he was a bit of a sleaze..but what a tit for not making sure!
    If he had lived he would have still had Tywin to take care of at the very least. He was an intelligent and charismatic character on top of that with an interesting lifestyle, a place on the small council and our only proper link to Dorne and the Martells so far. Completely redundant is off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Ah lads. I can't cope with this anymore. Brilliant but still :(

So much happened in this episode too, amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Lovely boobs. She can translate my dothraki anytime :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'd been relatively unphased by the red wedding, but ****... :eek: