Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hen parties...why not just one night as tradition?

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭dizzymiss

I have a hen in a couple of weeks. It's a two nighter. Total cost for the two nights is €265 & we have to bring a gift for the hen. I could prob get a break a broad for that price. Complete madness.

I can only go one night, which btw is €150 & get a very clear vibe from the hen that she is less than impressed with me. I have also been told that she is considering uninviting a friend to the wedding, who is unable to make the hen.

Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Then I wouldn't go to the wedding. Tell the ignorant woman to get knotted...

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

I agree. If a bride can't understand that the world does not revolve around her then she needs a dose of reality.
    I'm all on for a hen that suits you, be that one night , two nights or a week away, but do not get vexed if your night is not everyone else's cup of tea!
    If people want to come , they'll come. If they can't they can't. Everyone's circumstances are different and to expect a large group of people to be universally available one a selected night is near on impossible.,

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Neyite wrote: »
    You know you have keepers if your friends arrange exactly the kind of night you'd enjoy. If someone did the polar opposite of what I'd feel comfortable with, causing me to squirm with embarrassment I'd honestly be rethinking the friendship, wondering if she 'gets' me at all.

:D It was lovely, exactly what I wanted. About 20 friends and family in my parents' house, my Mum cooked up a nice buffet type dinner and Dad did all the drinks, my sisters put together a collage of childhood photos which was really sweet, and we just played a few games (the one where you get asked a question and have to guess your hubby to be's response, make a wedding dress out of toilet paper, and pictionary :p) I hate being the centre of attention so something nice and quiet at home suited me grand. I think because everyone knew it was at my parents' house, they all knew it would be sooo inappropriate to bring a massive inflatable penis! Poor Dad would have been traumatised!

I think sometimes there's a little bit of schadenfreude from girls organising hens, it seems like some of them go out of their way to absolutely mortify the bride to be. I mean a bit of harmless fun like whipping out embarrassing childhood photos (usually from the awkward teenage fashion stage) is grand, but I was at one hen where it was just too far and the bride was really mortified, the bridesmaids made a holy show of her in the middle of a fairly rural pub near we were staying - it was quiet, but there were still a good few people there. She was trying to look like she was enjoying because there were so many people there but a few of us were talking to her later and she was really upset. The worst part was the two bridesmaids thought the whole thing was hilarious, and the rest of us were just sitting there feeling really, really awkward.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭Gatica

dizzymiss wrote: »
    I have a hen in a couple of weeks. It's a two nighter. Total cost for the two nights is €265 & we have to bring a gift for the hen. I could prob get a break a broad for that price. Complete madness.

I can only go one night, which btw is €150 & get a very clear vibe from the hen that she is less than impressed with me. I have also been told that she is considering uninviting a friend to the wedding, who is unable to make the hen.

Madness.

That's insane. Any way you can drop her?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Neyite wrote: »

When you think about it, if we already have toddlers forcing us to wear tacky dress-up clothes, following us into the loos, spilling drinks, puking, messing with tacky plastic tat, that flashes and makes lots of noise and has music, throwing strops, getting lost, crying, being loud, ruining a nice outfit, etc etc every single day, is it any wonder some of us would prefer a tranquil spa day, a hot meal (that we can actually finish) a nice cuppa and an early (uninterrupted) night for a change :pac:.

I have to say my ideal hen if I ever have one would be some afternoon tea, spa stuff, maybe a few cocktails after

Gatica wrote: »
    That's insane. Any way you can drop her?

I love this girl to bits, have been friends for years. She has plenty of money, parents paying for wedding, house, honeymoon and sometimes I think she forgets others arent in the same position as her. You might call her high maintenance and is getting carried away with herself. Yes, I will go and just complain about it here and to my husband.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I have to say my ideal hen if I ever have one would be some afternoon tea, spa stuff, maybe a few cocktails after

This was me. We stayed in my town, went to a really nice local hotel, did a cocktail class, enjoyed said cocktails, had some yummy food and fun and went home to our own beds that night. It was so much craic and nobody was under pressure.

I love this girl to bits, have been friends for years. She has plenty of money, parents paying for wedding, house, honeymoon and sometimes I think she forgets others arent in the same position as her. You might call her high maintenance and is getting carried away with herself. Yes, I will go and just complain about it here and to my husband.

