Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭bear1

colm_mcm wrote: »

Is it the angle the photo was taken or does the centre console picture look like it's being removed?
    I think it might a play of the vision but it does look that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Old diesel

That 406 estate looks very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Old diesel wrote: »
    That 406 estate looks very nice
    Yes it does but why is the seller also selling a L/H wing mirror the same colour?
    No Pics of the body from the L/H side..

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Yes it does but why is the seller also selling a L/H wing mirror the same colour?
    No Pics of the body from the L/H side..

Its baffling - but I see from the interior shots - the passenger mirror was still on the car when the interior pics were taken.

You can (just about) I think still make out the passenger mirror on one of the exterior pics too.

Odd one for sure :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Its baffling - but I see from the interior shots - the passenger mirror was still on the car when the interior pics were taken.

You can (just about) I think still make out the passenger mirror on one of the exterior pics too.

Odd one for sure :confused:
    I'd be having a very close look at the nearside.
    Fine wagon though for that money, I think I may start looking for one as my next bangernomics wagon, trouble is the old TD Avensis I have won't die!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

bmw 740 is gone. pity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

I'd probably buy this if I had my full licence! :p Seems like it was well taken care of, from the ad at least.

28335572.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-mx5-v-spec-tax-and-nct/6711425

€2200 with 4 months of tax and test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Brian wrote: »
    I'd probably buy this if I had my full licence! :p Seems like it was well taken care of, from the ad at least.

28335572.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-mx5-v-spec-tax-and-nct/6711425

€2200 with 4 months of tax and test.

People were talking about them recently and saying they have no power.
    Mighty car mods done an episode where they stuck a turbo in one. Not a job you can do on your own unless you have alot of tools, welder etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I'd probably buy this if I had my full licence! :p

Get your full licence! It's not exactly a rocket science exam. ;)

GvidoR wrote: »
    Get your full licence! It's not exactly a rocket science exam. ;)

Test #2 is in a fortnight ... but think I'll have to be lucky to pass. My first experience has made me a bit paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Test #2 is in a fortnight ... but think I'll have to be lucky to pass. My first experience has made me a bit paranoid.

I was a little worried when walking into the test centre, tapping my feet while I was waiting for my name to be called, but I was going in there with a "I have to do this / I can't live without a car / I need to keep calm" attitude and passed the first time. :)

1) book a lesson with an instructor an hour before your test
    2) keep calm and don't think of it as an exam and stay calm. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,710 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

And good luck! :)

Mighty car mods done an episode where they stuck a turbo in one. Not a job you can do on your own unless you have alot of tools, welder etc...

Don't need power to have fun in an MX-5! Unless you want to beat an S2000 over a quarter mile that is :pac:

Thanks for the good luck wishes guys. Maybe in a few weeks' time I'll be using this thread for something other than window shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

That one's got 120bhp and a torson LSD!
    The only bad point I can make is that it was on sale a few months back, not sure if it's the same pictures/same owner though...
    Don't need power to have fun in an MX-5! Unless you want to beat an S2000 over a quarter mile that is :pac:

Thanks for the good luck wishes guys. Maybe in a few weeks' time I'll be using this thread for something other than window shopping.

Bingo!
    I have more fun driving mine around the estate to give it a run than I've had in almost any other driving situation!

CianRyan wrote: »

Bingo!
    I have more fun driving mine around the estate to give it a run than I've had in almost any other driving situation!

You have an mx-5 as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You have an mx-5 as well?

Any excuse to throw a photo up. :D
    9942325803_55ce19e054_c.jpgRoadster by CianRyan, on Flickr

9942136404_211066f5cf_c.jpgRoadster by CianRyan, on Flickr

colm_mcm wrote: »

Should that not be in fixerupper thread?
    Slight leak in intercooler
    The Alternator is whining a bit and will need attention.

Meh, I reckon yer man is an enthusiast and is just being honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Those leather seats look well for 230k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It also looks like its needs a wiper linkage. Its a bit of a heap imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    It also looks like its needs a wiper linkage. Its a bit of a heap imo.

Wiper arms are put on the wrong way.

Why is it a heap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

RS Clio 172
    NCT 12/14 (Alas no tax which might rule it out here)
    €1750

Not sure how troublesome these are but a proper hot hatch, looks like a hoot.

