BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Meh, I reckon yer man is an enthusiast and is just being honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Those leather seats look well for 230k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It also looks like its needs a wiper linkage. Its a bit of a heap imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    It also looks like its needs a wiper linkage. Its a bit of a heap imo.

Wiper arms are put on the wrong way.

Why is it a heap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

RS Clio 172
    NCT 12/14 (Alas no tax which might rule it out here)
    €1750

Not sure how troublesome these are but a proper hot hatch, looks like a hoot.

28543313.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rs-clio-172-reduced-or-swap-auto-/6728996

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

rizzodun wrote: »
    RS Clio 172
    NCT 12/14 (Alas no tax which might rule it out here)
    €1750

Not sure how troublesome these are but a proper hot hatch, looks like a hoot.

28543313.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rs-clio-172-reduced-or-swap-auto-/6728996

Try get a quote on one. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You will be fine aslong as you are not 12.

/oldgitmode off

CianRyan wrote: »

31, full no claims, North West Ireland and parked in private drive, I'll get back to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

31, full no claims, North West Ireland and parked in private drive, I'll get back to you!

I haz a twin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You will be fine aslong as you are not 12.

/oldgitmode off

I know lads over 25 with full NCB who couldn't get quoted on the things, must have been some amount of them crashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

dgt wrote: »
    Wiper arms are put on the wrong way.

Why is it a heap

Why would someone need to take them off though and then to put them back on the wrong way, surely they'd notice their error :pac:

As for my heap comment, its just my opinion of it. maybe I was a bit harsh but it looks tired to me and a bit rough looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,899 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Please do.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    Please do.

Are you that curious? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

One of those Clios is on "the list"

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    One of those Clios is on "the list"

Pop by Sligo when you pick it up so I can have a spin yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

The monstrous 3.0 V6 clios quieter baby brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Those JTD engines are well able to handle the miles once looked after which considering the jobs done I wouldn't say was badly taken care of.
    The alternator will definitely need changing and they aren't the friendliest of jobs but 3/4 hours and it should be done.
    Is it worth 1.3k? IMO yes.
    The intercooler also isn't a tough fix, bumper off, pipes unclipped and swap over. 1-1.5 hours max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Aviva will finally quote on me a 172 and 182 now, would have been a nice lpg candidate for my new high miles, would only want a 182 though the exhausts look class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

CianRyan wrote: »

Comprehensive Extra €499.90 or 417 tpft extra as they call it with my current insurer 123.ie :cool:

but im old old man of 33:o full lic and full ncb no points anymore;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭W123-80's

A big bus for someone with big b*lls..:)
    Plenty of test - 03/15
    Leather, auto etc..
    Asking €1,250

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-automatic-nct-03-15/6837075

28963534.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Nice long test on this - June '15
    Leather & Auto
    Asking €1,800

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-5-1-8-nct-6-15/6837526

28965670.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

My 1.4 Clio was a nippy little ball of fun, can't imagine what a 172/182 would be like.

Super find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

W123-80's wrote: »
    A big bus for someone with big b*lls..:)
    Plenty of test - 03/15
    Leather, auto etc..
    Asking €1,250

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-automatic-nct-03-15/6837075

28963534.jpeg

This time two years ago I struggled to get any interest in a GS300 identical to that one - same year, same mileage, same colour, same condition,full year NCT - ended up letting her off for a grand.
    So unless the market for luxobarges has dramatically changed in the intervening period, I think he's being a bit optimistic with his asking.
    I'd raise an eyebrow at the mention of the timing belt, but it could just be a slip of the tongue.

They're a brilliant motor, and if ever you get the chance to own one, and can afford it, then jump on it!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9000-cse-new-nct-2015-and-taxed/6834303
    28950553.jpeg
    Same seller as the E38 a few pages back. He'll take €400 for this.

This is worth posting just for the ad;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vauxhall-cavalier-gsi-2000/6558411
    this car has serious comfort and pulls like a fuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,446 ✭✭✭Old diesel

That R19 won't be everyones cup of tea - but great to see its still on the go.

Renault dropped the ball a bit on the RHD version of the facelift* - the left hand drive versions on the Continent got a nicer improved dash as part of the facelift - RHDs kept the original dash - don't know why though.

*the car Kaiser posted is a facelift

Old diesel wrote: »
    That R19 won't be everyones cup of tea - but great to see its still on the go.

Renault dropped the ball a bit on the RHD version of the facelift* - the left hand drive versions on the Continent got a nicer improved dash as part of the facelift - RHDs kept the original dash - don't know why though.

*the car Kaiser posted is a facelift

Definitely not to everyone's taste, but if I were in the market for a diesel now with a €1k budget, that would be 1st on the list.