Sorry, I guess realistically sometimes our friends might mean the world to us but be up in the clouds a little.

bluewolf wrote: »

ah, should've invited you to my hen :) Relaxing afternoon in spa with some cupcakes, cocktails and all "activities" restricted to the cottage.

Sorry, I guess realistically sometimes our friends might mean the world to us but be up in the clouds a little.

Sure what would you be sorry for. Some people really do just live in the clouds. Climbing up and down to them can get tiring sometimes though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Madness.

Heres your chance to get out of the no doubt bridezilla wedding too!! Say you cant make the hen!

Well I prob wont make the wedding. Due a baby that week. I'll be sorry to miss it though. Like I said they're the best of friends, maybe just a little in the clouds as another poster put it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Madness.

Oh god that's a lot of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Do you reckon some bridesmaids do the "make a holy show of the bride-to-be" thing because they think it might be expected and that the bride might be put out if they didn't? Maybe some bridesmaids aren't into it either but just feel like they have to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

To get stroppy because people can't make your hen, or can only make one night of a 2-nighter is just downright self-centred.

It's also impossible to tell how people are fixed financially these days as the recession has left many wealthy in appearance (decent job, decent car, decent house) but in reality they are heavily indebted and struggling.

As an aside, the worst hen-zilla story I ever heard was about a hen who was 'underwhelmed' with a certain gift* that had become a hen's night tradition within their group, and asked a few days later for it to be recreated. :rolleyes:

She got no reply!

* I'm being deliberately vague, but you can use your imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Tarzana wrote: »
    Do you reckon some bridesmaids do the "make a holy show of the bride-to-be" thing because they think it might be expected and that the bride might be put out if they didn't? Maybe some bridesmaids aren't into it either but just feel like they have to?

Actually I know someone who had an 'all day' hen. She's not from Ireland, so had a few friends come over and went to lunch in town followed by some early afternoon ceili thing down in Temple Bar. She was adamant that she didn't want 'all that stuff', but then when she saw the other hen party at the ceili started going on that it didn't feel like a hen at all. So when we all met up later for dinner, two of the girls had abandoned their own plans of going back to the hotel and getting changed in favour of going to Claire's and buying a load of tat. And then she was happy. But she had honestly sworn before hand she didn't want any of it. How do you make a call in that situation then? I just felt sorry for the 2 girls who had to go out to dinner in the clothes they'd been ceili dancing all day in (not that it mattered to me, but they felt hot and under dressed and uncomfortable).

A couple of years back, my best friend was getting married and having her hen in London over a three day weekend (the good times rolled!). I had gone back to college the previous year and was only working part time so couldnt make it. It bothers me to this day that I couldnt go. And although she never said anything, i think it really bothered her.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Tarzana wrote: »

It's pretty easy to ask the bride what she wants and if she says one thing but wants the opposite then she deserves to be disappointed in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭kkcatlou

bee06 wrote: »
    It's pretty easy to ask the bride what she wants and if she says one thing but wants the opposite then she deserves to be disappointed in my opinion.

To be honest, I think a lot of brides do this. Like the example above, most say they don't want any tack, but when it comes to the night, and they are part of the whole thing and not just onlookers like you would be on a regular Saturday night, they want what they didn't think they did!!

The same as in the debate about photos on Facebook - a lot will say in advance they don't, but then the day after the wedding will get the blues and be trawling Facebook for any little glimpse of the day.

Tough one, but I think it's about really knowing the bride and what she is like and would and wouldn't like! And what would cause her to throw an absolute strop!

To play down tackiness, but still feel part of a hen, I've used things like badges, rings, small garlands (one of, not all)....so you are still a "hen party" but not a pink t-shirts, bunny ears, inflatable willy, all guns blazing tacky hen!

Also, do the bridal tack in the house beforehand - the hens I've organised, we've bought all the tack for the Mr and Mrs Game, so each time she gets a question right, she gets a whip, veil, L plates, etc. You get the craic in the house without being on display, then she gets to decide what she keeps on for the night out. Some girls (usually the ones who say they want no tack) keep it all, some none, but most will wear just the gloves or the veil or something small that highlights they are the hen!

Re: the Facebook photos thing, I would be much more in favour of no Facebook photos of a hen than of a wedding. The last two I organised, we set up a closed group that nobody else could see where people posted the photos. We then did (actually am in the process of doing .....11 months later) an album with all the photos and memories of the weekend for her to keep.

bee06 wrote: »
    She was adamant that she didn't want 'all that stuff', but then when she saw the other hen party at the ceili started going on that it didn't feel like a hen at all.