28543313.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rs-clio-172-reduced-or-swap-auto-/6728996

rizzodun wrote: »
    RS Clio 172
    NCT 12/14 (Alas no tax which might rule it out here)
    €1750

Not sure how troublesome these are but a proper hot hatch, looks like a hoot.

28543313.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rs-clio-172-reduced-or-swap-auto-/6728996

Try get a quote on one. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You will be fine aslong as you are not 12.

/oldgitmode off

31, full no claims, North West Ireland and parked in private drive, I'll get back to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

31, full no claims, North West Ireland and parked in private drive, I'll get back to you!

I haz a twin

You will be fine aslong as you are not 12.

/oldgitmode off

I know lads over 25 with full NCB who couldn't get quoted on the things, must have been some amount of them crashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

dgt wrote: »
    Wiper arms are put on the wrong way.

Why is it a heap

Why would someone need to take them off though and then to put them back on the wrong way, surely they'd notice their error :pac:

As for my heap comment, its just my opinion of it. maybe I was a bit harsh but it looks tired to me and a bit rough looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Please do.

flazio wrote: »
    Please do.

Are you that curious? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

One of those Clios is on "the list"

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    One of those Clios is on "the list"

Pop by Sligo when you pick it up so I can have a spin yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

The monstrous 3.0 V6 clios quieter baby brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Those JTD engines are well able to handle the miles once looked after which considering the jobs done I wouldn't say was badly taken care of.
    The alternator will definitely need changing and they aren't the friendliest of jobs but 3/4 hours and it should be done.
    Is it worth 1.3k? IMO yes.
    The intercooler also isn't a tough fix, bumper off, pipes unclipped and swap over. 1-1.5 hours max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Aviva will finally quote on me a 172 and 182 now, would have been a nice lpg candidate for my new high miles, would only want a 182 though the exhausts look class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Comprehensive Extra €499.90 or 417 tpft extra as they call it with my current insurer 123.ie :cool:

but im old old man of 33:o full lic and full ncb no points anymore;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

A big bus for someone with big b*lls..:)
    Plenty of test - 03/15
    Leather, auto etc..
    Asking €1,250

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-automatic-nct-03-15/6837075

28963534.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Nice long test on this - June '15
    Leather & Auto
    Asking €1,800

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-5-1-8-nct-6-15/6837526

28965670.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

My 1.4 Clio was a nippy little ball of fun, can't imagine what a 172/182 would be like.

Super find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

W123-80's wrote: »
    A big bus for someone with big b*lls..:)
    Plenty of test - 03/15
    Leather, auto etc..
    Asking €1,250

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-automatic-nct-03-15/6837075

28963534.jpeg

This time two years ago I struggled to get any interest in a GS300 identical to that one - same year, same mileage, same colour, same condition,full year NCT - ended up letting her off for a grand.
    So unless the market for luxobarges has dramatically changed in the intervening period, I think he's being a bit optimistic with his asking.
    I'd raise an eyebrow at the mention of the timing belt, but it could just be a slip of the tongue.

They're a brilliant motor, and if ever you get the chance to own one, and can afford it, then jump on it!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9000-cse-new-nct-2015-and-taxed/6834303
    28950553.jpeg
    Same seller as the E38 a few pages back. He'll take €400 for this.

This is worth posting just for the ad;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vauxhall-cavalier-gsi-2000/6558411
    this car has serious comfort and pulls like a fuk.

That R19 won't be everyones cup of tea - but great to see its still on the go.

Renault dropped the ball a bit on the RHD version of the facelift* - the left hand drive versions on the Continent got a nicer improved dash as part of the facelift - RHDs kept the original dash - don't know why though.

*the car Kaiser posted is a facelift

That R19 won't be everyones cup of tea - but great to see its still on the go.

Renault dropped the ball a bit on the RHD version of the facelift* - the left hand drive versions on the Continent got a nicer improved dash as part of the facelift - RHDs kept the original dash - don't know why though.

*the car Kaiser posted is a facelift

Definitely not to everyone's taste, but if I were in the market for a diesel now with a €1k budget, that would be 1st on the list.