As above poster showed, I think in some cases the bride doesn't realise that she'd like all that stuff til it's almost too late. It's not always a thing where they want one thing and ask for another.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

As above poster showed, I think in some cases the bride doesn't realise that she'd like all that stuff til it's almost too late. It's not always a thing where they want one thing and ask for another.

Fair enough, maybe I'm the exception so in that I know myself well enough to know what I like and don't like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Actually I know someone who had an 'all day' hen. She's not from Ireland, so had a few friends come over and went to lunch in town followed by some early afternoon ceili thing down in Temple Bar. She was adamant that she didn't want 'all that stuff', but then when she saw the other hen party at the ceili started going on that it didn't feel like a hen at all. So when we all met up later for dinner, two of the girls had abandoned their own plans of going back to the hotel and getting changed in favour of going to Claire's and buying a load of tat. And then she was happy. But she had honestly sworn before hand she didn't want any of it. How do you make a call in that situation then? I just felt sorry for the 2 girls who had to go out to dinner in the clothes they'd been ceili dancing all day in (not that it mattered to me, but they felt hot and under dressed and uncomfortable).
    Oh Lord. Am i the only one who thinks that it is really strange for a grown woman to be, in effect, sulking and huffing like a toddler, and even stranger for other adult women to be indulging her like this?

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

sadie06 wrote: »
    To get stroppy because people can't make your hen, or can only make one night of a 2-nighter is just downright self-centred.

And I have the opposite problem, I am having a small hen party - one night only - in a small village about 30 mins away from my home town. I am only inviting a few close friends as I really don't want to put people to any expense - an activity, a meal, a night away and drinks all add up at any time but especially in the height of the summer when people have their own stuff going on. However, some of my friends from work are less that impressed that I didn't invite them.
    They are all married/with partners/have children and I really wouldn't socialise with them outside of work and work events. I didn't set out to exclude them but felt that it would be seen as a burden or an obligation to attend by them. so there you go.. proof that even when trying to not put expectation or expense on people, you can't do right for doing wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭kkcatlou

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    Oh Lord. Am i the only one who thinks that it is really strange for a grown woman to be, in effect, sulking and huffing like a toddler, and even stranger for other adult women to be indulging her like this?

And just wait to see how they behave on the wedding day!
    Above is the definition of a Bridezilla!

not at all. Children are often miniature adults (or adults are big children, if you will), the main difference is that we learn to control those impulses better... but essentially, I think most people would still sulk to a certain extent, just some will show it more than others. A truly selfless person is a rarity.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

not at all. Children are often miniature adults (or adults are big children, if you will), the main difference is that we learn to control those impulses better... but essentially, I think most people would still sulk to a certain extent, just some will show it more than others. A truly selfless person is a rarity.

Eh speak for yourself. I may not be truly selfless but I manage to act like the adult that I am most of the time. And I certainly would not sulk (Christ almighty!!!!!) about my friends not making a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

amdublin wrote: »
    Eh speak for yourself. I may not be truly selfless but I manage to act like the adult that I am most of the time. And I certainly would not sulk (Christ almighty!!!!!) about my friends not making a night out.

This for me too^^^^
    Even if you are crippled with disappointment about how the night is going, the idea that you would be so immature and spoilt as to actually express that disappointment to your dearest friends, who, after all are only respecting your express wishes, is just comical to me. Really and truly, cop on and grow up girl.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭Ms2011

I would have been one of those people who would have always hated the thoughts of a hen's but my sister insisted & planned the whole thing (spa treatments, dinner, night club, residents bar where we met with a stags & had a great laugh) & I have to say I'm delighted she talked me into it.
    My present from the girls was a hen's book, kinda like a 'baby's first year' book where everyone signed it, wrote 'in joke' quotes from the night etc & I put picks of the night etc in it. It's such a great keepsake & I have some cherished memories so glad I did it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

She was actually sulking too. She's a friend's wife, and was always very much 'all about me'. To the extent that, if we were all out somewhere and someone was paying attention to a child (seriously) she'd start carrying on until the focus was back on herself. Which is obviously pathetic and bananas.

The funny thing is that she's since had a baby and has turned into a wonderful (relaxed, unfussy, let's 'roll with it' type) mother, surprising us all.